Planted Aquarium V11

-kytz-
post Feb 20 2013, 07:54 PM

12,573 posts

Just got back from Alive Aquarium in Jalan Pudu. Damn nice place with a lot to see smile.gif Here's what I found:

1) I saw a super cheap 30-40L (maybe) aquarium for like RM23? But the corners are sealed with black silicone or something. Should be similar to what varialmctwist mentioned earlier on. Cold|Drawn might want to take note tongue.gif

I also saw a 45X30X30 (cm) 30L Dolphin aquarium for RM65. Haven't asked the boss if there's any discount yet. I'm guessing maybe can get for like RM55-60 maybe tongue.gif

2) Was a bit suprised that the price of a Cardinal Tetra was RM2.50 each. I thought it's much much cheaper sweat.gif Neon Tetras were going for RM1.20 each

I saw some cheaper ones like the Zebra fish, the golden, red and the zebra tetra looks nice thumbup.gif Will research about these fish tonight biggrin.gif

3) The Ammonia, Nitrite, Nitrate, PH test kits from API were going for like RM30-35 each. 3 of them to make a complete set would be close to RM100 wow. And I also saw a Master kit set wub.gif

Wanna ask, any much cheaper alternative? I can just get test kits for PH, Ammonia and nitrites only right? Exclude nitrates? hmm.gif

4) arrow I saw the filter wools which you mentioned, stupid question here. How to replace the wool on the Jeneca filter cartridge? Stick to the cartridge using something adhesive?
-kytz-
post Feb 20 2013, 11:14 PM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(tehoice @ Feb 20 2013, 09:39 PM)
Dear kytz,

If you are serious about fish keeping, may i ask if you are intending to have planted aquarium since this is planted aquarium thread, but of course, we would love to answer anything about fish keeping if we can help.

may I suggest you something, totally tear off your tank first.

1) do you want to have a planted tank? with soil? with holland sand? or just some "easy to take care" type of plants tied to driftwood, or mosses on wood or rocks?

2) then identify what kind of set up you would like to have in your tank? for example, iwagumi, island type setup or what?

3) after identifying your potential setup, gather the necessary to start off, i.e. driftwood, rocks, or any other hardscape.

4) after all hardscape are ready, start putting them into your tank in an organizing way as close to your potential scape as possible.

5) fill water, if you want crystal clear water, do "water-in, water-out" method.

6) run filter, fan 24hrs. lighting, co2 system as per schedule, about 4 hours during the initial week, increase lighting and co2 period for an extra hour subsequently during the next 3 weeks or so, being 7-8 hours the max photoperiod for your tank.

7) let your tank cycle completely first. previous, i think arrow has posted a few links about tank cycling... this is so so so so IMPORTANT!

8) after about 2 weeks, clean up crew may go in to the tank first (Otto, SAE etc...)

9) after about 3 weeks or a month, you may start stocking livestocks already.... (Guppy, tetra, angel fish, or even arowana but definitely not goldfish)  rclxub.gif
usually, your tank would have been properly cycled for this period, you must have the patience during the initial stage, for you to see a relatively stable tank for near future.

this is why you always see a family happily buy tank,a cheap rm1 anti-chlorine, lights, filter and fish, then come back few days later complaining all fishes died... a classic example is your cute little pearscale gold fish.

explanation for the above is for planted tank setup, but even i do the same for my non planted tank setup.

In my opinion, I dont think there's a need for those test kits, it's a luxury to have of course, but i think the RM100 spend on test kits would have been better spent elsewhere. As for my case, I have never use any test kit before except for the co2 indicator which comes together during my purchase of my co2 system. My tank has a very low death rate of fishes except for those jumped out, maybe due to stress, non stable water condition/parameter or maybe my tank water was too high, about 0.5cm from the tank top.

a food for thought for newbie, pls select nice edged tank, not those curved tank that usually comes with filter/lighting, those lighting is not sufficient most of the time. preferably white colour or almost transparent colour glass glue, black colour are not so nice, IMO. like the one bought buy a forumer for RM25 from xian leng or somewhere.

feel free to ask more question, we would love to help!

just for sharing.
initial setup of my tank.

close to 3 months down the road.
I can't tell how much I thank you for knocking some sense into me thumbup.gif

I've just cleaned off my entire aquarium and it's empty now. Yeah, I would love to have a nice planted aquarium, the Iwagumi style of aquascapping is pretty damn nice. I think usually more suited for bigger tanks right? Mine's a 3 gallon only, I did google, and this person came up with a nice setup for it:

http://www.aquaticplantcentral.com/forumap...ic-iwagumi.html

1) I might plan to get some tetras or zebra fish for my 3 gallon tank (if I do not plan to upgrade to a bigger one), I hear that fish needs some kind of "hiding" spot to "rest"? Like maybe a under a log of wood, or a fish house of some sort? I'm not sure too, cuz I see the iwagumi concept don't seem to have much hiding spots hmm.gif

2) And also can advise on what type of grass/plants which are easier to grow/maintain? Totally no clue here.

3) For the water in-water out method and also by looking at the pictures you posted, are you referring to an internal filter? I saw that you're using an internal one, with the output connected to a hose and directed further away from the water intake? hmm.gif

I currently have 1 good hang on filter and 2 other unused ones laugh.gif
-kytz-
post Feb 21 2013, 02:12 AM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(tehoice @ Feb 20 2013, 11:35 PM)
you are welcome my friend... take a bit of time, think of what you wanna achieve, dont just rush into things.... it might not turn out great...

well, small tanks can also turn out to be a world class beater tank, but it is way harder to maintain due to its low volume and very small room for error that might fatal your whole tank...

we always suggest 2ft as a starter...

iwagumi hiding spots are only behind those rocks, unless you have another tall background plants that enable them to hide, like the one in your picture. what plants are easier to grow and maintain? hmmm, i would say most of the plants are not so hard to grow when you have everything right for them, lighting, co2, temperature and etc... but maintaining? it depends on you, weekly water changes consider a must for myself, but you surely will face some algae issue... take it slow and steady....

if you are interested in iwagumi, you can try glosso, hc, mini hairgrass etc...

for the water in water out (WIWO) method, it's not in my picture, those are inlets and outlets for my filter.

WIWO simply means pumping water into the tank and meanwhile you have water being sucked out from another end, this enable you to get crystal clear water say after an hour or 2. instant result, and this is only for one time during the initial setup stage.
Thanks again buddy smile.gif

I'll try to see what I can do with my 3 gallon tank first.

I know the front grass is glosso but what about the back? Want that tall grass behind to conceal my filter water intake nozzle tongue.gif

And what soil is recommended for both type of grass ah? icon_question.gif

Thanks again notworthy.gif notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by -kytz-: Feb 21 2013, 04:40 AM
-kytz-
post Feb 22 2013, 06:21 PM

12,573 posts

Hai, it's me again. I'm a total n00b, so please bare with me biggrin.gif

I hope I can get it right this time round. My aquarium is totally empty now, cleaned it and the filters liao.

Here's my 3 gallon [30X17X16 cm] tank. Some inspiration to get a super nano tank here tongue.gif http://www.aquaticplantcentral.com/forumap...-iwagumi-9.html

So here's my plan:

Any comments?

Got a few questions here:

1) If I start setting up my hardscape already and then added in water and CO2 for the plants to grow. Should I just leave it like that for 1 month first maybe? How long before I can add in fish to start cycling my tank?

2) If I were to use 2-3 golden zebra/cardinal tetra to cycle my tank, how to test for ammonia if I don't get any test kits? http://www.firsttankguide.net/cycle.php did mention about bringing the water to a pet shop for testing lol. What do you guys recommend biggrin.gif

3) What type of soil to use for the short and long grass? ADA soil? My LFS has this type of soil it seems. Tomorrow, they'll stock up some grass, so I might go over to take a look smile.gif

4) How long would it take for the grass to grow?

5) Do you guys use a vacumn to suck out fish waste/food like this? http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3igqdgKHXDE

6) What sort of CO2 system do you guys use?
-kytz-
post Feb 25 2013, 01:11 AM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(qz4eva @ Feb 25 2013, 01:08 AM)
Yeap.

Last time was super expensive but now its super cheap.

Tank also cheap.
Arowana itself also cheap.

And best of all they dont need alot high tech equipment.
Just good water n filter of coz...

I crazy anything in water.
I told my gf, if we get married i gona have:

1. Planted tank with community fishes.
2. Marine Tank with coral reefs.
3. Arowana Tank.
4. Koi Pond if I can become rich.
5. And one aquarium for her fishes, puffer especially.

Lol~~~
Thats my dream!
Last time when I was small, my dad had a pond with like 20+ koi, too bad I was so little then haha laugh.gif
-kytz-
post Feb 25 2013, 01:16 AM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(qz4eva @ Feb 25 2013, 01:14 AM)
Wow, cool bro...

Thats why i love pond you can have lotsa koi inside em.
You know la koi got so many varieties and colors...'

Than they can grow supa big aso.

Gotta Catch Em All!!!
Haha but pond not as nice as aquarium right? Since for aquariums, you can see everything going on whereas pond, you can see from the top only tongue.gif
-kytz-
post Feb 25 2013, 02:24 AM

12,573 posts

I'm not sure but I heard DIY CO2 might cause algae problems?

-kytz-
post Feb 25 2013, 10:33 PM

12,573 posts

Today I saw a disposable CO2 system for like RM140. The refills were like RM20+. Normal price?

http://www.paraquatics.co.uk/contents/media/l_mc086.jpg

-kytz-
post Feb 26 2013, 03:58 PM

12,573 posts

Just now went and look around at Alive Aquarium, Pudu. I saw:

Dophin brand
50X34X34cm or 15 gallons for RM75
45X30X32cm or 11 gallons for RM65

ADA Amazonia Soil
Normal: RM88/9 L or RM15/kg
Powder: RM160/9L or RM22/kg

Plants:
Glosso: RM10
Lilaeopsis: RM12

45cm AquaZone lights for like RM180 or something hmm.gif

Damn, planted aquarium is so expensive and takes a lot of effort and patience lol. I'll have to see how first, I think once I start I won't stop lolz. All the way hmm.gif laugh.gif

-kytz-
post Feb 26 2013, 09:17 PM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(syafiq_lomotech @ Feb 26 2013, 03:59 PM)
RM15/kg is quite pricy. i always see 12/kg
Yeah, even the salesperson told me it's expensive haha but a whole 9L of soil is kinda overkill for a 15 gallon tank maybe hmm.gif

QUOTE(varialmctwist @ Feb 26 2013, 04:28 PM)
wah still window shopping eh? easy ar to park at AA? never been there...
Ya, still window shopping haha. Anyway, I'll have to reconsider my plan first maybe until my holidays haha (busy now, sem starting) laugh.gif

If you are lucky you can park just in front of the shop, else just beside there's some car park (need to pay lah) or maybe find anywhere to park tongue.gif

I've been to Alive Aquarium for like 3-4 times already but didn't buy anything laugh.gif

QUOTE(kurikuraX @ Feb 26 2013, 04:31 PM)
Ya, I also like to know where did you park your car or is it you went there by komuter?
I went by car. Parking usually ok wan, can park at the car park nearby biggrin.gif

QUOTE(qz4eva @ Feb 26 2013, 04:52 PM)
I think they love to kill themselves bro sad.gif
Kill themselves??

QUOTE(EmilyEmily @ Feb 26 2013, 08:48 PM)
yes i am.. for the 1ft tank. no space for this small tank

this small tank was in my room. = afternoon no air cond., night time too too cold LOL

so i moved it to another room.. this room sometimes on ac sometimes off ac. so i used a fan

urm it's dusty at the surface of the water..
and some end up clinging on my moss..
is not cloudy water.. that phase over ady haha
Smaller tank = Higher fluctuations in water temperature since water volume is lower? hmm.gif I need to think about my own situation since I'll also put the aquarium in my small room, sometimes buka air con, sometimes don't laugh.gif
-kytz-
post Feb 27 2013, 06:17 PM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(Cold|Drawn @ Feb 27 2013, 05:31 PM)
Arghh! really feel like getting one planted tank, but calculated equipment cost yada yada also need around like 1k to start.
Let me see:

- 15 gallon tank (50x34x34) RM75
- HOB Silent Filter RM35
- LED light RM180
- ADA Amazonia Soil RM88
- Plants RM80 (estimate some glossos and some hair grass)
- CO2 system RM200 (?)
- CO2 meter RM50 (?)
- Sand/Gravel RM15
- Test kits (PH,Ammonia,Nitrite,Nitrate) RM120
- Thermometer RM25

Total: RM868 ? hmm.gif

Damn, I have no income since I'm still a student laugh.gif

This post has been edited by -kytz-: Feb 27 2013, 06:19 PM
-kytz-
post Feb 27 2013, 07:03 PM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(Cold|Drawn @ Feb 27 2013, 06:49 PM)
Any picture of the aquazone lights?
https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=533...&type=3&theater

About RM180 for 60cm iirc

QUOTE(whatever99 @ Feb 27 2013, 06:50 PM)
try lower budget tank perhaps? my newly started 3 gallons tank used 3xx only (without cost of tank)...

- 3 gallon tank (29x30x14.5) got it from my uncle for free  tongue.gif
- HOB Filter with Skimmer RM39.90
- Aqua Japan AJ-LED30 LED light RM89.90
- ADA Amazonia Soil 6kg RM95.40 (used 4kg only  ><")
- Plants RM84
- CO2 diffuser set RM32.00 (disposable can type)
- Thermometer RM7

I'm also a student, so have to start small and use lower budget since i'm a beginner in this... smile.gif
Actually I have a nano tank now (30x16.5x17.5) so ya, almost same as yours biggrin.gif

ADA Amazonia 9L can get for RM88 only smile.gif

The CO2 diffuser set can control the CO2 output?
-kytz-
post Feb 27 2013, 07:03 PM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(Cold|Drawn @ Feb 27 2013, 06:49 PM)
Any picture of the aquazone lights?

About RM180 for 60cm iirc

QUOTE(whatever99 @ Feb 27 2013, 06:50 PM)
try lower budget tank perhaps? my newly started 3 gallons tank used 3xx only (without cost of tank)...

- 3 gallon tank (29x30x14.5) got it from my uncle for free  tongue.gif
- HOB Filter with Skimmer RM39.90
- Aqua Japan AJ-LED30 LED light RM89.90
- ADA Amazonia Soil 6kg RM95.40 (used 4kg only  ><")
- Plants RM84
- CO2 diffuser set RM32.00 (disposable can type)
- Thermometer RM7

I'm also a student, so have to start small and use lower budget since i'm a beginner in this... smile.gif
Actually I have a nano tank now (30x16.5x17.5) so ya, almost same as yours biggrin.gif

ADA Amazonia 9L can get for RM88 only smile.gif

The CO2 diffuser set can control the CO2 output?
-kytz-
post Feb 28 2013, 01:04 AM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(varialmctwist @ Feb 27 2013, 07:51 PM)
glosso for rm80? sure ar ? thats quite a lot...i got rm20 for my 45cm...damn one whole night planting that thing...wakakkakaa...one by one..

i think no need test kits yet...u dun need that yet..thermometer 25? kinda expensive i guess....can get mic for rm5

co2 system...get the steel one...cheaper and bigger and UGLIER..lol...
LED light? UP z series i guess?
Haha I mean RM80 for maybe 5-6 glosso and the rest mini hairgrass biggrin.gif

Thermometer I mean was the digital one for RM25 (not the one we use to measure fever). Still expensive?

For LED light, any affordable lights for 50cm? It seems that most are for 45cm or 60cm..

QUOTE(varialmctwist @ Feb 27 2013, 08:05 PM)
my newbie tank...

tank:45cm x 30cm x 30cm (1.5feet x 1 feet x 1 feet)                                    RM35
flora:glosso n red rotala plus a small pot of hair grass got it free at LFS          RM20(glosso) RM6(hairgrass)
filter:ejet 3388 with bio rings                                                                      RM150(filter) RM10 (MIC biorings)
co2 : up 1.0 litre with manual regulator plus ista ceramic diffuser                    RM240(all of em)
lights : 45cm up z series LED                                                                     RM 160
fertz : borneo wild essence k and growth                                                     RM100
fan: DIY with old pc fan                                                                             RM12
thermometer                                                                                           RM3
warning big picta

Waaaahhh awesome!! Inspiring me to properly setup a planted tank thumbup.gif

QUOTE(whatever99 @ Feb 27 2013, 09:22 PM)
thanks man...  biggrin.gif
this is the diffuser set i use... the boss told me that the CO2 pumped into the diffuser will slowly diffuse in the water... no water bubble or output seen so far...

Ista CO2 Diffuser Set
So, it's just filling up the diffuser chamber (test tube) with CO2 and waiting for it to diffuse into the water? How long would it take before you have to fill up the chamber again?

And oh yeah, I think that's around RM30+ only. Quite affordable thumbup.gif

QUOTE(jiejian @ Feb 27 2013, 10:01 PM)
wow everyone's scaping.. good good.  rclxms.gif  got sudden motivation to rescape myself also.. haha..
two jungle tank side by side is too much for me.. this time going for minimalist look.  tongue.gif
just another one stone iwagumi smile.gif
Before:
[attachmentid=3324503]
chaos 
[attachmentid=3324504]
reuse my aquasoil+power sand mix. still angry at myself for not seperating my power sand from aquasoil in my decommed 2ft tank.
[attachmentid=3324505]
finish scaping~
[attachmentid=3324506]
how it stands now~
[attachmentid=3324508]
hope you guys like it. on another note, when im pulling out my stems i find that my lamp eye had laid eggs for me and it had hatched... got 5 lamp eye frieds in my hands now.. hope they dont die  sweat.gif
Waaaaa nice!! Damn all these pictures is so poisonous tongue.gif

This post has been edited by -kytz-: Feb 28 2013, 01:04 AM
-kytz-
post Feb 28 2013, 07:16 PM

12,573 posts

ieR Whoaaaa the transformation!! Nice!! Btw, how big is your tank ah? biggrin.gif
-kytz-
post Feb 28 2013, 08:51 PM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(kimimaro_kun @ Feb 28 2013, 08:34 PM)
eerrr.. how to tag?? LOL
CODE
[@insertname]

-kytz-
post Mar 1 2013, 12:11 AM

12,573 posts

Wanna ask, how many kg of ADA soil do I need to do a 3 gallon planted tank? Let's just say cost the entire tank?
-kytz-
post Mar 1 2013, 05:44 PM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(ieR @ Mar 1 2013, 12:57 AM)
20inch wide, 12inch height, and 11 inch deep.
50cm wide, 30cm height, 28cm deep. how to calculate my water in litre? lol! coz i always simply drip 3 drip during water change... lol!
Nice smile.gif I'm still a bit clueless on my aquascape laugh.gif So many nice designs and still searching tongue.gif

Btw guys, is bacter ball recommended for new aquariums? I think waiting for like 1 month for the bacteria to build up in the tank would be quite long laugh.gif I do have some bacteria liquid too though biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by -kytz-: Mar 1 2013, 05:51 PM
-kytz-
post Mar 1 2013, 06:37 PM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(ieR @ Mar 1 2013, 05:59 PM)
-kytz-: planted aquarium is all about patience... there is no short cut. why now just give it a slow month to build up, even the plants need 1-2 month to spread nicely.
Haha actually wanna ask any other suggestions to speed up bacteria build up in the tank. Because I might plan to cycle using some fish hmm.gif
-kytz-
post Mar 2 2013, 03:54 PM

12,573 posts

Btw guys, are there are 50cm lights? I mean like a proper one that hinges on the sides of the aquarium like the AquaZone T5 series or the Z Pro LED series?

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.2684sec    0.53    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 06:15 AM