32 Pages « < 22 23 24 25 26 > » Bottom

Buying a new laptop? NEED RECOMMENDATIONS? V18, Kindly FOLLOW the FORMAT TQ~!

nexus2238
post Mar 6 2013, 10:02 AM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(quest_5692 @ Mar 6 2013, 04:31 AM)
i saw my classmate is using one acer laptop with touchscreen windows 8, ridiculously thin and nice metallic keyboard. i think its one of those s5 or v5s, sifus, recommend a few touchscreen thin laptops for me to consider pls. for work only, means priority is weight, battery life.
Sifus here like to help smile.gif But please read the 1st post of this thread, follow the format and let us know more details, otherwise difficult to recommend, ok? smile.gif For example, what is your budget? RM5k or RM2k? smile.gif

This post has been edited by nexus2238: Mar 6 2013, 10:08 AM
nexus2238
post Mar 6 2013, 10:07 AM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(namen @ Mar 6 2013, 12:53 AM)
Hi experts... i wanna purchase a new laptop with a little gaming, like HON or dota2, or the likes of DMC, nothing much in super high end games and stuffs. But i would like to have some simulation program running smoothly...

budget around 2k or below.,,
Asus
A45VS-VX026H, i5-3210M + Nvidia GT645M@RM2199[2.4kg], 2GB, 500GB, W8

Dell
Inspiron 14R (Special Edition), i5-3210M + Nvidia GT640M(28nm Kepler)@RM2049[2.38kg], 4GB, 500GB(7200rpm), W7HP/W8

Lenovo
Z480, i5-3230M + Nvidia GT640M@RM1999, 4GB, 1TB(5400rpm) W8, colors: grey/red/blue
Ideapad Z580, i7-3612QM + Nvidia GT640M@RM2299, 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), freeDOS, white

Prices are RSP, negotiable.
nexus2238
post Mar 6 2013, 07:32 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(-maple- @ Mar 6 2013, 05:31 PM)
Hi guys,

Where can find/get this :

Dell
Inspiron 15R (Special Edition), i7-3612QM + AMD HD7730M + (1920x1080; anti-glare) + 32GB SSD + 1TB HDD(5400rpm)@RM3199, 8GB, backlit keyboard optional, W8

I cant find any similar spec with 32GB SSD in Dell webpage.
http://configure.ap.dell.com/dellstore/con...s=dhs&cs=mydhs1
nexus2238
post Mar 6 2013, 07:36 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(kronoz @ Mar 6 2013, 06:04 PM)
Hey guys! Uhh random question: I was on the Dell website today, and I used the chat service, and it seemed to me like the person I was chatting with was trying to sell the laptop to me at a different price, and with my preferred processors.
Is that normal for Dell personnel to do? And is it legal? It seems so strange that Dell would allow that. Would it be safe to buy products from them, or would there be a risk of my laptops being tampered with?
And yeah, I've never ordered online from them before
Errr .. that's what the online sales agent are for smile.gif What is so strange about it? The prices on Dell webiste are RSP, negotiable. Those who don't negotiate and straight away click buy just give more profit to Dell tongue.gif
You still buy through Dell. The buying process is still the same. The product is still being delivered to you by Dell.
nexus2238
post Mar 6 2013, 07:38 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(namen @ Mar 6 2013, 06:17 PM)
hi there Si fu...

Regarding to the laptop selection, dell and lenovo sounds better than the Asus. I had a bad experience with Asus customer service, their parts are to darn expensive to be repaired...

By the way, i was thinking how about the lenovo z500? lower processor compared to the z580, but in terms of graphic card which is better? and the z500 comes with w8, z580 need to purchase.
Z500, i5-3230M + Nvidia GT645M @RM2299, 4GB, 1TB, W8; backlit, 2 years warranty (4-cell)
Z500 touch, i5-3230M + Nvidia GT645M + (1366x768; touch)@RM2699, 4GB, 1TB, W8; backlit, 2 years warranty
Ideapad Z580, i5-3210M + Nvidia GT640M@RM2299, 4GB, 750GB(5400rpm), W7HB, white
Ideapad Z580, i7-3612QM + Nvidia GT640M@RM2299, 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), freeDOS, white
Ideapad Z580, i7-3612QM + Nvidia GT640M@RM2499, 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), W7HB, white

There are a few specs for Z580, i5 or i7. The i5 in Z500 is (very slightly) more powerful than the i5 in Z580.
Z580 has spec that come with OS as well.
GT645M is only (very slightly) better than GT640M.
nexus2238
post Mar 6 2013, 10:51 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(namen @ Mar 6 2013, 07:42 PM)
Z500, i5-3230M + Nvidia GT645M @RM2299, 4GB, 1TB, W8; backlit, 2 years warranty (4-cell)

what does 4 cell means?

and in this case, i dont have the money for z580 with the OS at RM2499... in this case, if comparing the z580 core i5 and with z500...is the z500 better than the z580?

thanks a bunch
The "4 cell" mean the laptop come with a 4-cell battery. (A more accurate indication of battery capacity is Whr, but hey 4 cell 6 cell is more catchy right smile.gif )
If you compare the Z580 with i5 vs Z500, yes, the Z500 is giving (very) slightly better CPU and GPU, also look sleeker, and at the same RSP.
But you see, the RSP is negotiable. The Z500 is new, the Z580 is older model, and you know what happen to the selling price of older models brows.gif Do some leg work, you could find good deals for Z580. Anyway, Z500 score really well in the look department laugh.gif

This post has been edited by nexus2238: Mar 6 2013, 10:54 PM
nexus2238
post Mar 7 2013, 10:08 AM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(caterpiez @ Mar 7 2013, 08:24 AM)
1. Preferred Brand: Anything
2. Budget: under RM3.5k
3. Usage: Mainly for work (programming), web surfing and movie
4. Preferred laptop/screen size: 14' and below

* The main feature it must have BACKLIT keyboard so easy for me to do job at night smile.gif if possible with touch screen too so I do not have to change new laptop until next 3-5 years whistling.gif

Before this I'd already set my mind to get Z400 but the problem is I can't find Z400 with touch screen. The shops at my place said no such thing Z400 with touch screen. So I'm quite confused and looking for another alternative  sweat.gif

Hope all sifus can help me  notworthy.gif
Acer
Aspire S7-391-53314G12, i5-3317U + Intel HD4000 + 128GB SSD + (1920x1080; touch)@RM3799, 4GB, W8
M5-481PTG-53316G52, i5-3317U + Nvidia GT640M + 20GB mSATA + 500GB HDD@RM2999, 10-point touch, W8

Asus
UX31A-C4032H, i5-3317U + Intel HD4000 + 128GB SSD + (1920 x 1080;touch)@3799[1.3kg], 4GB, W8
VivoBook S400CA-CA006H, i5-3317U + Intel HD4000 + 24GB mSATA + 500GB + (1366x768; touch)@RM2499[2kg], 4GB, W8

Dell
Inspiron 14R, i5-3337U + Nvidia GT730M + (1366x768;touch)@RM2099[2.33kg], 4GB, 750GB(5400rpm), Linux; W8@RM2399

HP
Envy TouchSmart Ultrabook 4-1239TU, i5-3337U + Intel HD4000 + 32GB mSATA + 500GB(5400rpm) + (1366x768; touch)@RM2799[Beats][1.75kg], 4GB, W8

Lenovo
IdeaPad Yoga 13, i5-3317U + Intel HD4000 + 128GB SSD@RM3399, 4GB, 2 years; colors: grey/orange

Samsung
NP540U3C, i5-3317U + Intel HD4000 + (1366x768; touch) + 24GB mSATA + 500GB HDD@RM2999, 8GB, W8
ATIV Smart Pro, i5-3317U + Intel HD4000 + 128GB SSD + (1920x1080; touch)@RM3599[884g w/o keyboard], 4GB, stylus, W8; color: black

nexus2238
post Mar 7 2013, 10:16 AM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(shoograd @ Mar 6 2013, 11:23 PM)
Hello sifus,  notworthy.gif

I'm looking for a casual consumer laptop to do your everyday tasks, watching HD movies and some gaming thrown into it.

1. Preferred Brand : None, really.
2. Budget : RM3-3.5k, depending on how future-proof the specs are.
3. Usage : Surfing the net, watching HD movies, playing games like Shogun 2, The Witcher 2.
4. Preferred laptop/screen size : 15"

Thanks!
The Witcher 2 is a killer sweat.gif No mobile GPU (not even SLI config) can deal with it at FHD ultra detail setting.
Your budget probably can land you a laptop with GTX660M or slightly better. The best you can hope for Witcher 2 in FHD is low details setting, or HD (1366x768) in medium setting.

Asus
N56VZ-S4284H, i7-3630QM + Nvidia GT650M + (1920x1080) + Bluray@RM3699[2.7kg][B&O], 4GB, 1TB, W8; color: black
G55VW-S1216H, i7-3630QM +Nvidia GTX660M (2GB) + (1920x1080)@RM3999[3.78kg], 4GB, 1TB(5400rpm), W8

Lenovo
Ideapad Y500, i7-3630QM + Nvidia GT650M + (1920x1080)@RM3799, 4GB, 500GB, W8; GN36 exGPU, 120W & 170W AC adapter
Ideapad Y580, i7-3610QM + Nvidia GTX660M (2GB) + (1920x1080) + Bluray@RM3499[JBL], 8GB, 1TB HDD(7200rpm), W7HP, backlit keyboard, 2 years international warranty

nexus2238
post Mar 7 2013, 10:23 AM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(Najmods @ Mar 6 2013, 11:57 PM)
Looking for new laptops as my current one got too many dead things on it (dead touchpad, dead speaker etc.) Don't ask why (PF.TJ might know why tongue.gif)

1. Preferred Brand: Don't mind any brand
2. Budget: under RM2k
3. Usage: Mainly for work, movies and music. So I really wanted good speakers on laptops. Preferably on top of keyboard.
4. Preferred laptop/screen size: Any size would do.

I done some research and looks like speakers on 15 inch Lenovo Z585 are good, so I assume it's the same story as on smaller 14 inch Z485. Is there any cheap with good speaker laptops that I miss? I don't really need optical drives, lighter is better.
Sifu, can only suggest some models which sound relatively good in my peasant ears laugh.gif tongue.gif

Dell
Inspiron 14R (Special Edition), i5-3210M + Nvidia GT640M(28nm Kepler)@RM2049[2.38kg], 4GB, 500GB(7200rpm), W7HP/W8
Inspiron 15R (Special Edition), i5-3210M + AMD HD7730M@RM2199, 4GB, 1TB(5400rpm); backlit keyboard optional, W8

HP
Envy4-1238TX, i5-3337U + AMD HD8750M@RM2099[Beats][1.75kg], 2GB, 500GB(5400rpm), W8

Lenovo
Z480, i5-3230M + Nvidia GT640M@RM1999, 4GB, 1TB(5400rpm) W8, colors: grey/red/blue

This post has been edited by nexus2238: Mar 7 2013, 10:24 AM
nexus2238
post Mar 7 2013, 12:34 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(caterpiez @ Mar 7 2013, 10:40 AM)
Thanks for your reply but actually I'm more preferred the one with backlit keyboard (main priority) along with touch screen (if possible). Any suggestion?
Buddy, every models listed has touchscreen. Read lah doh.gif smile.gif

This post has been edited by nexus2238: Mar 7 2013, 12:52 PM
nexus2238
post Mar 7 2013, 01:03 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(dikara10 @ Mar 7 2013, 12:45 PM)
1. Preferred Brand: Dell or Lenovo
2. Budget: Max 2.5k
3. Usage: Adobe program(photoshop,illustrator, after effect), fifa13,
4. Preferred laptop/screen size: 14 or 15.6

I got these 3 models to consider at the moment.

Dell
Inspiron 14R (Special Edition), i5-3210M + Nvidia GT640M(28nm Kepler)@RM2049[2.38kg], 4GB, 500GB(7200rpm), W7HP/W8,

Lenovo

My question is, is it a big different  between 7200rpm vs 5400rpm? How about i5-3210 vs 3230? Is there any other model that has more value for money?
7200RPM vs 5400RPM - 7200RPM is faster, more noisy, run hotter. (off topic: nothing beat a SSD tongue.gif )

3230M vs 3210M - 3230M is (very very very) slightly faster. Not going to notice in daily usage unless you look for the difference in benchmark.

You have listed some good models already. If you run heavy load photoshop or illustrator or after effect, you could make use of i7 quad core.
Ideapad Z580, i7-3612QM + Nvidia GT640M@RM2499, 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), W7HB, white

Use your remaining budget to increase RAM (4G stick ~ RM80, help if your file is very large), extend warranty (3 years on site ~ RM250+), swap in a SSD (128G ~ RM300+/-, 256G ~ RM600+/-. Warning, once you go with SSD, you will never go back to HDD laugh.gif )

This post has been edited by nexus2238: Mar 7 2013, 01:04 PM
nexus2238
post Mar 7 2013, 01:09 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(Najmods @ Mar 7 2013, 11:38 AM)
I can't find the exact model of Envy4-1238TX anywhere, do you know where to buy it? Specwise its awesome.
Envy 4 got 3 speakers (2 speaker and 1 subwoofer) so maybe if I could hack the subwoofer with bigger diaphragm driver it could produce good bass brows.gif
QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Mar 7 2013, 12:53 PM)
Gosh I didn't know the Envy 4 has subwoofer, damn cool~~ laugh.gif
Ya, amazing spec for the price. CPU, GPU, speakers. Best value 14" ultrabook now rclxms.gif (and HP throw in 12 Months of Smart Care Service Plan (Accidental and Liquid Damage Protection) sweat.gif )

This post has been edited by nexus2238: Mar 7 2013, 01:13 PM
nexus2238
post Mar 7 2013, 02:18 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(caterpiez @ Mar 7 2013, 02:07 PM)
But what I need most is BACKLIT KEYBOARD. the one you listed mostly not have backlit keyboard  sweat.gif
Buddy, actually only TWO models that were listed don't have backlit keyboard (and I am not even going to tell you which one) laugh.gif icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by nexus2238: Mar 7 2013, 02:21 PM
nexus2238
post Mar 7 2013, 02:27 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(caterpiez @ Mar 7 2013, 02:19 PM)
Really. Thanks for your hard work.
No lah smile.gif You have to do the leg work, go out there and look at the real things, ok? smile.gif
nexus2238
post Mar 8 2013, 09:58 AM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(xYondaimex @ Mar 7 2013, 01:32 PM)
Helo Sifu's, need help here

1. Preferred Brand
Any Ultrabook brands with good specs & at least 2 years warranty, good services of course.

2. Budget
RM3300.

3. Usage
Assignments, HD movies, Games

4. Preferred laptop/screen size
Any Size
Games - what game titles? Flash game can be handled by Intel HD 4000. Far Cry 3 in ultrabook? Good luck laugh.gif icon_rolleyes.gif
Good warranty support service - Dell, Lenovo, HP ...

Since you did not provide sufficient details, just list some ultrabook models:

Dell (Standard warranty is 1 year on site, can extend warranty period easily)
XPS13, i5-3337U + Intel HD4000 + 128GB SSD@RM3399[1.36kg], 4GB, W8, backlit
Inspiron 14z, i5-3337U + AMD HD7570M + 32GB SSD + 500GB(5400rpm)@RM2549[1.87kg], 4GB, W8 *no VGA port, OD
XPS 14, i5-3337U + Nvidia GT630M + 32GB mSATA+ 500GB(5400rpm) HDD + (1600x900)@RM3849[2.1kg], 4GB, backlit, spill resistant keyboard, W8

HP (Standard warranty is 1 year, can extend warranty period easily)
Envy SpectreXT 13-2215TU, i5-3317U + Intel HD4000 + 128GB SSD@RM2899[1.39kg], 4GB, W8,backlit keyboard
Envy4-1238TX, i5-3337U + AMD HD8750M@RM2099[Beats][1.75kg], 2GB, 500GB(5400rpm), W8

Lenovo (Standard warranty could be 1 year or 2 years, depend on models, can extend warranty period easily)
IdeaPad Yoga 13, i5-3317U + Intel HD4000 + 128GB SSD@RM3399, 4GB, 2 years; colors: grey/orange
S400, i5-3317U + Intel HD4000 + 24GB mSATA + 500GB(5400rpm)@RM1999[1.8kg], 4GB, W7HB; AMD HD7450M/W8@RM2199

The Envy4 has the most powerful GPU among the models listed.
nexus2238
post Mar 8 2013, 10:06 AM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(Omnislash9999 @ Mar 8 2013, 08:51 AM)
I think i won't be considering any ultrabooks or macbook air. I tried macbook air 11 last week and was playing casually starcraft 2 and diablo 3. really cannot tahan the heat and even with low setting the performance like somewhere lacking. Looks like my requirement got to be discrete graphic card  blush.gif

Can someone suggest me a good shop at lowyat to shop for this Sony Vaio S Series?
It's not a matter of whether the laptop is ultrabook or not. It is whether the laptop come with reasonably powerful GPU to handle your game smile.gif

Consider this 14" baby:
Good CPU, Good GPU (around GT640M level), 2 speakers with a sub-woofer smile.gif Increase the RAM, swap in a 256G SSD, still cheaper than the Sony and at about the same weight.
nexus2238
post Mar 8 2013, 10:47 AM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(Omnislash9999 @ Mar 8 2013, 10:26 AM)
thanks for another good suggestion bro. smile.gif  I still feel that 14" is too big for me to travel and carrying around. 11" is too small, 13" feels right.
If you are not in a hurry, then may be wait until 4Q13 for Haswell. Haswell come with 3 type of IGPU, the most powerful one GT3, seems to be able to run at GT620M/630M level smile.gif (the problem is maybe ULV or Y series CPU will not carry the GT3 IGPU tongue.gif )
Anyway, good luck hunting for the Sony (errr .. how you seen the real thing yet? ) laugh.gif
nexus2238
post Mar 8 2013, 02:57 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(Omnislash9999 @ Mar 8 2013, 10:56 AM)
haha i need a laptop like next week  sweat.gif cant wait any longer.
ya i think i saw the s series at sony centre before. feels alright. but i'll definitely try out and consider those few model that you kindly suggested previously  rclxms.gif

yet, still my dream laptop is lenovo x230, but too expensive  rclxub.gif
X230 is nice, but you can't play you game with it (only HD4000).
Too bad that you find the illegear R-11 too small.
Well if you ever want to upgrade in the future, keep an eye on illegear. Heard from Prince J that they could be launching 13" model later this year (but don't know how late lah laugh.gif )
nexus2238
post Mar 8 2013, 03:00 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(Night_Walker @ Mar 8 2013, 02:24 PM)
Yea, i also think MSI is better than G55vw for some reason..XD.

About Lenovo Y500, i can see that it is quite affordable but still can offer Very Powerful Spec. Then again, i've also heard that the built isn't pretty solid, very easy to overheat, problems with graphic card and others...
If you are concern about the heat profile of Y500 (which is way better than Y580), then you should not touch GE60 (this thing run hot). G55VW has the best heat profile among the 3.
Yup, Y500 will not win any solid build award laugh.gif
There is no problem with GPU in Y500 per se. You just have SLI setting to deal with, and also no Optimus.
nexus2238
post Mar 8 2013, 06:46 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(fox_shinoda @ Mar 8 2013, 02:46 PM)
1. Preferred Brand : Anything except for Asus
2. Budget : Max Rm3.8k
3. Usage : HD movies, browsing, gaming
4. Preferred laptop/screen size: 15"
What game titles you plan to play?
Anyway, with your budget, the most powerful GPU you are going to get is around GTX660M level smile.gif

Acer
V3-571G-736b8G1T, i7-3630QM + Nvidia GT730M(DDR3) + (1920x1080 IPS) @RM2899[2.6kg], 8GB, 1TB, W8

Dell
Inspiron 15R (Special Edition), i7-3612QM + AMD HD7730M + (1920x1080; anti-glare) + 32GB SSD + 1TB HDD(5400rpm)@RM3199, 8GB, backlit keyboard optional, W8

Lenovo
Ideapad Y500, i7-3630QM + Nvidia GT650M + (1920x1080)@RM3799, 4GB, 500GB, W8; GN36 exGPU, 120W & 170W AC adapter
Ideapad Y580, i7-3610QM + Nvidia GTX660M (2GB) + (1920x1080) + Bluray@RM3499[JBL], 8GB, 1TB HDD(7200rpm), W7HP, backlit keyboard, 2 years international warranty

MSI
GE60, i7-3610QM + Nvidia GTX660M + (1920x1080; anti-glare) + Bluray@RM4199, 8GB, 1TB(7200rpm), W7HP, 2 years warranty, gaming mouse & backpack, Free SteelSeries QCK Mass mousepad

32 Pages « < 22 23 24 25 26 > » Top

0.0482sec    0.38    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 09:45 AM