For teacher; basic word documents and excel.
No need for gaming or anything like that
11' preferable, nothing heavy because needs to carry it around a lot.
320gb storage
Buying a new laptop? NEED RECOMMENDATIONS? V18, Kindly FOLLOW the FORMAT TQ~!
Jan 20 2013, 12:30 PM
375 posts Joined: Mar 2008 From: KL (Kota Damansara) |
Budget: RM1200
For teacher; basic word documents and excel. No need for gaming or anything like that 11' preferable, nothing heavy because needs to carry it around a lot. 320gb storage Thanks |
Jan 20 2013, 12:51 PM
24,193 posts Joined: Feb 2010 From: Perak |
QUOTE(ClearlyADupe @ Jan 20 2013, 12:16 PM) I think Windows 8 works more intuitively with touch capabilities. Is there a normal laptop with touch capabilities and optical drive? Don't need those newer specs such as SSD. If without optical drive (you can get an external one), then these:14" Asus VivoBook S400CA=CA006H, i5-3317U + Intel HD4000 + 24GB mSATA + 500GB + (1366x768; touch)@RM2499[2kg], 4GB, W8 HP [Ultrabook] Envy TouchSmart Ultrabook 4-1124TU, i5-3317U + Intel HD4000 + [32GB mSATA + 500GB(5400rpm)] + (1366x768; touch)@RM2888[Beats][1.75kg], 4GB, W8 Pretty much these only if 14" |
Jan 20 2013, 12:52 PM
Jan 20 2013, 12:54 PM
QUOTE(azzaim92 @ Jan 20 2013, 12:30 PM) Budget: RM1200 This one perhaps?For teacher; basic word documents and excel. No need for gaming or anything like that 11' preferable, nothing heavy because needs to carry it around a lot. 320gb storage Thanks Asus Eee PC 1225B, E-450 + AMD HD6320M + (1366x768)@RM1259[1.45kg], W7S; colors: Red/Silver/Black |
Jan 20 2013, 01:01 PM
1,304 posts Joined: Mar 2010 |
Hi sifus, need some help with some questions below, have tried browsing around and requires some clarifications.
1. Preferred Brand HP ASUS Lenovo 2. Budget RM3k and below. 3. Usage Presentations (need VGA port) Normal browsing, surfing Maybe will play some games (looking at titles e.g. FIFA13, Company of Heroes 2, etc.), but spend less time. Require SD Card reader for my digicam. DVD-RW Detachable battery ~2.2kg or probably lower 4. Preferred laptop/screen size 14" and below.. does not prefer 15.6"/17".. too big for me. 5. Additional i) been looking at HP DV4-5202tx (RM2.4k) +ve: familiar brand, knows where to go to get warranty (past experience seems okay) -ve: at least heard of 3 laptops (from family members/friends) facing screen issue (e.g. a horizontal/vertical line at the display, had to claim warranty, and latest one is the screen blacked out in half, normal usage without accidents. ii) due to HP experience, takes a look at ASUS A45VS (RM2.1k) +ve: heard of good feedbacks on its performance, etc. oh.. and HD webcam (imagining HD quality videos taken with the webcam.. might not use it anyway, but why not?) -ve: also heard of the problematic warranty claims (ASUS warranty hard to claim, etc.) iii) Lenovo (no clue which model yet) +ve: seems like price is cheaper. -ve: not sure about the experience/any related issues. iv) from the laptops above, looks like i'm keen to get these specs: i5 3210m (2.5GHz) Windows 7/8 64bit HDD 500GB above (if change to SSD will there be a significant speed increase?) 4GB RAM or higher (can I upgrade myself directly to 8GB 1600MHz with Win7/8 64bit?) |
Jan 20 2013, 01:05 PM
2,227 posts Joined: May 2010 |
QUOTE(ClearlyADupe @ Jan 20 2013, 11:57 AM) Hi, just ignore my username coz my main account got banned. I'm thinking of buying a new laptop/ultrabook to replace my old one. Any recommendations for my requirements? Thanks. ACER ASPIRE M5-481PTG-53316G52 ULTRABOOK 14" ---this , with touch screen, dvdrw rom and its ultrabook1. Budget - preferably under RM3k but can go up to RM3.2k. 2. Usage - more to office work stuff, video playing, music, no heavy stuff that requires major processing power. 3. Preferably with Windows 8 and touch screen enabled. Also would prefer a built-in optical drive (I know only a handful of ultrabooks have these). I'm not really familiar with the technical jargons btw. |
Jan 20 2013, 01:10 PM
QUOTE(ClearlyADupe @ Jan 20 2013, 01:08 PM) Thanks. But I had a bad experience with Acer laptops many years back. Do they still have quality issues now? Especially with their higher end models such as the ultrabook you mentioned? I would rather settle for, say, Dell who's famous for their after-sales service rather than with crappy after-sales service. even dell alienware have problem, haha |
Jan 20 2013, 01:24 PM
375 posts Joined: Mar 2008 From: KL (Kota Damansara) |
Jan 20 2013, 01:32 PM
Jan 20 2013, 01:35 PM
Jan 20 2013, 01:40 PM
43 posts Joined: Dec 2008 |
QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Jan 20 2013, 10:17 AM) It depends on what you want to do with the convertibles, and of course your budget as well Hi..thanks for your feedback Personally I'd stick to the ATIV Smart PC Pro, because it can be "transformed" directly into tablet mode, it is more convenient and easy to bring about; whereas the Yoga, XPS 12 and Vaio 11, despite being converted into tablet mode, the keyboard is still attached = heavier. I'm not very keen on the Yoga 13 since when it is converted into tablet mode, the keyboard will become the base of the entire tablet, and will be prone to damage and scratches... if you really want a Lenovo, you can wait for the upcoming Lenovo Helix 1. i travel quite a lot thus needs light and portable laptop 2. When is the best time to buy this kind of device (ultrabook convertibles/touchscreen?) as intel Haswell will be out this year. 3. i really need a laptop/ultrabook as my current vostro1500 is superslow nowadays even after formatting. i dont know what is the prob but it is 5 years old already. If you say now is the right time, is ativ smart pc pro the best option especially in terms of performance...or... i need to be patient and wait for newer models? Thank you very much! |
Jan 20 2013, 02:03 PM
QUOTE(kalerfool @ Jan 20 2013, 01:40 PM) Hi..thanks for your feedback http://www.laptophug.com/2012/12/hybrid-la...ce-of-rs-69000/1. i travel quite a lot thus needs light and portable laptop 2. When is the best time to buy this kind of device (ultrabook convertibles/touchscreen?) as intel Haswell will be out this year. 3. i really need a laptop/ultrabook as my current vostro1500 is superslow nowadays even after formatting. i dont know what is the prob but it is 5 years old already. If you say now is the right time, is ativ smart pc pro the best option especially in terms of performance...or... i need to be patient and wait for newer models? Thank you very much! this one not bad =) |
Jan 20 2013, 02:24 PM
43 posts Joined: Dec 2008 |
QUOTE(devour @ Jan 20 2013, 02:03 PM) Is it available in malaysia as it is hard to be found on the net? Cycom mentioned on other thread it is not available in fujitsu malaysia..uhuhDo you think now is the best time to buy this kinda device or wait some more? I've searched the lenovo helix and it looks quite promising and feb release date is not that far (hope it reaches malaysia soon!). This post has been edited by kalerfool: Jan 20 2013, 04:36 PM |
Jan 20 2013, 05:13 PM
7 posts Joined: Mar 2010 |
Hi guys
Can I get some good recommendations here with the below requirements? 1. Preferred Brand : Any brands, but I hope to get a good post-sales service 2. Budget : around RM 2.1K and below 3. Usage : engineering software, such as AUTOCAD, movies, music, assignments 4. Preferred laptop/screen size : 14" - 15" |
Jan 20 2013, 05:45 PM
4,195 posts Joined: Sep 2012 |
QUOTE(bontotalan @ Jan 19 2013, 10:17 PM) Im in kelana jaya. Digital mall should have right? For the Y580, you can also check with some reputable sellers in garage sales forums. Avoid grey import units if you can, as some users have complained on getting warranty support from Lenovo Malaysia on grey import units.Heavy eh, not that heavy nowadays i guess. But high ram is a must for me now. My multitasking is just stupid since i like to open all 3 apps at 1 time Gaming wise. I dont care much about "highest" setting. All i want is for normal gaming for latest games. No smoke simulation or sort on ae. Coz, if i buy the dell, i could buy external hdd. Extra warranty. Does it support 16gb ram? Have to do some leg work for the legend "wait for it" ery Y580 Smoke simulation - external HDD give you more storage capacity, does not help on rendering speed The good thing about Dell is specs usually is configurable. But for 14R SE, unfortunately, since it is a SE, nothing much you can change if you go Dell Online. Your alternative is this option: Inspiron 14R (Special Edition), i7-3612QM + Nvidia GT640M(28nm Kepler)@RM2799[2.38kg], 8GB, 1TB(5400rpm); backlit keyboard optional Remember you can still negotiate even you buy through Dell Online, just online chat. Unfortunately again, Dell Online don't let you increase RAM to 16G. http://ark.intel.com/products/64901/Intel-...GA?wapkw=3612qm But you can see from Intel that the i7 support 32G RAM. Try to online chat and see if you can get what you want in terms of RAM. |
Jan 20 2013, 05:59 PM
QUOTE(piecesofme @ Jan 20 2013, 05:13 PM) Hi guys Good post sales service - Dell, Lenovo (if you opt to upgrade), HP (better among all the SC bounds ... )Can I get some good recommendations here with the below requirements? 1. Preferred Brand : Any brands, but I hope to get a good post-sales service 2. Budget : around RM 2.1K and below 3. Usage : engineering software, such as AUTOCAD, movies, music, assignments 4. Preferred laptop/screen size : 14" - 15" Your brother usage could really benefit from some i7 love, but the budget is a bit restrictive Consider these: Dell Inspiron 14R (Special Edition), i5-3210M + Nvidia GT640M(28nm Kepler)@RM2049[2.38kg], 4GB, 500GB(7200rpm), W7HP/W8 Inspiron 15R (Special Edition), i5-3210M + AMD HD7730M@RM2199, 4GB, 1TB(5400rpm); backlit keyboard optional, W7HP/W8 Lenovo G480, i5-3210M + Nvidia GT635M@RM1899, 4GB, 1TB (5400rpm), W8, 2 yrs warranty Z480, i5-3210M + Nvidia GT640M@RM2099, 4GB, 1TB(5400rpm) W8, colors: grey/red/blue Ideapad G580, i5-3210M + Nvidia GT630M@RM1699, 2GB, 500GB, freeDOS, 1 yr warranty Ideapad Z580, i5-3210M + Nvidia GT640M@RM2299, 4GB, 750GB(5400rpm), W7HB, white Ideapad Z580, i7-3612QM + Nvidia GT640M@RM2299, 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), freeDOS, white HP Pavilion G4-2205/2206/2207TX, i5-3210M + AMD HD7670M@RM2099[2.19kg], 2GB ,500GB(5400rpm), W8, colors: white/red/black Price is RSP, negotiable. Btw, the Z580 i7 currently is the cheapest brand new i7 spec laptop you can find in Malaysia This post has been edited by nexus2238: Jan 20 2013, 06:01 PM |
Jan 20 2013, 06:07 PM
QUOTE(kalerfool @ Jan 20 2013, 02:24 PM) Is it available in malaysia as it is hard to be found on the net? Cycom mentioned on other thread it is not available in fujitsu malaysia..uhuh when devour sifu recommend something, sometime he also "mean" that he has it in stocks Do you think now is the best time to buy this kinda device or wait some more? I've searched the lenovo helix and it looks quite promising and feb release date is not that far (hope it reaches malaysia soon!). If you can wait, obviously more brands is going to launch more hybrid / convertible going down the road But hoping for Feb13 for Lenovo Helix in Malaysia is a bit optimistic (may be 3 more months from the date it actually released somewhere in the world |
Jan 20 2013, 06:20 PM
QUOTE(pokchik @ Jan 20 2013, 01:01 PM) Hi sifus, need some help with some questions below, have tried browsing around and requires some clarifications. From the usage and game titles you listed, you don't need powefurl GPU 1. Preferred Brand HP ASUS Lenovo 2. Budget RM3k and below. 3. Usage Presentations (need VGA port) Normal browsing, surfing Maybe will play some games (looking at titles e.g. FIFA13, Company of Heroes 2, etc.), but spend less time. Require SD Card reader for my digicam. DVD-RW Detachable battery ~2.2kg or probably lower 4. Preferred laptop/screen size 14" and below.. does not prefer 15.6"/17".. too big for me. 5. Additional i) been looking at HP DV4-5202tx (RM2.4k) +ve: familiar brand, knows where to go to get warranty (past experience seems okay) -ve: at least heard of 3 laptops (from family members/friends) facing screen issue (e.g. a horizontal/vertical line at the display, had to claim warranty, and latest one is the screen blacked out in half, normal usage without accidents. ii) due to HP experience, takes a look at ASUS A45VS (RM2.1k) +ve: heard of good feedbacks on its performance, etc. oh.. and HD webcam (imagining HD quality videos taken with the webcam.. might not use it anyway, but why not?) -ve: also heard of the problematic warranty claims (ASUS warranty hard to claim, etc.) iii) Lenovo (no clue which model yet) +ve: seems like price is cheaper. -ve: not sure about the experience/any related issues. iv) from the laptops above, looks like i'm keen to get these specs: i5 3210m (2.5GHz) Windows 7/8 64bit HDD 500GB above (if change to SSD will there be a significant speed increase?) 4GB RAM or higher (can I upgrade myself directly to 8GB 1600MHz with Win7/8 64bit?) It seems that warranty support is important to you. If it is, go for Dell (standard next business day onsite, just extend to 3 years), Lenovo (upgrade to onsite), HP (still better among all the brands that need you to send to SC) Yes, you will notice very significant increase in "responsiveness" if you switch from HDD to SSD. But SSD is still relatively expensive right now (128G ~ RM250+). Yes, you may upgrade to 8G 1600MHz (2x4G). 64bit OS can support. Just make sure there are RAM slots (most normal laptop has, just watch out for ultrabook). Upgrade RAM aftermarket will not void warranty if you / technician does not break warranty seals somewhere else. Consider these: Dell Inspiron 14R (Special Edition), i5-3210M + Nvidia GT640M(28nm Kepler)@RM2049[2.38kg], 4GB, 500GB(7200rpm), W7HP/W8 Inspiron 14-3421, i5-3317U + Nvidia GT625M@RM1799[1.99kg], Win8SL, 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), 6-cell Lenovo Z480, i5-3210M + Nvidia GT640M@RM2099, 4GB, 1TB(5400rpm) W8, colors: grey/red/blue HP Envy4-1111TX, i5-3317U + AMD HD7670M + [32GB mSATA + 500GB(5400rpm)]@RM2599[Beats][1.75kg], 4GB, W8 Envy Dv4-5202TX/5203TX, i5-3210M + Nvidia GT630M@RM2399[Beats], 4GB, 750GB(5400rpm), W8, black/red Use your remaining budget to upgrade / extend warranty, upgrade to SSD from HDD, increase RAM. This post has been edited by nexus2238: Jan 20 2013, 11:44 PM |
Jan 20 2013, 06:42 PM
8 posts Joined: Feb 2010 |
QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Jan 20 2013, 10:14 AM) Y480 and Y580 are EOL-ed already, both are pretty hard to find anymore... remaining ones are non-local sets Ok, I just checked it out, very interesting. thank you :DDD. So i guess this Y400 is also about RM 2.5k? Also, if i may ask, what are the equivalent Dell and ASUS models to the Y400?Perhaps you can save around RM100 more to get the newer and potentially better-performing Y400 |
| Change to: | 0.0174sec
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 12:42 PM |