QUOTE(Jophyn @ Feb 15 2013, 11:41 AM)
I have been asking about this
Preferred brand: -
Budget: RM1900-RM2400
Usage: (postgraduate) doing assignment (frequently with Microsoft office, i.e. word, excel), installing some statistical software like SAS, minitab....., online, reading pdf file, watching drama, playing music. Mostly open notebook for long hours.
Preferred laptop/screen size: 14"
Thanks a lot
May I know Toshiba L840-1041X versus Asus A45VS-VX026H versus Asus A45VD, which one more worth/valuable & suitable for my usage?
Any others laptop from others brand can recommend?
You don't need powerful GPU.
If you run very large data sets in your SAS / Minitab, you may notice difference in performance if you opt for Intel i7 quad core CPU.
With your budget, you normally will only get HD (1366x768) screen. Hope you are not watching drama in FHD

(otherwise just connect to external display or FHD TV).
Laptop generally has lousy speakers. Connect laptop to a pair of cheap (~RM100) desktop speakers for better sound for your music.
If you run data intensive task (with lots of CPU calculation, disc activities ... ) for long period, make sure you get good external cooling solution (table fan, cooling pad ~ RM80).
Satellite L840-1041X/XR/XW, i5-3210M + AMD HD7670M@RM2099[2.12kg], 2GB, 500GB, W8; colors: black/red/White
A45VS-VX026H, i5-3210M + Nvidia GT645M@RM2199[2.4kg], 2GB, 500GB, W8
Don't go for A45VD (unless there is some specific reason like you like the colour

) since A45VS outspec it at the same price point (even though you may not utilise the GPU

).
For your usage, L840 and A45VS is more or less the same (same CPU). Just make sure the OS is 64 bit, and upgrade RAM to 4G at least (if you multitask a lot, 8G. 4G stick is ~ RM80). You obviously is going to type a lot, so please try out the keyboard (my fingers cannot "tahan" Toshiba current keyboard) in person. You looks like someone who is likely to punch lots of numbers. Either get a external numpad (good Logitech), or may want to consider 15" models which has built in numpad in keyboard (trade off for heavier weight).
Other suggestion:
Dell
Inspiron 14R (Special Edition), i5-3210M + Nvidia GT640M(28nm Kepler)@RM2049[2.38kg], 4GB, 500GB(7200rpm), W7HP/W8 (extend warranty to 3 years for peace of mind)
HP
Envy Dv4-5202TX/5203TX, i5-3210M + Nvidia GT630M@RM2399[Beats], 4GB, 750GB(5400rpm), W8, black/red (reasonable speakers among laptops)
Lenovo
Z480, i5-3210M + Nvidia GT640M@RM2099, 4GB, 1TB(5400rpm) W8, colors: grey/red/blue (slightly larger HDD, decent keyboard, also can upgrade warranty to 3 years on site)
All prices are RSP, negotiable.