katsumoto2011
post Feb 28 2013, 11:06 PM

219 posts

i would recommend

shimano scimitar & okuma nemesis for beginner graphite rod

&

shakespeare for fiber rod

in term of durability i would chose shakespeare , since you hardly can break a fiber in fishing ....
katsumoto2011
post Mar 2 2013, 12:46 AM

219 posts

QUOTE(SneakyLeaky @ Mar 1 2013, 07:47 PM)
hey guys! newbie here, if it is possible i would like to have advice and suggestions by you guys here. ive been going to a dam near my place

however after many many tries, me and my friends could not get anything at all. not even a nibble! i am really annoyed and wondering how on earth can a damn so big can have no fish in it!!

probably we are casting at the wrong places, or maybe we should fish there at night since fish will look for food at night. the bait we use are nightcrawlers (fat earthworms). the damn is very deep as you would expect.

Details about the Dam
- Very Deep
- Has grasses and weeds along the banks.
- Has birds flying around and picking up small fishes on the surface
- occasionally has fishes splashing water on the surface
- water is dark slightly murky black

any suggestions would be great! thanks!
if you fish at a huge lake , i would suggest you bring bait that have strong smell

such as chicken intestine , since the lake is huge you might wanna consider feeding the fish at the same spot
for several days with fish pellet before you fish, just to attract the fish on the area to gather around
katsumoto2011
post Mar 2 2013, 04:47 PM

219 posts

QUOTE(vioxmonsta @ Mar 2 2013, 01:46 PM)
Get a big Milo tin,cucuk many many lobang, stuff with chicken intestine. Close it.. throw to the spot where u wanna cast.
here come the sifu rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
katsumoto2011
post Mar 3 2013, 11:04 PM

219 posts

anyone try china dedak before ???
katsumoto2011
post Mar 7 2013, 08:40 PM

219 posts

QUOTE(SneakyLeaky @ Mar 7 2013, 07:53 PM)
sigh still cant get any fishes, tried using chicken livers today and still not even a nibble. the other day when we were waiting while the lines are in the water a huge fish came up and splash water .... what mockery is this -.-

i think i really nid to know what the heck is in these waters.. man worms don't work, chicken livers don't work ... i really have no idea what else to try. do you guys think i should try live minnows?  hook them at the tail and let cast it into the water? or maybe i am just casting the bait at all the wrong places.  gosh this is so annoying!!
can you tell us what time you fishing ???
katsumoto2011
post Mar 7 2013, 09:41 PM

219 posts

QUOTE(SneakyLeaky @ Mar 7 2013, 09:06 PM)
i was fishing at 3pm LOL ... is it too hot to fish? well i do know that fishes are wayy less active in the afternoon... would  you suggest that i should fish at night instead? do you think it makes a big difference?
lol why you chose the hottest time in the day to fish........ doh.gif

try morning 6-10am instead ...
katsumoto2011
post Mar 7 2013, 11:37 PM

219 posts

QUOTE(Garager @ Mar 7 2013, 11:29 PM)
i bought a abu garcia ikazuchi bi-to lbs 662 mha+shimano sienna 4000fd+ichiban pro hunter super thin dyneema line 30lbs.i still new in fishing,so hope to get any comment from sifu-sifu here about this setting:)
bottom fishing ?????
katsumoto2011
post Mar 8 2013, 11:25 PM

219 posts

QUOTE(SneakyLeaky @ Mar 8 2013, 12:01 AM)
coz the only time available for me is in the afternoon .. sad.gif lol
would the weather play such a big role in this? what about mid night? would that be better?

and 1 more thing i nidda bug u guys for insights. usually ponds, lakes and rivers in Msia, given the right depth and cleanliness, there will be carps, catfishes and haruans right? especially a dam would have all of these fishes? if i use earthworms as baits that would be able to nail almost all fishes?
not every fish eat earthworm , so better bring several bait

QUOTE(Garager @ Mar 8 2013, 12:47 AM)
mostly bottom.not sure how it would be especially the shimano sienna 4000fd(cheppo class shimano) when handle stubborn fish like etc toman.dun know what is the max drag,cant find it correctly online also hmm.gif
you setting can do most freshwater fishing , even casting also can as long as the lure not to light .......

QUOTE(acheong7 @ Mar 8 2013, 09:51 PM)
yes, catfish are foragers
sinker size ... depends on baitfish size
say 3-3.5" lampam, carp or other baitfish ... those #1/2 sinkers with a metal loop or #4 oval sinkers is adequate
leader of approx 18-30" will allow the bait to swim freely
too long and it may lead to tangles ... hazards of the hobby
have to find out one way or another hehehehheh

bring along some sulfur if you're going at night
spread it around your spot to deter snakes
mosquito coil just in case
once you're used to night visits, can consider smelly bait
terrain familiarity + general idea of nocturnal visitors will give you an idea, since smelly bait also attracts monitors and snakes/cobras
oh yes, have a sturdy rod holder AND tie down the rod/reel ... just in case

i'm crazy enough to lay out 2-3 rods simultaneously
not because i want fish but i want action and to know what's available and what attracts
1 rod - earthworm
1 rod - baitfish
1 rod - seehum/shrimp/bread ...
i'll walk the edges with handline + earthworm for gobies  cool2.gif
in case cant find sulfur just go to chinese incense selling store ask for 柑文烟
round shape yellow color 1 , also can work as mosquito repellent

if you tend to fish at night try to find some buddy accompany together .....

katsumoto2011
post Mar 20 2013, 12:21 AM

219 posts

QUOTE(Streetrat @ Mar 20 2013, 12:13 AM)
Anyone know where nearby KL/PJ can fish for free?or for a minimum fee per entry?Rawang maybe???Wanna try fishing for the first time, pay pond time too short n ex for me, after getting ready everything almost times up.
EAK is friendly to beginner
katsumoto2011
post Mar 20 2013, 12:51 AM

219 posts

QUOTE(Streetrat @ Mar 20 2013, 12:49 AM)
https://www.facebook.com/FlyFishingLureCastingCentre

Is this the place?taman botanical garden near skytrex?How much is the fees? Those fish in the FB page looks damn big, how can i try to fish only something small first?still not very comfortable with fish, honestly they look scary, because normally i only eat them without touching.
lol you think too much just go and have some fun , if you catch a big one consider your in luck

if not just enjoy the time thumbup.gif

12 hours rm 20 , should fit into your budget

This post has been edited by katsumoto2011: Mar 20 2013, 12:52 AM
katsumoto2011
post Mar 20 2013, 01:31 AM

219 posts

QUOTE(acheong7 @ Mar 20 2013, 01:15 AM)
EAK is strictly catch & release i think
they also have night sessions but require a certain number of ppl
and prior notice i think ... dont recall exact details

Hooi bro, last i saw the elite tech small mouth was <rm350 b4 discount but this was last year
night fishing only available from 6pm to 10pm with minimum 6 person

rm 25 per person only available after confirm booking
katsumoto2011
post Mar 20 2013, 10:21 PM

219 posts

QUOTE(hamstrex @ Mar 20 2013, 08:33 AM)
EAK can use lure fishing??  went there and he asked me to buy small fishes to catch ...
actually when the pond keeper is there aka mr nik , he will ask you use either lure/live bait/fly only

other the that he wont allow you to use it ....

QUOTE(inv @ Mar 20 2013, 10:23 AM)
Yes. You can use lure, but its gonna be difficult.

In EAK, its all about distance if u are doing land based fishing. You need to be able to cast at least 25ft out.

I have success with slow sinking lure like the ofmer wonder 50, duel hardcore 50s. But the most successful lure for me is the duo ikakko in dark colours. Its so successful until I've lost 3 units there. Many sad.
because EAK are catch and release pond so most fish will adapt to the lure .....
after 1 time you get a strike , you hardly get another after that ...

so you have to bring new lure everytime

QUOTE(Streetrat @ Mar 20 2013, 10:31 AM)
HANYA AKTIVITI PANCING LAYANG (FLY FISHING) DI EMPANGAN AIR KUNING SAHAJA DIBENARKAN. SESIAPA YANG DIDAPATI MEMANCING AKAN DI DENDA RM100 PER JORAN" - tbnsa.gov.my

Found this on google map.
there are around 6 pond at taman pertanian , but only 3 are allow to fish
EAK consider lower and upper pond , both of them allow lure/live bait/fly

but most angler will bring bread/dedak/pallet to fish

dont fish at other pond if you been catch by the ranger prepare to say bye bye to your gear .....

QUOTE(acheong7 @ Mar 20 2013, 11:40 AM)
thanks, bro katsu
different parts of EAK caters for different types ... some parts only fly
actually both lower and upper pond also can fish just that the lower pond is too big and too few fish

so most will stay at upper to fish , and as long you using either lure/live bait/fly you allow to fish at both ...

QUOTE(Streetrat @ Mar 20 2013, 12:15 PM)
So the Empangan air kuning is inside the Taman Botanical Negara Shah Alam? 12 hours for RM20, What time does it open?after 6pm consider night fishing? Can i bring my dog there? What kind of bread should i use for bait? need to mix anything with the bread?TQ
haven seen people bring dog over there but got plenty of malay angler so make sure you dog dont go harass them..

as for bread , you can bring any brand you prefer most will use gardenia

QUOTE(inv @ Mar 20 2013, 12:27 PM)
Actually, a lot of bottom kaki go there oso. Use chicken parts. So disgusting..
nowdays using chicken part even harder to land a catch.......

i just visit last 2 sunday , seen people trying to gather small pacu using chicken skin
throw a bunch of them to the water no fish come eat doh.gif doh.gif

fish whole day saw the chicken skin float whole day also

i think pacu have a change in taste whistling.gif

QUOTE(hamstrex @ Mar 20 2013, 12:47 PM)
i thought only live bait, lure, fly fishing... no dedak allow.. didn't know internal organs are allowed.. i doubt i could cast that far... and i think my gear is not suitable for such fishing mode.. XD trying to reduce my fishing gear soon smile.gif
actually light setting enough to fish at EAK, the only thing is you need to cast long distant
if you cant cast long , you might need to use heavier weight

if you manage to land 5kg + pacu you be damn fun fighting using the light setup thumbup.gif

QUOTE(inv @ Mar 20 2013, 01:31 PM)
I dunno la, at one time, it was supposed to be fly n lure only. But nowadays, it seems that everything goes. Quite disappointed with the managements attitude actually..
the pond keeper yudi didint enforce the rules , but if mr nik there he will chase you out if he know you using organs
truth me i seen that happen before ......

if you using dedak/pallet/bread he might close a eye

QUOTE(1dollar @ Mar 20 2013, 02:24 PM)
Havent gone window shopping for months.... but for Yozuri items,.. you should check out Sam's place & Digital tackle.

As for EAK,.... any fluttering, slow sinking lures will definitely attract those lil pocket rocket pacus.
So far we landed them on Ofmer Wander 50, Storm Fluttersticks, Grubs SP, small spoons.
Bottom dedaks and bread goot for the catfishes like Patin and Keli.
Spinfly for the whats left of the PBs there.

Again,.. distance and accuracy is all the technique you need in EAK,.. pacus swims in schools and often goes frenzy,.. if you can cast and land your lure right on the splashes,... you are for sure to land something.
Beware of potential snag places, especially the jetty across the lake. Few sunken dead trees there took some of my lures.
remind me when you get a strike , the pacu sure go to the tree at right hand side when you fish at the jeti

nowdays pacu also seldom play water but still willing to grap bait

for those who are 1st timer go EAK fishing ,you might wanna have a look at here
my visit last 2 weeks ago

http://www.fisherzone.com/forum/viewthread...page%3D1&page=1

katsumoto2011
post Mar 20 2013, 11:54 PM

219 posts

QUOTE(max_cjs0101 @ Mar 20 2013, 11:32 PM)
I went to EAK yesterday and managed to land some juvenile pacus. The bite rate is not really good these days not sure why.
what bait and time you go ?
katsumoto2011
post Mar 21 2013, 12:01 AM

219 posts

7-15lb rod with a 3000 reel should be enough
line you can chose from 10-30lb and leader 20-40lb
katsumoto2011
post Mar 21 2013, 08:42 PM

219 posts

QUOTE(max_cjs0101 @ Mar 21 2013, 12:45 AM)
Went there around 11am and the fishes stopped biting after 2pm till 4 when i left. Used some pellets, chicken liver and bread.
aiya you should go early , after 10am fish bite rate will start to slow down already ...
katsumoto2011
post Mar 21 2013, 09:25 PM

219 posts

QUOTE(rorytate @ Mar 21 2013, 09:02 PM)
Btw Fellas, my phone was snatched from me today!

Praise The Lord for there's zero harm on me.

Meanwhile, I can be reached at my other number 012-2877814

by rempit ?
katsumoto2011
post Mar 22 2013, 08:47 PM

219 posts

QUOTE(hamstrex @ Mar 22 2013, 12:40 PM)
anyone here know if we need license to operate an inflatable boat/kayak/sampan with electric/petrol powered propeller ?? lets say we go any beach and deploy a boat for fishing with friend will kena saman ah??

btw EAK allow people to bring their own boat??
haven seen anyone bring 1 before

QUOTE(Red Tsubasa @ Mar 22 2013, 06:49 PM)
Hi guys , do you know where is the place in KL can fishing at night ?

pay pond no problem ...salt water , fresh water etc ~
you can try tow foo or section 24 shah alam pay pond
both operate 24 hours a day

This post has been edited by katsumoto2011: Mar 22 2013, 08:47 PM
katsumoto2011
post Mar 22 2013, 09:48 PM

219 posts

QUOTE(Red Tsubasa @ Mar 22 2013, 09:00 PM)
Too bad unique fishing pond  seri kembabngan close at 8pm ~
you stay near SK ????

got planty of place to fish nearby mah
katsumoto2011
post Mar 23 2013, 05:07 PM

219 posts

QUOTE(Red Tsubasa @ Mar 22 2013, 10:30 PM)
where can intro ? i am newbie lar  ~
i suggest you go to Kolam Pancing Shah Alam seksyen 24

Kolam Pancing Bukit Jalil
GPS location
3.0578268, 101.6666114

Map
http://wikimapia.org#lat=3.0578268&lon=101...=b&search=kolam pancing

kolam pancing air tawar oug
GPS location
3.0651065, 101.6747801

map
http://wikimapia.org#lat=3.0651065&lon=101...=b&search=kolam pancing

Kolam Pancing Pulau Meranti
GPS location
2.9584083, 101.6220385

map
http://wikimapia.org#lat=2.9584083&lon=101...=b&search=kolam pancing

Kolam Pancing Shah Alam seksyen 24
GPS location
3.0363109, 101.5213349

map
http://wikimapia.org#lat=3.0363109&lon=101...=b&search=kolam pancing

kolam Pancing seri serdang
GPS location
3.0125059, 101.7154107

map
http://wikimapia.org#lat=3.0125059&lon=101...search=3.013355, 101.729318

Kolam Pancing Minlon aka hill top
GPS location
3.0133389, 101.7292214

map
http://wikimapia.org#lat=3.0133389&lon=101...search=3.013355, 101.729318

QUOTE(SneakyLeaky @ Mar 23 2013, 01:09 AM)
what would be the best time you guys would suggest for fishing? say in the morning ... 5am? damn the effort it takes juz to get up... now i m on hols i still could do crazy things like this
early morning 6-10am
late evening 4-8pm

9 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0527sec    1.63    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 06:00 AM