17 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Bottom

Hobbies Fishing thread v11, fish fish fish

acheong7
post Mar 21 2013, 10:04 PM

QUOTE(rorytate @ Mar 21 2013, 09:02 PM)
Btw Fellas, my phone was snatched from me today!

Praise The Lord for there's zero harm on me.

Meanwhile, I can be reached at my other number 012-2877814

AMEN brother ... thanks be to the Lord.
glad to know you're all right
acheong7
post Mar 22 2013, 09:14 PM

there have been and will continue to be times when anglers will get nuthin' at all ... xcept for sunburn, dew, rain-soaked, fall into water, fall in the mud, attacked by mosquitoes, leeches, cobras, pricked by their own hooks ...

these does not include bumps and scrapes from loading an unloading stuff
p'raps this is the origin of 'worst day of fishing still better than best day at work' tongue.gif

last time i will always prep one medium rod for bottom with live baitfish
another medium/light/ul rod with worm
then go scour the fringes with handline lolololol ...
nowadays, add a BC so i have something to do in between waiting ... heheheh

mesia bleh ... semua bleh
illegal immigrants get IC overnight - bleh
illegal immigrants + locals take everything from every waterhole - BLEH
mesia absolutely no enforcement in most things - ABSO-BLEHLY BLEH

i digress, sorry
sounds like bro sneakyleaky need to do reconn mission
fish usually bite early morning and evening

acheong7
post Mar 23 2013, 12:10 AM

QUOTE(inv @ Mar 22 2013, 09:44 PM)
i know subang lake so well and i still come back with 0 catches. when ur expectation is low, usually you won't get disappointed nor frustrated. i take that opportunity to test and learn new casting technique...
on another note, my temu jin temu fan just now... fark... almost kissed goodbye to my $$$...
sweat.gif ohmy.gif shocking.gif shocking.gif sweat.gif
fan stationary or in motion .... ?
acheong7
post Mar 23 2013, 12:13 AM

subang lake relatively unpredictable
have monster toman, featherback, haruan, goby, tilapia, crayfish ....
sometimes we score, sometimes the fish win the match
sometimes .... get ginkgo nut only
acheong7
post Mar 23 2013, 12:29 PM

QUOTE(rorytate @ Mar 23 2013, 01:14 AM)
Referring to the bentong spot?

Look at the bright side. You found out numerous ways NOT to get a score smile.gif perhaps the honey hole not where you went, maybe the time or water temp is not right. Either way you are LEARNING smile.gif

Just like Thomas Edison, he found thousands and one way, Wrong ways or making a light bulb

Always for me, catching something at the end of the line is a bonus. Otherwise, we still enjoyed our angler buddy's companionship and nature

Stay chill. Result will yield to the one that keep trying and learning. Cheers mate
amen, bro
acheong7
post Mar 23 2013, 05:31 PM

QUOTE(hamstrex @ Mar 23 2013, 02:32 PM)
something in between 25-35 quite heavy gauge... went rawang caught red tail macam not much of rasa....
medium jigging and bottom comes to mind
acheong7
post Mar 23 2013, 05:47 PM

QUOTE(faujc99 @ Mar 23 2013, 03:49 PM)
my question is: if a shimano rod cost RM300++, which is around the same budget as u guys' custom made rod, why custom made? what are the advantages of a custom rod, other than design, length, rod strength, which can be easily found? also, if 2 rods using the same fuji guide, fuji real seat, same material for the blank, and if the price difference is quite a bit, why so? izzit simply only bcuz of the brand? what else is there in a rod that i should know? can anyone enlighten me?  icon_question.gif  notworthy.gif
you basically get to decide on every aspect of the rod, from start to finish, according to your whims and fancies ... within reason biggrin.gif
it's an alternative to shopping off the rack especially if you want something that's not mass produced or easily available
eg, i like the storm yellow mojo rods but not their micro guides
i want spiral but apart from the batch of spiral daiwas back in the 80s, there aren't any mass produced spirals

blank
binding ... wotever colours or combination you want
guides
reel seat
handle ... material and design

takin the handle angle further ... split or non-split, type of butt/gimbal/gimbal+slip on butt, length and material of handle for your hand
best measured in person
how do you want your foregrip

customed to meet your needs/wants, fit and usage
one may choose to keep it as lightweight as possible or with the best parts you choose (could be better than the mass produced)
you may also choose to keep the cost down
tackle pricing generally includes R&D and branding cost
acheong7
post Mar 23 2013, 09:32 PM

congratulations! biggrin.gif
a species of featherback
selat in malay
dou yu
chat sing dou is the one with the black dots along its body
http://www.gillhamsfishingresorts.com/phot...atherbacks.html

saito yu = ikan parang = wolf herring
drool.gif

This post has been edited by acheong7: Mar 23 2013, 09:41 PM
acheong7
post Mar 23 2013, 10:32 PM

QUOTE(faujc99 @ Mar 23 2013, 10:05 PM)
thx bro for the explanation, i think i get it, sometimes mass produced rods i like 90% of it, but that 10% part turned me off, that kinda feeling..haha
dat, too ... hehehhehehehe
acheong7
post Mar 25 2013, 10:13 AM

QUOTE(rorytate @ Mar 25 2013, 09:53 AM)
Btw, wanna come and help me with rod building? For the LYN orders. Same time, i help you with your custom lor biggrin.gif

QUOTE(inv @ Mar 25 2013, 10:09 AM)

Sure thing bro! Would love to help. Just need to settle on a date. Let me know when u want to start.

yep, ditto that
acheong7
post Mar 25 2013, 11:05 AM

QUOTE(rorytate @ Mar 25 2013, 10:25 AM)
Bro Inv,
Heavy rods better to use hyper ceramics or at least Fuji Hardloy.

For normal casting rod range of 20lb rods, can use any guides ler smile.gif Not extreme biggrin.gif Like Bro Acheong says, tip better with SiC smile.gif

BTW, arent you on standby mode?

Bro Acheong,
Will contact you once the parts come into pics. Current have the blanks but no parts yet. Will only order early next month when i collected part of the $$ from you guys smile.gif
roger that, rory, thanks
yeah ... can keep cost down with only the tip using SiC

generally, 2 weeks before or after due date ...
pack the bags and items, prep some diapers, cot and clothes
if can get carrier, even better
if you're on your own, follow the nurse to observe how she bathes the babe
follow exactly the same when home
if they insist you follow to fill out/sign forms, just tell them politely the forms ain't gonna run tongue.gif

acheong7
post Mar 25 2013, 12:59 PM

thanks again, rory
wow, guide prices have risen over the years
last we saw guide pricing was ... 2009
acheong7
post Mar 25 2013, 01:14 PM

same beemer/saga analogy

acheong7
post Mar 25 2013, 09:47 PM

QUOTE(rorytate @ Mar 25 2013, 04:55 PM)
btw, my 016 up and running!!
cool!
acheong7
post Mar 27 2013, 02:33 PM

QUOTE(rorytate @ Mar 27 2013, 12:06 PM)
Bro Acheong,
you got 4x4?
sorry, rory ... no 4x4 cry.gif
closest was our kembara ... sold off in 2006

good idea for tackle box ... wonder if hooks will jump compartments

This post has been edited by acheong7: Mar 27 2013, 02:34 PM
acheong7
post Mar 28 2013, 01:17 AM

basic shape of the water body?
location of weeds?
wot sort of bottom rigging you use? with or without weight? hook size?
leader? leader length? concur with live baitfish suggestion, carp, seluang and lampam

set up(s) used?
sounds like the kota d'sara forest reserve with dark water pond that some kakis have been talking about ... you have your work cut out for you
fish there majority PhD
mega toman there bo hiu wotever lure you throw

i see pellets are not mentioned
dedak need to try special mixture ... no guarantees

try one light rod to the left side near bank, another to the right side near bank ... one out to centre
line try 8lb maxima, 5-10lb braid with similar poundage leader
nothing to lose by trying except time
acheong7
post Mar 30 2013, 11:56 AM

lexa BCs have arrived at Digital ... haven't replied to PM for pricing yet
acheong7
post Mar 30 2013, 09:56 PM

QUOTE(1dollar @ Mar 30 2013, 04:40 PM)
Saw on FB, shops going for 550. I think bulk buy from US still cheaper, but VPoStĀ  promotion on the 30% ending Tmrw.
If local shops can let go for 400-450 then better get locally. Shopping not cheap from US
yeah, need to ask wot's the going rate if 4-5 anglers getting mebbe 4-7 reels
i'm looking at 2x6.3:1, mebbe 1x7.3:1 ... wanna try one 300 series
non-power handle have choice of 6.3 & 7.1
power handle have only 7.1:1
if anyone's interested, the 100 series has 4.9, too
unsure how many ratios the local shops carry

This post has been edited by acheong7: Mar 30 2013, 09:59 PM
acheong7
post Mar 31 2013, 09:22 AM

before i took up BC ... spent a lot of time digging and reading up on info
finally decided on the what i wanted
did as tutorials indicated ... if one goes to youtube, plenty of instructional vids

turned out pretty much as indicated
start with the basics, with a little bit of practice, it is not hard
char beehoon because of a handful of factors:
-thumb not applying ABS
-cast too hard
-lure too light therefore spool turn faster than line goes out
-line lay not good or line bite into the rest of the line
-wind knot in the line not unwound

learning to use the thumb is like learning to drive manual tranny
once you've got it, you can drive manual & auto

higher priced reels are engineered better, material quality oso better
relatively easier to learn with those ... basics still remain unavoidable
a DAM vittatus 100 magnetic brake BC @ RM200 is quite good
budget ABU revos (SX, S, promax, bluemax, blackmax) are good, too
shimano caenan, citica and the new curado G are all right, too, for beginners

reason(s) for trying out the BC:
-better accuracy ... yes
-better control ... yes
-more versatile ... yes
-curious ...
for really light lures ... i'd suggest spinning set up
unless one doesn't mind paying more than 1k for a good light lure BC
2nd hand units available for less

acheong7
post Mar 31 2013, 07:15 PM

no sifu la, bro fau
lots to learn still

i itchy wanted to learn all because one of our friends used BCs
my sifu warned me plenty difficult la, you still haven't gotten used to spinning la ... after reading up on it ... really wanted to learn and try it out

smooth casts will get the lures out ... no need for hard/power casts
the latter increase chances of cbh
the ABU Garcia BC clinic (free admission + freebies) is a good starting point

17 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Top

0.0630sec    0.52    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 08:43 AM