Home Networking ASUS Malaysia Networking User & Technical Support, Managed by ASUS Malaysia Representative
Jjuggler
May 20 2021, 02:29 PM
QUOTE(splinter @ May 20 2021, 01:58 PM) Thanks for the information. AX is out my budget and I only have 100mbps so it overkill. Even if got Time fibre also maximum I go 500mbps which why I looking router for expressvpn as they what I need the most now during MCO. Go with ax56u if budget is your concern. the router supports asus-merlin firmware as well, you get the same vpn feature as shown in the image i shared to you. makesure you gone through previous postings related to ax56u. not sure if they solved the issues with ax56u.
Jjuggler
Sep 15 2021, 08:06 PM
QUOTE(Lineage @ Sep 15 2021, 07:49 PM) Thanks for your effort to test the issue. I tried to enable the Spoof LAN TTL value, seems like still same..unable to tracert.. » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « [attachmentid=10977986] [attachmentid=10977987] No problem for me. Using Unifi 100Mbps pack with Merlin firmware. Pic as a supportive evidence. [attachmentid=10977988]
Jjuggler
Sep 18 2021, 02:21 PM
QUOTE(sicklad77 @ Sep 18 2021, 12:02 PM) Just installed my 9.9 sale router ax55 white edition! It looks so awesome! An upgrade from my 4 years old ac66u asus. Just an added tips for those changing router and noobs like me. » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « - call Tm to reset ur PPOE username & password - sms sent within 5 mins - follow YouTube channels on how to do set up new router - if it stills shows red light on WAN check these two things : (Check WAN tab > correct username and password enter, usually “xxxx@unifi” : the unifi part is missing) (Check LAN tab > IPTV > profile change to unifi-home or unifi -business) - reboot router - thank me later  Thank you. Cheers.
Jjuggler
Sep 18 2021, 02:31 PM
QUOTE(Reyz @ Sep 17 2021, 12:23 PM) Will ori fw backup file worked if change to merlin?banyak sgt iot device ni jenuh nak link n setup semula😅 Nape nak revert balik ke stock firmware? Bagi aku, merlin fw jauh lebih bagus dari stock fw. QUOTE(Reyz @ Sep 18 2021, 03:44 AM) im just want to know my client connect to wat connection.either ax,ac System Log > Wireless Log [attachmentid=10980033]
Jjuggler
Sep 19 2021, 05:13 PM
QUOTE(Reyz @ Sep 19 2021, 03:50 AM) ax11000 aku as main router takde detail mcm ni even xde connected client.kat 2.4ghz dgn 5ghz-2 ada je.iphone 11 pro max aku tgh connect kat 5ghz kat wreless log takde pun Cha, aku pakai GT-AX11000 jugak. Flash je ke firmware merlin. Nanti dapat stream type tu. Gambar dibawah sebagai rujukan. Aku x suka sangat dengan stock fw ni. Prefer merlin sebab lagi flexible dan boleh main script tuk fully utilize perantara/penhala (router) tu. [attachmentid=10980733]
Jjuggler
Sep 20 2021, 02:11 AM
QUOTE(Reyz @ Sep 19 2021, 07:30 PM) agaknye kalo aku flash merlin backup file ori fw bleh gune balik tak masuk merlin?malas betul nak link semula ioT. Disarankan, untuk factory reset kalau berhijrah antara stock fw dengan merlin fw. Nak tak nak, kena set balik. Tu kelemahan paling ketara. Kalau brader rasa stock fw okay, boleh je pakai. Xde masalah. Tapi jenuh la nak set semua balik. haha.
Jjuggler
Oct 24 2021, 04:07 PM
Please provide immediate patch for RT-AX56U asap, ASUSmy.  Source: Windows 10, iOS 15, Ubuntu, Chrome fall at China’s Tianfu hacking contestThis post has been edited by Jjuggler: Oct 24 2021, 04:07 PM
Jjuggler
Oct 25 2021, 11:50 AM
QUOTE(ASUSmy @ Oct 25 2021, 11:04 AM) Hi Jjuggler, Thank you for sharing, will forward it to our RD. Thank you You're welcome.
Jjuggler
Nov 9 2021, 11:30 PM
QUOTE(waisang @ Nov 3 2021, 01:55 PM) Hows the standard ASUS firmware vs Asus Merlin? Is Asus Merlin a jailed break OS? Do i get warranty if we have Merlin firmware installed? ASUSWRT is like standard version of cars from a car company, while Asuswrt-Merlin is like the Special Edition variant, with minimal feature add-ons. Otherwise both of them good, for both standard, and advance users. No warranty void if you use Merlin on your router, but ASUS Malaysia only entertain your problem (if adalah) only if you running stock firmware & if you running Merlin, you can reach to SNBForum > Asuswrt-Merlin to share your problem (but the response will be slower than the response you receive here when running stock firmware/learn from others of the beauty of this firmware. Some feature from Merlin implemented in the stock firmware. But when it comes to stability, I prefer Merlin > stock, anytime. This post has been edited by Jjuggler: Nov 9 2021, 11:33 PM
Jjuggler
Nov 18 2021, 01:12 PM
QUOTE(silvaco22 @ Nov 16 2021, 12:06 PM) Haha it should be fine. I'm looking at AX55 and AX56U too. Does TPLINK AX73 is much better than these two? Good for short term, bad for long term. I am referring to firmware support, and not hardware ya. As much computers/smartphones/IoT devices required updates to patch any known vulnerabilities, routers need long term firmware support to at-least adding additional protection layer from hackers who will abuse the vulnerability. Answering to your question, NO. My advice, go for RT-AX56U. I used the router before, and I can suggest the model. This post has been edited by Jjuggler: Nov 18 2021, 01:12 PM
Jjuggler
Aug 6 2022, 08:06 AM
QUOTE(nitehawk @ Aug 4 2022, 03:33 PM) How about performance and software features? Are there any differences? Both, in terms of Wi-Fi 5 router, is good. However, investing in them at current time being is not really recommended. Unless you prefer to use wired connection. RT-AC5300 comes with native ASUSWRT firmware while GT-AC5300 comes with ASUSWRT-ROG skinned firmware, obviously with some gaming features. As for wireless, this is what most people get wrong. It is recommended to run some test in your environment to ensure that you know where the wireless signal seemed weak and invest on mesh instead to extend the coverage further before settling up with a standalone router. Speaking about picking the right gear for your environment. My suggestion, pick a router that has Asus-Merlin support. I prefer Merlin fw over ASUSWRT always.
Jjuggler
Feb 13 2023, 08:40 PM
QUOTE(NovaPrime @ Feb 12 2023, 10:38 PM) Hi, ASUS ROG RAPTURE GT-AC2900 vs ASUS WiFi 6 RT-AX56U which one is better? currently using Time internet Stock router HG8145X6 with 500mbps package. Please advise thanks RT-AX56U. Reasnoning? Futureproof your home network. Both supports asus-merlin firmware. Affordable. Moderate form factor which don't require much space. GT-AC2900 comes with 1.8GHz (dual-core) while the latter features quad-core @ 1.5GHz. RAM wise, both have the same, 512MiB. I used RT-AX56U for my 800Mbps unifi plan, the router never fails me operating both in stock and asus-merlin firmware.
Jjuggler
Feb 13 2023, 09:18 PM
QUOTE(NovaPrime @ Feb 13 2023, 09:11 PM) Regarding the WTFast comes with GT-AC2900 is just a gimmick and what is the catch? Does it really helps lower down the pings when gaming? And for Asus merlin, what is the common plugins that most people will install after they install Merlin firmware? First, I never used WTFast, so I have no comment on that. You may request to those who actually used the feature. Second, the most common plugin addons installed is Diversion (router-level adblock), Skynet (advance-firewall), uiDivStats (UI for diversion), uiScribe (advance logging), and spdMerlin (speedtest & bandwidth monitoring). Trust this helps. This post has been edited by Jjuggler: Feb 13 2023, 09:30 PM
Jjuggler
Feb 13 2023, 10:46 PM
QUOTE(NovaPrime @ Feb 13 2023, 09:45 PM) Wow, that's awesome. I'm kind of new to Asus merlin haha. Is Diversion able to block those Ads that show on Smartphone APPS? I am afraid not. Ads were developed in such way to monetize as max as possible. If party A finds a solution to block the ads from slipping through the device, party B will develop the counter-solution to bypass the restriction. Basically it is a cat and mice game. Diversion good at blocking some ads slips through application, e.g., speedtest. Also, to install those addons, you need to be good as SSH'ng your router and install the scripts via any terminal of your choice, in my case, I prefer to use Putty. I forget to emphasize this point on the explanation above.
Jjuggler
Feb 14 2023, 09:42 AM
QUOTE(papyrous @ Feb 14 2023, 08:28 AM) actually for most people adblocking is done easier with just using a DNS provider that incorporates adblock(same concept as Diversion) like https://dot.tiar.app/ and https://blahdns.com/ among others. and for AX router's IMO using Adguardhome is much better than diversion. I believe Blahdns is a project by a student operating from his dorm. I've heard about this service provider, but never use it personally. I am using Quad9 dns of course with Malware blocking, DNSSEC Validation, ECS feature, enabled. I migrated from cloudlflare to nextdns to quad9. NextDNS was flexible, but prefer Quad9 more. One of the reason why I opt for Quad9 over NextDNS is because my pc always run on vpn enabled. Only my mobile devices access to the internet via wifi. So, I don't wish to waste RM79 for renewing my NextDNS subscription when I am using vpn 24/7. What is your view on the service you have used as highlighted above? Keen to hear your view. Thanks.
Jjuggler
Feb 14 2023, 11:58 AM
QUOTE(papyrous @ Feb 14 2023, 10:30 AM) they’re fine, for most users it covers a lot of ads. what hardware are you on? personally i’ll just run AdGuardhome. it supports syntax style blocking so you can have much smaller lists, for eg you can set to block *.ads.com and adguardhome will block all 1.ads.com, 2.ads.com.. and so on compared to the basic list where you need to actually list it all out. then beyond that you can set Adguardhome to query any dns servers as well on any protocols. unencrypted, Dns over https/TLS/Quic. I am not sure if this is the right thread to discuss about the hardware or internet gateway I am using. Personally, I am using Mikrotik and I've configured to use quad9 with doh at router level.
Jjuggler
Feb 15 2023, 12:21 AM
QUOTE(papyrous @ Feb 14 2023, 03:09 PM) nice. https://youtu.be/_jCKaHl3XM0check it out and see if it fits what you’re doing Unfortunately, I am using non-ARM architecture. But I will keep this in my mind if I invest for higher end Mikrotik router in the future. Container requirement: » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « Container package is compatible with arm arm64 and x86 architectures. Using of remote-image (similar to docker pull) functionality requires a lot of free space in main memory, 16MB SPI flash boards may use pre-build images on USB or other disk media. This post has been edited by Jjuggler: Feb 15 2023, 12:22 AM
Jjuggler
Apr 19 2025, 08:45 AM
Reminder: For those who using ASUS router, especially the AiCloud feature for their router, upgrade your router immediately. CVE Details: CVE-2025-2492Fixes issued for the following firmware branches: [1]. 3.0.0.4_382 series [2]. 3.0.0.4_386 series [3]. 3.0.0.4_388 series [4]. 3.0.0.6_102 series Referrence:- [1]. ASUS warns of critical auth bypass flaw in routers using AiCloud by Bleeping Computer. [2]. ASUS routers with AiCloud vulnerable to auth bypass exploit by SecurityAffairs. Refer here for non-techy individuals on upgrading your router firmware. Upgrading your ASUS router firmware--