Technical PlayStation 3 FAQ For Beginners | V9, General PS3 Q&A and Technical Discussion

SSJBen
post Apr 9 2013, 07:01 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

Most games are Y-sealed, a.k.a having the PlayStation strip/no strip but tightly packed (different from a plastic used to keep those pasar malam DVD wrappers).

However, because this is Malaysia, there are times when customs WILL unseal games just to check simply because of whatever reasons they have.
That's the reason for the unseal.

Of course, I'm not going to name who are unscrupulous ones who actually sell second hand games as new ones though.
There are some around, but for the most part at least among the reputable LYN sellers... the former reason is why games come unseal sometimes.
SSJBen
post Apr 17 2013, 07:12 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(Mr.TeddyBear @ Apr 17 2013, 10:41 AM)
Guys, i got a pioneer home theater 5.1 system that does not have Optical or HDMI ouput and it's only work with component cable. My question is am i still be able to get 5.1 surround sound if i do like this

PS3 -> (HDMI) -> HDTV
PS3 -> (COMPONENT CABLE's left and right audio only) -> home theater

Is this the best way to setup or there's a better way?
No, you'll just be getting stereo that way.
Doesn't your HTS have atleast an optical input? I'm pretty sure about every HTS has at least ONE optical in since the last 10 years. Even if they're the cheap HTIB ones.

Which if you do, you can just go:
PS3 > HDMI > HDTV
PS3 > Optical > HTS
SSJBen
post Apr 18 2013, 02:20 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(mechaball @ Apr 18 2013, 10:32 AM)
It lags even in the XMB. Tried reset (gamepad and also PS3) and still its lagging. Only with this one gamepad thought. If I turn it off (after mashing with the lag) and turn on another different gamepads, the other gamepad is okay. So I know its the problem with this one gamepad. It comes and goes though. Strange.
Sounds like the bluetooth receiver in your DS3 is causing the issue. Don't think there's really a way to fix that though.
SSJBen
post Apr 20 2013, 04:30 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

Hold on, is your PS3 connected through wi-fi?
The bluetooth receiver is intergrated together with the wi-fi receiver where it switches extremely quickly to provide data depending on which device needs it.

I do not exactly know the problem, but if you're on wifi maybe you could try playing around with the network settings a little bit. Also if you have any other bluetooth devices, like a headset for example, try pairing it with your PS3.

Sounds stupid I know, but it's the only diagnosis I can come up with.
SSJBen
post Apr 21 2013, 12:01 AM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

Well you'll need some soldering skills then.
Disasemble your PS3 and replace the wifi/bluetooth chip with this:

http://www.logictoyz.com/sony-ps3/ps3-slim...oller-chip.html
SSJBen
post Apr 21 2013, 03:24 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(greenade @ Apr 21 2013, 03:19 PM)
hii guys...have a question..how to copy locked save games without using playstation plus....i need to transfer my savedata to my new ps3...to who has expriance pls do share with me...thanks...
Direct transfer through ethernet cable.
Basically your old PS3 > transfer data utility > new PS3.
SSJBen
post Apr 21 2013, 03:51 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(greenade @ Apr 21 2013, 03:40 PM)
its transfer entire save data right...i just need to copy certain file only...iv tried that before..but got error occurred during process....
Then no, you can't just transfer locked saves over.
If you've got an error, try uninstalling some of the installed data on your old PS3 first. Usually games with large installs tend to be an issue when it comes to transferring data from one PS3 to another.
SSJBen
post Apr 26 2013, 02:06 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

Remote download now works... with a catch.

If you sign into the PSN store from the PC, you can now set the games/content you want to download through a queue.
The problem? Your PS3 MUST BE manually turned on first. Which pretty much... defeats the entire purpose of remote download.

Setting a queue from the PSN store on the PC will not wake your PS3 up to have it download the stuff you want.
So yeah, for those wishing to have your downloads innitiated when you're out, the only other way is to have a Vita/PSP to remotely connect to your PS3. That way, it'll work.

PS Plus users however, can have their content downloaded automatically provided they have their PS3 on stand-by (as usual). As PS+ will treat any queued content from the PSN store as an "update", just like how it treats firmwares or game patches as one.
SSJBen
post May 4 2013, 09:32 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

It has to be changed, not just a reset.
SSJBen
post May 7 2013, 02:54 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(alfiejr @ May 7 2013, 03:35 AM)
Hmm , my ps3 is lagging quite badly recently especially when playing games that are from psn. I'm hoping that the hdd is not dying cry.gif . If it's , can suggest any decent brand of external hdd to transfer the data? So that i can perform the formatting. And how to make the external hdd into fat32? Cheers icon_question.gif
Something from Seagate or Western Digital is fine.
You can use something like FAT32 Format to do so.

QUOTE(xGalGirlx @ May 7 2013, 02:33 PM)
Hello Hello!

One quick question!

I've played finish R2 version of this game named X.
Saved inside my PS3.

And now, I replay the game again by buying the game in PS Store but it's R1.

Can i still load the same game data for it? Can it read the saved data? Or I need to play all over again? smile.gif

Thanks!
Depending on the game entirely.
There are games which can load another region's save file up and there are also games which doesn't.

To add to the confusion, there are games which doesn't even load a savefile despite the fact that both games are on the same region but in different formats — disc and digital.
SSJBen
post May 7 2013, 03:11 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(xGalGirlx @ May 7 2013, 02:56 PM)
Is there any way to check them? Rather than buying and downloading em and ended up it's not working? tongue.gif
Don't think there's a list somewhere to check on this.

QUOTE(alfiejr @ May 7 2013, 03:10 PM)
Ok thnx bro, usually how long will it take to format the whole PS3?
Depending on how much data you have. Many reported up to 6 hours (or even more) of backing up.
SSJBen
post May 7 2013, 08:45 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(LMFAOMbuji @ May 7 2013, 08:00 PM)
I just want to ask 1 simple question if I got a us PSN Acc from vita can I used it in ps3?
Yes.
SSJBen
post May 8 2013, 07:11 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(llsphinxll @ May 8 2013, 07:00 PM)
hey ps3 sifus here! in need of help.

lately my ps3 slim has been giving me some problem. first, it gives me that 'disc eject' noise when i insert a disc in. and it does not read the disc. after rebooting the device, it reads the disc, but during the middle of the game, it hangs, or shows lack of information in game.

is there something wrong with the bluray reader? approx how much wud it cost to replace a new one?
Possibly. Does any other game hang when you play it off your HDD?
A blu-ray drive replacement generally costs about RM300+ or so.
SSJBen
post May 8 2013, 08:48 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(llsphinxll @ May 8 2013, 08:32 PM)
i dont have any games on my hdd. cannot test whether it works off the hdd instead of a bluray. shud i get a bluray disc cleaner and see whether the problem wud b fixed with that?
Disc cleaners don't work, so don't bother.
Well you can try and download some demos from the PSN store and try them out?
SSJBen
post May 12 2013, 11:16 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(phantasm0110 @ May 12 2013, 04:23 PM)
guys, i need some answer...hopefully some sifu can help me out

I have 2 PSN account, one is malaysia registered account, used mainly for playing games and another US PSN mainly used for downloading demo games.

I would like to buy games from the US PSN account, using US PSN card. If i buy the game and install it, does it only playable through my US PSN account? or I can use my Malaysia PSN account and play the game?

The reason doing this is because US game is cheaper than Malaysia PS store game.
Yes you can.
Majority of games from any of the PSN stores will work across your PS3 as long as the account you bought/downloaded from remains on the system.

Do note there are some games — notably, Persona 4 Arena — that is entirely region locked. So if you bought it on the US PSN store, it won't work on your PS3 which I assume is a MY/SG set.
SSJBen
post Jun 3 2013, 01:45 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(kirakosmos @ Jun 2 2013, 06:58 PM)
how can i download patch via pc?
Using the proxy method.
SSJBen
post Jun 13 2013, 04:49 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(bruised @ Jun 13 2013, 04:27 PM)
Was wondering if any owners of the PS3 super slim gets a soft buzzing sound from the back when playing and in standby mode. The sound comes and goes. Maybe around 5-10 second.

Everything works fine, just this sound is bugging me. Not sure if this is serious or not.
Nothing serious and is common among electronics. It's known as coil whine.
SSJBen
post Jun 15 2013, 05:18 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(pspslim007 @ Jun 15 2013, 03:04 PM)
still waiting for a reply , is this thread inactive?
Did you bother to read the first post of this thread? Your answer is there.
SSJBen
post Jun 19 2013, 04:39 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(mnsnazri @ Jun 19 2013, 03:21 PM)
what gonna happened to the ps3 that already updated that firmware???...damn.
There will be a patch "soon" (Sony says tomorrow) that users can download onto their thumbdrive, boot the PS3 up in safe mode and then update the PS3 again.
4.45 didn't actually kill the system, more like there is a glitch in the code where the PS3 doesn't virtually see one or more components (in this case, a lot are saying a non-stock HDD) not being connected.
SSJBen
post Jun 19 2013, 07:42 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(GamersFamilia @ Jun 19 2013, 05:16 PM)
any link bro regarding the firmware patch ?
Got it from an insider on reddit - http://www.reddit.com/r/gaming/comments/1g...ith_update_445/

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0355sec    0.37    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 05:34 AM