Yes,MIAT students do refer to the book besides others...
QUOTE(underzoom @ Sep 23 2007, 09:06 PM)
License Aircraft Maintenance Engineer, job prospect...
Sep 23 2007, 09:48 PM
8,186 posts Joined: May 2005 From: Beaumont, Baile Ath Cliath, EIRE. |
One of the reference materials would be the jeppesen book, which is based on the AMP book.
Yes,MIAT students do refer to the book besides others... QUOTE(underzoom @ Sep 23 2007, 09:06 PM) |
Sep 25 2007, 08:11 AM
Why do you worry about what has been posted and what other people are saying?
YOU are an AirAsia Engineering Trainee. We only have the best, you were the best selected among the hundreds/thousands that applied. We have a 5 year long schedule for you to completed and at the same time satisfy the minimum requirement set by the regulatory body for you to be eligible to sit for LWTR or EASA license whatever the case may be. All you have to do is just concentrate what you have to do and work HARD to get THAT LICENSE! Anything else is NOT worth your concern. QUOTE(underzoom @ Sep 24 2007, 10:34 PM) |
Sep 25 2007, 10:57 PM
Point taken. However 'fuming' doesn't seem to be right choice of word here. Are you really fuming?
This is an open forum, anyone can make whatever claims or statement here and NO ONE has the responsibility to put things right... I certainly do not follow this thread closely and will only make necessary remarks as deem necessary. You can always channel your concern through proper channels which is through your training executive who reports to the responsible manager. Bear in mind,the Engineering Trainee Program in under the purvue of the Engineering Department,they are the one that should be in position to resolve any queries/concerns about the program. The Academy is there to fullfil the Engineering Department requirements. Your questions are NOT annoying at all. How can it be? I am an Instructor, I get all sorts of questions! It's part of the job! However the way you put/relay the questions through wrong choice of words can and may be misinterpreted. Sometimes, it is better to hold on until a face to face meeting/discussion session to resolve 'sensitive' issues rather than asking through typed words in a forum... also, there is the internal email if you have NOT forgotten! Try to be 'tactful' the next time k. Take it easy... QUOTE(underzoom @ Sep 25 2007, 10:31 PM) i'm not fuming over the course nor the lectures. infact i'm glad that i was given a chance to undergo the program being fully funded. sorry if it did offend anyone, i was just being curious as nobody wanted to refute to those comments made earlier. This post has been edited by jazzy939: Sep 25 2007, 11:01 PMi don't know about the rest, but the whole licensing thing and the syllabus and the whole program is quite new to me. so pardon me if my questions are pretty much annoying. furthermore, you did tell us the other day, don't keep quiet & ask if we need to know anything..haha anyways thanks sir for the clarification, makes more sense now =) |
Oct 2 2007, 09:47 PM
dun blame yourself entirely. the system did NOT prepare you for it.
for what it is worth, you now have a taste of what is in store for you... QUOTE(underzoom @ Oct 2 2007, 09:38 PM) |
Oct 3 2007, 07:47 AM
SPM is the minimum qualification. Score well in your Physics, Mathematics and English.
MAS however has raised the minimum to diploma for the TAME training. Good luck, do your best. QUOTE(Agent 47 @ Oct 3 2007, 03:47 AM) |
Oct 10 2007, 08:17 AM
Hundreds of life is an understatement.. think again.
The statement that is bolded, who are you referring to? Who is 'they'? The minimum age for LWTR as per BCAR Section L is 18 years of age, minimum. Maturity has nothing to do with it. In apprenticeship training, the candidates have to start young in order to learn the trade, and the training is hard and long, hence the early age of 18 (not to start, but for the EXAM qualifying) Please DO NOT get mislead if you have a diploma even a degree would ensure you a place. This course are only meant for specific kind of people with specific talent and attitude and not many have the cut to qualify.The interview process will filter out the non-qualified candidates. If you're in only for the money, you'll regret it. But if you're in for the challenge and passion certainly you'll get the rewards. 'Nuff said. QUOTE(ezi23 @ Oct 10 2007, 04:27 AM) ..... Remember, hundred of life including your family and your love one will be depend of you. Cheers.. Added on October 10, 2007, 4:50 am ... AK and transmile, I think they still take it, because they are new and have no experience in this academic. Because of what I can see is mostly people under 21 is not mature enough to start the course. You cannot start to feel the responsibility after 3 years of your course. So taking the dip is the best choice, cuz you can apply to TAME programme in APR (you pay, so might be easy) if you can't get MAS. Alternatively, you can apply for the jobs in maintenance to get your experience to take the exam. But with a dip, it much easier to get a job. I search and try so many ways, and this is the best way for you guys since you are still young. But if you lucky enough, you will get the programme under Ak or transmile. Furthermore, most of the spm leaver just asking about the money cuz they just think about their dream car. So stop thinking about the salary if you really love this field. But don't worry. The rewards is there. Cheers Bro.. Added on October 10, 2007, 8:19 amDon't worry about NOT having cable or someone inside. If you're not cut for the job, no matter what you'll not make it, sooner or later. QUOTE(Agent 47 @ Oct 8 2007, 06:01 PM) i'm not for mas la then..... This post has been edited by jazzy939: Oct 10 2007, 08:19 AMno cable, big, small......just me besides mas and ak, who else is offering tame prog for spm holders ?? |
Oct 11 2007, 01:18 AM
So what do you really wanna do?
Fly or get your hands 'dirty'? QUOTE(Agent 47 @ Oct 10 2007, 06:56 PM) So many sifu here I really appreciate your advice. I'm interested in this field because as far I know, I'll get to work with the most advance technology But, of course, my dream is to fly. Be able to see my work fly is special (like those days when my paper airplane fly for 10 sec Can't wait for SPM & NS to over... |
Oct 11 2007, 03:02 AM
My guess is (I m NOT from MAS) they're trying to raise the standards..
Current Form 5 leavers as compared to the good old days is of 'lower standards'. Most can't even converse English to an acceptable level, let alone written English. Sorry to say but somehow our education standard has lowered.. So the next best step is diploma holders... Your other issues.. I wont comment.. for now. About 'hundreds of life'.. imagine you certifying for a job done on the aircraft. Aircraft flies 10-12 hours a day. Every flight carries 180(A320) passengers. Average flight ,short sector is 1 hour, so 10 flights per aircraft per day. 10 X 180= 1800 passengers per day per aircraft. Certainly you DO NOT certify ONE aircraft but the WHOLE fleet. Do your maths.. FYI, your certification will be valid and kept until 2 years after the aircraft has been withdrawn permanently from service. Look at this scenario: MAS has been operating its B737-400 for 20 years... my certifications are still kept in the archives and subject to scrutiny if there are 'incidents'...FYI, I left MAS 7 years ago.. QUOTE(ezi23 @ Oct 11 2007, 02:48 AM) Yes, I'm agree with u.But how can u explain some of them are change their requirement? why MAS is no longer take the SPM leaver? And the same goes to APR even if we are going to pay? (i just want to ask..no hard feeling) and I think most of my point is true rite? Because I keep watching people says go to this and that but there is nothing. Peolpe here needs something to guide. and what about the talent and attitude if there is a cable? Is there a quality there? The word "cable" scare most of the talented person. furthermore, airlines in Malaysia is small. Except MAS, AK and Transmile, where can they go? The question is, is it enough for all the talanted person in Malaysia. Even some of big company scholorship's student also fail in university and college and some of the self-sponser student done better that. Because they use money. they know how to appreciate. but they ok. Cuz most of them are not dealing directly with life. And "hundreds of life", I think I have don't nothing wrong about that.. This post has been edited by jazzy939: Oct 11 2007, 03:08 AMCorrect me if I'm wrong.. Cheers.. |
Oct 11 2007, 03:11 AM
DIY ler.. masuk private school like APR.. MIAT (maybe) or work as a technician and get the license on your own effort.. hard but NOT impossible.
QUOTE(ezi23 @ Oct 11 2007, 03:03 AM) |
Oct 11 2007, 10:21 PM
It was an eleventh hour invitation which I would have come but had an earlier appointment, so had to give it a pass. Maybe (IF) there would be a Hari Raya Gathering later, I'll make an effort to be present...
QUOTE(underzoom @ Oct 11 2007, 08:51 PM) |
Oct 12 2007, 09:39 AM
Oct 14 2007, 10:03 AM
SELAMAT HARI RAYA AIDILFITRI to everyone here and the aviation industry from me.
Thats the idea of an apprenticeship training in the first place. You'll learn the tricks of the trade from the 'masters' of the trade. Who are the masters? Basically the engineers themselves! You'd be surprise how the experienced/seasoned engineers approach to technical problems.. their troubleshooting skills and above all the DECISION MAKING process.These are the skills NOT tought in the text books. These are what the apprentice were supposed to observe and learn when they're doing the OJT. Also the technicians/mechanics. They have many 'tricks of the trade' up their sleeves, these are the things you(the apprentice) need to pickup and learn! Glad to say that the AA Academy took a step further by assigning a 'mentor' instructor to a particular batch of trainees, basically to see their progress academically, provide guidance where necessary and give them advice and talks for motivation. Can be done individually or group session. The future success for the company and our local aviation industry depends of these new generations. I have done my part, time for me to share the experience and give the guidance. If you can't be better than me, at least be as good as me which is NOT impossible. Thats my challenge to my trainees. QUOTE(ahaw @ Oct 14 2007, 09:41 AM) happy eid from SZB MAS Enggineering Team @rasmuswil : lets create a mature n professional environment in our rather 'small' aviation community. i agree w jazzy oso agree w rasmuswil, ezi n others. one thg 4 sure,those young guns are Malaysian future. Different approach need for different type of person... to become a troubleshooter, u must to learn from experience trouble shooter. |
Oct 16 2007, 06:36 PM
I am NOT your instructor?
No, I am NOT the grandmaster... I m just a plane instructor QUOTE(trent @ Oct 16 2007, 12:33 PM) |
Oct 17 2007, 07:51 PM
Oct 18 2007, 11:20 AM
Which part of your brother's future is worrying you?
The only thing you should be worrying is if he did not put in his best while training. He needs your full support. Morally and probably financially(some) QUOTE(DarkWan @ Oct 18 2007, 08:11 AM) As what he told me, the course is about 5 years and he'll getting licensed then (if he pass, of course). One thing that I worried is - he is currently 16 (17 in this few days as his DOB is on October) so after he graduated, he'll be only 21/22. Does the age matter, before he can start his job? I hope I wasn't thrown with so much jargon, just that I quite worried about his future. |
Oct 20 2007, 03:06 AM
Correction:
AA is offering Engineering Trainee Training. Advertisement in local daily and internet. Can't answer for MAS. Anyone? |
Oct 20 2007, 09:19 PM
As far as AA is concerned, this year NO MORE intake. Two batches this year. Second one coming in soon.
Next intake probably Feb/March 2008. Look out in the newspapers and also the website: www.airasia.com QUOTE(Agent 47 @ Oct 20 2007, 12:24 PM) Added on October 21, 2007, 12:27 amThis is what I heard last. Minimum is Diploma... QUOTE(DT8 @ Oct 20 2007, 02:37 AM) This post has been edited by jazzy939: Oct 21 2007, 12:27 AM |
Oct 21 2007, 03:56 AM
If you're referring about trying with AA or even Transmile, why not. APR included.
I wouldn't know how MAS would view a pre-u lvl. Anybody from MAS want to qualify? QUOTE(DT8 @ Oct 21 2007, 03:09 AM) |
Oct 27 2007, 10:10 AM
Yes.. I think 'most of us' out there/here somehow WAS from MAS
No was NOT from ANZ batches..they were all my 'juniors'. I am from the Dublin batch! Middle East huh? Unless you know Roslee Wahid,Reggie to name but a few.. QUOTE(Throttle_Stagger @ Oct 27 2007, 05:44 AM) |
Oct 28 2007, 01:16 PM
| Change to: | 0.0206sec
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 08:52 PM |