4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

Travel Mountain Climbers Club, register yourself here!

aidono
post Jun 17 2011, 08:33 PM

1,124 posts

QUOTE(lycaphim @ Jun 17 2011, 02:46 PM)
They charge only if you "register". If you know the way just start walking, no one's gonna stop to charge you.  biggrin.gif
As I can see the counter were closed -.-||| Oh yeah, by the way please aware of three things - ground wasps, water level (if rain) and not to forget "Maybank" (rare but some witness before at Bukit Putus route).
aidono
post Jun 22 2011, 06:29 AM

1,124 posts

QUOTE(Lemmings @ Jun 21 2011, 12:20 PM)
how long is the hike up from ulu bendul route?
Lets put it 6.5 - 8 hours. Really depends on individual stamina.
aidono
post Jul 5 2011, 11:14 PM

1,124 posts

QUOTE(giftfre @ Jul 5 2011, 09:09 AM)
I am planning to have 2nd attemps to G. Nuang. Hopefully that day is a sunny day.
Which day would that be hmm.gif ?
aidono
post Jul 7 2011, 05:43 AM

1,124 posts

QUOTE(zodius @ Jul 7 2011, 01:55 AM)
hi, new guy here. i never climb any of the mounts before but always want to try. want to ask some advice from all sifu here, where you all start your 1st mount climbing? what should we take notes of when hiking mountain?
I would suggest you try out hills first before go into mountains. There are some easy one and there are some tough nut to crack mountains. Height does not determine the difficulty.

As for hill, go for Bukit Broga, Bukit Tabur - West (careful of safety), East, and Extreme, Bukit Saga, Bukit Panorama, Bukit Kledang, Bukit Serdang, Bukit Belacan, Bukit Ketumbar and etc.

As for easy mountain, try out Gunung Datuk, Gunung Angsi, Gunung Jasar, Gunung Perdah, Gunung Berembun (Cameron), Gunung Irau, Gunung Nuang etc

When into hiking, make sure you know the place familiar. Basic stuffs like sufficient water, food, and headlamp are necessarily. No swearing here and there and never ever treat the place a piece of cake. It can be difficult when climate change.
aidono
post Jul 19 2011, 07:01 AM

1,124 posts

QUOTE(zeonczk @ Jul 16 2011, 09:02 PM)
Will be going to Gunung Datuk next weekend.. Wish me luck.. =)
Good luck and enjoy the hike. Remember the payment of RM3 before entry smile.gif
aidono
post Jul 26 2011, 10:16 AM

1,124 posts

QUOTE(litter @ Jul 19 2011, 04:01 PM)
from reading previous the post, found that mt tahan is more difficult than mt kinabalu?
have try broga & panorama before, planning to mt tahan. What should i prepare to this, never try overnight hiking before
You are asking for trouble if you have not used to overnight hiking or I prefer to rephrase it as camping. Try something easier first like camping at Gunung Nuang's peak via Pangsoon, Gunung Datuk, Gunung Bunga Buah etc.

It is unlike Gunung Kinabalu where you have hotel facilities at the mid peak. Gunung Tahan minimum would required 4 nights of camping. You can hired a porter for a very very good price.

Added on July 26, 2011, 10:23 am
QUOTE(SkywalkerxX @ Jul 22 2011, 09:39 AM)
Gunung Nuang via Janda Baik only took 3 hours to reach the peak.

Hutan Lipur Ampang? Many of farking monkey over there.

Kemensah the best route into the wild jungle is Tangga. There are wild tigers.
I never know that Kemensah got tiger but one thing for sure there are lots of wild cat/ leopard around there. Becareful of snare traps set by hunters as abundant of wild boars roaming around Kemensah forest.

Old route to Gunung Chenuang gone since I last visited there @.@

This post has been edited by aidono: Jul 26 2011, 10:23 AM
aidono
post Jul 29 2011, 12:35 PM

1,124 posts

QUOTE(deqna @ Jul 26 2011, 02:25 PM)
just come back from mount kinabalu last weekend.. the weather now was terrible.. raining, strong winds, cold weather reaching 0 degrees from laban rata to the peak.. more than half climbers during my climb couldn't make it to the peak.. the worst weather i've experience in kk so far..
for those who are planning to climb kinabalu within these few weeks be prepared.. the guide told us than the weather had been uncertain since last few weeks and maybe continue until september..
I still believe my experience at Kinabalu last March was quite bad. Hiking up with my 12kg bagpack (me and my fiance stuff) via Mesilau - it rain the whole journey. Have to reach Laban Rata by 3pm to hear the Ferrata briefing regardless it is raining or not.

Next day weather seems cloudy but it is a green light to go to the peak. Reach peak take a picture and rush to do the via Ferrata.

Half way doing the Low Peak Circuit got caught in the rain. Descend down to Laban Rata, have a lunch and descent back to base camp via Timpohon with rain rain and f*cking rain. How bad could the weather be?

At Kinabalu, it is more towards luck. Either you get a good weather or a shit weather like what I faced. Lucky for me, I completed both Kinabalu peak and the Low Peak Circuit.
aidono
post Aug 4 2011, 11:05 PM

1,124 posts

Pingpang, Tabur East is easier than Tabur West. Reason, the ropes there are much safer if to compare.

Yes, although it is one hell of the climb up, if you navigate your path safely it should not be a problem at all. How many injuries cases you heard at Tabur West and I believe you do not heard much about people complaining about East.

A lot of people do not know the alternate route to Tabur East and that makes people assume it's tougher. The dangerous peak among all Tabur is Tabur Extreme XD.

Good luck on your climb to Kinabalu again. Make sure you do the Low Peak Circuit instead of Walk the Torq. You will get mesmerized.
aidono
post Aug 6 2011, 07:28 AM

1,124 posts

QUOTE(litter @ Aug 5 2011, 05:17 PM)
wanna climb crystal hill at taman melawati (wangsa maju) during raya time, anyone interested can join also , already have few person join.. date havent confirm yet .
Which Tabur first? West, East or Extreme? If West, count me out. Others I can still consider but have to let me know the date.
aidono
post Aug 9 2011, 01:50 PM

1,124 posts

QUOTE(litter @ Aug 8 2011, 06:45 PM)
refer to this website there are 2 route for return
http://www.vertical-adventure.com/hiking-bukit-tabur.html
All Tabur have two routes to return. It is whether you where to return or not biggrin.gif

Added on August 9, 2011, 1:52 pm
QUOTE(cokehau @ Aug 9 2011, 12:25 AM)
Hi all, may i join this club?? xD

Name: Coke
Summits conquered: tabur 1,2,3 (climb more than 20 times?), saga,datuk,kutu,gasing hill, puchong hill, pine tree trail, g.nuang (from hulu langat)
Next target: plan to go KK next year
frequent workout place: Still tabur attracted me the most...
hi guys, is there any upcoming event i can join? either 1 day trip or camping?
Feel free to make yourself at home. Do you have camping gear or not? If not, you can join me for camping at Perak. Haha. Expected temperature at night would be around 12-16*. Chill and cool smile.gif

Added on August 9, 2011, 1:54 pm
QUOTE(StraxorX @ Aug 6 2011, 03:29 PM)
I climbed Taman Melati and broga hill. is this consider? o.o. Anyway, It's been a while I didn't climb. Hope can join with you all in this climbing activities.
Taman Melati @ Melawati?

This post has been edited by aidono: Aug 9 2011, 01:54 PM
aidono
post Aug 9 2011, 07:20 PM

1,124 posts

QUOTE(cokehau @ Aug 9 2011, 07:11 PM)
yea, i have all the camping gears, gotta get another pairs of karrimor shoes at sports direct, they are having 60% sales now~
I know most people will go for Karrimor's bagpack but I never know their shoes after all hmm.gif The best shoes for me still Kampung Adidas laugh.gif RM10 cheap and yet easy to wash.

Let me see how many want to camp first. More likely will be one of the mountain at Cameron Highland. 2 days 1 night.
aidono
post Aug 9 2011, 09:32 PM

1,124 posts

QUOTE(cokehau @ Aug 9 2011, 08:33 PM)
i am going cameron this raya, gunung irau-yellow 3d2n

kampung adidas i bought for rm6 only, i have 2 pairs btw...xD
Might as well you do Gunung Pass cool2.gif . RM5.60 is the cheapest I ever found at KKB.
aidono
post Aug 9 2011, 09:35 PM

1,124 posts

QUOTE(cokehau @ Aug 9 2011, 10:34 PM)
yaya, pass-yellow,irau all together...xD
No Suku? LOL!
aidono
post Aug 9 2011, 10:02 PM

1,124 posts

Can 31st August and 1st September then. Haha XD Anyway, Gunung Pass was quite heavily overgrown on my last visit there.
aidono
post Aug 11 2011, 09:23 PM

1,124 posts

QUOTE(yuanyi @ Aug 11 2011, 05:06 PM)
Hiking nuang this sunday!! Anyone conquered gunung rajah @ bentong before?
Good luck on your hike. What do you want to know about Gunung Rajah?
aidono
post Aug 18 2011, 04:25 PM

1,124 posts

QUOTE(litter @ Aug 17 2011, 07:21 PM)
Date : 3/9/11
Time : Morning (TBC)
Waiting at Wangsa Maju BRJ, anyone who interested can join us... we have about 5~7 person
Which Tabur? I just don't get it why people not able to label them as West, East and Extreme as Bukit Tabur alone can be misleading?
aidono
post Sep 8 2011, 07:20 AM

1,124 posts

QUOTE(rain_skywalker @ Sep 2 2011, 07:21 AM)
Name: afiq
Summits conquered: coming soon
Next target: 15/10 g.ledang , december g.kinabalu
frequent workout place: jogging, leg n body workout

can i ask question?
is this type of shoe good for climbing g.kinabalu or g.ledang?

Are you sure you are able to hike Gunung Ledang at this moment? If not mistaken only the route from Asahan is open while the rest remain close due to landslide. Kindly get some clarification on that before you make your trip to Johore.

I think that shoe looks like a Vibram 5 right? I got a friend that have that and according to him, he prefer to use those shoes at soil terrain, not rocky terrain like Gunung Kinabalu.
aidono
post Sep 12 2011, 12:10 AM

1,124 posts

Kindly take note what happened at Bukit Tabur. Appreciate if those who are trekking there to be more careful and cancel your hiking activities when the weather ain't good. Not just for the sake of the sunrise. Thank you.

http://ondscene.my/operasi-menyelamat/parah-jatuh-25-meter
aidono
post Sep 28 2011, 11:40 PM

1,124 posts

QUOTE(itnama @ Sep 29 2011, 12:13 AM)
is there any mountain or hill in selangor kl that is considered safe for hiking alone?
Bukit Indah, Ampang
Bukit Gasing, Petaling Jaya
Bukit Rasa, Bukit Beruntung
Bukit Broga, Semenyih
Pine Tree trail, Bukit Fraser

and many more nod.gif
aidono
post Oct 6 2011, 10:44 AM

1,124 posts

QUOTE(amirfadzli @ Oct 5 2011, 11:30 PM)
hi, just wanna ask hikers here. is there any shop that sells adidas kampung in PJ? need it urgently for hiking this friday
PJ old town nearby Jalan Othman. I think the shop name should be Kedai Kasut Sentosa. Rough GPS coordinate N3* 5' 10.34" E101* 38' 50.03". Should cost you RM8.80 or RM9.80 per pair. Certain place at smaller town can get from RM5.50 to RM8.

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0344sec    0.76    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 10:42 AM