Travel Mountain Climbers Club, register yourself here!
felixcfk
Mar 17 2008, 11:27 AM

QUOTE(hornetEJ @ Mar 17 2008, 10:46 AM) Err.... there's a way to skip that? Where? Sometimes the ppl following us has problem getting down so would be helpful is we know how to skip that. For those new comer, should ask them to use the rope to go down. At the same time can train them up mah...
kalaso_85
Mar 17 2008, 11:31 AM

QUOTE(babeadeline @ Mar 13 2008, 10:02 PM) Thanks alot! Do you all usually camp at the top, or make it a day hike? Also, the base of the mountain has shops selling simple foodstuff and mineral water? Intend to go from JB, take a train? camp at peak is quite nice...nice view there....but many ppl do 1 day hike also(cause this moutain total only take 4-5 hour up n down) there is 1 small stall that sell water n some snake near the ranger office. U can take train till tampin station then change taxi to gunung datuk... when will u decide to hike gunung datuk?
Liuism
Mar 17 2008, 12:00 PM
QUOTE(felixcfk @ Mar 14 2008, 02:32 PM) I climbed with Liusm b4.. Melawati west right on bro~
felixcfk
Mar 17 2008, 12:51 PM

QUOTE(Liuism @ Mar 17 2008, 12:00 PM) right on bro~  Liuism...long time no see... you got conquer any other hill or not after Melawati???
hornetEJ
Mar 17 2008, 01:00 PM
QUOTE(felixcfk @ Mar 17 2008, 11:27 AM) For those new comer, should ask them to use the rope to go down. At the same time can train them up mah... Sometimes the newcomers just freak out. Of course it'll be best to train them up that way but sometimes, things just not going according to plan and it'll be good to know an alternative route
felixcfk
Mar 17 2008, 02:11 PM

QUOTE(hornetEJ @ Mar 17 2008, 01:00 PM) Sometimes the newcomers just freak out. Of course it'll be best to train them up that way but sometimes, things just not going according to plan and it'll be good to know an alternative route  That is why should encourage and help those new comer during reach till tat rope path looh.....
chen481
Mar 17 2008, 08:21 PM
i like the rope path...so ''chi kek''...like tarzan..hahaha
Liuism
Mar 17 2008, 11:32 PM
QUOTE(felixcfk @ Mar 17 2008, 12:51 PM) Liuism...long time no see... you got conquer any other hill or not after Melawati??? Dato lor, other than that no more edi la, waiting for next organizer to organize
aichiban
Mar 18 2008, 04:25 AM
QUOTE(hornetEJ @ Mar 17 2008, 01:00 PM) Sometimes the newcomers just freak out. Of course it'll be best to train them up that way but sometimes, things just not going according to plan and it'll be good to know an alternative route  b4 the rope, around 6-10 meter there's a path leading down at ur right. go on that path it will sambung with the "after rope" wan very obvious compared to last time
felixcfk
Mar 18 2008, 10:20 AM

QUOTE(aichiban @ Mar 18 2008, 04:25 AM) b4 the rope, around 6-10 meter there's a path leading down at ur right. go on that path it will sambung with the "after rope" wan very obvious compared to last time yup you are right.... nowadays, getting more and more people climb melawati west liao. a bit jam compare with last time.
spyrr
Mar 19 2008, 11:46 PM

hi everybody, anybody knows whether there's a trail to hike up at Gunung Jerai (Kedah)? if yes, how long does it take to hike up there?
many thanks.
dare2join
Mar 25 2008, 10:13 AM
Name: dare2join Summits conquered: bukit melawati, Taman negara, Bukit Gasing (consider ar?), Latar Kinjang (peak of waterfall) Next target: Mount Kinabalu, redang... frequent workout place: self jog (but lazy recently)
Flatscan
Mar 25 2008, 11:49 AM
Just conquered Gunung Nuang last election week :-) Its tough but the view on the way to the summit was sooo nice and cool breeze and fog touching your skin is priceless :-)
The view on the summit is...oh nevermind
navilink
Mar 26 2008, 08:10 AM
Anyone can intro a bit on these gunungs: - Gunung Angsi - Gunung Nuang - Gunung Irau going to climb these 3 within 1 mths time!!! @Flatscan : wats with the view on the summit of Nuang? say ler...
babeadeline
Mar 26 2008, 11:38 PM
QUOTE(navilink @ Mar 26 2008, 08:10 AM) Anyone can intro a bit on these gunungs: - Gunung Angsi - Gunung Nuang - Gunung Irau going to climb these 3 within 1 mths time!!! @Flatscan : wats with the view on the summit of Nuang? say ler...  I'm a noob to climbing, but from what I know...(feel free to correct me) Irau is Cameron Highlands, its supposedly mossy and muddy =D Takes about 3-4 hours to reach the peak. Nuang: This post has been edited by babeadeline: Mar 26 2008, 11:38 PM
TSjuichuan
Mar 27 2008, 08:54 PM
LA-Little Angel
Irau is higher than Berinchang.
itnama
Mar 28 2008, 03:11 PM
to babeadeline, ive been to gunung belumut.. and yes u cannot camp upthere.. u wont take a long time to go up. im sorry, i 4gt to record d time bt it wont take more than 5 hour unless u always take a real long rest. the last time i went down, it was raining n we hv to walk along the water stream ...
navilink
Mar 28 2008, 10:46 PM
QUOTE(babeadeline @ Mar 26 2008, 11:38 PM) I'm a noob to climbing, but from what I know...(feel free to correct me) Irau is Cameron Highlands, its supposedly mossy and muddy =D Takes about 3-4 hours to reach the peak. Nuang:  so fast to get to Nuang peak? hmm...i heard that's this one super long stretch of muddy road that is very tough...izzit?
babeadeline
Mar 30 2008, 05:21 PM
QUOTE(itnama @ Mar 28 2008, 03:11 PM) to babeadeline, ive been to gunung belumut.. and yes u cannot camp upthere.. u wont take a long time to go up. im sorry, i 4gt to record d time bt it wont take more than 5 hour unless u always take a real long rest. the last time i went down, it was raining n we hv to walk along the water stream ... We took about total 7 to 8 hours for up and down.  Reached the peak at 4.30pm. A group of very unfit people, including me. QUOTE(navilink @ Mar 28 2008, 10:46 PM) so fast to get to Nuang peak? hmm...i heard that's this one super long stretch of muddy road that is very tough...izzit? The 3-4 hours is for Irau, that's from what I read online from a few websites. I posted the photo from Nuang because someone was mentioning about it earlier on. =) This post has been edited by babeadeline: Apr 6 2008, 12:23 AM
navilink
Apr 6 2008, 08:23 PM
just back from Angsi...well the hike it a bit similar to climbing Gunung Datuk...but i think Angsi has more variety climbings and sceneries than Datuk...Angsi is climb up one way and down the other way...so thats why