Photography The Sony Alpha Thread V59, The Orange Legion
Newbieeeeee
Mar 1 2014, 10:50 PM
QUOTE(Darkshining @ Mar 1 2014, 01:26 PM) Sorry if this have been asked before Do you guys know are there any camera shops that sell cheap Sony gears around KL and Selangor area? Other than Studio Zaloon (I know their price isn't exactly cheap...) Wanted to buy A7 hahaha Still my fav place to go to, Key Color Mid Valley. Go in knowing your price, look for the lady boss (take note!).
Newbieeeeee
Mar 2 2014, 10:45 AM
QUOTE(Darkshining @ Mar 2 2014, 12:44 AM) Oh, go in knowing my price means i have to know the price before going in? Anyway noted! Thanks  any place more? Yup. And always always ask the lady boss. Her prices are usually a few hundred lower than her workers for expensive items.
Newbieeeeee
Mar 4 2014, 03:54 PM
QUOTE(maximR @ Mar 4 2014, 02:13 PM) Sony a58 here. I've a question, I only have the supplied kit lens. If I purchase a newer one, say a 50mm zoom lens, would I still be using the 18mm kit one or will it just sit there and collect dust?  You'll still be using the kit lens no worries. Unless you're into birding then probably not.
Newbieeeeee
Mar 13 2014, 12:06 PM
QUOTE(Ryou @ Mar 13 2014, 11:20 AM) Guys, I need help. I have a 16-105mm, and its warranty has finished. Recently, it behaves strangely. First, it cannot MF. Something loose can be heard when I shake the lens. Then today the AF motor of my a77 stuck with the lens. It sounds like "tak tak tak tak tak..." Anyone knows how much it costs to fix it? Theres no such thing as cannot MF. Did you set the switch to MF before MFing or did you just force your way through? If Im not mistaken, the 16105 is a screw driven lens. Because if you did force then its the body's motor thats being damaged. Do other lenses behave the same?
Newbieeeeee
Mar 13 2014, 12:22 PM
QUOTE(Ryou @ Mar 13 2014, 12:12 PM) I have been using this lens for more than one year and I'm a regular landscape shooter, so I know how to switch to MF very well. But it indeed cannot MF. The focus ring is "decoupled" from the glasses. I can freely turn the focus ring and the glass simply doesn't move. In its normal state, the focus ring is locked when I switched the lens to AF. But now no matter which mode (MF,C,A,S), the focus ring can be turned freely. By the way I have only one 16-105mm, one 50mm f1.8 which is SAM-driven and one M42 manual lens. So I can't try. The 50mm behaves normally though. I've sold my 16105 quite some time ago, but if I recall correctly the glass doesn't turn while focusing. A77 has DMF function. Are you currently using it? But if you say that your 50/1.8 works properly then it sounds like your 16105 is gear stripped. I don't think anyone fixes that. They simply just change the whole lens. Its quite rare for 16105 to get gear stripped though. You must be a very frequent user. This post has been edited by Newbieeeeee: Mar 13 2014, 12:24 PM
Newbieeeeee
Mar 14 2014, 01:08 PM
Removed
This post has been edited by Newbieeeeee: Mar 14 2014, 01:11 PM
Newbieeeeee
Mar 14 2014, 01:10 PM
QUOTE(bysquashy @ Mar 14 2014, 04:00 AM) Sony AU is clearing their A99 vertical grip for $58.95 delivered in AU http://www.sony.com.au/product/vg-c99am?cid=dgm:30013It's $499 now.
Newbieeeeee
Mar 18 2014, 02:03 AM
QUOTE(NutZ748 @ Mar 18 2014, 01:53 AM) Got my new babe! my First 1.4 » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... «   Some test shots with the lens shot at f/1.4  shot at f/4 (not sure, forgotten  )  Overall i really like this lens, really sharp at f/1.4 apart from the CA, step down and damn its really sharp! Surprisingly for such a small lens, it feels heavier than my 16-50 SSM! Will post more photos when i have the chance to shoot with this lens more Its a full manual lens right? Does that mean that the camera body will not detect the lens? How much did you get it for btw? This post has been edited by Newbieeeeee: Mar 18 2014, 02:04 AM
Newbieeeeee
Mar 18 2014, 02:35 AM
QUOTE(NutZ748 @ Mar 18 2014, 02:11 AM) Yeah its a manual lens, for my piece it doesnt detect the lens, but some say you can buy one with the AF confirmation chip, so it will have EXIF info. i bought it for around 165 pounds...around RM800+ I wanted to buy this lens long ago because of the price, but seems like not alot people wanna sell it 2nd hand... Now cannot tahan already straight buy new one  I see. Not bad! But it's really difficult to focus at f/1.4.
Newbieeeeee
Mar 21 2014, 12:08 AM
Is it possible to check for warranty status using the serial number? Or any ways to check if there is still warranty? I wasn't the one who registered the product though.
Newbieeeeee
Mar 21 2014, 08:08 PM
QUOTE(~AarDwOlF~ @ Mar 21 2014, 05:23 PM) here's an update for my previous post.. so after i hear you guys' opinion, i did search for 2nd hand/new body but i didnt get any (due to tight budget and some reason) after that i decided to have my a35 repaired..and i've just collected it from sony service center  (feel so great to have it back) unexpectedly, the service charge is only rm166 (which was quoted rm630) am very satisfied with sony's service.. the camera is now working well, with 3 months warranty from today sony even return me the faulty parts just a little sharing here  Nice! RM166 is very cheap!
Newbieeeeee
Apr 5 2014, 11:47 AM
QUOTE(rEktOr @ Apr 5 2014, 11:39 AM) haih..after going all around..all out of stock for f43m flash. left only sony store klcc..but goes for 999. does anyone have any lubang for this flash? I just got one full set with a few months of warranty, scratchless and white bulb for RM400. There are a few second hand ones online going for RM550 onwards.
Newbieeeeee
Apr 5 2014, 10:25 PM
QUOTE(rEktOr @ Apr 5 2014, 07:47 PM) really meh? 43m? got link to it? where's ur location? Nope. It has been sold to me. Mana dapat link.  I'm from KL.
Newbieeeeee
Apr 6 2014, 02:09 AM
QUOTE(lwliam @ Apr 6 2014, 01:59 AM) You sure yours the f43m? And not an f43am? 2 different mounts friend.. Mines the AM. A converter will do the job. Still cheaper than 999.
Newbieeeeee
Apr 9 2014, 02:26 AM
Anyone knows why I can't trigger off camera flashes with an external flash on my A77? For example I plug a F42 on my A77, set to WL flash mode, put an F42 off camera on WL mode, but it won't flash. Why is that so?
Newbieeeeee
Apr 9 2014, 12:56 PM
QUOTE(albnok @ Apr 9 2014, 12:44 PM) Refer to the first post in this thread for a wireless flash compatibility list.  The F42 does not have Wireless Flash Commander mode. You will be able to do it with the F20AM, F43AM, F43M (untested), F58AM, and F60M. Sorry missed that. I was actually using my F43AM to trigger my F42AM. It just didn't flash. Camera was set to WL flash, F42 set to WL mode.
Newbieeeeee
Apr 14 2014, 11:09 AM
QUOTE(albnok @ Apr 14 2014, 02:51 AM) Yes, that should work. Make sure both are on the same channel. Your F43AM also needs to be set to WL Commander. Whether it is CTRL or CTRL+ does not matter as the F42AM understands both. I found it. My F43 doesn't come with an english manual though. Mandarin Korean Arabian only.
Newbieeeeee
Apr 15 2014, 11:47 AM
QUOTE(fansoption @ Apr 15 2014, 09:36 AM) Where do you get all these small toys?
Newbieeeeee
Apr 15 2014, 04:49 PM
QUOTE(fansoption @ Apr 15 2014, 03:28 PM) I see. Explains why you have all the toys.
Newbieeeeee
Apr 16 2014, 07:07 PM
QUOTE(metalgrey @ Apr 16 2014, 04:07 PM) Hi master shifu, I plan to buy new flash. Due expensive sony flash, i will go for 3rd party, Any recommendation 3rd party sony flash? Btw i still confuse about hot shoe on camera, can advise? My camera model is A58 Thanks  Metz.