6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

Mazda MPS

samwongjyhhorng
post Dec 15 2012, 08:50 PM

My relative got tis mps.15k discount when bought at sep.i test drove d car.the 1st gear dunno got limit of torque to release or wat,u onli wil feel strong pulling power start from 2nd gear.d handling is acceptable,but lose to megane..i speed to 190 easily,but wil feel body cant stand it d powerful engine,wil feel a bit difficult control after 190.my relative oso comment same issue.v went test drive megane,d pulling power is lose to mps,but high speed stability for megane is good,i can speed to 220 and stil feel d car under control.anyway,its worth get mps since is value for money for performance.i think after change suspension and install bar,d handling wil be better.
6UE5T
post Dec 15 2012, 08:55 PM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(lunchtime @ Dec 15 2012, 02:13 PM)
How come the Mazda MPS has torque steer while other similar powered cars  like the Golf GTI don't have torque steer?
QUOTE(wayfeel @ Dec 15 2012, 04:15 PM)
VW gti is not as power as Mazda MPS. MPS eats the gti for breakfast.

the VW Golf R is competitor for Mazda MPS and teh Golf R is an All wheel drive
Not necessarily just because of the power I think. FD2R even if you tuned it to make as much or even more power than the MPS, the steering is still very steady. My friend's FD2R for example, dynoed around 260HP already but the steering is still very straight when you whack it hard! FD2R & Golf GTI are just superior FWD car compared to the MPS.
wayfeel
post Dec 15 2012, 09:34 PM

Member of Elite Negotiators xD
2,114 posts

QUOTE(samwongjyhhorng @ Dec 15 2012, 08:50 PM)
My relative got tis mps.15k discount when bought at sep.i test drove d car.the 1st gear dunno got limit of torque to release or wat,u onli wil feel strong pulling power start from 2nd gear.d handling is acceptable,but lose to megane..i speed to 190 easily,but wil feel body cant stand it d powerful engine,wil feel a bit difficult control after 190.my relative oso comment same issue.v went test drive megane,d pulling power is lose to mps,but high speed stability for megane is good,i can speed to 220 and stil feel d car under control.anyway,its worth get mps since is value for money for performance.i think after change suspension and install bar,d handling wil be better.
so the MPS power really more than what it can take huh. myb truly need an aftermarket upgrades lol

so if u and your relative ,to choose again, which one will he & u will buy?

but i believe megane is about rm270-280k right?

for such price, its a no brainer that MPS is the one for rm 170k. that's 100k alot to improve the MPS and I like MPS design all the way. Megane is more exotic or exquitsite. MPS OTR so f***ing nice.

I don't mean to be cynical, but high speed feeling of stability is quite subjective ,no? if normal car can do 180 also, im sure MPS can do 200 & more, np. but im not sure if RS cup is AWD or FWD like MPS?

if we talk about RS cup, myb can talk about the Focus RS also (or is it ST?) lol

QUOTE(6UE5T @ Dec 15 2012, 08:55 PM)
Not necessarily just because of the power I think. FD2R even if you tuned it to make as much or even more power than the MPS, the steering is still very steady. My friend's FD2R for example, dynoed around 260HP already but the steering is still very straight when you whack it hard! FD2R & Golf GTI are just superior FWD car compared to the MPS.
myb also due to the transmission?
VW is just amazing with what they can do.
they just simply done everything in the right way.
cept for the DSG durability lol in china , the DSG pain is massive that the gomen pass a bill to 'force' VW to cover 1 year warranty for their gb . Sumfin' like that, dont rmb exactly what

This post has been edited by wayfeel: Dec 15 2012, 09:36 PM
6UE5T
post Dec 15 2012, 09:45 PM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(wayfeel @ Dec 15 2012, 09:34 PM)
so the MPS power really more than what it can take huh. myb truly need an aftermarket upgrades lol

for such price, its a no brainer that MPS is the one for rm 170k. that's 100k alot to improve the MPS and I like MPS design all the way. Megane is more exotic or exquitsite. MPS OTR so f***ing nice.

I don't mean to be cynical, but high speed feeling of stability is quite subjective ,no? if normal car can do 180 also, im sure MPS can do 200 & more, np. but im not sure if RS cup is AWD or FWD like MPS?

if we talk about RS cup, myb can talk about the Focus RS also  (or is it ST?) lol
cept for the DSG durability lol in china , the DSG pain is massive that the gomen pass a bill to 'force' VW to cover 1 year warranty for their gb . Sumfin' like that, dont rmb exactly what
The Megane is selling at around rm230K.

I wouldn't say stability is subjective. Some cars are just really more stable and give a lot more confidence at high speeds. Of course as to how fast one can say a car is stable or not is a bit subjective depending on skills and balls, but if at the same speed one car is more stable than the other it's not really subjective but more due to the way the car is designed & setup.
rcracer
post Dec 15 2012, 09:51 PM

?????
3,772 posts

overly hard suspension quickly wears out the fun of the car
wayfeel
post Dec 15 2012, 09:52 PM

2,114 posts

QUOTE(6UE5T @ Dec 15 2012, 09:45 PM)
The Megane is selling at around rm230K.

I wouldn't say stability is subjective. Some cars are just really more stable and give a lot more confidence at high speeds. Of course as to how fast one can say a car is stable or not is a bit subjective depending on skills and balls, but if at the same speed one car is more stable than the other it's not really subjective but more due to the way the car is designed & setup.
i read somewhere the RS cup about rm270k ,myb my bad. *update* ya, is rm230k lol

If 200 over....whats the reason of not getting the Golf over the megane. the Gti is luxurious and performance enough, without the torq steer

although each time i see an golf gti, yea la, it never fail to impress me , nice la, admiration la, ooh lala

but it just not like when see an MPS...

mybe cuz my blood is JDM

beside mps>megane cuz 4drs hehe

This post has been edited by wayfeel: Dec 15 2012, 09:59 PM
thefryingfox
post Dec 15 2012, 10:48 PM

Lonely Maharajah
5,165 posts

test drive one the other day ( thinking of upgrading my diesel 400nm 180bhp plant to the mps) and here's what i thought;

1) Great discount for 2012 model ( no brainer coz its end of the year anyway) - 15k
2) first and 2nd gear pulling power kinda suck compared to my 400nm FF car
3) the shocks are too hard and every door panel was rattling ( i fing hate rattling)
4) third gear onwards - it was all smiles. Very quick to reach 200kmh but the problem is the first and 2nd gear is a little hard to control. the car jumps lane easily ( prolly due to the FF layout)
5) torque steer is not that crazy
6) Took the ss19 corner ( from subang parade to guthrie highway) and it was obvious the car was not made to handle corners. understeer was very obvious.

All that being said - the car is a fine piece of engineering for 170k out of a showroom. value for money performance. shame the cornering was not tweaked further
samwongjyhhorng
post Dec 15 2012, 11:18 PM

QUOTE(wayfeel @ Dec 15 2012, 09:34 PM)

if we talk about RS cup, myb can talk about the Focus RS also  (or is it ST?) lol
For me,stability and handling is important than power.if i affordable,i wil choose megane..d ride feeling is different..if car power but handling not gd,i oso dun have confident to speed fast.
6UE5T
post Dec 16 2012, 12:12 AM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(wayfeel @ Dec 15 2012, 09:52 PM)
i read somewhere the RS cup about rm270k ,myb my bad. *update* ya, is rm230k lol

If 200 over....whats the reason of not getting the Golf  over the megane. the Gti is luxurious and performance enough, without the torq steer

although each time i see an golf gti, yea la, it never fail to impress me , nice la, admiration la, ooh lala

but it just not like when see an MPS...

mybe cuz my blood is JDM

beside mps>megane cuz 4drs hehe
One reason is the Megane is still available in manual! It also has more power than Golf GTI and surely faster for time attack. In fact if I remember correctly it's currently the quickest FWD car around Nurburgring. Some also like the look which is a bit more different.
wayfeel
post Dec 16 2012, 02:44 AM

2,114 posts

QUOTE(6UE5T @ Dec 16 2012, 12:12 AM)
One reason is the Megane is still available in manual! It also has more power than Golf GTI and surely  faster for time attack. In fact if I remember correctly it's currently the quickest FWD car around Nurburgring. Some also like the look which is a bit more different.
QUOTE(samwongjyhhorng @ Dec 15 2012, 11:18 PM)
For me,stability and handling is important than power.if i affordable,i wil choose megane..d ride feeling is different..if car power but handling not gd,i oso dun have confident to speed fast.
quicker by a shave...rly not that material to me...for sure i didnt buy a car cuz it is quicker by a sec

but yea i agree on the stability and handling if that's strictly what you're looking for.
MPS just more on raw power. Megane is the right car for tracking. but for me, i'd spend on aftrmarket upgrades with the 70k difference

Im biased coz i just prefer the MPS styling. Cuz im just not that hardcore. Im more of a performance car that can be driven everyday.

sthg lik the Golf gti which excel in. still the best all rounder hothatch.

I mean, with the Gti, u can fetch your girlfriend to ballroom, clubbing and still looks classy & blends well in line with the others lik skylines, evo, typeRs

Balik kampung or attend parties also looks upclass & not the riceboy image, but a sporty executive sorta, it just looks more mature .
fetch your parents comfortably at the back. your future in laws also most probably have good impression of you at first met with the Gti.
even suitable to go to pasar mlm & racetrack. or even tesco, or ikea no problem with space.

Bring the megane to any of these, ppl gonna think u just come back from sepang track. just dont forget to bring the helmet as well for a full show anyway or droning in-laws at the back complaining. but it sure look exotic OTR and not sure about rear room. this car surely for weekend car better or track just make sure you have other car for daily use which i think the MPS or Gti r more comfortable for.

End of the day, just make sure wht it use for.

This post has been edited by wayfeel: Dec 16 2012, 02:51 AM
Madgeiser
post Dec 17 2012, 08:32 AM

433 posts

A good 3 car to compare of similiar performance would be :

Mazda 3 MPS - RM170k
Ford Focus ST - RM208k
Volkswagon Golf R - RM270k

They are all around 250HP, but Mazda has higher engine displacement at 2.3L, while the Volks and Ford is both at 2.0L. All very sporty car, my suggestion is to press the SA to give you a test drive and also do some google of these car.
sleepwalker
post Dec 17 2012, 09:32 AM

Need sleep....
5,568 posts

QUOTE(wayfeel @ Dec 15 2012, 04:15 PM)
VW gti is not as power as Mazda MPS. MPS eats the gti for breakfast.

the VW Golf R is competitor for Mazda MPS and teh Golf R is an All wheel drive
No it does not. On paper it looks impressive but no in real live. I had a turbocharged front wheel drive and you can't put 380nm of torque on the front wheels on the road and when compared to the turbo 4wd I have now, it is a world of difference. Without the fancy DSG, it is very difficult to get consistent 0-100 times too. This was proven when they compared the GTi with normal gearbox and DSG.

Overall it will be slightly faster (only by miliseconds.. can't consider that as eating the GTi for breakfast) but with so much torque on the front wheels, it is not easy to drive.

Added on December 17, 2012, 9:33 am
QUOTE(6UE5T @ Dec 15 2012, 08:55 PM)
We all know FD2R is the torqueless wonder.. that is why you don't have torque steer. It is not called 'Torque' steer for nothing.

Added on December 17, 2012, 9:39 am
QUOTE(torreto @ Dec 14 2012, 07:55 PM)
the torque steer can be reduced / eliminated by lowering the car.the stock handling is not that bad if you know how the car behave.  this car is Golf/Scirocco killer, had a Golf Gti having a hard time with overheated DSG trying to catch up with the Mazda MPS biggrin.gif
Torque steer has nothing to do with the suspension and no amount of lowering of the car will reduce torque steer. Again, it is not called 'torque' steer if it had anything to do with the suspension.

Added on December 17, 2012, 9:43 am
QUOTE(thefryingfox @ Dec 15 2012, 10:48 PM)
test drive one the other day ( thinking of upgrading my diesel 400nm 180bhp plant to the mps) and here's what i thought;

1) Great discount for 2012 model ( no brainer coz its end of the year anyway) - 15k
2) first and 2nd gear pulling power kinda suck compared to my 400nm FF car
3) the shocks are too hard and every door panel was rattling ( i fing hate rattling)
4) third gear onwards - it was all smiles. Very quick to reach 200kmh but the problem is the first and 2nd gear is a little hard to control. the car jumps lane easily ( prolly due to the FF layout)
5) torque steer is not that crazy
6) Took the ss19 corner ( from subang parade to guthrie highway) and it was obvious the car was not made to handle corners. understeer was very obvious.

All that being said - the car is a fine piece of engineering for 170k out of a showroom. value for money performance. shame the cornering was not tweaked further
Why is point 4 and 5 contradictory? You said it jumps lane on point 4 and probably due to FF layout.. hello.. that my friend.. is torque steer and yet on point 5 you said that torque steer is not that crazy? Well, jumping 1 lane due to torque steer is bad enough.. do you need it to jump 2 lanes before you consider it as bad torque steer?

This post has been edited by sleepwalker: Dec 17 2012, 09:43 AM
wailup
post Dec 17 2012, 12:15 PM

97 posts

i hope mine ends with MPS ... tongue.gif
lucifal
post Dec 17 2012, 08:58 PM

85 posts

For those who wanna have a look and perhaps thinking of getting one, we will have 1 Test drive unit at our place starting tomorrow 11am till Thursday.

lunchtime
post Dec 17 2012, 11:32 PM

487 posts

So what makes the MPS to suffer from torque steer while VW Golf R doesn't?
lcy851031
post Dec 17 2012, 11:38 PM

741 posts

QUOTE(lunchtime @ Dec 17 2012, 11:32 PM)
So what makes the MPS to suffer from torque steer while VW Golf R doesn't?
One of the reason is MPS is a FWD, while Golf R is AWD.

AWD allows the excessive torque generated by engine distributed to rear wheel, while FWD can't, the front wheel had to endure all the excessive torque generated by engine.
lunchtime
post Dec 17 2012, 11:41 PM

487 posts

QUOTE(lcy851031 @ Dec 17 2012, 11:38 PM)
One of the reason is MPS is a FWD, while Golf R is AWD.

AWD allows the excessive torque generated by engine distributed to rear wheel, while FWD can't, the front wheel had to endure all the excessive torque generated by engine.
I tot the Golf R was FWD. Is there any FWD car with similar power to the MPS but do not suffer from torque steer? If yes, why don't it suffer from torque steer?
sleepwalker
post Dec 18 2012, 01:32 AM

Need sleep....
5,568 posts

QUOTE(lunchtime @ Dec 17 2012, 11:41 PM)
I tot the Golf R was FWD. Is there any FWD car with similar power to the MPS but do not suffer from torque steer? If yes, why don't it suffer from torque steer?
The Golf GTi is FWD.. Golf R is AWD. That the reason why they don't make cars with so much power to the front wheels due to torque steer. The only way to overcome it is to put less power on the front wheels or change the drive train to RWD or AWD. Any car with so much torque will suffer from torque steer.
yngwie
post Dec 18 2012, 07:09 AM

| Ðøñ'¯|¯ G|v€ Â ÐðmÑ!
3,092 posts

QUOTE(lunchtime @ Dec 17 2012, 11:41 PM)
megane rs250 which offer a far more engaging drive than the mps its worth paying the price difference smile.gif
although rs250 had 250hp and 340nm of torque on ff drivetrain, it does not suffer from excessive torque steer like mps.
i trashed the car in the corner and while i was ready for sudden nose action, car is surprisingly very composed. guess the mechanical lsd on rs250 is
so effective i could drive it as hard as my fr ride on sharp corner!
steering feedback during high speed lane change is great. and a peek underneath settled my question.
the steering axis on rs250 is independent. no ball joints or tie rod link to the suspension system.
rs250 is one hell of a ride it never feels like a' rear torsion beam' equipped car!

Madgeiser
post Dec 18 2012, 07:54 AM

433 posts

QUOTE(yngwie @ Dec 18 2012, 07:09 AM)
megane rs250  which offer a far more engaging drive than the mps its worth paying the price difference smile.gif 
although rs250 had 250hp and 340nm of torque on ff drivetrain, it does not suffer from excessive torque steer like mps.
i trashed the car in the corner and while i was ready for sudden nose action, car is surprisingly very composed. guess the mechanical lsd on rs250 is
so effective i could drive it as hard as my fr ride on sharp corner!
steering feedback during high speed lane change is great. and a peek underneath settled my question.
the steering axis on rs250 is independent. no ball joints or tie rod link to the suspension system.
rs250 is one hell of a ride it never feels like a' rear torsion beam' equipped car!
I believe the Focus ST has similiar system, they call it torque vectoring.

6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0259sec    0.96    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 12:18 PM