The newbie guide to power supply units, Questions and comments are welcomed
TSchocobo7779
Feb 22 2020, 12:28 PM
QUOTE(fin8Ex @ Feb 22 2020, 10:51 AM) why AMD? my first rig was a AMD...cpu blew up ^^ went for intel ever since. peace of mind. low powered cpu not good? save electricity/more efficient/less heat  or i am wrong? well i am not a gamer, dont see why need a fast processor....just like my i5-3570k back then...tot was going for some casual gaming but end up din really play games  except some flash games Better performance, performance per watt, security (see the amount of security vulnerabilities on Intel) and upgradability (the 10th gen Intel chips will require a new motherboard mind you, unlike AM4 platform which can be upgraded to upcoming Zen 3 CPUs with a BIOS update and a CPU swap)  Low powered CPUs (i.e. the T models) trade off performance for power efficiency and heat output, and note that T models are generally not sold on the retail market (they are meant for the OEM market FYI) This post has been edited by chocobo7779: Feb 22 2020, 12:29 PM
TSchocobo7779
Feb 22 2020, 06:50 PM
QUOTE(fin8Ex @ Feb 22 2020, 06:38 PM) If you are talking about their B450 boards then not really  Stick with something like ASRock's B450(M) Pro4 or the Gaming K4 instead  These boards have some of the best VRMs at the price range  P.S. this is a PSU discussion so I'd recommend you to open a new thread if you are asking about hardware recommendations This post has been edited by chocobo7779: Feb 22 2020, 06:51 PM
TSchocobo7779
Mar 7 2020, 12:50 AM
TSchocobo7779
Mar 7 2020, 12:27 PM
QUOTE(bl0om @ Mar 7 2020, 10:54 AM) About to go to buy 1 PSU. My 4y FSP Hexa+ 550W just dead this morning. I'm looking for modular PSU. PSU that in mind right now: FSP 550W GE & FSP 650W GE From online price, the difference between the two module is around RM30. Don't have any plans to upgrade or anything, so 550W should be just fine. So any better PSU within the budget? Should I get 650W even no upgrade plan yet? Or just stick with 550W plus tapau KFC on my way back from the shop with that RM30 saving? Your machine specs at the moment?  Also, how much are you willing to spend on the PSU? This post has been edited by chocobo7779: Mar 7 2020, 12:30 PM
TSchocobo7779
Mar 7 2020, 01:34 PM
QUOTE(bl0om @ Mar 7 2020, 01:29 PM) I7 4790 GTX 1070 16GB DDR3 Budget below 400. Cheaper always better. That's why leaning towards 550W  If you have that budget why not a Leadex II Gold 650W  Of course, if you wanted a cheaper unit then the Gigabyte P650B is a good one as well (DotaTech sells it at RM325): Reviews in Chinese: https://www.expreview.com/59243.htmlSummary: 1. Full Japanese caps 2. Tight voltage regulation, but voltage regulation on 3.3V and 5V can be better 3. Very low ripple suppresion, although ripple performance at 3.3V and 5V rail can be improved further Overall, it's a very good PSU with a decent value
TSchocobo7779
Mar 8 2020, 10:48 PM
QUOTE(lolzcalvin @ Mar 8 2020, 09:00 PM) some corrections, Leadex II not using full Japanese caps tho...part of it is using Taiwanese caps. It's Chemi-con (JP) for main board and Teapo (TW) for modular backpanel. Ah, I almost forget that the Leadex II does not have full Japanese caps  This is normal, as the modular board has very little electrical load, and the caps on the board are polymer type rather than the electrolytic ones which can become bloated and fail  Even my Seasonic doesn't use full Japanese caps either (mine is a mixture of Japanese and Korean capacitors)  According to TPU: QUOTE At the front of the modular board are a number of Teapo polymer and electrolytic caps for an extra ripple-filtering layer. Some might not like the use of Teapo caps too much, but we have seen other high-end PSUs using Chemi-Con KRG caps in this section, which also have a quite low lifetime. A cap's origins only tell half the story; you should look at the model number and specifications to glean all the facts. https://www.techpowerup.com/review/super-fl...750f14eg/4.htmlThis post has been edited by chocobo7779: Mar 8 2020, 11:28 PM
TSchocobo7779
Mar 14 2020, 04:32 PM
QUOTE(iZuDeeN @ Mar 14 2020, 02:37 PM) I always suggest get the highest rated PSU u can afford PSU isn't going to need upgrade... I've invest in 850w seasonic platinum PSU about 5 yrs back.. even with many many upgrade.. I don't need to change PSU And with the platinum rating it's super efficient even when o/c My advise get Min 650watt gold rating... If u plan tp get new PSU.. Also, depending on the load a higher wattage PSU can sometimes mean less strain on the components, generating less heat and keeping its fan quiet
TSchocobo7779
Mar 25 2020, 10:46 PM
Another PSU review site, this time from Vietnam (requires Google Translate): http://www.f14lab.com/
TSchocobo7779
Apr 6 2020, 02:38 AM
QUOTE(pooh88 @ Apr 5 2020, 10:54 PM) Hi, This gaming freak PSU is it OK? Need your advice?  Still no better than the one you mentioned above  Anyway, never skimp on the PSU and spend a bit more on a decent one  Spend a bit more for this Gigabyte unit: https://www.lazada.com.my/products/gigabyte...yvUJg7&search=1Review (in Chinese): https://www.expreview.com/59243-3.htmlSummary: 1. Modern DC-DC topology 2. Tight voltage regulation on the +12V rail 3. Good voltage regulation on the +3.3V and the 5V rail, however this can be further improved 4. Very good ripple suppression 5. Full Japanese capacitors This post has been edited by chocobo7779: Apr 6 2020, 03:00 AM
TSchocobo7779
Apr 20 2020, 02:22 PM
QUOTE(konvicted @ Apr 20 2020, 12:33 PM) guys need help..my current psu kaput already..now im using my old CM GX650 (just waiting to die) as backup..budget below 300..is p650b good enough? here is my spec: i7 4790k maximus vii ranger vengeance 2x4gb 1600mhz hyper cooler evo with 2 fan amd radeon rx570x 2 front fan & 1 rear fan 23 ips lg monitor Yup that's a good one
TSchocobo7779
Apr 25 2020, 07:26 PM
QUOTE(planaterium @ Apr 25 2020, 06:53 PM) is this FSP Hexa+ II 600W psu is ok? FSP is a good brand right? How much are you willing to spend on a PSU though?
TSchocobo7779
Apr 26 2020, 03:07 AM
QUOTE(planaterium @ Apr 25 2020, 11:23 PM) that almost rm300 right? or just take the giga p650B? Get the Gigabyte P650B instead - it is one of the best performing PSUs of this price range
TSchocobo7779
May 6 2020, 09:48 PM
QUOTE(giftmax @ May 6 2020, 06:39 PM) hi for new cpu xori 7 Gen what model best sleection power supply '? 700 W or 1290 W No mention of your budget or the exact make and model of the PSU? Your PC's full specs?
TSchocobo7779
May 8 2020, 06:27 AM
QUOTE(shinichi31 @ May 7 2020, 09:37 PM) anyone? Im currently looking at CM MWE 550W 80+ White at around rm180 Spend a little bit more for a Gigabyte P650B instead  Comes with full Japanese caps as well too
TSchocobo7779
May 10 2020, 10:49 AM
QUOTE(robin98 @ May 10 2020, 09:36 AM) Does it means that higher watts in PSU means more noise and more heat? No, note that the PSU will only supply the needed power required by your components  In fact, running a higher wattage PSU sometimes may lead to less load on the PSU itself, which means leads to lower noise levels and better longevity (still very much depends on the quality on the unit itself)
TSchocobo7779
May 14 2020, 05:53 PM
Possible price/performance champion of 650W PSUs? https://shopee.com.my/-NZXT-C-Series-650W-7...7182.6331309937NZXT C series, Seasonic OEM https://www.tomshardware.com/news/nzxt-kick...-rgb-controllerQUOTE The C-Series power supplies are the company's new units that use Seasonic as their OEM, so you'll be able to have faith in the units despite that NZXT only started selling its first E-series power supplies less than two years ago when we reviewed the 850W unit from the E-Series. RM409 for 650W This post has been edited by chocobo7779: May 14 2020, 05:53 PM
TSchocobo7779
May 16 2020, 03:33 PM
QUOTE(lawliet88 @ May 15 2020, 07:36 PM)  how they get this rm409 price with 10 year warranty, seasonic oem cheapest seasonic with 10year now is the focus gx? even that need rm510 tempted  Even comes with zero RPM fan mode as well
TSchocobo7779
May 24 2020, 12:48 PM
QUOTE(kennylim79 @ May 24 2020, 11:53 AM) Hi, wanna ask, any psu can replace MasterWatt 750w 80Plus Bronze Semi Modular? Or any place i can get this PSU with ready stock? Budget and your current PC hardware?
TSchocobo7779
May 31 2020, 11:58 AM
QUOTE(davidliew123 @ May 31 2020, 11:40 AM) Yup, should be a very good unit
TSchocobo7779
Jun 2 2020, 07:55 AM
QUOTE(hazard_puppet @ Jun 2 2020, 06:38 AM) i7 8700k, gtx1080ti, 2 aio(120mm + 240mm rad) whats the minimum power supply i should get? any suggestions? i think my old cm v1000 is dying(everytime i turn on the power plug, need to wait few minutes before pc have power) Any high quality 650W should do the trick fine, so look for something in the line of the Leadex III Gold