22 Pages « < 8 9 10 11 12 > » Bottom

Architect or Architecture Students?, designing the world...

europology
post Dec 5 2006, 08:17 PM

Pantheon of Goddesses
4,261 posts

QUOTE(azarimy @ Dec 4 2006, 08:20 PM)
it depends. if u have an uncle or a friend of ur parents would be great. usually architects prefer not to take the "uninitiated" (term we give to those who never studied design) unless they can get something out of it. my father's friend used to gila2 show me everything about architecture (after my SPM), but i found out eventually he was trying to get a project out of my dad lol.

anyways, for the uninitiated, most u'll do is help to colour drawings (if they still do things manually). one that i did was colouring blueprints. i hated it. blueprints smell like piss! and somebody has to do it!

but here's the thing: u need to be able to READ drawings. not look at them. but READ. i know, it's hard to explain, but architects READ drawings. ur ability to pick this skill up (since u're not initiated) will tremendously boost urself in the eyes of the people in the office.
a relative of mine is an architect. maybe can seek my dad to ask him. tongue.gif read drawings? i really really really hope that u cud explain wat the hell is that to me... blink.gif

QUOTE(xtracooljustin @ Dec 5 2006, 02:56 AM)
yup u'll most likely be colouring drawings and plans. its a job someone must do for submission purposes so y not u? tongue.gif

ah the smell of armonia laced drawings always tend to make me feel suicidal...  icon_question.gif
really that bad smell ah?

QUOTE(xtracooljustin @ Dec 5 2006, 03:01 AM)
to be frank wif u, try getting some architectural related softwares and toy wif it instead of looking for jobs. try getting familiar wif it or even do a small design wif this softwares.

an early grasp of these softwares will put u ahead of ur colleagues during ur studies esp during first year, where ppl r still groping in da dark while u have a clear advantage.

Softwares worth trying out are AUTOCAD, ILLUSTRATOR, PHOTOSHOP and SKETCHUP. These softwares come wif good Help files and basic tutorial, so you should be able to sweat it out on ur own after us STPM.

Yeah i know this doesnt pay, but hey, if u do well in ur studies next time, guess who'll benefit in da end? you or ur wallet?
ok..thx for ur suggestions. i used to hv the Autocad installed in my pc...ok..that was 8 yrs ago...and it was in my old PC...tongue.gif
tatayoung
post Dec 6 2006, 12:17 AM

I'm the boss of me...
950 posts

QUOTE(xtracooljustin @ Dec 3 2006, 03:20 PM)
be prepared to be used like a slave.

Most firms expect first year students not to know anything at all about architecture so u'll probably b doing plan colouring and some other office boy works at most.

How long is your holiday? Dun bother if its less than 3 months.

Do a search at PAM website to look for details of architect firms. Email or write to them bout ur intention. Then wait for their reply.
Agreed 100%.....

shiinkuro31
post Dec 6 2006, 04:48 PM

Chef of Straw Hat Pirates
1,259 posts

QUOTE(xtracooljustin @ Dec 5 2006, 02:56 AM)
ah the smell of armonia laced drawings always tend to make me feel suicidal...  icon_question.gif
is it blue print dwg?? smell sak like always.. laugh.gif laugh.gif our new semester project is sport center, divided into two grups; swimming pool n squash court. i came late n got named in squash grup. WTF, i have no idea bout squash, never play n watch it either.. doh.gif doh.gif
dats my fault for coming late.. sweat.gif sweat.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif
victorboy
post Dec 6 2006, 10:40 PM

3 ngien yiu 3 ngien :(
1,756 posts

QUOTE(azarimy @ Dec 4 2006, 08:20 PM)
it depends. if u have an uncle or a friend of ur parents would be great. usually architects prefer not to take the "uninitiated" (term we give to those who never studied design) unless they can get something out of it. my father's friend used to gila2 show me everything about architecture (after my SPM), but i found out eventually he was trying to get a project out of my dad lol.

anyways, for the uninitiated, most u'll do is help to colour drawings (if they still do things manually). one that i did was colouring blueprints. i hated it. blueprints smell like piss! and somebody has to do it!

but here's the thing: u need to be able to READ drawings. not look at them. but READ. i know, it's hard to explain, but architects READ drawings. ur ability to pick this skill up (since u're not initiated) will tremendously boost urself in the eyes of the people in the office.
wah...
azarimy did been thru the very beginning stage to the higher post!! notworthy.gif notworthy.gif

not all architects been through this processes...
and most of the time is the draught person will complete those stuff...

i am already breathe alots,
while i was a draughtperson before, WTF.... rclxub.gif

QUOTE(europology @ Dec 5 2006, 08:17 PM)
a relative of mine is an architect. maybe can seek my dad to ask him. tongue.gif  read drawings? i really really really hope that u cud explain wat the hell is that to me...  blink.gif
really that bad smell ah?
ok..thx for ur suggestions. i used to hv the Autocad installed in my pc...ok..that was 8 yrs ago...and it was in my old PC...tongue.gif
notworthy.gif notworthy.gif

actually the term of reading drawing is basically the same as you read the books...
you have to know those symbols, the position of the structures, perhaps. also it is working or not and try to propose and fix it. to read the drawings, to find out the errors and fix it!! laugh.gif

correct me if i am wrong!! doh.gif sweat.gif

This post has been edited by victorboy: Dec 6 2006, 10:43 PM
xtracooljustin
post Dec 8 2006, 01:40 AM

Joining the 1K Club
1,602 posts

QUOTE(shiinkuro31 @ Dec 6 2006, 04:48 PM)
is it blue print dwg?? smell sak like always.. laugh.gif  laugh.gif  our new semester project is sport center, divided into two grups; swimming pool n squash court. i came late n got named in squash grup. WTF, i have no idea bout squash, never play n watch it either.. doh.gif  doh.gif
dats my fault for coming late.. sweat.gif  sweat.gif  laugh.gif  laugh.gif
which school are you from? to my knowledge all public universities are on holiday now.

Sports center... hmmm we nvr had any sort of design related discussions much here, so this is a good topic to start.

First and foremost, brief of ur project. What year are u in? Site? Total users? This in the end will translate to the proportion and scale of ur design.
azarimy
post Dec 8 2006, 11:55 PM

mister architect: the arrogant pr*ck
10,672 posts

QUOTE(victorboy @ Dec 6 2006, 10:40 PM)
wah...
azarimy did been thru the very beginning stage to the higher post!!  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif

not all architects been through this processes...
and most of the time is the draught person will complete those stuff...

i am already breathe alots,
while i was a draughtperson before, WTF....  rclxub.gif
notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif

actually the term of reading drawing is basically the same as you read the books...
you have to know those symbols, the position of the structures, perhaps. also it is working or not and try to propose and fix it. to read the drawings, to find out the errors and fix it!!  laugh.gif

correct me if i am wrong!!  doh.gif  sweat.gif
that's almost correct. "reading" a drawing is just like what it means: reading the meaning of symbols.

drawings have symbols, language, style as well as the message that it delivers. so anyone keen on doing architecture must venture into this new language. what does a small circle with a horizontal bar and the letter W 16 written in it mean? what is the difference between 0.3mm line and a 0.5mm line?

that kinda stuff. u'll learn the "language" on the fly when u start ur first year. good luck!
webartix
post Dec 10 2006, 03:47 AM

63 posts

QUOTE(europology @ Dec 2 2006, 03:10 PM)
NUS can be entered via STPM, provided u scored flats in all the subjects u hv taken. Some ex-STPM students from my scul are now studying in NUS.
Do they take A-Level international students?? well, not all the 8 subject i score A's ..

webartix
post Dec 10 2006, 03:49 AM

63 posts

QUOTE(azarimy @ Dec 2 2006, 09:14 PM)
i dunno about UM, but UTM have already started taking international students. the courses are conducted 100% in english, while exams, assignments, reports and theses are conducted in the language preferred by the students (malay by default).
UTM conducted in 100% english?? sure>??great for me
I ask UM they say is 50% malay and 50% english but their degreePAM/ RIBA 1 and PAM/RIBA2. How about UTM ??
webartix
post Dec 10 2006, 03:50 AM

63 posts

QUOTE(xtracooljustin @ Dec 1 2006, 08:33 PM)
excuse me, u cannot just simply walk in n enrol to study in NUS. they are not like Australian or NZ unis where they take in international students.

U have to b a Singaporean before you can apply for NUS. If ur a Malaysian who wants to study at NUS, your only way is through JPA scholarships or ASEAN scholarships.

By da way, FYI NUS architecture degree is not accredited wif part 1 and 2 exemption by PAM and LAM in Msia.

But u still can be an architect though. A design advisor, associate but not a legally practising architect. For that u need to take Part 1,2 and 3 exams.
so NUS is only for Singaporeans and Top international student with top a-level/stpm grades??

webartix
post Dec 10 2006, 03:54 AM

63 posts

QUOTE(xtracooljustin @ Dec 5 2006, 03:01 AM)
to be frank wif u, try getting some architectural related softwares and toy wif it instead of looking for jobs. try getting familiar wif it or even do a small design wif this softwares.

an early grasp of these softwares will put u ahead of ur colleagues during ur studies esp during first year, where ppl r still groping in da dark while u have a clear advantage.

Softwares worth trying out are AUTOCAD, ILLUSTRATOR, PHOTOSHOP and SKETCHUP. These softwares come wif good Help files and basic tutorial, so you should be able to sweat it out on ur own after us STPM.

Yeah i know this doesnt pay, but hey, if u do well in ur studies next time, guess who'll benefit in da end? you or ur wallet?
I also recommend Archicad 10. Dont be shocked once u open the software smile.gif
Tutorials on DVD is very expensive..anyone wana share with me ??

This post has been edited by webartix: Dec 10 2006, 03:54 AM
webartix
post Dec 10 2006, 03:57 AM

63 posts

Anyone know how much the fees per semester at UTM ??

allenultra
post Dec 10 2006, 03:21 PM

9,027 posts

Just want to ask fellow architect and architecture students, a friend of mine taking this programme in USM and she hunting for a laptop now.

Is it necessary for her to get like 7300go for study purpose?
Well from what she said, good graphics is needed.

I wonder, is it true?
I thought Intel GMA 950 will be enough provided big capacity of ram.

I don't have much knowledge of architecture as I only use autocad/catia/matlab......
coolblade
post Dec 10 2006, 04:10 PM

298 posts

QUOTE(allenultra @ Dec 10 2006, 03:21 PM)
Just want to ask fellow architect and architecture students, a friend of mine taking this programme in USM and she hunting for a laptop now.

I wonder, is it true?

I don't have much knowledge of architecture as I only use autocad/catia/matlab......
if u have a lot of money, buy a laptop that have a high computational power such as Intel Core 2 Duo Mobile, a lot of memory (1 GB RAM minimun, 2GB RAM recommended), and a workstation class graphic processor such as Nvidia Quadro Go. Google to find such specification. You can start with "3D Workstation Laptop"

but if budget restriction do matter, a nvidia geforce go based laptop would be suffice enough, as long as it was powered by a high performance processor and supplanted with a lot of RAM rclxms.gif

for example of 3D workstation laptop

http://www.bhphotovideo.com/bnh/controller...list&sku=455338

that would make big dent in ur wallet bcoz it's price was tagged at about RM 11462.60
allenultra
post Dec 10 2006, 04:23 PM

9,027 posts

assuming both cases
with core 2 duo 1.66ghz, 1gb ram

will Intel GMA 950 sufficient?
or better off with the 7300go and spend Rm700 more?
coolblade
post Dec 10 2006, 06:53 PM

298 posts

intel GMA? if do 2D it is okay, but I do not recommend intel GMA for 3D application. By the way, if u inclined into budget conscious, 7300go is not bad, as it has 3D computational power but not a match for a workstation graphic processor.
allenultra
post Dec 10 2006, 07:45 PM

9,027 posts

QUOTE(coolblade @ Dec 10 2006, 06:53 PM)
intel GMA? if do 2D it is okay, but I do not recommend intel GMA for 3D application. By the way, if u inclined into budget conscious, 7300go is not bad, as it has 3D computational power but not a match for a workstation graphic processor.
well...the Asus 7300go package already RM4199. not sure if she willing to spend more smile.gif
and I really have no idea what kind of hardware she needed to complete the course, anyone in USM/UTM/UM care to give some opinion?

azarimy, where are u laugh.gif

This post has been edited by allenultra: Dec 10 2006, 07:46 PM
azarimy
post Dec 11 2006, 08:24 PM

mister architect: the arrogant pr*ck
10,672 posts

QUOTE(webartix @ Dec 10 2006, 03:49 AM)
I ask UM they say is 50% malay and 50% english but their degreePAM/ RIBA 1 and PAM/RIBA2. How about UTM ??
UTM's degree is currently recognized as RIBA part 2 equivalent (since 1980s i think). students applying overseas (UK, US, commonwealth) for work or continuing studies usually do not have any problems once the degree is referred to RIBA. although having actual RIBA recognition is a great bonus especially when applying to other countries.

UTM is currently conducted in 100% english, as we already have international students. no point having it in BM+english environment. however, UTM also believes in delivering the message in the fastest and most efficient way available. so if BM+english delivers it, we use it!

QUOTE(webartix @ Dec 10 2006, 03:50 AM)
so NUS is only for Singaporeans and Top international student with top a-level/stpm grades??
i cant speak for NUS, but yes.

QUOTE(webartix @ Dec 10 2006, 03:57 AM)
for degrees nowadays is about RM1100 per semester. u might need to add accommodations to that, between RM300 - RM700 depending on ur type of accommodation. justin can elaborate this further. i'm not quite sure on the numbers.

QUOTE(allenultra @ Dec 10 2006, 03:21 PM)

I wonder, is it true?

i've PMed u. feel free to cut and paste it here.
allenultra
post Dec 11 2006, 08:28 PM

9,027 posts

i'm not very well versed with laptop graphics, but i really do recommend a desktop. there are several points to this:

i. desktop is considerably cheaper. a laptop with the same config with a desktop could cost rm900 - rm1500 higher!

ii. u need good graphics card (pref 256mb, ddr2 etc). it's cheaper for desktop. but for laptops, just grab the best gaming laptop out there and u're good to go.

iii. desktop harddrives are easier to recover than laptops. u can just jack ur harddrive to another pc and recover ur files. u cant do that with a laptop. there's a huge chance when u're harddrive goes, everything's gone.

iv. desktop has better heat management. bear in mind that ur machine will be working virtually 24 hours a day, for atleast a week (during submission days). we're talking non-stop, and that goes for the user too.

so basically, just get a gaming laptop. but if u can opt for a desktop, go for it.

I believe 7300go is somewhere near 7300gs? or ati 9550? no idea....
xtracooljustin
post Dec 12 2006, 02:48 AM

Joining the 1K Club
1,602 posts

Webartix, stop double posting! Your quinn-posting for tha matter. Wan to kena from da mods kah?

QUOTE(webartix @ Dec 10 2006, 03:47 AM)
Do they take A-Level international students?? well, not all the 8 subject i score A's ..
apparently they do accept Malaysian STPM. But its stiff competition for a small course.

QUOTE(webartix @ Dec 10 2006, 03:49 AM)
Almost all classes i attend to this sem is conducted 50% in Malay and 50% english. But i always do my assignment n answer my exam questions in English.

QUOTE(webartix @ Dec 10 2006, 03:50 AM)
More priority to singaporean. Unless ur gonna practise there, Singaporean degree are not accredited wif PAM Part 1 and Part 2 exam exemptions.

QUOTE(webartix @ Dec 10 2006, 03:54 AM)
I also recommend Archicad 10. Dont be shocked once u open the software smile.gif
Tutorials on DVD is  very expensive..anyone wana share with me ??
I've heard lots of good stuff bout ArchiCAD. Have yet to try it though. Y get tutorials DVD when u can get free lessons on da Help files provided. Some also have basic tutorial which are sufficient.

QUOTE(webartix @ Dec 10 2006, 03:57 AM)
First time fees is around Rm1700. Normal fees is around Rm1000 and hostel makes up a big chunk of the fees. Its around Rm500-600 for those collages that are near the campus but those at the outer ring of the campus go for about Rm400-500 as its far (bout 5-7mins on car). I stay off campus so i dun really care bout the hostels.

QUOTE(allenultra @ Dec 10 2006, 04:23 PM)
assuming both cases
with core 2 duo 1.66ghz, 1gb ram

will Intel GMA 950 sufficient?
or better off with the 7300go and spend Rm700 more?
im using a MSI 6600GT and i find it adequate for my work. Graphic cards play a less important role if your RAM and processor speeds are not that great. Having said that im doing well wif my 3 yr old system, P4 2.4GHZ, 1.5GB RAM and N6600GT graphic card.
webartix
post Dec 12 2006, 02:14 PM

63 posts

for degrees nowadays is about RM1100 per semester. !!

so cheap thats means approx RM 2200 per year.

UM is approx rm 2200 per semester.

If i go to local u as compared to Private univ. i can save rm 20K per year smile.gif

This post has been edited by webartix: Dec 12 2006, 02:15 PM

22 Pages « < 8 9 10 11 12 > » Top

0.0246sec    0.87    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 06:21 AM