let have chit chat about our field...
i'm still an architecture student...
Architect or Architecture Students?, designing the world...
Mar 9 2006, 03:12 PM, updated 18y ago
Show posts by this member only | Post
2,250 posts Joined: Sep 2005 From: hidden village of wonokromo |
Any architect or architecture students?
let have chit chat about our field... i'm still an architecture student... |
Mar 9 2006, 04:10 PM
691 posts Joined: Sep 2005 |
my dad's and architect and my 2 brothers too....does that count ?
Mar 9 2006, 04:12 PM
wah...so many architect in your house...ur house must be beautiful and well designed...where are they studied?
Mar 9 2006, 04:22 PM
691 posts Joined: Sep 2005 |
Dad studied in Uni of Melbourne....
Bro 1 in UCL London Bro 2 Part 1 in UCL London, Part 2 & 3 in Uni. of Melbourne |
Mar 10 2006, 05:23 PM
nice family...i have 2 friends in my studio whose their father are architect but no one have their brother as architect
Mar 10 2006, 09:34 PM
13 posts Joined: Feb 2006 From: Kuching / PJzzZ |
interior design~~
Mar 12 2006, 01:19 AM
995 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: FIZ.BY.P |
QUOTE(albirri @ Mar 9 2006, 03:12 PM) Any architect or architecture students? Hey, I got some questions. Is architecture course involves a lot of complicated calculations or just pure art design? Generally how is the study nature of architecture course?let have chit chat about our field... i'm still an architecture student... This post has been edited by TYK: Mar 12 2006, 01:58 AM |
Mar 12 2006, 06:46 AM
242 posts Joined: May 2005 From: Kuala Lumpur |
Mar 13 2006, 04:43 PM
Mar 13 2006, 04:45 PM
QUOTE(TYK @ Mar 12 2006, 01:19 AM) Hey, I got some questions. Is architecture course involves a lot of complicated calculations or just pure art design? Generally how is the study nature of architecture course? we design the building as the prior thingfor the calculation, we learn a little bit and in the real world, all the calculation are done by the structural engineer....anyway, we have some basic in calculation... |
Mar 15 2006, 03:29 PM
Mar 16 2006, 08:16 AM
10,672 posts Joined: Jul 2005 From: shah alam - skudai - shah alam |
QUOTE(TYK @ Mar 12 2006, 01:19 AM) Hey, I got some questions. Is architecture course involves a lot of complicated calculations or just pure art design? Generally how is the study nature of architecture course? well, to summarize in the simplest form, architecture is the marriage between science, arts and social behaviour. there isnt an exact answer to how much is one to the other, coz every individual studying architecture will give u different answer. that's the nature of architecture education.from my point of view, architecture is 4 parts science, 3 parts arts and 3 parts social behaviour. the science part includes: building and construction technology, services (piping, lift, circulation, toilets etc), structures (with some basic calculations), and advanced constructions. arts part includes: visual arts, composition, scale&proportions, aesthetics and stuff like that. it is very common that architecture students to be well trained in sketching and drawing, some even venture into fine arts or visual arts, to the extreme limits of arts. social behaviour includes: human behaviour, spatial relationships, spatial qualities, comfort etc. all these are governed by the architect's skills and specialization. the core of architecture: the design, virtually combines multiple skills like drawing, sketching, organizing, cross-referencing, drafting, verbal communications, tabulations etc; most often simultaneously. this made architects as excellent multi-tasker, and female are even better when juggling between being a wife, a mother and an architect. i'm an architect/lecturer in UTM, and actually the first in my family to ever venture outside the realm of teaching |
Mar 16 2006, 01:17 PM
QUOTE(azarimy @ Mar 16 2006, 08:16 AM) well, to summarize in the simplest form, architecture is the marriage between science, arts and social behaviour. there isnt an exact answer to how much is one to the other, coz every individual studying architecture will give u different answer. that's the nature of architecture education. thanx for joining in. i really appreciate it. Actually i have 2 i can say superb lecturer from utm. both of them are best.from my point of view, architecture is 4 parts science, 3 parts arts and 3 parts social behaviour. the science part includes: building and construction technology, services (piping, lift, circulation, toilets etc), structures (with some basic calculations), and advanced constructions. arts part includes: visual arts, composition, scale&proportions, aesthetics and stuff like that. it is very common that architecture students to be well trained in sketching and drawing, some even venture into fine arts or visual arts, to the extreme limits of arts. social behaviour includes: human behaviour, spatial relationships, spatial qualities, comfort etc. all these are governed by the architect's skills and specialization. the core of architecture: the design, virtually combines multiple skills like drawing, sketching, organizing, cross-referencing, drafting, verbal communications, tabulations etc; most often simultaneously. this made architects as excellent multi-tasker, and female are even better when juggling between being a wife, a mother and an architect. i'm an architect/lecturer in UTM, and actually the first in my family to ever venture outside the realm of teaching can't wait to join olympiarh this year at utm. |
Mar 16 2006, 08:26 PM
570 posts Joined: Mar 2005 From: The land that practices "democrazy" |
I'm an architecture student. Just finished all my LAN subjects and gonna start on what I enrolled for soon
What should I expect for my first year? Besides the lack of sleep of course:P |
Mar 16 2006, 08:34 PM
severe grilling under the presentation spotlight.
i have only one advice to all architecture students: "there is no single absolute answer" where r u guys studying? This post has been edited by azarimy: Mar 16 2006, 08:34 PM |
Mar 17 2006, 04:42 PM
i'm studying in IIUM. come and join kaedians.org
Mar 17 2006, 11:35 PM
13 posts Joined: Feb 2006 From: Kuching / PJzzZ |
Mar 18 2006, 12:35 AM
Mar 18 2006, 09:27 AM
i got a coupla mates in limkokwing and uia. zatur, the head department of architecture in LUCT, is a dear friend of mind. used to lepak2 together back in the good old days. wan mad, also a lecturer in architecture, is my classmate, and part of my study group.
some of my seniors went to uia and became lecturers. syala, yun, ruzaimi, ramzi... all are two years my senior |
Mar 19 2006, 03:07 PM
QUOTE(azarimy @ Mar 18 2006, 09:27 AM) i got a coupla mates in limkokwing and uia. zatur, the head department of architecture in LUCT, is a dear friend of mind. used to lepak2 together back in the good old days. wan mad, also a lecturer in architecture, is my classmate, and part of my study group. syala and yun are in arch dept while ruzaimi and ramzi in landscape. ramzi in uk right now completing his phD and probably syala and yun will pursue their study too...some of my seniors went to uia and became lecturers. syala, yun, ruzaimi, ramzi... all are two years my senior anyway they are among the most wanted and popular lecturer in dept and kuliyyah... |
| Change to: | 0.0217sec
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 08:28 AM |