Architect or Architecture Students?, designing the world...
webartix
Nov 24 2006, 03:40 AM

QUOTE(bern86 @ Nov 5 2006, 09:14 PM) aloha, hi, am a malaysian student who is studying in sydney, is my 3rd year here, studying my first year in bachelor of architecture. erm, nothing much to share but, i am actually looking for a job! LOL, yeah, i am going back to malaysia for 3 months and planning to work under some architect firm to get more experience and understand more about this field and industry in malaysia. But unfortunately, i am really bad with all the programs, thanks to my laziness, so yeah, so if anyone can pity me to let me in their firm, that would me much appreciated. (p/s. i don't ask for any pay at all, just wanna learn stuff and understand more about this industry) promise won't be a procrastinator when i am working,  Bernard Lim why come back? stay in sydney bro! the salary as cad drafter is 10x higher there than malaysia.! rm120k per month.. izzit so hard to get a job as a fresh grad.? haha..better off if you are a PR or citizen without a work permit. This post has been edited by webartix: Nov 24 2006, 03:41 AM
webartix
Dec 1 2006, 06:41 AM

QUOTE(shiinkuro31 @ Nov 25 2006, 02:20 AM) sorry is rm120k or so per year  my typo error
webartix
Dec 1 2006, 06:44 AM

QUOTE(Canopies @ Nov 24 2006, 01:48 PM) hey guys...which college and U u guys from? my friend wanna go for architecture...what college or U suit him? i recommend Singapore NUS with tution grant UTM and UM is out for me. Conducted half english and malay as i do not not understand malay. LKW is out too cause of bad management and low quality with high fees.. Melbourne university and british unver. is out cause of financial problems..too expensive not yet got my PR and not an EU student Left for me is NUS This post has been edited by webartix: Dec 1 2006, 06:45 AM
webartix
Dec 10 2006, 03:47 AM

QUOTE(europology @ Dec 2 2006, 03:10 PM) NUS can be entered via STPM, provided u scored flats in all the subjects u hv taken. Some ex-STPM students from my scul are now studying in NUS. Do they take A-Level international students?? well, not all the 8 subject i score A's ..
webartix
Dec 10 2006, 03:49 AM

QUOTE(azarimy @ Dec 2 2006, 09:14 PM) i dunno about UM, but UTM have already started taking international students. the courses are conducted 100% in english, while exams, assignments, reports and theses are conducted in the language preferred by the students (malay by default). UTM conducted in 100% english?? sure>??great for me I ask UM they say is 50% malay and 50% english but their degreePAM/ RIBA 1 and PAM/RIBA2. How about UTM ??
webartix
Dec 10 2006, 03:50 AM

QUOTE(xtracooljustin @ Dec 1 2006, 08:33 PM) excuse me, u cannot just simply walk in n enrol to study in NUS. they are not like Australian or NZ unis where they take in international students. U have to b a Singaporean before you can apply for NUS. If ur a Malaysian who wants to study at NUS, your only way is through JPA scholarships or ASEAN scholarships. By da way, FYI NUS architecture degree is not accredited wif part 1 and 2 exemption by PAM and LAM in Msia. But u still can be an architect though. A design advisor, associate but not a legally practising architect. For that u need to take Part 1,2 and 3 exams. so NUS is only for Singaporeans and Top international student with top a-level/stpm grades??
webartix
Dec 10 2006, 03:54 AM

QUOTE(xtracooljustin @ Dec 5 2006, 03:01 AM) to be frank wif u, try getting some architectural related softwares and toy wif it instead of looking for jobs. try getting familiar wif it or even do a small design wif this softwares. an early grasp of these softwares will put u ahead of ur colleagues during ur studies esp during first year, where ppl r still groping in da dark while u have a clear advantage. Softwares worth trying out are AUTOCAD, ILLUSTRATOR, PHOTOSHOP and SKETCHUP. These softwares come wif good Help files and basic tutorial, so you should be able to sweat it out on ur own after us STPM. Yeah i know this doesnt pay, but hey, if u do well in ur studies next time, guess who'll benefit in da end? you or ur wallet? I also recommend Archicad 10. Dont be shocked once u open the software  Tutorials on DVD is very expensive..anyone wana share with me ?? This post has been edited by webartix: Dec 10 2006, 03:54 AM
webartix
Dec 10 2006, 03:57 AM

Anyone know how much the fees per semester at UTM ??
webartix
Dec 12 2006, 02:14 PM

for degrees nowadays is about RM1100 per semester. !! so cheap thats means approx RM 2200 per year. UM is approx rm 2200 per semester. If i go to local u as compared to Private univ. i can save rm 20K per year This post has been edited by webartix: Dec 12 2006, 02:15 PM
webartix
Dec 14 2006, 05:32 PM

yupp.. guess i found my path.. UCS (Sibu) rm 14000 3yrs Dip (credit transfer 3rd yr)-->Univ. Melbourne rm19900 1yr Degree (by 4th yr got my PR) --> Univ. Mel. (BArch) rm39800 2yrs = total 73700 approx. (RIBA II /RAIA/PAM II) Finally.. save $to buy books/flight tickets to go holiday  ..& is a 6 yrs course. whos with me? Is Sibu a boring place to stay..small town .??! Merry Xmas to ALL This post has been edited by webartix: Dec 14 2006, 05:51 PM
webartix
Dec 14 2006, 06:10 PM

QUOTE(azarimy @ Dec 14 2006, 05:39 PM) last i checked LAM still hasnt recognized twinning programmes. although BArch in univ melbourne is certified with PAM part 2, that actually refers to students doing fulltime in melbourne. spend some time to call LAM and PAM to confirm about this. for LAM & PAM, it's not just the end product that is important, the journey itself is just as important as well. however, if LAM and PAM gives the green light, i'd say good luck and all the best! is not a twining program. is a credit transfer & and if do good can enter melbourne unv. above 60% credit average. Cant do much with Dip. dont want to be a slave in office. Have study till the Top as Professional. This post has been edited by webartix: Dec 14 2006, 06:12 PM
webartix
Dec 21 2006, 02:39 PM

QUOTE(xtracooljustin @ Dec 16 2006, 11:37 AM) is this UCS refering to University College Sedaya? If it is their main campus in Cheras also offers architecture. Try checking out their website at UCSIu guys might wanna check out Twintech University of Technology. The architecture degree used to be awarded by UTM as the course is conducted according to UTM curriculum and syllabus, but im not sure the franchise has been renewed or terminated. UCS stands for Kolej Bersatu Sarawak http://www.ucs.edu.my/Sibumain.html500 students or so .. new campus..can be boring in small town as i get used to city life. Just came back from Kuching and Sibu Spend rm1000 for flight ticket lor Small town quite... not much entertainment or pubs,... Very cheap in fees approx 14K per 3 year duration + Credits for Advanced Standing to Melbourne Univ. http://www.abp.unimelb.edu.au/courses/ct/This post has been edited by webartix: Dec 21 2006, 02:46 PM
webartix
Dec 21 2006, 02:42 PM

QUOTE(europology @ Dec 16 2006, 01:54 PM) UCS leads to U of Melbourne? really? yes. United College Sarawak credit transfer to U. Melb. if you pass over 60%. just do your BEST you can . Self Study more. DO not depend on the Lecturer, library outdated books... http://www.abp.unimelb.edu.au/courses/ct/
webartix
Dec 21 2006, 03:36 PM

QUOTE(xtracooljustin @ Dec 21 2006, 03:11 PM) that list on the Uni Melb is not very comprehensive. Advanced standings are on a case by case basis. Other polytechnics or even Diplomas from UTM, UITM are also given advanced standings. A Diploma from UTM are sometimes given 2.5 years off as well depending on your portfolio. University of Auckland gave me 3 years off for their degree program. yes i know case by case..depending on your performance and final work grade.. UTM -KL cost rm1300/sem for dip. (rm 7800 /3yr) so more cheaper.. This post has been edited by webartix: Dec 21 2006, 03:36 PM
webartix
Dec 22 2006, 08:28 PM

QUOTE(xtracooljustin @ Dec 21 2006, 03:11 PM) that list on the Uni Melb is not very comprehensive. Advanced standings are on a case by case basis. Other polytechnics or even Diplomas from UTM, UITM are also given advanced standings. A Diploma from UTM are sometimes given 2.5 years off as well depending on your portfolio. University of Auckland gave me 3 years off for their degree program. the Chances is higher if that college have credit transfer & partnership with Melb. Uni. as compared to local univ. (utm/um) I have enrolled into UCS this Jan07. See how it goes..try my best  Seems very quite there..hope there is some college life there.. This post has been edited by webartix: Dec 22 2006, 08:29 PM