Fund Investment Corner v3, Funds101

SUSyklooi
post May 27 2015, 06:50 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(Junrave @ May 27 2015, 06:41 PM)
I still do not understand how compounding interest works on unit trust.... anyone can share?
while waiting for more value added responses, try this...hope it helps
http://mycpf.cpf.gov.sg/NR/rdonlyres/1E64E...IVincentDIS.pdf
http://www.fundsupermart.com.my/main/resea...?articleNo=4803
https://secure.fundsupermart.com/main/mypag...dCompounder.tpl?
http://www.publicmutual.com.my/LinkClick.a...Mng%3d&tabid=86

This post has been edited by yklooi: May 27 2015, 06:52 PM
SUSyklooi
post May 28 2015, 09:09 AM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(Junrave @ May 28 2015, 08:39 AM)
The attached link only shows the concept of compounding interest, but it did not exhibit how investing unit trust can be benefited from it. Since the value of unit trust fund is primarily affected by fluctuation of price and unit held for the fund. Lets put it this way, if i bought at rm1.00 per share for RM1000, and the price increase to rm1.20 at next year (earning become RM1200), and drop to rm0.90 at the third year, then the value of fund at the third year will be (price x unit held = RM900. (Correct me if I am wrong). Therefore, I am experiencing loss in this scenario.

But if I got consistent annual return of 10% for example, then it increase NAV yearly and compound interest shall apply in this case, however, since the performance data which figure % pa shown is annualized (fund price could experience 1 year high and 1 year low), then the application of compounding will be ambiguous.

Need sifus to clarify this for me. thanks
rclxms.gif IF, (fund price could experience 1 year high and 1 year low), then the application of compounding will be ambiguous....
same logic...if the fund continued to be in RED for 3 years...then there is not benefits.

it shows the concept, but this concept cannot be compared to the investment that had fixed results (ex. FD (assuming rate no change)).
in this case of FD....the compounding interest affect can be seen as the interest earned can be added into the calculation of next year interest rate.
but for investment like UTs that has no guarantee of returns.....what ever you earned can be wiped out too.....

but if one were to keep investing ...in the longer terms......the effect could be seen....

This post has been edited by yklooi: May 28 2015, 09:12 AM
SUSyklooi
post Jun 22 2015, 11:06 AM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(ryumaira @ Jun 22 2015, 10:57 AM)
hi..im from cwa cimb..most of cimb unit trust got price discount now..
n dividend will declare by july(for syariah)
hmm.gif wow...if buy now...later in July got "UNTUNG" from the dividend?
SUSyklooi
post Apr 1 2016, 01:13 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(Kobis Bunga @ Apr 1 2016, 01:00 PM)
What is pros and cons between FSM and eUT phillips mutual..

Currently from my POV, seem FSM more woth taking/opt.
Any insight from sifu/otai highly appreciated.

IMHO, i prefer do DIY+some reading rather than go to agent...
hmm.gif i am using FSM platform.....never tried E-UT before
thus unable to tell pros and cons

SUSyklooi
post Nov 1 2017, 11:28 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(Karen1995 @ Nov 1 2017, 11:09 PM)
anyone knows whether PRS can put RM1000 only? after get the incentive just leave it there ?
yes........
just prepare to have a nomination made and the nominee knows about it.. biggrin.gif
SUSyklooi
post Nov 3 2017, 01:27 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(PrincessMe2515 @ Nov 3 2017, 12:54 PM)
If it wasn't capital guaranteed I wouldn't even consider it
And t5-7% worth it?
i guess that is no guarantee clause in that products.....
if 5~7% without the guaranteed...better try ASNB Fixed price funds....
PM Ramjade for advise in that....he is very helpful.
SUSyklooi
post Apr 19 2018, 01:45 PM

8,188 posts

rolleyes.gif

SUSyklooi
post Jul 20 2018, 12:28 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(SgtScoop @ Jul 20 2018, 09:28 AM)
I'm okay with dips along the way. It's part of the business. As long as the line keeps moving upwards in the long term, I'll be happy.

Since I'm new to this, I'm wondering if, in general, now is a good or bad time to buy small caps or if I should just ignore all that and get on with investing.
on this......
this is what he has to says......

"The most important advice I would give to anyone who hasn't started (be it man or woman) and is being held back is to starting investing now, but use a small amount. Something you are comfortable with even if you suffer losses.
It can be as little as one thousand dollars because that is usually all you need to start investing into a unit trust.
Then, as you invest, you will see how markets and such affect your returns and you will be able to learn from your experiences without suffering too much heartache compared to if you placed your entire life savings into the market and lose half of it in a market crash.
The key thing is you have to accumulate investing experience.
No amount of prior reading up and accumulating of knowledge can compare with actual investing experience which can only be built up by using your own money to invest.
You have to experience the emotional pull that comes from market ups and downs and learn how to handle your emotions during those times.
And learning from mistakes made is the greatest teacher. "

https://secure.fundsupermart.com/main/resea...SJBlog_20141031

SUSyklooi
post Sep 16 2018, 06:06 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(james66 @ Sep 15 2018, 06:11 PM)
With few millions, how u all sugest to invest the money
hmm.gif I think the right course of action for many of us is NOT to advise/tell/suggest to you how to invest ....

I think we should instead ask you for advise/tell us how to have few millions like you did.....
SUSyklooi
post Dec 16 2018, 07:38 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(juanlamb @ Dec 16 2018, 07:31 PM)
sifus , im 25 ,non bumi ,  really noob in the investment world .

how do i invest , ideal percentage of income into different investments

thank you sifus
while waiting for responses.....
you may want to check out this site for some info.....

"Investments
Get started on your investment journey. Learn about different investment products and how to invest according to your goals, risk profile and circumstances."

https://www.moneysense.gov.sg/investments
SUSyklooi
post Dec 20 2018, 12:26 PM

8,188 posts

The key word here is "Safe & Secured"....

FD has PIDM and known returns.
The Manager of ASM is ASNB, a wholly-owned subsidiary company of Permodalan Nasional Berhad (PNB).
SUSyklooi
post May 17 2019, 11:54 AM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(belialjo @ May 17 2019, 11:50 AM)
Anyone heard of CP Global before? SG based private equity hedge fund, would like to seek opinion if it’s worth going in and legit.
mind sharing what is the minimum joining amount?
notworthy.gif

SUSyklooi
post Jun 2 2019, 09:16 AM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(MakcikLum @ Jun 2 2019, 03:45 AM)
How about bond ? Anyone from the floor can recommend some safe & stable bond to buy? biggrin.gif
they have some recommendation and articles on Bond Idea for Stable Income Seeker here...
https://www.fundsupermart.com.my/fsm/bonds/home

This post has been edited by yklooi: Jun 2 2019, 09:23 AM
SUSyklooi
post Jun 17 2019, 09:16 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(turtleundersea @ Jun 17 2019, 04:23 PM)
guys, what is bid-to-bid annualised/cumulative return? and how are they calculated?

i tried googling for a while and yet not much info on how these numbers being produced.
I made the assumption....
that you are referring to unit trust fund
that you know about the definition of annualised and cumulative.....

as this example is for a year "Period",
thus need to convert to cumulative and annualised

SUSyklooi
post Jun 18 2019, 11:52 AM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(turtleundersea @ Jun 18 2019, 11:49 AM)
appreciate alot on the image of the calculation thumbup.gif  notworthy.gif

actually i try to figure how the numbers of the chart below being generated.

normally the footnote will put "Performance figures are absolute returns based on the price of the fund as at June 14, 2019 (Last updated on June 18, 2019),on NAV-to-NAV basis,with dividends being 'reinvested' on the dividend date."
this is why i ask about bid to bid returns.
oh, that, is I think is the movement of the fund performance (dividend distribution adjusted),
using the 100 marks as a base point for start date & NAV

This post has been edited by yklooi: Jun 18 2019, 11:57 AM
SUSyklooi
post Dec 7 2020, 10:27 AM

8,188 posts

what ever you thinking or wanted to do or suggesting to do....
remember your wants of this 10k...
you wanted double returns in a year
you wanted to see <30% loss of this 10k

that is a good start to really focus on items that can gives you your wants
SUSyklooi
post Dec 10 2020, 05:42 AM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(mikidookie @ Dec 9 2020, 11:20 PM)
Need your opinion which one investment better CWA or public matual? anyone has experience with these 2 investment fund?
Which one offers you more unit trust funds selections which does not have to limits the selection to just a particular fund house only?
Which one offers you less sales charges on each of your buy/top ups?
Which one has less overall holding cost on your ut portfolio in the long run?

SUSyklooi
post Mar 20 2021, 07:33 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(Pepperboy @ Mar 20 2021, 07:07 PM)
Hi all Sifus, would like to ask your opinion on the Affin Hwang Absolute Return Fund II, which requires a minimum 100k investment. It was introduced to me by one of their managers...

I'm a newb in this and a bit apprehensive due to the minimum requirement...
Ask the manager to provide you with the detailed performance chart... Especially during some of those "bad" period like during Mar 2018, Mar 2020 n now Mar 2021...see how the that fund prevented more losses than also during the good times how much "performance fees" they charged...

Then see if you liked the the returns generated on a 12 month rolling duration to justify if you think it is OK to pay them that much.

And make sure you don't need to touch that 100k for some years

SUSyklooi
post Mar 20 2021, 08:57 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(Pepperboy @ Mar 20 2021, 08:49 PM)
Thanks for all the replies smile.gif

What do u mean by the above quoted sentence? I don't think it's a locked fund...
Basically, Means if the markets happened to plummet and your fund will suffer losses,.... At the same time you don't need to touch that money, you will have a higher chances of getting profit in the end as you can afford to sit over the mkt crash

This post has been edited by yklooi: Mar 20 2021, 08:58 PM
SUSyklooi
post Aug 6 2021, 12:06 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(familyfirst @ Aug 6 2021, 10:49 AM)
Hi all sifus.  I have some bond funds maturing by end of this month.  Thinking of reinvesting but into equity funds instead and into Affin Hwang's Smart Invest Portfolio (65% Global / 35% Asia).  I have other funds invested in MY already and since the market wil be opening up globally some time this or next year, Im thinking of going into this fund end of this month.

What would be your advise on (1) when to enter  (2)  horizon to hold    (3) any other advise?

Thank you.
Just a note though,
If you had been happily in bonds for past,.... Any diversion into equities may have emotional shock when losses occurred.
Thus Affin Hwang smart invest portfolio will consist solely of Affin Hwang funds inside only.
You are comfortable with that? (all eggs into a basket)?
So have some mental n emotional preparation.

5 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 >Top

0.0670sec    0.39    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 03:51 AM