Yen strengthens back to 101 level.
URL: http://biz.thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?f...55&sec=business
Fund Investment Corner v3, Funds101
May 27 2013, 08:41 AM
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]()
52,874 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(Kaka23 @ May 26 2013, 07:29 PM) Nikkei 225 opens 3% lower:NIKKEI 14,211.60 -400.82 -2.74% Yen strengthens back to 101 level. URL: http://biz.thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?f...55&sec=business |
May 27 2013, 09:09 AM
May 27 2013, 09:11 AM
QUOTE(Pink Spider @ May 27 2013, 09:09 AM) Two markets are dragging the Asian equity.Yen strengthening ---> affects Japan equity AUD weakening ---> affects Australian equity China may not be adding stimulus for short term gain in growth. ---> affects Shenzen, Shanghai and Hang Seng. This post has been edited by David83: May 27 2013, 09:11 AM |
Jun 12 2013, 02:43 PM
QUOTE(mikey5925 @ Jun 12 2013, 02:07 PM) Four years ago, I invested in OSK-UOB Capital Protected ONE Advantage Fund through UOB. The fund matured on 7/6/2013 and when I called up to inquire about the redemption, I was told I will only get back my capital. This means the return is zero within this four years. Did they explain why since the fund has matured?If I had kept my money in FD for 4 years, the compounded interest will be around 14.5%. I am very dissapointed with how the fund was managed and it is hard to believe there is zero return and stock price has gone up, properties has gone up and how can the unit trust not making any profit? Has anyone encounter such predicatement ? The OSK-UOB Capital Protected ONE Advantage Fund has maturity date (4 years duration) and I suppose the one that you invested doesn't have a maturity date. For that matter, I would recommend Public Mutual. I had invested in Public Mutual Public Equity fund in 2005 and it gave a return of 80% when I redeem it at the beginning of this year. There could be something not right with the UOB fund managers. Other funds are giving reasonable returns and not UOB. sigh ! |
Jun 12 2013, 04:15 PM
QUOTE(mikey5925 @ Jun 12 2013, 02:51 PM) No explanation given. Anyway, whatever explantion they give, I don't think we can challenge them. They would probably ask us to fall back to the prospectus and agreement. Based on the price on 7 June 2013:Just that I am wondering how come they can't earn some returns within this 4 years after the 2008 stock market meltdown ??? And just to warn other of the risk of no returns if investing in this kind of funds. Probably UOB trained their sales people to be very convincing and hoodwinking people to invest in their funds. OSK-UOB Capital Protected One Advantage Fund | 1.0270 Let's say you bought it during IPO with NAV of 1.0000 The simple ROI is 2.7%. Deducting off the SC of 5% You actually lost 2.3% The NAV on 10 June 2013 is set to 0.0000 Meaning the fund should have matured and no longer in operation. I'm not sure how they're going to "close" properly. Whether they achieved the fund objective or not? |
Jun 12 2013, 06:58 PM
@gark, great analysis and explanation!
That's why I never trust saving plan and complicated structured investment vehicle that needs commitment of X numbers of years. |
Jun 17 2013, 06:28 PM
QUOTE(pinksapphire @ Jun 17 2013, 05:40 PM) Hello sifus, CIMB Principal Equity Income Fund is a high risk fund as it has a mandate to invest 50% locally and 50% in Asia ex Japan.I have a question to ask. I just found out that my grandparents bought some funds from CIMB. Now it's already 8 years, lol...overall, it's making money (inflation not counted) cuz I see the ROI stated is more than 50% for each of them. Do you think I should ask them to continue to hold or should sell already? These two funds are CIMB Principal Equity Income Fund and TA Income Fund. I asked the RM and she said for the latter, she's seeing a slow down. And the first one is risky type. Her advise is to sell, or rather, okay to sell if we want. I'm not familiar at all, so any feedbacks are appreciated. Thanks! Details: http://www.cimb-principal.com.my/fund_pdf/...und_MYR_FFS.pdf Average annualized return from your simple ROI could be in the range of 6 to 7%. The fund is doing pretty well except in 2011. The 2nd fund is kind of mixed. Up to today, it hasn't reach its IPO NAV which I believe to be 0.5000 Details: http://www.fundsupermart.com.my/main/admin...heetMYTAICF.pdf The fund is invested 50% in local equity and 50% in local fixed income instruments. It's a balanced fund. If I were you, I rather sell the TA fund. |
Jun 19 2013, 09:07 AM
QUOTE(mikey5925 @ Jun 18 2013, 11:01 PM) Anyone out there had invested in OSK-UOB Capital Protected One Advantage Fund which had just matured on 7/6/13 after 4 years. You can file a complain to Securities Commission (SC).On the final week of 7/6/2013, the price drop from 1.1082 to 1.0270. This is the biggest weekly price drop. I am very suspicious that the price might have been manipulated, causing losses to the investors who had bought the fund at 1.05 inclusive of service tax. Do I have a case to complain to the relevant authority ? And hope to get them to investigate the matter with the bank ? Please advise, anyone ??? URL: http://www.sc.com.my/index.asp?language=m This post has been edited by David83: Jun 19 2013, 09:08 AM |
Jun 26 2013, 08:55 PM
Jun 27 2013, 08:55 AM
QUOTE(kymip @ Jun 27 2013, 08:42 AM) just incase they short selling? afraid the share prices will fall to whoever plan to long hold the shares? KLCI main buyer is EPF, Tabung Haji, local fund managers and etc. however, the percentage indicated wasn't that much. but i dunno if it wil affect the pattern or not.. Foreign stake is not that high. |
Jun 27 2013, 02:23 PM
Eastspring Investments launches new bond fund
KUALA LUMPUR: Prudential Corporation Asia's Eastspring Investments Bhd has launched a new bond fund, the Eastspring Investments Target Income Fund 2. URL: http://biz.thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?f...57&sec=business |
Jul 7 2013, 10:15 PM
QUOTE(eastern @ Jul 7 2013, 11:42 AM) Hi all, Saving plan is only for those who can't save money. It's a forced saving. Saving plan usually has a maturity period to adhere to. Check out the details first before committing for it.A newbie here... I've heard about a regular savings fund. I was wondering how it works. I heard you'll need RM1k to open an account and then you can save RM100 each month. I'm just curious how can we transfer the money to the account? Hope to be enlighten. Thanks. |
Jul 7 2013, 11:09 PM
Jul 21 2013, 12:34 AM
That means that the capital is not even guaranteed or protected.
Jul 21 2013, 12:50 AM
Bond has its own risks:
1. Interest rate risk 2. Default risk 3. Rating risk (upgrade/downgrade) 4. Forex risk (if invest overseas) This post has been edited by David83: Jul 21 2013, 12:51 AM |
Jul 21 2013, 01:03 AM
QUOTE(pinksapphire @ Jul 21 2013, 01:00 AM) Hmm, in this case...prolly I shouldn't go for it, huh Generally, for a bond fund, they'll reserve a small portion of cash reserve for liquidity purpose - up to 5% of the fund reserveThe reason why I was considering this is, I haven't tried buying bonds before. So, I thought of starting somewhere, but don't know which ones are the good types or maybe none are, lol It's meant for redemption purpose. |
Jul 26 2013, 04:45 PM
Jul 31 2013, 06:44 PM
Jul 31 2013, 08:00 PM
Aug 6 2013, 08:53 PM
AmInvest declares income distribution
In a statement today, AmInvest declared income distributions of 1.5 sen each for AmBond and AmBon Islam, five sen for AmConstant Flexi, 2.5 sen for AmAsean Equity, 0.5 sen for AmDividend Income, one sen for AmTotal Return, 0.3 sen for AmDynamic Allocator and two sen for AmAustralia. Read more: AmInvest declares income distribution http://www.btimes.com.my/Current_News/BTIM...l#ixzz2bC207Kli |
| Change to: | 0.0692sec
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 11:21 PM |