-+♠+-LYN Proton Persona Owners Club V.XLIII?-+♠+-, v44 = FFK Thread... Coming Soon
TDUEnthusiast
Dec 18 2012, 03:42 PM
Critical thinking
QUOTE(jasonloh7906 @ Dec 18 2012, 03:35 PM) how much you bought?? din know about the issue. but now mostly saw hyundai new car using it. yes, is stock size. but then, kumho tyre is not easy to find also lah. pirelli that expensive in KL? in JB michelin is much more expensive than pirelli. Even though my tyreman is dealing michelin, he himself think that michelin is overpriced. but the grip is real good. the better thing about pirelli will be wet grip as my tyreman mentioned. pirelli also have different model lah. the same priced pirelli with PS3 IMO shouldnt be that bad. michelin had a price hike edi.  RM75 with postage. For tyres go and buy Continental CC-1  . You can do burnouts everyday. This post has been edited by TDUEnthusiast: Dec 18 2012, 03:43 PM
TDUEnthusiast
Dec 18 2012, 03:53 PM
Critical thinking
QUOTE(X-LaW @ Dec 18 2012, 03:51 PM) Looks interesting. My car does sound slightly like a diesel. Not sure where can I send the car to check to see if the IAFM is actually still working or not  .
TDUEnthusiast
Dec 18 2012, 04:00 PM
Critical thinking
QUOTE(Fubar20 @ Dec 18 2012, 03:57 PM) Dungun area only have. FC got increase or not? Noise very audible even inside the car? Last time TT got one fella show his "noise" but no increase in FC and it probably is the purge valve. Not sure. I got the car used. Reset the fuel meter and ever since I have been getting 9.5L/100KM and above readings ever since. Can hear the standard engine noise from the inside of the car, but I can hear that the idling isn't very smooth.
TDUEnthusiast
Dec 18 2012, 04:12 PM
Critical thinking
QUOTE(Fubar20 @ Dec 18 2012, 04:06 PM) With air con on? Can't comment on the "noise" since never hear it in person. Nope. Air-cond off. The sound Mmmmm rise and goes down.
TDUEnthusiast
Dec 18 2012, 04:16 PM
Critical thinking
QUOTE(X-LaW @ Dec 18 2012, 04:13 PM) My one also car also noise getting louder compare to new one.. I change everything on schedule, ATF, engine oil, just change timing.. Plan to do sound proof on the floor with STP bomb(quote rm1000 from bukit jalil shop), but scare after taking of all the chair and carpet, make it worse, the thing start to get loose.. really a lot of thing to worry on proton.. There's this guy called IceCube who does car soundproofing and uses STP materials as well. Why don't you message him?
TDUEnthusiast
Dec 18 2012, 04:21 PM
Critical thinking
QUOTE(Fubar20 @ Dec 18 2012, 04:17 PM) Come TT then we can know.  Mine engine one also noisy but not as noisy as the NCT5 tyres. Soundproof maybe can ask from this Tech26 fella since he also STP seller.   Tonight I'm meeting kenny for something. Maybe can compare his Persona with mine if he's free  . QUOTE(Fubar20 @ Dec 18 2012, 04:19 PM) Later vccy and ngeo88 go  Why? No good ke the seller?  . QUOTE(X-LaW @ Dec 18 2012, 04:19 PM) Dun knw if i am skill enuff to DIY, i only try before DIY the door. Better not DIY unless you are experienced.
TDUEnthusiast
Dec 18 2012, 05:06 PM
Critical thinking
QUOTE(jasonloh7906 @ Dec 18 2012, 05:01 PM) Rm75? Cheap wor. I found one cost rm110 include postage. The ones I got are made in China. The ones you saw are probably made in Belgium. They're mostly the same, except for the fact that the one that's made in Belgium has the word "longest life" on its packaging while the other doesn't  .
TDUEnthusiast
Dec 18 2012, 06:28 PM
Critical thinking
QUOTE(ngeo88 @ Dec 18 2012, 06:26 PM) COSE is not for SAPU karipap and kuih one ...... nothing to said about the seller lar, but just the seller doing buisness like very secreat, we done our thing at a old basement car park not at his shop he said because his shop full car for other job  , and by looking at the photo of his shop just like a empty temporary shoplot that nothing to display unlike others accesories shop  ........ Maybe he wanted to  . How's the workmanship and the improvement?
TDUEnthusiast
Dec 18 2012, 07:24 PM
Critical thinking
 I honestly don't think IceCube's VS can be trusted judging from the number of capacitors he has put into there unless their charge capacity is very large.
TDUEnthusiast
Dec 18 2012, 11:08 PM
Critical thinking
QUOTE(kennywee92 @ Dec 18 2012, 11:00 PM) Thanks for not going to eat bah kut teh instead  . Sound card is gooding  . Oh, and I tried the PE's door's closing sound, and I can't hear any milo tin noise  . Why those PE users still complain door sound close no gooding?  . This post has been edited by TDUEnthusiast: Dec 18 2012, 11:10 PM
TDUEnthusiast
Dec 18 2012, 11:26 PM
Critical thinking
QUOTE(Fubar20 @ Dec 18 2012, 11:21 PM) Sensitive ears.  The door's also way heavier than the old Persona for the rear doors.  . I didn't take the trim out to see if there's any soundproofing, but judging by the weight there seems to be some  .
TDUEnthusiast
Dec 18 2012, 11:34 PM
Critical thinking
QUOTE(ckdenion @ Dec 18 2012, 11:31 PM) nope.no soundproofing at all...d door itself is heavy.aftr soundproof,u will knw tat it is much heavier...  . Well, if the old persona's rear door was soundproofed, it'll probably be as heavy as what the PE's rear door would be without soundproofing  . PE's rear door closing sound is like the old Persona's rear door closing sound with extra rubber seals  .
TDUEnthusiast
Dec 18 2012, 11:44 PM
Critical thinking
QUOTE(ckdenion @ Dec 18 2012, 11:42 PM) TT tengok ghost engine...  esso punya hal? long time no pump esso...n once i pump esso...this case happen  boycott esso!! add rubberseals punya closing sound totally different from soundproofed door... i will say d rubberseals are more to windproof...tapi lately got new rubberseals product  but d price is more than double of what we had bulk previously  Am tired of rubber seals already. Final solution will be door soundproofing or change car  . But the Persona is just so fun to drive  .
TDUEnthusiast
Dec 19 2012, 12:51 PM
Critical thinking
Do you guys think that RM2400 for a full outside respray of the car + 3 years of warranty against workmanship defect + paint fading and etc is worth it? Now I'm forced to choose between a RM1700 and RM2400 option. I personally don't find the place that's offering the RM1700 body respray that professional, but another person is looking at it from the financial aspect and not paint quality workmanship quality etc aspect  .
TDUEnthusiast
Dec 19 2012, 02:48 PM
Critical thinking
QUOTE(ngeo88 @ Dec 19 2012, 02:39 PM) where u gonna respray your car ? I always has a question about outside auto paint shop for the paint they use .......knowing that nowdays all car manufacturer using powder coated technology include proton and perodua, is the others paint shop also using powder coat ? if they use conventional liquid paint can it match or cover well on the original powder coated paint surface ? and is those outside paint shop spry the final clear coatas finishing ? how to chack if they did it or not, how thick the clear coar they spry (I don't think Ah Beng paint shop got micron meter to check also), and how to argue with them ?? i have seen one Ah beng paint shop use rotary machine with pad to apply some past on the finished new paint surface, is those paste immitate the final clear coat suppose to spray on the paint surface??....... It's a shop at Sungai Buloh. Looks pretty nice there ( full of cars and workers ). They say they use 2K paint  .
TDUEnthusiast
Dec 19 2012, 03:18 PM
Critical thinking
QUOTE(Cavino @ Dec 19 2012, 03:11 PM) Besides the 2K paint, one of the expensive components is actually the "gold oil", or is it call sealent or laquer or something...yes the clear coat it is. What most ppl don't realise is using a cheaper clear coat can makes a difference of several hundred $$$ in cost, so some say 2K paint, then use cheap coat to lower the cost. Since clear coat is never mentioned, thats where the pricing cheap or expensive comes in even when all say 2K paint. They said it would be one layer primer, 3 layer base then 3 layer lacquer  .
TDUEnthusiast
Dec 19 2012, 03:24 PM
Critical thinking
QUOTE(Fubar20 @ Dec 19 2012, 03:23 PM) Not a paint expert but looks legit to me. That's the only shop that tell me how many layers. Another 3 tell me one set, 1L prime, 3L base and 1L lacquer.  So far out of the 4 shops I saw the second one ( RM2400 ) is the one I like the most.
TDUEnthusiast
Dec 19 2012, 03:33 PM
Critical thinking
QUOTE(Cavino @ Dec 19 2012, 03:25 PM) Yeah....I'm talking to him now via PM. Just wanting to have independent view on his VS and GC from buddies here. Added on December 19, 2012, 3:31 pmAh...3 layer lacquer...you see the difference in pricing between other 3. Additional layer of good lacquers cost a lot. Besides using the best paint, workmanship is ACTUALLY THE MOST IMPORTANT....I rather pay more for good workmanship than live to regret a solid paint but with kedut here and there, paint job not even, etc. That is assuming they actually do what they say they do.....not the usual demo version....then..  Yeah. The problem is now my sponsor is looking at it from the financial point of view, not from the quality, workmanship etc point of view  . Just because the car is considered cheap there's no harm in giving it a good coat of paint right?
TDUEnthusiast
Dec 19 2012, 03:46 PM
Critical thinking
QUOTE(Cavino @ Dec 19 2012, 03:40 PM) My cheap car is using 2K Vkool tint and a 18 months once RM400+ sealent job. Since you're paying near to 2K for the job, you want a lousy paint....you will live to regret it. My ex-wira save money go for 1.6K job instead of 2+K better paint job.....ends up kedut here and there after only 1 year, paint not even. My wife who drove the car says, if painting until like that may as well don't paint....save 1.6K. So adding a few hundred to ensure your car looks as good as new and lasting....is worth it in long run. However if money really really tight, say what also no use....not enuf money mah....if kedekut don't want to spend....thats where the hurts comes in later... I did think of calling the paint job off. I also think that if you don't want to give a proper painting job you might as well not give any  . The reason why I'm so wary of the RM1700 job is because the same shop resprayed my dad's Perdana before  . Not even close to a year the paint started cracking. They didn't even bother taking the fenders off to paint them separately. Just cover here there then paint  . End up paint from body to bumper also sticking together.
TDUEnthusiast
Dec 19 2012, 03:53 PM
Critical thinking
QUOTE(Fubar20 @ Dec 19 2012, 03:50 PM)  Since got experience regarding that shop, so why still need to consider? Find better shop lo.  Like I said, the sponsor is considering only from the financial perspective  .  I can't believe that my dad even says the workmanship and paint quality is about the same for every painting shop. Washed that car for as long as it remained in the household, long enough for me to point out almost every defects. I'll probably try convincing the sponsor for another shop later  Added on December 19, 2012, 3:55 pmQUOTE(Cavino @ Dec 19 2012, 03:53 PM) Macam ini also you want to go back to them kah....That is the poor workmanship issue I'm talking abt. Better not paint than sakit hati. Really regret doing that on my ex-wira. Just few hundred difference, in a year or 2, poor workmanship will sort of throw 1.7K into longkang. Just like ppl using cheapo tyres racing to save some bucks then end up losing grip and totaled the car.....ends up paying more...besides losing time and tension. I will definitely skip them and change workshop. Only idiot will goes back to same place. Truth be told, I don't really have much choice if the sponsor decides to choose instead since I'm not paying ( for now  ). This post has been edited by TDUEnthusiast: Dec 19 2012, 03:55 PM