Cycling V4, General talks on Racing/road bikes

butthead
post Dec 11 2012, 09:57 PM

593 posts

QUOTE(miaopurr @ Dec 11 2012, 08:38 PM)
500 ok lagi. i got a buyer wanted to cut 1k from my asking price. crazy
1k.. straightaway no entertain lar... some people just don't know their limit..

QUOTE(mrjgx @ Dec 11 2012, 09:18 PM)
Just curious, is there any shop in KL selling Cinelli bikes?
rodalink...

QUOTE(stacker99 @ Dec 11 2012, 09:19 PM)
Thanks for recommending the site..
Decided to stick with Ksyrium Elite...
Offer still looks better on lelong as it comes with Michelin Pro 3 light and accepts return if not satisfy. If found to be fake, I believe can return.
i looked it up.. don't think you can nego further.. but grab it quick if you want... it's on an auction and there is only 3 days+ left...

i also don't think you can return if not satisfy, only for major defects on arrival.. that is just what lelong automatically puts for a bit of buyer protection but takes shit long to resolve if there is ever a dispute... as long as your money is in his hands... you can dispute all you want and there is a possibility of not getting your $$$ back, he will only ruin his reputation as a seller..

Added on December 11, 2012, 10:00 pm
QUOTE(miaopurr @ Dec 11 2012, 09:19 PM)
godzilla i think
not going to him to get mah bikes...

This post has been edited by butthead: Dec 11 2012, 10:00 PM
butthead
post Dec 12 2012, 12:01 AM

593 posts

QUOTE(stacker99 @ Dec 11 2012, 11:10 PM)
Okie...wish me luck then...
Btw, how often do u guys change your chain?
I just got the chain measurement gauge & found my chain has elongated more than 1% after 6 mth of use. Is this normal?

Planning to change it to KMC titanium chain. Is it any good?
Anyone used it before?
what chain gauge is that? usually chain gauge like pro gold tells by how far it drops in between the links... if it goes all the way in, time to change... if it is still halfway, it is just a warning to tell you it's coming... that simple...

anything with lightweight chains is a reduction in durabilty in exchange for performance... you can pick 1 of either two... you weigh your options...
butthead
post Dec 12 2012, 09:06 AM

593 posts

the secret pro meaning he is a doper???
butthead
post Dec 12 2012, 09:27 AM

593 posts

QUOTE(stacker99 @ Dec 12 2012, 09:14 AM)
Yes...it's the same type of drop in gauge. It says on the gauge if the gauge drop in fully, it's more than 1% elongated.

I think I will go for durability..there's not much weight difference on the super light version. Looking at it, they should be same material only that they cut some material out from center of each link to make it lighter. Thus reducing rigidity and durability compare to the standard chain.
last time on 8 speed chains...it used to be 12mm in between links... once it gets pass that, it is no good...now, not sure....

does the manual say what it meant by more than 1%? or does it recommend you to change immediately? if it says so, then you should change it as soon as you can whether it is 6 months or 6 years of usage...

QUOTE(apisthetic @ Dec 12 2012, 09:15 AM)
soda doping is good or bad?
rotten teeth is not bad???

butthead
post Dec 12 2012, 09:49 AM

593 posts

it says baking, cleaning & deodorizing.. not performance enhancing...

don't think it is good for health in any ways...

Added on December 12, 2012, 9:51 amit could be performance enhancing in washing his jersey or bibs... but not in improving his lactate threshold...

This post has been edited by butthead: Dec 12 2012, 09:51 AM
butthead
post Dec 12 2012, 11:12 AM

593 posts

QUOTE(vin_ann @ Dec 12 2012, 10:54 AM)
err....

thailand got many kind of cycling type 1?  hmm.gif  hmm.gif
slow la u... he meant something naughty la
butthead
post Dec 12 2012, 02:44 PM

593 posts

QUOTE(miaopurr @ Dec 12 2012, 09:51 AM)
who knows... snort it like coke? belum cuba belum tahu....
is it fine enough.. i scared the soda kena moisture later cake up in your nostrils... deadly man.. you know lar, like those washing powder li tat.. a bit air already can cake up one...

QUOTE(apisthetic @ Dec 12 2012, 10:19 AM)
hahaha don't snort like coke! masin.
kacau2 dalam air then drink
you tried licking soda before... how you know masin?

kacau in water a lot of bubble lar i think... like expired eno li tat... see already oso no appetite..

QUOTE(vin_ann @ Dec 12 2012, 10:32 AM)
Sawat-dee-ka.....

back from land of smiles......
it's sau-mai-di-kat (kasi simpan kredit kad, we accept cash only)

got eat the nasi pulut with mango or not... i heard their one is damn special there... not like here in malaysia eat adi want to vomit... that one more you eat, more you want... like cocaine addiction..

QUOTE(miaopurr @ Dec 12 2012, 10:37 AM)
depends what kind of cycling u wanna do
spin class, pro cycling manager 2012?

bicycle kick?

QUOTE(miaopurr @ Dec 12 2012, 11:40 AM)
he's using 19mm tyre. very bad rolling resistance
maybe he on TT bike ler.. 19mm is acceptable one... but that figures also lar... TT bike not nimble enough which explains why his thinking cannot pusing so fast...

QUOTE(smang @ Dec 12 2012, 01:54 PM)
hi guys. I've been looking into taking this into hobby. yes falling into the dark side. Just wondering if there are any place for a newbie like me to go for advise and to get myself a bike? or is there any groups i can join as a newbie?
newbie, no problem
groups, no problem
advise, no problem,
dark side, anytime
$$$, you got problem or not?

newbie + dark side + join group so early on + getting advise from advanced poison injectors = die young icon_question.gif

QUOTE(miaopurr @ Dec 12 2012, 01:56 PM)
u can ask butthead for some excellent pointers
how you know i got pointer fetish??? you spying on me... WTF!!!

anyways, here are some pointers for your consideration...

QUOTE(vin_ann @ Dec 12 2012, 02:05 PM)
Who?
What?
Where?
When?
Why?
How?
who? 黄飞鸿
what? 無影腳
where? 佛山
when? 一批布将长
why? for f@cks
how? 黄麒英做的好事,side effect

butthead
post Dec 12 2012, 03:15 PM

593 posts

QUOTE(smang @ Dec 12 2012, 02:35 PM)
ahh.. apologies. where did my manners gone.
I'm based in Klang, basically been doing some outdoor sports, trekking, running, swimming etc.
Then i thought hey..why not try triathlon. and then i realised..heck i've not cycled since school days when i owned a road bike more than 10 years ago.

I'm interested both at mountain/road bikes and considering i've not own either and not tried them, i thought why not i just get a starter bike n go n try with it. only to realised..blardy hobby is as expensive as owning a car!
bikes goes up to 5 digits investments! starter bikes starts at 2k!!! (for a moderate good starter bike)

so i want to sought help from you seniors to help me kick start my journey to burn my wallet.
it has nothing to do with manners... he is jus yanking yer chains.. wat do ya think we are... FBIs or the CIAs... we are not interrogating criminals...

in simple, you get what you pay for lar...no doubt the entry fee into the club has increase over the years thanks to the rich fools that buy expensive wheels and bikes (you can blame the shit out of them for putting us in this shit hole, i bet their money also dun come in legal ways)... the guideline is always to have a wee bit of money more than what you are willing to spend and don't scrooge on the bike.. you get too el-cheapo one, you end up not satisfied and a possibility of not being able to sell it off to fund the next bike...

i'd say, a safe margin would be RM4k limit for 1st bike if you want to get something that can last a wee bit longer and is not too overly expensive and not overly cheap...

getting an RM2k bike, you have to understand if you are the "gatal" type??? after getting a 2k bike, you have a high possibility with some of us bastards here poisoning your ass into spending senseless amount of money into upgrading the bike... after you are done with that, you feel something is out of sync when you have a improperly matched frame and components... then you go one step further into carbon territory and start your filing for bankruptcy move...

it's always hard with the first bike because you don't know what you want yet... it's either you end up like us poor bastards trying to scratch our head and balls at the same time trying to figure out this thing that is as complicated as life or which color your GF likes for that new prada wallet you are trying to buy her... or... you fork up RM15k and let the bike shop salesman talk you into buying crazy stuff and become a statistic for us to blame for jacking the costs of cycling up...

you choose, poor ******* or the bugger who sneezes whenever someone asks of buying a new bike??

QUOTE(vin_ann @ Dec 12 2012, 02:49 PM)
hope there's chick that i can draft with for 180km and 80km....
forever alone is small matter..got pretty chick or not first... i don't want to follow an ugly ass that i cannot overtake or drop lor.. after the ugly ass let rip an epic fart.. cialat!!! ambulans mari with oxygen tank...

Added on December 12, 2012, 3:22 pm
QUOTE(apisthetic @ Dec 12 2012, 03:02 PM)
baking soda memang salty. that bubbly thing is baking powder, for baking cake and other delicious dessert  brows.gif
baking soda is very cheap, i think rm1.50 only for 500gram. Also known as sodium bicarbonate.

i googled soda doping. it says it is good to neutralize lactic acid when working out. just wondering if anyone has tried it?
i am no anna olson.. but i watch TLC @ 707 on Astro, OK...

how can soda be salty and not make a cake salty? and doesn't salt make yeast die because they only like sweet stuff.. make cake no rise right???

anyways, anna olson didn't describe in excruciating detail on whether soda is salty on TV... neither did she sniff it like a seasoned drug junkie...

does it occur to you we are arguing like housewives here.. let's drop the subject on the saltiness of this shit..

soda, lactic acid??? i don't want to end up like this...not saying it will, but high chances...

so, that makes it the cheapest drug isn't it?

QUOTE(miaopurr @ Dec 12 2012, 03:04 PM)
see butthead, didn't i tell u?
tell me what, my girlfriend is pregnant....

GOD!!! NO!!!... i still haven't get my first high end bike... NOOOOO!!!!!!!!!!!! and i wore double protection!!!!NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!

WAIT A GODDAMN MINIT!!! i just remembered i don't have a girlfriend...

what did you tell me again?

or wait, i think you did in fact did not tell me...

Added on December 12, 2012, 3:24 pmkesimpulan, you didn't tell me...

This post has been edited by butthead: Dec 12 2012, 03:26 PM
butthead
post Dec 12 2012, 04:05 PM

593 posts

QUOTE(vin_ann @ Dec 12 2012, 03:33 PM)
bump with pretty chick ma....

off course i have my own judgement, what's make u think i will follow after ugly ass !
bump with pretty chick?

u, ugly ass... how i know, i only know you damn sicko like getting jabbed in the ass...so, you know...the thought is very logical...

QUOTE(miaopurr @ Dec 12 2012, 03:37 PM)
i told u he was referring to baking soda
i told u i got alzheimers rite?

QUOTE(smang @ Dec 12 2012, 03:42 PM)
I suppose its inevitable to spend a few thousand bucks on the first bike. i guess i'll need to go shop around and find my new gf. Any pointers of where and who or what should i be getting? is there any second hand store i can look at?

say i've got my first bike, any groups i can join as newbie? any routes around klang if u guys know of that i can try on?
2nd hand is best to avoid... if possible unless too tempting...shop wise i leave it to top salesman miao to rekomen...
butthead
post Dec 12 2012, 09:01 PM

593 posts

QUOTE(miaopurr @ Dec 12 2012, 04:29 PM)
provided i have an experienced friend to tag along and check the bikes out
u volunteering?

QUOTE(Mac Wai @ Dec 12 2012, 07:17 PM)
Your China also veli impressive.. What its says on "when" ? My china so veli poor also
there is this thing called google translate

QUOTE(apisthetic @ Dec 12 2012, 07:36 PM)
if it works laa. if not, perut going to burst. KABOOMMM!
yeah, and it's gonna epic and gain views on utube faster than gangnam style

QUOTE(mrjgx @ Dec 12 2012, 07:38 PM)
The wheel doesn't need truing at all..landmine proof, but why the heck after servicing the rear hub now damn loud? What they did to my hub?
maybe they cleaned out the grease? and repacked it with less grease or thinner grease? grease dampens sound slightly

QUOTE(Mac Wai @ Dec 12 2012, 07:54 PM)
Did I commit the cardinal sins of cycling? While preparing for a fast descent, I try to be lek lek.. flip both the front and rear derailurs simultaneously for higher gears, next thing I know, my chain stuck between the stem and small crank...erh! manage to put it back on albeit a little messy.
What should I know for noobs like me?
shift patiently, your shifters are not the gun triggersof house of the dead, you don't need to rapidfire them...

QUOTE(mrjgx @ Dec 12 2012, 08:29 PM)
Perhaps not to change it simultaneously? Well it happened to me but it's like once in a blue moon..
time fur dura ace

Added on December 12, 2012, 9:05 pm
QUOTE(Wz10 @ Dec 12 2012, 05:25 PM)
Hey guys, first time posting here. I'm looking to get a fixie. Anywhere I could look? Don't mind secondhand either, as long as it works good. Price range say <500? Thanks!
try this
www.trailridermad.com/

less than 500 maybe harder

This post has been edited by butthead: Dec 12 2012, 09:05 PM
butthead
post Dec 13 2012, 12:32 AM

593 posts

QUOTE(Wz10 @ Dec 12 2012, 11:28 PM)
Thanks for the quick reply, bro. I saw this website usjcycles.com and the fixies are cheap there? Does anyone have a link for me to learn more bout fixies?
i think google is your best friend on that one... the bash and mash thing baffles me ...

Added on December 13, 2012, 12:34 am
QUOTE(arashyie @ Dec 13 2012, 12:25 AM)
Any ways to train the muscle? Right now i cycle every morning. Around 5.30. I avoid going certain places cuz of bastards driving really fast. I wanna go to the town area but i need to go a 10% uphill which is probably almost 1km long. probably 700m or so. everytime i cycle there not even halfway bike so slow dy. how to train mahh muscle.
ride harder and longer... sounds naughty but true...

training is about pushing yourself harder, without pushing your limits, you don't improve...

Added on December 13, 2012, 12:36 am
QUOTE(Mac Wai @ Dec 12 2012, 09:42 PM)
You mean the dura ace works like a Gatling gun?
vmad.gif Still failed to load image.
more like uzzi's

Added on December 13, 2012, 12:38 am
QUOTE(miaopurr @ Dec 12 2012, 10:10 PM)
maybe they cleaned the pawls, removed old grease n gunk. and they put in new smoother grease. that's why u can hear louder pawl engaging. mine was the same too
which is a good thing... now old ladies will know that you are coming from behind and move out of the way...

This post has been edited by butthead: Dec 13 2012, 12:38 AM
butthead
post Dec 13 2012, 09:11 AM

593 posts

QUOTE(miaopurr @ Dec 13 2012, 08:49 AM)
from various reviews on other forums, ultremo zx is more fragile than gp4000s. but let's hear ur reviews after some time
comes with sticker
butthead
post Dec 13 2012, 10:04 AM

593 posts

QUOTE(apisthetic @ Dec 13 2012, 09:53 AM)
craig always has something nice to say notworthy.gif
"hate the game don't hate the player"

hate cycling dont hate lance armstrong?

hate the game as in the competition...

it is due to the competition that pushes athletes to push themselves harder and do whatever necessary to win...

some of this guys have contracts worth millions annually, although not as high as football players... but the field is much much more competitive as you are competing with almost 200 equally motivated rivals in any competition just for 1 single spot...

they want the cutting edge of performance whether it is a new bike or new skin suit or the latest in doping products that can escape detection...

so, he is right in blaming the game and not the player...
butthead
post Dec 13 2012, 10:18 AM

593 posts

QUOTE(vin_ann @ Dec 13 2012, 10:15 AM)
woo hoo....

my P2K new team jersey is ready for collection!

Can wear it for training 22-23 Dec and Malakoff Interstate fellowship ride!

it's going to be kamikaze joining 2 days Malakoff Interstate rides, as Dec month, i only will be cycling on 22 & 23.
team enrollment pay extra RM100...else must wear organizer apparels...

pemotongan stim...
butthead
post Dec 13 2012, 11:01 AM

593 posts

QUOTE(vin_ann @ Dec 13 2012, 10:23 AM)
only 2nd day must wear organizer apparels ma....

1st day can wear any jersey.... right ?
i dunno la.. i just blow water only... big events sometimes organizer damn kiasu one.. don't let you wear team or other sponsor apparels... so, they enforce you to wear their apparels or they charge you higher entry fees if you insist on going as a team (whether going as team or just wearing team apparels la)...

QUOTE(apisthetic @ Dec 13 2012, 10:32 AM)
well said  rclxms.gif

kesian lance. if mostly pro cyclists dope, he still the only one that win.
its like cheating in exam laa. some people cheat but still don't get highscore.
the one that get the highest score understand the subject + cheat a bit because he forgot few topics tongue.gif
its not like doper always win.
doper still need serious training+best bike+etc. then he can win.

and if everybody dopes, le tour de france was a fair game. if laa  hmm.gif
i believe all cyclist train equally as hard, maybe within 10-15% difference between different riders... the doping allow them to train outside the limits of their physical limits thus improving their competition performance when they do not have the ability to ingest drugs, it doesn't make them superman in 2 days of taking PEDs...

like the recent leipheimer allegations... people say that although in recent years he did not dope.. but his previous doping practices have allowed him to achieve a level of base performance that he could not have achieved if he was to train normally without PEDs... that would have given him an edge if he can maintain his physical fitness post-doping with or without PEDs...

yes, doper does not always win... but you have to understand if they actually really lost or they choose to intentionally lose so they do not get flagged under suspicion like the armstrong allegations of him not entering any other races other than TDF and if there is any suspicion that he will be drug tested at any other events, he either drops out or loses the race as race winners get tested with or without being asked...

that being said, the dopers mentality is that all other riders dope... so, it is only fair that he joins the game and make the playing field level... and that is all based on the riders assumptions...no more than that..

armstrong, in some peoples eyes is still the winner because among the era where doping was rampant.. he was still a winner among the dopers because he did everything he could whether it was inside or outside of the sport to guarantee his victories...he took performance enhancing in one way or the other to the limits where no other riders went before...

Added on December 13, 2012, 11:03 amKatusha plans to sue UCI over promoting Argos Shimano to Worldtour license and dropping them.
Katusha plans court battle with UCI over WorldTour license snub

about time, with rodriguez? why the shovel out the window?

Added on December 13, 2012, 11:07 amSchleck sisters is the dissapointment of the year, haha

Most dramatic day of racing

This post has been edited by butthead: Dec 13 2012, 11:07 AM
butthead
post Dec 13 2012, 11:21 AM

593 posts

QUOTE(smang @ Dec 13 2012, 11:08 AM)
from a scale of 1 to 10. 1 being baby and 10 being mature.

what do you think of the malaysian cycling scene's maturity?
are there a lot of people aware of this sport? Or is there still a long way to go? comparing to running as a sport, how far apart are they?
depending on what you are comparing it with... and which discipline of the sport...

if you say track cycling especially sprints, i believe our national athletes are among the top 10-20 in the world...

if you say road cycling, maybe within asia they are quite good... going to worlds, they are not at that level i believe because the sports council does not pour as much money into developing cyclist as compared to say, badminton...

in terms of sport, as i say... the national sports council has to fork out the money first.. else, i don't see any parents want to see their son into a sport where there is no bright future and huge risks of career ending injuries...

in terms of awareness, i guess we have one of the more reputable races among asian countries in LTDL... which is actually rated quite high before the tour of qatar and all the china tours came in... and we have quite a lot of coverage of the sport from eurosport on astro...

but, public interest is the interesting thing where i think is lacking... not counting cyclists, i think there is not a lot of outsiders who pay attention to cycling as opposed to sport like badminton or football...and i don't blame them... it is a blardy awfully boring sport where you see a bunch of sweaty dudes doing nothing but pushing pedals for 5 hours and only 1 fool gets to win...

This post has been edited by butthead: Dec 13 2012, 11:25 AM
butthead
post Dec 13 2012, 11:36 AM

593 posts

QUOTE(mrjgx @ Dec 13 2012, 11:30 AM)
Btw vin Ann, what's the normal avg speed for the p2k peloton?
un-bearable...

Added on December 13, 2012, 11:40 am
QUOTE(Confession @ Dec 13 2012, 11:27 AM)

simply amazing...
think the same happened last year with another rider.. broke away, fell down and picked his bike up immediately to win the stage with a closing peloton...

Added on December 13, 2012, 11:48 am12speed and wireless... also bluetooth capable..

now you can sabo your friends on a climb.. hahahaha

Added on December 13, 2012, 11:51 amhttp://www.bikeradar.com/news/article/tiso-launches-wireless-12-speed-electronic-road-group-35956/

don't know why...

This post has been edited by butthead: Dec 13 2012, 11:51 AM
butthead
post Dec 13 2012, 12:43 PM

593 posts

QUOTE(miaopurr @ Dec 13 2012, 12:24 PM)
i think some of the articles written address your argument pretty well. and they trashed the kind of reasoning you've made pretty well too.
wats with the trashing...

QUOTE(vin_ann @ Dec 13 2012, 12:24 PM)
yup. un-bearable...

imagine from Titi back to Hulu langat bt 18, going up hills still can achieve 20km/hr....

and last 5km before reaching Batu 14, still can speed up more than 40km/hr...

Avg speed are around 35km/hr plus plus...

now everyone trains for KL-PG coming this month end.
they like SM.. all i can say...

QUOTE(miaopurr @ Dec 13 2012, 12:27 PM)
boss, don't tell me u r an armstrong fanboy?
i do have his autobiographies... you tell me?

i also bought eddy merckx autobiography... you tell me again..

more controversially, i bought michael schumacher's autobiography as well...

i like my tainted champions...

Added on December 13, 2012, 12:32 pm
can runny nose dripping on handlebar be a good gauge of p2k avg speed?
not good enough, if they ride so fast that your mucus don't even have the chance to fall to the handlebar and splatter back onto your face... that then considered too friggin fast...

Added on December 13, 2012, 12:45 pm

Added on December 13, 2012, 12:39 pm
but why???
evidence of under table activities... that is why...

QUOTE(apisthetic @ Dec 13 2012, 12:39 PM)
people are jealous of him icon_idea.gif
hahaha idk
people are jealous of a lot of people... that's human nature for you..

This post has been edited by butthead: Dec 13 2012, 12:45 PM
butthead
post Dec 13 2012, 12:46 PM

593 posts

QUOTE(miaopurr @ Dec 13 2012, 12:45 PM)
i mistakenly read the second paragraph "But after a lackluster spring campaign that failed to garner a single result worth mentioning, and then, a time trial crash at the Critérium du Dauphiné that saw him abandon with a fractured scrotum, his form was nowhere to be seen."
let's hope he does what he needs to do next year... with or without his bro to bro fist him...

no bruyneel, it should be smooth sailing..

it was his pelvis lar.. not his wang chung...

if his wang chung got damaged... got bless he does not turn into a gurl...

This post has been edited by butthead: Dec 13 2012, 12:48 PM
butthead
post Dec 13 2012, 01:47 PM

593 posts

QUOTE(miaopurr @ Dec 13 2012, 12:53 PM)
so... they are not sisters disgused as bros?
are they.. i thought it was jus a rumor... they would make a pair of fugly sisters though...like trannies on a bike... can't bear to imagine that image...

QUOTE(apisthetic @ Dec 13 2012, 12:53 PM)
i missed this important fact  sweat.gif  no wonder the ban-for-life thingy happened.
the banned for life should have happened to a lot of the whistle blowers / golden fingers / backstabbers / f@cking trolls as armstrong calls 'em...

QUOTE(miaopurr @ Dec 13 2012, 12:55 PM)
what i meant was, some really good counter-arguments were written. too lazy to find them tho
trashing is rather the inappropriate word i think...

Added on December 13, 2012, 12:57 pm
boss!!! noooo.....
deal with the facts...

Added on December 13, 2012, 1:29 pmanybody seen fizik antares 00 in any LBS yet?
too much fiber.. "lau sai" nanti...

45 Pages « < 11 12 13 14 15 > » Top

0.0521sec    0.38    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 07:15 AM