15 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Bottom

Government agencies: MOE, MQA, PTPTN, JPA

super 435124
post Dec 4 2009, 05:59 PM

hi,

i'm applying for U.of teesside is segi college in subang campus...

i'm taking bachelor( hons) accounting n finance....

i jus wan to know that is it accredited degree...accredited by lan

is it recognise by private sector and banking sector...

viqq
post Dec 29 2009, 12:43 AM

From the Eastside
1,836 posts

Guys I'm curious to know. At the time I was studying, LAN was the body to determine whether a college is good or not. I think they r called in MQA nowadays?

Ok, so I've been offered to study in a college, they told me that the course are world recognized. But from what I know a course must be accredited to be recognized by the world? What are the consequences and how bad it is if it's not MQA accredited?

Can anybody tell me what are the requirements for a good university? I'm pursuing a MBA course BTW. Does it mean that MQA accredited=got government chop/stamp/seal of approval?
~Curious~
post Jan 9 2010, 06:48 PM

1,744 posts

viqq,i donno abt MQA,but if not LAN approved then can't apply PTPTN loan.
super,don't you think it'll be better if you checked with segi.Just look through their website if not,communicate with the course representative lar.
pleasuresaurus
post Jan 13 2010, 03:54 PM

spin spin sugar
2,586 posts

If u wanna work in government or in a field that has a professional body overseeing it (architect/lawyer/accounts/medicine etc.), accreditation doesn't really mean much. The only private companies that bother are probably GLCs, MNCs - big fish. With a good CV, even they won't be too picky.
Seremban_2
post Mar 20 2010, 11:29 PM

1,491 posts

How to check whether my La Trobe University Degree is Approve by MQA or LAN? I consider that this degree from Nilai International University College at Nilai would be LAN approval.

To double check, may anybody tell me how to check whether my degree Approve by LAN.
Hikari0307
post Mar 20 2010, 11:36 PM

平成の光
4,541 posts

QUOTE(Seremban_2 @ Mar 20 2010, 11:29 PM)
How to check whether my La Trobe University Degree is Approve by MQA or LAN? I consider that this degree from Nilai International University College at Nilai would be LAN approval.

To double check, may anybody tell me how to check whether my degree Approve by LAN.
Well if it's being run it is most likely approved by MQA.The question is whether it is fully accredited ^^
To check that you can go to
http://www.mqa.gov.my/mqr/akrbyipts.cfm
Find Nilai UC in the list and see if it's there.If it's there than it has full accreditation if not then it is yet to be fully accredited.
Tfazuin
post Mar 30 2010, 11:09 AM

54 posts

QUOTE(pleasuresaurus @ Jan 13 2010, 03:54 PM)
If u wanna work in government or in a field that has a professional body overseeing it (architect/lawyer/accounts/medicine etc.), accreditation doesn't really mean much. The only private companies that bother are probably GLCs, MNCs - big fish. With a good CV, even they won't be too picky.
Sorry you're wrong there. All major MNC's value local university first, private / twinning goes at the bottom unless they are JPA recognised, even then there are different ranking for different areas of specialisation. In fact if you are wondering why some college do not have recruiters from oil companies coming and conducting interviews there its because they believe that the quality is sub standard. My friend as well as my former staff was a recruiter for a big oil and gas service company.
If you want to ensure that your education generates more bang for the buck, do more homework. Otherwise it'll be a bad investment.

This post has been edited by Tfazuin: Mar 30 2010, 11:11 AM
helenru
post Apr 27 2010, 12:01 PM

hi .I wan to ask the bachelor of finance in utar whether is full
accreditation.because at first is at kajang there de and now transfer go to perak .
hope for reply ~~~^^
Hikari0307
post Apr 27 2010, 12:10 PM

平成の光
4,541 posts

QUOTE(helenru @ Apr 27 2010, 12:01 PM)
hi .I wan to ask the bachelor of finance in utar whether is full
accreditation.because at first is at kajang there de and now transfer go to perak .
hope for reply ~~~^^
go and check the MQA and JPA websites ^^"
http://www.mqa.gov.my/mqr/english/eakrbyipts.cfm
http://www.interactive.jpa.gov.my/webinter...MainIktiraf.asp
jaclynjac
post May 12 2010, 04:53 PM

297 posts

good or no good is depend on how wellknown is the uni or college
ron4
post Sep 1 2010, 11:01 AM

1,123 posts

For IPTA recognition can view here http://www.mqa.gov.my/mqr/akrbyipta.cfm

Hard to believe in this listing, that Kolej Tunku Abdul Rahman is IPTA, and Akademi Laut Malaysia (ALAM) is IPTS.

Hikari0307
post Sep 1 2010, 11:52 AM

平成の光
4,541 posts

QUOTE(ron4 @ Sep 1 2010, 11:01 AM)
For IPTA recognition can view here http://www.mqa.gov.my/mqr/akrbyipta.cfm

Hard to believe in this listing, that Kolej Tunku Abdul Rahman is IPTA, and Akademi Laut Malaysia (ALAM) is IPTS.
Well TARC does operates with a 50% subsidy from the Malaysian Government for its recurrent and capital expenditures.
Auby Momobong
post Dec 18 2010, 08:32 PM

QUOTE(erxier @ Feb 27 2006, 10:48 AM)
accreditation = good college?
not really doh.gif
Hikari0307
post Dec 19 2010, 12:16 AM

平成の光
4,541 posts

accreditation means that particular institution is guaranteed by that body giving accreditation that it has met all their minimum requirements.
exquisite_markas
post Jan 3 2011, 11:42 PM

It's edible... I mean editable.
1,344 posts

QUOTE(kb2005 @ Feb 24 2006, 08:54 PM)
Since MMU is a local university, i don't see a problem why LAN or the education ministry want to reject it smile.gif
dun say it so soon though..

i m studying in a public uni.. which means it belongs fully to the government.. an IPTA.. and u know wat..? my uni is facing accreditation problems.. since my uni is an engineering uni.. accreditation is done my a board known as EAC, which stands for engineering accreditation council.. and this eac is a government organisation..

it does sound funny sometimes.. a government agency does not recognise the institution owned by the government themselves (the MOHE).. the eac panels have done audits after audits.. and still.. they r not satisfied with the changes.. just imagine.. in the course of three years.. my uni has ammended its education policy for four times..

and wats de end result..? students are suffering.. students have to readapt every changes the uni has made to fulfill de requirements set by the eac.. i m nt sure whether thr is any "internal conflicts" between my uni and this eac.. but.. students shd nt be at d receiving end of its consequences..
figuremeout
post Jan 4 2011, 08:39 PM

~In another life, I would make u stay~
890 posts

QUOTE(jaclynjac @ May 12 2010, 04:53 PM)
good or no good is depend on how wellknown is the uni or college
doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif

This post has been edited by figuremeout: Jan 4 2011, 08:40 PM
DefxZ
post Jan 4 2011, 09:48 PM

47 posts

about this accreditation things.. what happen if enter uni/college
with no accreditation/certificate etc?
exquisite_markas
post Jan 4 2011, 10:46 PM

1,344 posts

QUOTE(DefxZ @ Jan 4 2011, 09:48 PM)
about this accreditation things.. what happen if enter uni/college
with no accreditation/certificate etc?
actually.. the accreditation is for a course in a particular uni.. not the whole uni..

since i m an engineering student.. i wil talk based on the engineering scenario..

if an engineering degree is not accreditated.. u kenot be known as a "engineer".. the highest post u can get is juz "officer".. this also means that ur salary will be lesser.. however.. this only happens when u work in d government sector.. private sectors.. i think they dun care much about this accreditation thing..

also.. for engineering degrees without accreditation.. the board of engineers malaysia wil not allow u to register as their member.. thus.. u will nt be known as a "graduate engineer" and u cant practise any engineering work..

these situations are applicable to most professional degrees.. like law.. accounting.. and medicine..

cheers~
azarimy
post Jan 5 2011, 10:14 AM

mister architect: the arrogant pr*ck
10,672 posts

in malaysia, accreditation is awarded by generally two parties:

i. MQA (malaysian qualification agency)
ii. governing professional body of that particular course/field.

each focuses on different things. MQA is concerned about the academic content quality, whether that degree u're taking actually IS a degree, or something that the school modified from a diploma. without MQA accreditation, u just cant be sure of the quality u're receiving. the school might brag that it's the leading this and that, but if they dont have MQA, they're literally crap.

i would say, avoid courses without MQA at all costs. it's not just worth it. u cant get PTPTN or loans for it. dont even think about scholarships. there's just no guarantee of the kind of reception u'll get after u graduate. people might just doubt the kind of degree u've got, hence not be able to work and fulfill ur ambitions.

professional accreditation is slightly different. it is something that certifies the course having fulfilled the professional requirement, as seen by the respective country. a course can have a professional accreditation from overseas, but if that body is not recognized in malaysia, it means that u can work in that country, but not in msia lol.

funny, but it's true...
exquisite_markas
post Jan 5 2011, 11:13 AM

1,344 posts

QUOTE(azarimy @ Jan 5 2011, 10:14 AM)
in malaysia, accreditation is awarded by generally two parties:

i. MQA (malaysian qualification agency)
ii. governing professional body of that particular course/field.

each focuses on different things. MQA is concerned about the academic content quality, whether that degree u're taking actually IS a degree, or something that the school modified from a diploma. without MQA accreditation, u just cant be sure of the quality u're receiving. the school might brag that it's the leading this and that, but if they dont have MQA, they're literally crap.

i would say, avoid courses without MQA at all costs. it's not just worth it. u cant get PTPTN or loans for it. dont even think about scholarships. there's just no guarantee of the kind of reception u'll get after u graduate. people might just doubt the kind of degree u've got, hence not be able to work and fulfill ur ambitions.

professional accreditation is slightly different. it is something that certifies the course having fulfilled the professional requirement, as seen by the respective country. a course can have a professional accreditation from overseas, but if that body is not recognized in malaysia, it means that u can work in that country, but not in msia lol.

funny, but it's true...
hi azarimy..

rclxms.gif wat u say is very true..

hope some guys out thr got d chance to read ur post b4 making regretable decisions..

15 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Top

0.0327sec    0.41    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 06:10 AM