Headphones SONY WALKMAN® 40TH ANNIVERSARY MOVIE Club V1, Sony Hi- Res Audio

joshuachew
post Mar 19 2014, 06:04 AM

Portable Master Race
1,828 posts

QUOTE(Mr_D @ Feb 27 2014, 04:56 PM)
RM2199 pre-order price at Sony Store, The Curve brows.gif
Did they say when they estimate to ship those out?
joshuachew
post Mar 19 2014, 08:15 AM

Portable Master Race
1,828 posts

Forget it, they are apparently only are getting it on the 14th of May. Too damn long to wait. bought two from Japan. Dont have to wait. Gooding.
Got two units of the ZX1, Official Sony USB LOD cable, Screen protector and ZX1 TPU case from CruzerLite. And just tracked the RWAK120 Titans today, arrived PosLaju last night and should arrive today. Bliss.

This post has been edited by joshuachew: Mar 19 2014, 02:12 PM
jkwanness
post Mar 19 2014, 02:50 PM

smileypic.gif
1,147 posts

^+1... comparisons and review!
jonoave
post Mar 19 2014, 06:11 PM

659 posts

Just got my f886 yesterday night. rclxms.gif biggrin.gif

Photos and review to come! tongue.gif
jonoave
post Mar 19 2014, 06:13 PM

659 posts

QUOTE(joshuachew @ Mar 19 2014, 03:15 AM)
Forget it, they are apparently only are getting it on the 14th of May. Too damn long to wait. bought two from Japan. Dont have to wait. Gooding.
Got two units of the ZX1, Official Sony USB LOD cable, Screen protector and ZX1 TPU case from CruzerLite. And just tracked the RWAK120 Titans today, arrived PosLaju last night and should arrive today. Bliss.
Can I ask why did you get 2 units? And how much did the delivery/postage cost? Are there additional customs/tax fees?
joshuachew
post Mar 19 2014, 07:29 PM

Portable Master Race
1,828 posts

I always get two. I have to champion the audiophile cause at home. Lol.
I am estimating the total cost including taxes to be a thousand bucks north of the retail price.
lincm
post Mar 20 2014, 10:43 AM

61 posts

QUOTE(ktek @ Mar 9 2014, 12:13 PM)
=============
modern "transparent" 50mm driver  from 1R (DSEE, SMASTER AMP, NC off): a lot mid bass mix into pronounced vocal, a bit echo feel but not muddy.
"just fine" treble for a closed can. musical instruments is natural but stick closely together.
spongy ear cup give some distance between ears and driver, create little front soundstage (not bad)

==============
(DSEE, SMASTER AMP, NC on): at begining mid bass sink into drain, got bass beat only. a few minutes later, the NC adjust itself to my room. there the bass and midbass become controlled.
vocal and treble level & speed raise noticeablely, perhaps the internal amp push-pull driver diaphragm with higher pressure?
sometimes overdone become artificial or "digitize" playing mp3, seldom happen to lossless audio.

i like deaf feeling during silence part... dont have the seashell effect in ear cup
==============
classic "white" 50mm from SA5000: roughly need +3 to +5db volume compared to 1R.
strangely... im assure there is bass kick, along with "ok" mid bass like you mentioned. a virtual center channel that develop in front my head rclxub.gif some other songs it went to behind. haha i like this a lot thumbup.gif

vocal got minor shh, otherwise excellence! towards ending of song (fade out), still can hear the last breath of singer.
even cover vocals are energetic, saxophone got the "pressing" feel.
high-treble has great seperation details of EFX, strings and woodwind instruments.

it is able to reveal "empty holes" in mp3, especially percussion. can say analytical?
no good sound stage because similar to grado design

==============
i find myself not saying much in-depth music details about 1R because it will not catch your attention, a mellow fellow. where as SA5000 will bring more engaging towards the songs you play smile.gif

thanks you lincm, i appreciate this SA5000 a lot nod.gif
No problem cool.gif

The Imaging on the SA5000 is different, and it's good to me. It may seem analytical to others, but I just say it is able to show the details but still sound exciting.

Going off topic, I have got my Stax combo already, although it is not as good as I think it to be, it does sound good as a system and have the clarity and detail layering I have not heard, besting SA5000 in the layering department although the detail are close but the imaging are slightly different, the Stax are outside of the head more than the SA5000, which is also more than a Beyerdynamic T1 with Meier Audio Amp.

Clean sounding on both Stax and the SA5000. But the Mid Bass of SA5000 is much more presence.

Stax SR307 with SRM252S sounded very much lke a dynamic headphone to me.
joshuachew
post Mar 21 2014, 09:45 PM

Portable Master Race
1,828 posts

Sony Walkman NWZ-ZX1 Unboxing

Very likely the first Sony NWZ-ZX1 in Malaysia.

Japan Level Bubble pack. lol

Group Shot

Two units of Sony Walkman NWZ-ZX1
Two PRF-NWH40 Official Sony Screen Protectors
Two WMC-NWH10 USB line out cable to external DAC.

External Packaging

Manuals in Japanese

This post has been edited by joshuachew: Mar 21 2014, 09:48 PM
joshuachew
post Mar 21 2014, 09:46 PM

Portable Master Race
1,828 posts

The Player

Player with the Case

Size Comparison: ZX1, iPhone 5S, AK120 Titan
ktek
post Mar 23 2014, 12:27 PM

小喇叭
13,191 posts

QUOTE(joshuachew @ Mar 21 2014, 09:46 PM)
absolutely lovely icon_idea.gif
noobandroid
post Mar 23 2014, 01:31 PM

Audiophile
11,836 posts

bought from japan, made in malaysia dry.gif

Lego Warfare
post Mar 23 2014, 02:16 PM

4,676 posts

The Player

Player with the Case

Size Comparison: ZX1, iPhone 5S, AK120 Titan
damn... waiting for your review comparisons wink.gif
is the ZX1 better than the AK120 as what most head-fiers mentioned? Although it might be slightly different since yours is RWAK version, why not go for the RWAK120-S instead?

joshuachew
post Mar 23 2014, 04:19 PM

Portable Master Race
1,828 posts

QUOTE(noobandroid @ Mar 23 2014, 01:31 PM)

Don't hear anyone complaining that their iPhones are made in China.

QUOTE(Lego Warfare @ Mar 23 2014, 02:16 PM)
is the ZX1 better than the AK120 as what most head-fiers mentioned? Although it might be slightly different since yours is RWAK version, why not go for the RWAK120-S instead?
Not at all. The RWAK120 is to me, far more superior than the ZX1. The tonality. With its super lush mids and it's organic presentation is just a winner for me. The RWAK120 is also far more resolving than the ZX1. The ZX1 has a very clean presentation and is slightly on the brighter side. For me, the ZX1 in terms of sonics does not beat the RWAK120 at all.
Granted that the ZX1 is much easier to use and navigate and it's faster with no lag as opposed to the slight lag of the RWAK120 when filled with songs. And the huge screen real estate beats that of the AK120.
All in all, as my philosophy always goes, different equipment for different applications. The AK120 will be used as a stationary portable. When I am sitting down and such. But the ZX1 will be in my pocket when I am moving on the go and convenience and ease of use is vital.
As to why I didn't go for the S mid is because after doing that I will have to only use the 120 with an external amp which kinda puts me anck in square one. Now, I can have my triple stack in one device which aoubds better than my triple stack.

This post has been edited by joshuachew: Mar 23 2014, 04:21 PM
ktek
post Mar 23 2014, 05:01 PM

小喇叭
13,191 posts

QUOTE(noobandroid @ Mar 23 2014, 01:31 PM)

local sony make export quality wei dry.gif
noobandroid
post Mar 23 2014, 06:16 PM

Audiophile
11,836 posts

QUOTE(joshuachew @ Mar 23 2014, 04:19 PM)

Don't hear anyone complaining that their iPhones are made in China.
Not at all. The RWAK120 is to me, far more superior than the ZX1. The tonality. With its super lush mids and it's organic presentation is just a winner for me. The RWAK120 is also far more resolving than the ZX1. The ZX1 has a very clean presentation and is slightly on the brighter side. For me, the ZX1 in terms of sonics does not beat the RWAK120 at all.
Granted that the ZX1 is much easier to use and navigate and it's faster with no lag as opposed to the slight lag of the RWAK120 when filled with songs. And the huge screen real estate beats that of the AK120.
All in all, as my philosophy always goes, different equipment for different applications. The AK120 will be used as a stationary portable. When I am sitting down and such. But the ZX1 will be in my pocket when I am moving on the go and convenience and ease of use is vital.
As to why I didn't go for the S mid is because after doing that I will have to only use the 120 with an external amp which kinda puts me anck in square one. Now, I can have my triple stack in one device which aoubds better than my triple stack.
QUOTE(ktek @ Mar 23 2014, 05:01 PM)

im just suggesting maybe local buy will be cheaper, if available, that is

This post has been edited by noobandroid: Mar 23 2014, 06:16 PM
Soony
post Mar 23 2014, 09:56 PM

I love Photography !
2,131 posts

Any reviews on the MDR-1Rmk2? Would love to know whether its worth it as I am getting it as my first headphone =) Am currently using XBA-40 which I love it a lot, partly because it is Sony.
jonoave
post Mar 23 2014, 10:48 PM

659 posts

QUOTE(ktek @ Mar 23 2014, 12:01 PM)

My recently purchased NWZ-F886 is also Made in Malaysia (bought in Germany). So was the wireless walkman for sports that I bought in Malaysia a a few years ago.

Anyway, on to my impression of the NWZ-F886 that I just bought as an early birthday gift for myself. biggrin.gif

I was pondering a while on when I should get it, hoping for a sale or discount. I was excited when the price on Amazon dropped to 269 euros, but then a few days later it went back up to 279 euros. Guess it was nationwide cut, as the price at the Saturn electronic store also dropped down to 279 euros. And then the promotion for Xperia privilege (app on Sony Xperia phones) was 20% off all Walkman. So I ordered it from the official Sony online store (329 euros) and paid 263 euros for it.

Pictures of it.

There were no official cases, only a few available options from amazon which is either silicone based or leather based. Not a fan of the leather, so I got the silicone. Now a bit regret as it doesn't seem to be rugged enough if I put in my back. And the silicone does feel cheap and has a rubbery smell.

My impressions:
Interface: Nothing special, standard android stuff. I already have an Xperia S, so the interface was very familar to me. The music player app on this Walkman device is slightly different and has more features than the Walkman app (music player app) on Xperia mobile phones. It is packed with more features that allow album view, current song view, and song details view by swiping to the left or right.

Another difference is that the sound settings seem to apply globally, not just output from the music player app. The sound settings like DSEE, Clear Phase, Clear Stereo etc works with songs that were played from Music Unlimited app. The hard keys (rewind, play/pause, forward) also works with Music Unlimited. I'm not sure whether this features also works with other apps, but it's nice that they work with Music Unlimited app too.

Sound (as a non-audiophile)
The headphones provided (no model specified) seems to be quite good, if slightly bassy. Comparing it with my MH1c, it seems more spacious and roomy, and bassy as well. I tried using the noise-cancelling feature, I guess it does reduce the ambience sound a bit but not completely.

As for sound quality of the device, I tried it with some songs I uploaded (256 kbps Amazon MP3s). the bass was very strong and boomy. I found out later that this was due to the Clear Phase feature that claims to tighten the bass and make the mids and lows louder. It was nice for a while, but with the boomy bass it can get fatigue quickly. And after turning it off then you realise the slight unnatural-ness of the boom. So nowadays I don't use the Clear Phase feature so often, but it's a nice option to have. The DSEE feature which claims to restore the sound quality from compressed audio files, well I can't really tell it's effect. Maybe because my music files are already in decent 256 kbp MP3 or streaming from Music Unlimited, it is supposed to be 320 kbp AAC.

I was not initially blown away by the sound, although it does seem slightly clearer and spacious (I guess in audiophile lingo, this would be soundstage). The vocals and beats seem to come more from the middle rather than from below, which is nice. However, after putting it down and going back to my macbook, that's where I suddenly find the the audio quality from my macbook to be terrible: harsh, sibilant, and very controlled. Has it always been like that and I just never noticed it before? I think maybe it's just my brain adapting to the new sound and now the old audio seems to be much worse than I recalled. rclxub.gif
Battery life:
This is a bit tricky. Seems decent and can last maybe a while day of non-stop playing you play directly from the music player app and don't fiddle too much with the screen. Also turn off Wif and other app syncing options. I'm still a bit skeptical that it will reach the 35 hours of battery life that Sony claims.

With Wifi, battery drains very quickly.Like 1 percent every 2 minutes or so. This is a problem for me if I'm streaming from Music Unlimited, as high quality audio (320 AAC) is only offered by streaming and not offline audio.

Summary:
a. Pros: Well-build device, feels great, good sound quality, good interface. Battery life to me, it's just so-so. Whether it is worth the price, maybe other audiophiles will think differently as they have used many players. Coming from a direct plug into my laptop, this is a good step up.

b. Cons:
i. No support for OGG. Most of my music files that are ripped from CDs are stored as ogg by default. I'm a bit disappointed that Sony doesn't support open source stuff, which I tried to do. I guess I'll have to convert them to MP3s. Or find another music player from the Play Store. But I'll have to see if the sound features and hard buttons work with a non-native player.

ii. Music Unlimited. I tried Music Unlimited a few months ago as it was on a promotion, and decided to make the switch from Google All Access. Since I already had a Xperia phone and getting a Sony Walkman, moving into the Sony ecosystem seems to be a good idea. But now I find that Wifi is a big drain on the Walkman battery when I stream it at work. Unless I keep it plugged in at all times and I worry about the battery life in the long run if I keep it charged often. And being plugged in also reduces the portability of the Walkman.

So after some googling, I found out that there is an option for high quality audio for offline playback when using Music Unlimited. However, this feature is only available for Android 4.3 above in Xperia phonss where they integrate this Music Unlimited feature in the Walkman app. My Xperia S is only 4.1.2 so it doesn't have this feature as well. It annoys me greatly that a feature to allow high quality offline audio is made available to mobile phones that run the Walkman app, rather than the actual Walkman players that are designed to provide high quality audio. mad.gif I wrote a feedback email to Music Unlimited, and I got a standard reply email thanking my feedback and saying the engineers are working on it, so I really hope there is a firmware update that provides this feature. (Hmm, maybe I should write an email to ask for OGG support too).

This post has been edited by jonoave: Mar 24 2014, 01:30 AM
jonoave
post Mar 23 2014, 10:52 PM

659 posts

QUOTE(Lego Warfare @ Mar 23 2014, 09:16 AM)
Looks amazing. rclxms.gif

Btw, were the cases included with the Walkman or did you order it separately? They look nice.
I'm looking for a good replacement case for my f886, hopefully can find an official sony one.
joshuachew
post Mar 23 2014, 11:51 PM

Portable Master Race
1,828 posts

QUOTE(jonoave @ Mar 23 2014, 10:52 PM)
Looks amazing.  rclxms.gif

Btw, were the cases included with the Walkman or did you order it separately? They look nice.
I'm looking for a good replacement case for my f886, hopefully can find an official sony one.
I assume you were replying to me.
If you were,
The case was included. But I have bought two other cases that have yet to arrive as the Sony case if far too tight and do not protect the product every time it is taken out from the case, which will be often cause its a slide in pouch and the screen is totally covered.
jonoave
post Mar 24 2014, 01:27 AM

659 posts

QUOTE(joshuachew @ Mar 23 2014, 06:51 PM)
I assume you were replying to me.
If you were,
The case was included. But I have bought two other cases that have yet to arrive as the Sony case if far too tight and do not protect the product every time it is taken out from the case, which will be often cause its a slide in pouch and the screen is totally covered.
Yes, I was asking you. smile.gif

The Sony cases look nice. There was no case included in mine, and I got a cheap silicone one. But I'm planning to get a better one. Problem is there is no sony store here so it's not easy to find sony accessories. And the other options on Amazone which is mostly leather cases don't look too nice

What kind of case are you looking for? Is it similar to the Sony cases but just a bit more loose?

And what headphones do you pair it with? Or maybe you want to save this part for your sound impressions post later.

This post has been edited by jonoave: Mar 24 2014, 01:35 AM

70 Pages « < 10 11 12 13 14 > » Top

0.0372sec    0.43    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 07:55 AM