Headphones SONY WALKMAN® 40TH ANNIVERSARY MOVIE Club V1, Sony Hi- Res Audio

joshuachew
post Mar 19 2014, 06:04 AM

Portable Master Race
1,828 posts

QUOTE(Mr_D @ Feb 27 2014, 04:56 PM)
RM2199 pre-order price at Sony Store, The Curve brows.gif
Did they say when they estimate to ship those out?
joshuachew
post Mar 19 2014, 08:15 AM

Portable Master Race
1,828 posts

Forget it, they are apparently only are getting it on the 14th of May. Too damn long to wait. bought two from Japan. Dont have to wait. Gooding.
Got two units of the ZX1, Official Sony USB LOD cable, Screen protector and ZX1 TPU case from CruzerLite. And just tracked the RWAK120 Titans today, arrived PosLaju last night and should arrive today. Bliss.

This post has been edited by joshuachew: Mar 19 2014, 02:12 PM
joshuachew
post Mar 19 2014, 07:29 PM

Portable Master Race
1,828 posts

I always get two. I have to champion the audiophile cause at home. Lol.
I am estimating the total cost including taxes to be a thousand bucks north of the retail price.
joshuachew
post Mar 21 2014, 09:45 PM

Portable Master Race
1,828 posts

Sony Walkman NWZ-ZX1 Unboxing

Very likely the first Sony NWZ-ZX1 in Malaysia.

Japan Level Bubble pack. lol

Group Shot

Two units of Sony Walkman NWZ-ZX1
Two PRF-NWH40 Official Sony Screen Protectors
Two WMC-NWH10 USB line out cable to external DAC.

External Packaging

Manuals in Japanese

This post has been edited by joshuachew: Mar 21 2014, 09:48 PM
joshuachew
post Mar 21 2014, 09:46 PM

Portable Master Race
1,828 posts

The Player

Player with the Case

Size Comparison: ZX1, iPhone 5S, AK120 Titan
joshuachew
post Mar 23 2014, 04:19 PM

Portable Master Race
1,828 posts

QUOTE(noobandroid @ Mar 23 2014, 01:31 PM)
QUOTE(joshuachew @ Mar 21 2014, 09:46 PM)

bought from japan, made in malaysia dry.gif
Don't hear anyone complaining that their iPhones are made in China.

QUOTE(Lego Warfare @ Mar 23 2014, 02:16 PM)
damn... waiting for your review comparisons wink.gif
is the ZX1 better than the AK120 as what most head-fiers mentioned? Although it might be slightly different since yours is RWAK version, why not go for the RWAK120-S instead?
Not at all. The RWAK120 is to me, far more superior than the ZX1. The tonality. With its super lush mids and it's organic presentation is just a winner for me. The RWAK120 is also far more resolving than the ZX1. The ZX1 has a very clean presentation and is slightly on the brighter side. For me, the ZX1 in terms of sonics does not beat the RWAK120 at all.
Granted that the ZX1 is much easier to use and navigate and it's faster with no lag as opposed to the slight lag of the RWAK120 when filled with songs. And the huge screen real estate beats that of the AK120.
All in all, as my philosophy always goes, different equipment for different applications. The AK120 will be used as a stationary portable. When I am sitting down and such. But the ZX1 will be in my pocket when I am moving on the go and convenience and ease of use is vital.
As to why I didn't go for the S mid is because after doing that I will have to only use the 120 with an external amp which kinda puts me anck in square one. Now, I can have my triple stack in one device which aoubds better than my triple stack.

This post has been edited by joshuachew: Mar 23 2014, 04:21 PM
joshuachew
post Mar 23 2014, 11:51 PM

Portable Master Race
1,828 posts

QUOTE(jonoave @ Mar 23 2014, 10:52 PM)
Looks amazing.  rclxms.gif

Btw, were the cases included with the Walkman or did you order it separately? They look nice.
I'm looking for a good replacement case for my f886, hopefully can find an official sony one.
I assume you were replying to me.
If you were,
The case was included. But I have bought two other cases that have yet to arrive as the Sony case if far too tight and do not protect the product every time it is taken out from the case, which will be often cause its a slide in pouch and the screen is totally covered.
joshuachew
post Mar 30 2014, 08:56 PM

Portable Master Race
1,828 posts

QUOTE(phillip88 @ Mar 30 2014, 09:12 AM)
Go all the way to H3! Haha. Dayum, tried last night. The hybrid is tasty and cheap! (Apart from Dunu-1k lah).
Btw, F886 has one big big advantage over many boutique DAP, ie. its interface is so much better and smoother.
Then you must try the ZX1.
joshuachew
post Mar 31 2014, 11:31 AM

Portable Master Race
1,828 posts

QUOTE(phillip88 @ Mar 30 2014, 11:47 PM)
I've already planned that for long. ZX1 was on the to-try list before I settle with a main source player. AK was sweet, but its lagging interface was a deal killer. I have quite a lot of faith in Sony's UI after a few satisfied experience with its entry level DAP.
But the sound quality of the AK is far more superior than even that of the ZX1. Its just so much more resolving with much better tone and timbre. I would still put the AKs ahead of the ZX1. And by quite a margin.
joshuachew
post Mar 31 2014, 07:26 PM

Portable Master Race
1,828 posts

QUOTE(jchue73 @ Mar 31 2014, 04:47 PM)
When you mention AK, are you making reference to AK100, AK120 or AK240?
I am referring to the AK120 Titan. With or without thw modification by RWA. But with the RWA modification, it gets even better.
joshuachew
post Apr 2 2014, 10:53 AM

Portable Master Race
1,828 posts

QUOTE(Soony @ Apr 2 2014, 06:40 AM)
Hehe I get what you meant. =) If there is any other things that you want to know just ask okay?

On a side note, very tempted to get the Sony ZX1, it's releasing this May over here in Australia
Yea. May 14th. That's what made me decide to get it directly from Japan cause the waiting time is too damn long.

QUOTE(pj_guitarist @ Apr 2 2014, 09:51 AM)
shocking.gif zx1 is the shit!
You tried? drool.gif
joshuachew
post Apr 2 2014, 11:13 AM

Portable Master Race
1,828 posts

QUOTE(Lego Warfare @ Apr 2 2014, 11:08 AM)
They have a ZX1 demo unit in Curve Sony smile.gif
Did you try? What did you think? When is Sony MY shipping the preorders?
joshuachew
post Apr 2 2014, 12:43 PM

Portable Master Race
1,828 posts

QUOTE(Lego Warfare @ Apr 2 2014, 12:20 PM)
Didn't get to try as I didn't bring my IEM then, but they said it's on a preorder basis and probably around May as well.
Oh well...

ZX1 straight out to the Roxanne.
joshuachew
post Apr 2 2014, 01:13 PM

Portable Master Race
1,828 posts

QUOTE(Soony @ Apr 2 2014, 01:09 PM)
I can't wait man. Don't know should order or not, how much is it to be in Malaysia?
With the screen protector, and the USB LOD and the player, More than 3k about 3200.
joshuachew
post Apr 2 2014, 02:20 PM

Portable Master Race
1,828 posts

QUOTE(Soony @ Apr 2 2014, 02:18 PM)
Just placed an order for the ZX 1, expected to get it in the 2nd week or 3rd week of April. =D Can't wait!

Absolutely stoked when they told me it's coming that soon.
From Curve Malaysia?
joshuachew
post Apr 28 2014, 10:46 PM

Portable Master Race
1,828 posts

Just got the FiiO Sony Walkman Line out cable. Cable is from Oyaide. I must say, It sounds so much better then just doing a 3.5mm line out from the headphone jack and set at full volume. Guess its gonne be a long night. cool.gif whistling.gif
joshuachew
post Apr 29 2014, 01:59 AM

Portable Master Race
1,828 posts

QUOTE(jchue73 @ Apr 29 2014, 01:16 AM)
Tempted to get myself the ZX1 but I read that it pairs best with the PHA-2. Have you had the chance to try it?
No, I have the CypherLabs -dB which is more superior than the PHA-2 hence I would not buy it as it is not an upgrade from what I have, if I do upgrade, and which I am going to do, it will be the Chord Hugo.
joshuachew
post Apr 29 2014, 07:35 AM

Portable Master Race
1,828 posts

QUOTE(jchue73 @ Apr 29 2014, 03:39 AM)
Ok. The pic you posted looked like you connected it directly to the RX Mk3b ? Or do you use the CLAS stack with the RX Mk3b?
The use the ZX1 as transport, you have to use the WM Sony cable which you can see here below:

But the CLAS-dB is unable to work with it, I don't know why, but my Desktop DAC is able ot take the digital signal out, so I just use the ZX1 with the analogue line out with the FiiO line out cable for portable use till I get the Chord Hugo.
joshuachew
post Apr 29 2014, 06:19 PM

Portable Master Race
1,828 posts

QUOTE(jchue73 @ Apr 29 2014, 04:01 PM)
Ok. Crystal clear. I don't have the CLAS but if I get the ZX1, that would be the route to take. Thanks.

I believe currently only the PHA-2 is able to connect using that Sony WM cable to the ZX1.
by 'that route' you mean a PHA2 or a CLAS?
Yes, but with the USB line out, its still very convenient, I would say its more convenient that using the WM Cable.

QUOTE(jonoave @ Apr 29 2014, 04:14 PM)
Noob question here:
As i understand it, the PHA-2 has its own DAC, which is a Wolfson DAC. From the Sony webpage, it claims to improve sound quality by bypassing the DAC of the original source, e.g. PC, ipod, walkman.

In that case, is there any particular reason to pair a high-quality device like NWZ1 with PHA2? Why not just a regular/cheap smartphone?
Or if portability is not an issue, why not from the PC?

Thanks if you guys can clarify. smile.gif
Yes, because the PHA2 is better than the ZX1 that's why. And besides, if you have a device like the PHA2, it being able to connect to any many devices should be their aim, why would they want to limit it to non high end devices?
joshuachew
post Apr 29 2014, 06:37 PM

Portable Master Race
1,828 posts

QUOTE(jchue73 @ Apr 29 2014, 06:29 PM)
Neither. Just the RX Mk3b with the ZX1 via the Fiio cable.
Yes to me portable wise, it is good enough already. But of course, if you wanna squeeze out the last 10% from it then using the PHA2 would be beneficial. Or if you are would really want to get the end game portable set up then yes, the HUGO. Especially if you're playing DSD files.

0.0518sec    0.63    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 12:40 PM