even a school drop out can join....by becoming a routabout....ends up a companyman in 20 years time !!
Oil & Gas Career, place where grease monkeys gather
Dec 9 2006, 11:28 AM
3,314 posts Joined: Sep 2005 From: Taman Sri Melati, KL |
even a school drop out can join....by becoming a routabout....ends up a companyman in 20 years time !!
Dec 9 2006, 09:05 PM
700 posts Joined: Apr 2006 |
Hey all bros, I am interested to work offshore........able to leave my family to earn more for my family. Currently I am a service engineer in semiconductor field but without degree. Do I qualify to work in OnG company? If you company looking for people, please PM and I send you my resume. Thk you.
Dec 9 2006, 11:26 PM
329 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(am_eniey @ Dec 9 2006, 11:28 AM) even a school drop out can join....by becoming a routabout....ends up a companyman in 20 years time !! thats true dun look down on the stewards, dey earn as much as rm2k n above depending on location/company policies. why? cos its at offshore la |
Dec 10 2006, 01:19 AM
1,124 posts Joined: Oct 2004 |
IT Engineer? I am interested to join Oil and Gas company..my expertise end user support hardware/software..that day went to Nippon Oil interview..didnt get the job..but i know the boss kiasu...anyway..how to get in as IT guy?
This post has been edited by chilskater: Dec 10 2006, 01:19 AM |
Jan 7 2007, 07:26 PM
145 posts Joined: Jun 2006 |
soon i'm going to go for my internship and
i'm doing mechanical engineering, major in Petroleum. Hopefully =] can you guys help me to list out those companies for me to apply for my practical training? currently i have Shell, Schlumberger and Sime Engineering in mind thank you This post has been edited by butthafly: Jan 7 2007, 07:27 PM |
Jan 7 2007, 10:31 PM
3,256 posts Joined: Dec 2006 From: Mars not Venus Status: In a Relationship |
QUOTE(butthafly @ Jan 7 2007, 07:26 PM) soon i'm going to go for my internship and What about exxon mobil ?i'm doing mechanical engineering, major in Petroleum. Hopefully =] can you guys help me to list out those companies for me to apply for my practical training? currently i have Shell, Schlumberger and Sime Engineering in mind thank you |
Jan 7 2007, 11:19 PM
4 posts Joined: Jan 2007 |
QUOTE(butthafly @ Jan 7 2007, 07:26 PM) soon i'm going to go for my internship and hmmm... since u r petroleum student, i suggest u go for Titan, a well known company in south east asia...i'm doing mechanical engineering, major in Petroleum. Hopefully =] can you guys help me to list out those companies for me to apply for my practical training? currently i have Shell, Schlumberger and Sime Engineering in mind thank you u can also try for MMHE, malakoff, Sime darby engineering (not sime engineering), Tanjung Offshore, Vastalak, Ranhill, Kencana Oil, Sarawak Shell, MMC Oil Berhad etc... etc... u can search for oil company in Pasir Gudang Johor also... there are a lot of choice there... |
Jan 7 2007, 11:41 PM
QUOTE(playerseeker @ Dec 8 2006, 11:35 AM) hey guy....i read all the posts and i got a question to ask talking about chances, there are alot of chances out there. it either u wanna grab it or not. the most important thing is to get familiar with the oil and gas industries in Malaysia. try to know as much oil and gas company (including their subcontractors and consultants as well). then, post your application by mail or email to human resource would be better). do not hesitate to post your application as much as you can (but only one to each company la...) because you should consider the probability of your chances to get qualified by their requirements or not.i dun have any inner contact for any OnG company i'll be graduating next year..with electronic engineering majoring in mircowave and communication...with just 2nd class currently i'm undergoing internship in one of the factory doing rubber line..and my daily job is to do ASP.. i can say i'll have basic knowledge in ASP developing so i wanna ask... is the chance high for me to go into OnG company i dun mind onshore or offshore...as i'm willing to start small because i'm a fresh grad... hope for reply from those who are working in OnG company i dun mind any type of reply..positive or negetive...just voice out ur advice.. thanks in advance |
Jan 7 2007, 11:56 PM
1,022 posts Joined: Sep 2005 From: nomad in the Sahara... |
Gettin your internship done in malaysia is ok....if you are interested in making more money and willing to travel....then my advice is to go for companies abroad.
Jan 8 2007, 02:18 PM
Jan 8 2007, 04:06 PM
119 posts Joined: Aug 2006 |
hiyor where can internship with overseas company. Im going to do my final year this year. This last holiday when im in my 3rd year sem break, was trying to get into few local oil and gas companies in miri. but yeahh nobody layan me.. since always say full. or maybe i apply to let. I imagine 1 day if hav available position to be engineer or not geez.. im undertaking chemical engineering also hard to find place for internship. Like this better work as air stewardess.. heheh....can see more leng chai.. geez..
Jan 9 2007, 10:56 PM
QUOTE(WildChai @ Jan 7 2007, 11:56 PM) Gettin your internship done in malaysia is ok....if you are interested in making more money and willing to travel....then my advice is to go for companies abroad. wildchai, where r u working now? seem like u r in oversea.... what company ha? offshore drilling or onland drillling? |
Jan 9 2007, 11:41 PM
1,045 posts Joined: Jul 2005 From: KL/PG |
I remember that wildchai working as open hole engineer that base at western sahara...
Open hole is something like when you drilling a hole, mud engineer need to control the stability of the well, offcourse the well is not been casing yet, we need to put mud inside the well to prevent the well from collapse and etc..., the well is kick or blowout is vital for the operation. Need to choose suitable mud, and maybe they will run wireline logging...LWD/MWD Anyway, I will go for well sitting on this coming thursday... |
Jan 10 2007, 08:20 PM
QUOTE(forrest @ Jan 9 2007, 11:41 PM) I remember that wildchai working as open hole engineer that base at western sahara... what is wireline logging? LWD/MWD?Open hole is something like when you drilling a hole, mud engineer need to control the stability of the well, offcourse the well is not been casing yet, we need to put mud inside the well to prevent the well from collapse and etc..., the well is kick or blowout is vital for the operation. Need to choose suitable mud, and maybe they will run wireline logging...LWD/MWD Anyway, I will go for well sitting on this coming thursday... |
Jan 11 2007, 10:55 AM
7,826 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(chilskater @ Dec 10 2006, 01:19 AM) IT Engineer? I am interested to join Oil and Gas company..my expertise end user support hardware/software..that day went to Nippon Oil interview..didnt get the job..but i know the boss kiasu...anyway..how to get in as IT guy? Most Oil and Gas companies are outsourcing their IT division in order to focus on their core business which is the exploration and production side. Just giving you some info about the current market. |
Jan 11 2007, 02:11 PM
1,022 posts Joined: Sep 2005 From: nomad in the Sahara... |
QUOTE(forrest @ Jan 9 2007, 11:41 PM) I remember that wildchai working as open hole engineer that base at western sahara... hey forrest, u based in malaysia? what do u do?Open hole is something like when you drilling a hole, mud engineer need to control the stability of the well, offcourse the well is not been casing yet, we need to put mud inside the well to prevent the well from collapse and etc..., the well is kick or blowout is vital for the operation. Need to choose suitable mud, and maybe they will run wireline logging...LWD/MWD Anyway, I will go for well sitting on this coming thursday... i'm actually a wireline open hole engineer but i do cased hole too....now getting my hands on some specialty stuff. @roslianefendy like forrest said...i'm in the sahara now. wireline logging is acquiring petrophysical data through the use of logging equipment. and we handle radiation material and explosives. |
Jan 11 2007, 04:58 PM
1,045 posts Joined: Jul 2005 From: KL/PG |
QUOTE(roslianefendy @ Jan 10 2007, 08:20 PM) google will help to answer...QUOTE(WildChai @ Jan 11 2007, 02:11 PM) hey forrest, u based in malaysia? what do u do? My workscope bascially is do the interpretation on both geology and geophysics, intreprete the earth structure and locate the possibly reservoirs. Today just reach to the Transocean drilling rig located at offshore Terengganu for the wellsitting training, need to go through the drilling operation, mud logging, wireline logging, MWD/LWD operation, mud engineering... etci'm actually a wireline open hole engineer but i do cased hole too....now getting my hands on some specialty stuff. @roslianefendy like forrest said...i'm in the sahara now. wireline logging is acquiring petrophysical data through the use of logging equipment. and we handle radiation material and explosives. I'm based at malaysia now, because i'm in malaysia project team, maybe later will apply to transfer to oversea project team. This post has been edited by forrest: Jan 11 2007, 05:01 PM |
Jan 14 2007, 03:13 AM
154 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
hey guys im doing my final sem now(civil engineering)...and decided to have a career with oil n gas company...
last time im doing practical training at an OnG consultant and it was great to have an experience there. my workscope just to design a model with a software called SACS 5.1. just want to get your opinion...where should i go..whether consultant or fabricator? |
Jan 14 2007, 10:46 AM
329 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(forrest @ Jan 11 2007, 04:58 PM) google will help to answer... sounds like... mr. beh My workscope bascially is do the interpretation on both geology and geophysics, intreprete the earth structure and locate the possibly reservoirs. Today just reach to the Transocean drilling rig located at offshore Terengganu for the wellsitting training, need to go through the drilling operation, mud logging, wireline logging, MWD/LWD operation, mud engineering... etc I'm based at malaysia now, because i'm in malaysia project team, maybe later will apply to transfer to oversea project team. hehe ignore this if ur not |
Jan 14 2007, 11:42 PM
QUOTE(Ddaniell @ Jan 14 2007, 03:13 AM) hey guys im doing my final sem now(civil engineering)...and decided to have a career with oil n gas company... Care to name the Oil and Gas consultant firm that hire you, I'm looking for some oil and gas firm for internship. Thankslast time im doing practical training at an OnG consultant and it was great to have an experience there. my workscope just to design a model with a software called SACS 5.1. just want to get your opinion...where should i go..whether consultant or fabricator? |
| Change to: | 0.0171sec
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 05:28 AM |