Oil & Gas Career, place where grease monkeys gather
zeusu
Jan 19 2008, 03:43 AM

only aware of 2: bosiet and bosiet-t, the other one i haven't heard of it. anyway, it doesn't really matter, the operator decides what you need, and you just ask your company to pay for whatever course they need you to take.
iDk
Jan 19 2008, 04:38 AM
Another thing is the H2S awareness training and confine space training, is that a must have procedure to work at certain area of the rig? or it is just for the worker's own safety interest?
feizalz
Jan 19 2008, 05:40 PM
QUOTE(iDk @ Jan 19 2008, 04:38 AM) Another thing is the H2S awareness training and confine space training, is that a must have procedure to work at certain area of the rig? or it is just for the worker's own safety interest? H2S training is only needed at certain platform where the gas exist. As for confine space, I think it is included in the normal safety offshore training. Correct me if I'm wrong.
farizuan
Jan 20 2008, 11:50 PM

Hi guys, i just been inform by petronas to work for them as project engineer at Petronas Penapisan Melaka.seem like too far from my interest.because i think i will deal a lot with chemistry subject..  actually i keen to join PCSB..besides the work scope i belief that PCSB workers can get more allowance since they work offshore..
iDk
Jan 21 2008, 12:21 AM
QUOTE(feizalz @ Jan 19 2008, 05:40 PM) H2S training is only needed at certain platform where the gas exist. As for confine space, I think it is included in the normal safety offshore training. Correct me if I'm wrong.  erm.... my bosiet does not include confine space training. Anyway, the H2S is too scary to listen to, and also the black sand (mercury in another form or something like that).
speedfamgirl
Jan 21 2008, 10:09 AM
normally bosiet or CA(insert no here) does not include confined space training. however H2S Awareness is part of the course, basically showing videos on how to escape & how to react with H2S emergencies... if proper H2S training you must have been using the BA set & squat in the hot sun....
This post has been edited by speedfamgirl: Jan 21 2008, 10:10 AM
dylansiauw
Jan 21 2008, 02:35 PM
Hi guys... if I apply slb online they will send me a auto respond email right.... but i think i didn't receive it about a month d... does it mean my application is not successful? if this is the case, can i try apply another time? will it jeopardize my chances be hired...?
Noobies
Jan 22 2008, 06:17 PM
Hi guys,
Oil & Gas is a very interesting and challenging job. Anyway, recently I am facing a problem in this industry. Does anyone know if a year of exprience or to in Oil and Gas Industry is enough for future career in Oil and Gas? Is it good if I go for a more specific position as a service provider to Oil and Gas Industry? Less changes to diversify in future??
zeusu
Jan 22 2008, 06:59 PM

hi dylan, give it 6 months - 1 year to be safe. january's a busy time for HR, I think they have yet to decide hiring targets yet.
Noobies
Jan 22 2008, 07:12 PM
Dylan, that's right. I have applied to SLB before as well & I was called for interview for 4 times before they failed me on the final one. My experience was, they may take few months to response to your application. So, be patience.
azaye7
Jan 22 2008, 07:18 PM
hello all...im newbies about O/G career but interesting to apply sooner.still in final sem bachelor electrical eng upm.what tips all of u want to share with me so i can prepare before grad.. anyone working in o/g sabah??..i just finished doing my CV rite now hihihihi
brontoks411vm
Jan 22 2008, 10:39 PM
hello..can any1 tell me wat the main qualification to entry Under water Welding and safety and health officer?
diploma..?
where in malaysia..??
dylansiauw
Jan 22 2008, 11:48 PM
QUOTE(zeusu @ Jan 22 2008, 06:59 PM) hi dylan, give it 6 months - 1 year to be safe. january's a busy time for HR, I think they have yet to decide hiring targets yet. QUOTE(Noobies @ Jan 22 2008, 07:12 PM) Dylan, that's right. I have applied to SLB before as well & I was called for interview for 4 times before they failed me on the final one. My experience was, they may take few months to response to your application. So, be patience. Thanks zeusu and Noobies... then i will be patiently for them to call me up.... most probably i will quit my job very soon as i need to go to taipei for some personal matter for one months... so my company wont allow me to take one month leave... and most importantly i am really bored with semicon industry d.... that's way i'm quite nervous to get a new job soon when i come back to malaysia....
powdersnow
Jan 25 2008, 02:22 PM
wow.. looking at all the posts in this thread.. it seems the applications to OnG are endless.. I'm from um.. gonna graduate around august this yr.. I went for the interview for Schlumberger a yr ago for internship.. went right up to the last stage wit the DCS head or sumthing.. But then the HR or something told me that DCS wasn't taking in interns at that time.. My coursemate who was also offered DCS went to try out again recently.. and they put her into SIS.. I'm still pondering on trying out for slb again..
may I know how is it like under WesternGeco, DCS or SIS?
heck.. I'm even considering going for the shell gourami challenge.. oh fickle-minded me..
dylansiauw
Jan 27 2008, 12:36 AM
Hi guys... does anyone ever heard of Transocean Drilling Sdn. Bhd. http://www.deepwater.com/fw/main/Our_Company-2.htmlHow's the working env and the pay of this company? If compare with slb and BHI, does Transocean has any better ad and disadvantage from them.? Could anyone plz advise me... thank you...
zeusu
Jan 27 2008, 11:37 AM

Transocean's a drilling contractor, own alot of rigs and drill for operators. Just merged with GSF. Long time ago, they merged with Sedco-Forex (used to be owned by SLB).
It's hard to compare since they are essentially different jobs from what BHI & SLB offer (if you exclude SLB's IPM), but a driller job (internationoal) pays really well in transocean, but I would say it's more of a hands-on work. But you get regular rotations, if irregular you get overtime.
Typically the training program (from what I heard) involves a rotation of all the work on the rig where you have to work your way up, from a roustabout to roughneck/derrickman to driller, then toolpusher and eventually an OIM/rig manager.
and powdersnow, DCS does more interpretation work (geoscientists, petrophysicists, etc) while SIS does more of the IT stuff SLB has. WesternGeco's our seismic side (exploring seas, deserts for oil/gas).
EnSky
Jan 27 2008, 11:59 AM

nowadays this industry is damn hard to do already.. my father own a hydralic & lubricant factory last year but now? close down lo
moonstone13
Jan 27 2008, 01:54 PM
Perhaps some experienced fellas could advise me the job scope of a mechanical engineer (static) in the O&G line of work?
iDk
Jan 28 2008, 01:09 AM
static and another one is rotary. Static machinery and rotary machinery. Which mean you gonna deal with the things that is not rotating. Rotating like turbine, pump etc. That is what i see around.
bearicko
Jan 28 2008, 09:13 AM
hy guys,
need some help....did u know how to apply a job in O&G industires...coz when i read ads from paper or jobstreet, the requirements so demand. i mean the experience, its so long experience. but im a fresh grad. feel like im too far behind n dun hev any chance....
so how n where may i apply 4 any post dat related in O&G industries. im very serious to work in this field.
thanks guys.