214 Pages « < 9 10 11 12 13 > » Bottom

Oil & Gas Career, place where grease monkeys gather

SUSkockroach
post Nov 14 2007, 04:00 PM

Certified Noob
3,256 posts

Hi, I would like to know how can I find resource on vacancy for Oil & Gas Service firm? I thought not all of them advertise in the newspaper, only big company do. Thanks
syyang85
post Nov 15 2007, 12:39 AM

982 posts

Well, my dad doin on/off shores work in Kota Belud, Sabah

He said Shell is trying to recruit 60 engineers.

Well. he said that couple months ago.

My brother is also working in the o&g field. works for contract. not aware of the company name.

Living_Cafe
post Nov 17 2007, 11:21 PM

23 posts

I am a Degree freshgrad without any experience.... and sad to say CGPA below 3.0..... Can i work offshore as well? or you guys think i shuold forget about joining this industry because my result way too bad? Anyone here can give me some advise please?

Added on November 18, 2007, 1:20 amHi hi....Is this topic closed?

This post has been edited by Living_Cafe: Nov 18 2007, 01:20 AM
GaussSeidel
post Nov 18 2007, 12:39 PM

79 posts

QUOTE(Living_Cafe @ Nov 17 2007, 11:21 PM)
I am a Degree freshgrad without any experience.... and sad to say CGPA below 3.0..... Can i work offshore as well? or you guys think i shuold forget about joining this industry because my result way too bad? Anyone here can give me some advise please?

Added on November 18, 2007, 1:20 amHi hi....Is this topic closed?
wat course did u took? im also in the O&G field. but currently still studying. however starting this Dec i'll be starting my internship program and will be posted to Miri. smile.gif
winterbear
post Nov 18 2007, 01:11 PM

92 posts

Result is not the only factor they consider, I will say presentation skill is more important than result
GaussSeidel
post Nov 18 2007, 04:54 PM

79 posts

yup. that is true. luck also plays factor.. huhu.. but the most important is ur performance during the interview. alot of factors will be considered by them b4 taking u onboard..

juz try ur best. i think the 1st step is to submit ur resume to them. search online for their emails.. try ur luck mate..
forrest
post Nov 19 2007, 12:42 PM

1,045 posts

something to share...

million dollar baby...

this email is circulating among the oil&gas staffs in this country...
signature bonus, (should be)5 yrs, get $1mil upon sign the contract... applicable to well experienced staff only...

p/s: pls don't pm me stupid questions, thank you...
speedfamgirl
post Nov 19 2007, 04:19 PM

Not afraid of #138
1,900 posts

QUOTE(kockroach @ Nov 14 2007, 04:00 PM)
Hi, I would like to know how can I find resource on vacancy for Oil & Gas Service firm? I thought not all of them advertise in the newspaper, only big company do. Thanks
yesterday's Borneo Post got vacancy for both Engineers & Technicians advertised by Shell & Murphy Oil.

quick, send in your resume now! offer ends december 1
Living_Cafe
post Nov 19 2007, 08:21 PM

23 posts

QUOTE(GaussSeidel @ Nov 18 2007, 12:39 PM)
wat course did u took? im also in the O&G field. but currently still studying. however starting this Dec i'll be starting my internship program and will be posted to Miri.  smile.gif
I am taking Electronic Engineering mjoring in Computer.

Added on November 19, 2007, 8:25 pm
QUOTE(winterbear @ Nov 18 2007, 01:11 PM)
Result is not the only factor they consider, I will say presentation skill is more important than result
But so far i posted to a few small company until now no reply leh....i think mayb they see result more than anything else cuz i am a fresh grad.... However some did offer me IT job but the course which i study is not much related to IT ler... isshhh

Anyway i will keep trying until i get.... hope will get some good news soon

This post has been edited by Living_Cafe: Nov 19 2007, 08:25 PM
winterbear
post Nov 20 2007, 08:10 AM

92 posts

yeah, for small company, they will consider result first. but for oil and gas company like shell, they will emphasize more in problem solving skill, leadership and presentation skill!!!

Riccy
post Nov 20 2007, 08:29 AM

yah..exactly rite what winterbear said...so is petronas..in an interview, the question would be more on problem solving skill and how presentable you are...hehe..pointer is just a 'leftover'....

This post has been edited by Riccy: Nov 20 2007, 08:37 AM
Houlivgan
post Nov 20 2007, 01:43 PM

Izit Borneo Post job recruirment is mainly open to East Malaysian?
speedfamgirl
post Nov 20 2007, 09:55 PM

Not afraid of #138
1,900 posts

QUOTE(Houlivgan @ Nov 20 2007, 01:43 PM)
Izit Borneo Post job recruirment is mainly open to East Malaysian?
not really. if it's like that why do we have a bunch of engineers from the west malaysia too?
SUSkockroach
post Nov 22 2007, 02:37 PM

Certified Noob
3,256 posts

QUOTE(speedfamgirl @ Nov 19 2007, 04:19 PM)
yesterday's Borneo Post got vacancy for both Engineers & Technicians advertised by Shell & Murphy Oil.

quick, send in your resume now! offer ends december 1
Sigh, i seldom find this type of advertisement in east coast's news paper. thanks anyway...
forrest
post Nov 23 2007, 11:03 PM

1,045 posts

some of the company didn't advertise in newspaper if they're lacking few people only.... you might need some help from someone who know the HR staff... or ppl who working in this industry (related to your discipline)
valee
post Nov 24 2007, 02:21 AM

62 posts

if you're a west malaysian, u need a work permit to work in sarawak. make sure whatever job u apply from sarawak, the employer is aware that you are west malaysian and is willing to pay for you to work there.
SUSkockroach
post Nov 24 2007, 04:43 PM

Certified Noob
3,256 posts

Any idea is there any place where I can find list of company for o&g company in M'sia.
Zzz...
post Nov 25 2007, 12:38 AM

456 posts

If i not mistaken i remember coming across Star Jobs today(Sat Nov 24) an opening for graduate trainee engineer by Petrofac Malaysia, a PSC contractor to Petronas. Something to do with oilfield developments and deals with offshore projects.
gatevalve
post Nov 25 2007, 10:24 AM

160 posts

Hi all,
If u really want to join o&g...please go to www.rigzone.com. for fresh graduate try to apply to be a trainee in the position that you like most.you got three option overthere. work with operator like shell, bp or chevron.or with service company like schlumberger, halliburton or mi swaco.lastly as rig worker such as transocean, seadrill or premium drilling. my advice is don't work in malaysia bcoz all the company will pay you as local/national commuter.go work overseas, you will be paid in usd.worry about usd currency...
no problem coz most of big company has their own calculation in order to overcome this problem.
for those who stay in kl, you can go to rohas perkasa building(near beach club jalan p ramlee).transocean,schlumberger and mi swaco office overthere.plese don't pm me coz i seldom stay online...currently i'm working in india in 4 week swing( means work for 4 week and off for 4 week)
hope this helps.
lempeng81
post Nov 26 2007, 10:55 PM

34 posts

QUOTE(gatevalve @ Nov 25 2007, 10:24 AM)
Hi all,
If u really want to join o&g...please go to www.rigzone.com. for fresh graduate try to apply to be a trainee in the position that you like most.you got three option overthere. work with operator like shell, bp or chevron.or with service company like schlumberger, halliburton or mi swaco.lastly as rig worker such as transocean, seadrill or premium drilling. my advice is don't work in malaysia bcoz all the company will pay you as local/national commuter.go work overseas, you will be paid in usd.worry about usd currency...
no problem coz most of big company has their own calculation in order to overcome this problem.
for those who stay in kl, you can go to rohas perkasa building(near beach club jalan p ramlee).transocean,schlumberger and mi swaco office overthere.plese don't pm me coz i seldom stay online...currently i'm working in india in 4 week swing( means work for 4 week and off for 4 week)
hope this helps.
yeah come n join us.. me also work for oil n gas company... for ur info my qualification only diploma in electrical (control & instrument) but my income is rm10K per month... big salary... training also syyoik.. have to jump, swim heli escape hehehehe syoik.....

214 Pages « < 9 10 11 12 13 > » Top

0.0156sec    0.31    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 08:35 AM