Oil & Gas Career, place where grease monkeys gather

GaussSeidel
post Nov 18 2007, 12:39 PM

79 posts

QUOTE(Living_Cafe @ Nov 17 2007, 11:21 PM)
I am a Degree freshgrad without any experience.... and sad to say CGPA below 3.0..... Can i work offshore as well? or you guys think i shuold forget about joining this industry because my result way too bad? Anyone here can give me some advise please?

Added on November 18, 2007, 1:20 amHi hi....Is this topic closed?
wat course did u took? im also in the O&G field. but currently still studying. however starting this Dec i'll be starting my internship program and will be posted to Miri. smile.gif
GaussSeidel
post Nov 18 2007, 04:54 PM

79 posts

yup. that is true. luck also plays factor.. huhu.. but the most important is ur performance during the interview. alot of factors will be considered by them b4 taking u onboard..

juz try ur best. i think the 1st step is to submit ur resume to them. search online for their emails.. try ur luck mate..
GaussSeidel
post Dec 13 2007, 06:55 PM

79 posts

huhu. just finished my BOSET last wed. HUET is really challenging. btw my fee was rm 1198. CA1(A) course. anyone done their training in miri ?
GaussSeidel
post Dec 14 2007, 09:45 AM

79 posts

QUOTE(speedfamgirl @ Dec 13 2007, 08:17 PM)
yeah...next year for refresher course.

you jump from which level of the platform brows.gif ?
haha. which level? of course the top one. the 'old' guys jump from one level below. safety reasons i think. hehe. u r based in miri?

This post has been edited by GaussSeidel: Dec 14 2007, 10:07 AM
GaussSeidel
post Dec 14 2007, 07:09 PM

79 posts

QUOTE(speedfamgirl @ Dec 14 2007, 10:50 AM)
yakah? really ah? a bit scary owh...takes about few seconds to reach the water. sum more my position during that time is no good... tongue.gif sakit badan all over after that biggrin.gif

yes i am based in miri.
owh.. where's ur ofice? mine near the sko. how long will u stay here? maybe we can meet up sometime.. huhu.. quite boring here in miri. huhu
GaussSeidel
post Dec 14 2007, 08:46 PM

79 posts

QUOTE(speedfamgirl @ Dec 14 2007, 07:50 PM)
yalah...boring la me here. btw, im in kch right now tongue.gif
when offweek go straight back, only stay 1 night in miri before going back offshore.
next week i will go back to miri, no xmas leave. malas laa...mauk OT banyak2 beli cdj

i'm no office base....
waa.. cool.. i still can't go offshore yet. juz submitted my form for the passport last wed. dun know when can go. huhu.
u r stayin at which platform? hope to meet u some day.. tongue.gif
GaussSeidel
post Nov 8 2008, 02:31 PM

79 posts

QUOTE(sengwah @ Nov 8 2008, 12:08 PM)
yo...who are going to  "SOARING THE EAGLE (STE)" PETRONAS?
     Date         : 1-5 December 2008  (5 days)
    Venue : Ulu Langat, Selangor.
i tot dat is only for UTP Petronas scholars' students.

Correct me if i'm wrong.. sweat.gif

QUOTE(Faiza| @ Nov 7 2008, 08:17 PM)
offshore same as me. TLO-TL Offshore sdn. bhd. u can check their www @ http://www.sapuracrest.com.my/office_addresses.htm =)
BTW faizal, how long have u been in TLO?

This post has been edited by GaussSeidel: Nov 8 2008, 02:36 PM
GaussSeidel
post Nov 9 2008, 07:59 PM

79 posts

QUOTE(sengwah @ Nov 8 2008, 03:23 PM)
nt really...i m from usm! Petronas scholars too......
owh yeah. forgot that Petronas also sponsors student from other Uni.
btw u r in 1st year rite? the STE program for UTP students will start at the end of dis Dec.
that is what my junior told me.

QUOTE(mangoman @ Nov 8 2008, 08:08 PM)
Eh, they still use the same name? I attended that in ALAM, Melaka 3years ago, it is quite fun especially the sleeping session coz they teach u how to sleep properly. On music and we just sleepppppp. rclxms.gif
mine was 4 years ago n it was in Trg.
had a lot fun as we shared the same complex and doing the same activities as the PLKN students.
absailing was my fav!

QUOTE(Faiza| @ Nov 9 2008, 12:15 AM)
nope. i'm with TLGH =)
owh. u share the same level with TLO guys?
my future wife works in Acct Dept. she told me her floor got engineer from TLO.
dunno bout TLGH tho..

Added on November 9, 2008, 8:08 pm
QUOTE(zeliustitan @ Nov 9 2008, 03:40 PM)
As long you are Petronas scholar regardless which uni u r from, u will be asked to attend the workshop.... compulsary...

and only for petronas scholar smile.gif

don worry, it is not career workshop.. just motivation/orientation camp and do some activities... can say Petronas got too much allocations and nothing to do..
they are surely investing a lot in HR nowadays.
even the minimum GPA wud be 3.00 starting sometime next year or else ur scholar will be hold.

zeliustitan bro, never thinking to jump ship?
i'm wondering wat is the amount Petronas will offer to hire u according to ur level of experience rite now since they've adjusted the salary oredi.
hehe. brows.gif

This post has been edited by GaussSeidel: Nov 9 2008, 08:08 PM
GaussSeidel
post Nov 10 2008, 12:16 AM

79 posts

QUOTE(Faiza| @ Nov 9 2008, 11:56 PM)
nope. ground floor at sri kembangan main office. u can see it 1st before u enter the lift at ground floor =)
owh. i've been there. but only a few time.

Sapura is nice. but hard to park for visitors. sometimes even see ppl parking besides the highway!

i think management shud do something bout it..

Added on November 10, 2008, 12:25 am
QUOTE(sengwah @ Nov 10 2008, 12:12 AM)
ya..I am first year here in USM...
izzit real tat must 3.0 above.......i don1 scholar to get jam!!!
having 1st sem exam now....lk shit man....hornestly cry.gif
haha. no worries. as told by my junior starting July 09 ESU using 2.70 as standard. by 2010 it will increase to 3.0.

rite now still 2.50 if i'm not mistaken. but better safe than sorry. 1st year will not be that hard. u shud look at 3.5 and above.

score in your early years and study as smart as u can. smart =/ hard.

still can play2 around n njoying ur time there. brows.gif

This post has been edited by GaussSeidel: Nov 10 2008, 12:25 AM
GaussSeidel
post Nov 11 2008, 12:50 AM

79 posts

out of curiosity how long is the duration of ur internship?

from my observation many OnG companies seems to take interest taking guys who are having more than 5 months for the period of intern.
this wud make students from UTP n Poli having better chance to be employed.

on academic qualification wise it does not matter much, but surely it will become a basis for choosing the students.

i myself had the opportunity to go offshore in Miri while doing my internship previously. depends on luck tho. some students who attached to other project will not get that chance.

for your case i think better to go for option 1. BV is a great place to learn. nod.gif

Added on November 11, 2008, 12:56 am
QUOTE(zeliustitan @ Nov 10 2008, 10:59 PM)
i m still a freshie la.. Zero Technical and Experience.. Lol..

I din get the offer from PET. no Luck.. will try again next time..

Since the salary is adjusted, right now those who are PET scholar get below 3.00 in their final CGPA. automatically will not be called for interview and have high chance not to be employed by PET.. Lol..

eh must have been mistaken u with sumone else. hehe
sori bro.

anyway how bout other OnG company. got increase in starting salary for fresh grad lately?

This post has been edited by GaussSeidel: Nov 11 2008, 12:56 AM
GaussSeidel
post Nov 11 2008, 06:09 PM

79 posts

QUOTE(zeliustitan @ Nov 11 2008, 02:31 PM)
they changed the policy once the salary is revised... so graduating student this year end will be the first..
may i know from which source is this?

QUOTE(the1andtheonly1 @ Nov 11 2008, 05:24 PM)
interesting topic  rclxms.gif  biggrin.gif

is it true that person with color blind (or some call color deficient) can't join OnG no matter what?  hmm.gif
i think not. it depends on the evaluation by the panel examiners when u do ur 1st health test.
eventho u r color blind but if ur job does not require u to do anything involving color then it shud not be a problem.

dat is based on my exp tho. dunno if some oil company policy doesn't let color blind ppl to go there. sweat.gif

GaussSeidel
post Mar 5 2009, 12:23 AM

79 posts

QUOTE(mancy @ Mar 4 2009, 09:39 PM)
i choose no 1.
btw, no 2 is what company?
me too.. i wud choose option 1. given the opportunity to be based onshore with twice the salary is definitely a great offer.

n miri is a great place to stay oso. plenty of hot ciks around. drool.gif

btw crapster, how long have u been in the industry?
GaussSeidel
post Jan 13 2010, 01:54 AM

79 posts

QUOTE(pinkdalmation @ Jan 11 2010, 08:40 AM)
i thought if Petronas has no position for him he will automatically be released after 6 months or something like that ?

No position for freshie cos they offered scholarship to so many ppl mah .. then now need to cut cost . . .
they are released after 6 months but they also need to pay back according to pay structure decided by ESU of PETRONAS as it is actually a convertible loan.

yes the number of scholars are too many rite now while the opening for junior engineer is not that much. but that is definitely not the case for experienced engineers which they are currently looking in huge numbers in various position. nod.gif

0.0585sec    0.55    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 11:08 PM