Travel Bad Travel agencies & Complains , Including hotels & marketing ploys

TSjuichuan
post Jan 30 2008, 12:28 PM

LA-Little Angel
1,635 posts

QUOTE(sharkteef @ Jan 29 2008, 08:23 PM)
@juichuan - when was that pic taken wor ?
Lolz.. 2006?? look at the time of the post tongue.gif
SUSsharkteef
post Jan 30 2008, 02:17 PM

Not Godlike
2,504 posts

oi aunty, its 2008 la, Lang tengah damn clean liao since July 2007..... mebbe u were the early pioneers who went, but now is really clean .
TSjuichuan
post Jan 31 2008, 07:05 PM

LA-Little Angel
1,635 posts

QUOTE(sharkteef @ Jan 30 2008, 02:17 PM)
oi aunty, its 2008 la, Lang tengah damn clean liao since July 2007..... mebbe u were the early pioneers who went, but now is really clean .
great to hear that. i took that picture while trekking to the cliffs area. Its good that the island is clean now but perhaps my picture can serve a purpose of reminding people how it was back in 2006 and not to throw rubbish into the sea again smile.gif
darthbaboon
post Mar 28 2008, 05:27 PM

Dark Lord of the Sith
2,063 posts

Just wanted to share my bad experience with a particular "popular" Tour Agency in Klang Valley - M*yf*ow*r

During the recent MAS Cheap Tickets fare held in KL Convention Center, I went and enquired on a US East Coast Trip for end-March. The person in charge told me in front of his boss and another co-worker the followings :

I) Tour Fare is RM 6288 (no taxes, tips... etc) - They allow me one week to make up my mind and maintain fare for me.
II) If I wanna extend my stay, no extra charge for the ticket changes
III) The tour is a confirmed and good to go tour.

I went a week later to book and suddenly learnt that only 8 people book the tour at that time and the tour is not a confirmed tour. shakehead.gif my kakilang already 4 ppl. Need to wait till 2 weeks before departure to confirm that the tour can jalan.

Suddenly got a call from them saying that the fare they quoted me was wrong... was April's fare and not end-March.. They have to revise price to RM 6688 instead. I argued that the fare increment is unacceptable since they had already agreed in front of the boss to give me that fare. They promise to see what they can do.... then they submarine and no reply.

2 weeks before departure when time to make final payment they got some new clerk to phone me and say that the tour is cancelled. They offer alternate 2-to-go tour but when I ask specific questions regarding that package, they promise to come back to me but submarine again.

I finally got fedup and requested for refund. Yesterday when I drove all the way to collect the cheque, they got my name written wrongly... and now need another week to re-issue another cheque. Now I wonder how in the world can big companies get the cheque name wrong when they specifically took down my name in passport, booking receipt name was correct, and their payment voucher had like 4 - 5 people "check-approve" payment.

I can only conclude that :

I) They can promise you the sun, sky and moon and lowest fees AND guaranteed departure when all is actually BS
II) Staff nowadays don't know enough of the products that they are selling, and never get back to you even after promising to do so.
III) It's too common to drag payments using all the dirty little tricks in the book.
IV) If the service is already so BAD even without me following their tour... imagine the horror of horrors if I were to have actually gone through with the tour package.
V) They've managed to waste all my time with empty promises and dirty tricks.

Hope you guys will be more careful in the selection of tour agencies. We might pay a little more, but at least with no headaches.

TSjuichuan
post Mar 28 2008, 10:34 PM

LA-Little Angel
1,635 posts

usually travel agencies employ part timers (tour guides, freelancers, College students) to work in these fairs and it is possible that they give wrong information. But ethically if they are not sure they should consult the superior first. Like when i was working in Matta Fair, about 50 of us are part timers and 10 are full time staffs in the office.

This kinda situation shows that Malaysian travel agencies are not mature enough. plus government restriction for foreign own travel franchisers to enter malaysia, its hard to improve...
darthbaboon
post Mar 29 2008, 08:57 AM

Dark Lord of the Sith
2,063 posts

QUOTE(juichuan @ Mar 28 2008, 10:34 PM)
usually travel agencies employ part timers (tour guides, freelancers, College students) to work in these fairs and it is possible that they give wrong information. But ethically if they are not sure they should consult the superior first. Like when i was working in Matta Fair, about 50 of us are part timers and 10 are full time staffs in the office.

This kinda situation shows that Malaysian travel agencies are not mature enough. plus government restriction for foreign own travel franchisers to enter malaysia, its hard to improve...
Yeah I forgot to add on point 2 that they also wanted me to pay RM 150 to change my departure dates from the original No-cost.

And the staff that served me were all perma-staff.

Which makes it unexcusable. shakehead.gif
kimhoong
post May 28 2008, 01:15 PM

5,154 posts

General Suggestion
Can someone create a thread on "Trip Schedule" and have this pinned?

I am not creating it since I am not active in traveling.

Actually I'm in midst of organizing a small trip to Langkawi (and more in future) and it would great if there are some trip schedules around for reference. smile.gif
deal2go
post Jul 13 2008, 03:23 PM

whistling.gif huyooooo thumbup.gif
kanzakicyn
post Jul 20 2008, 11:00 PM

449 posts

COMPLAIN against S*m*rai, Tr*vel and T*ur, dep*narikbeach@gmail.com from LOWYAT.NET/forum

I was looking for travel agency with the cheepest price and best offer to redang, after screening thru numerous offer online, i found other alternative that suits my need more. This S*m pmed me asking if his quote suits me and i replied that it is too expensive. Then he replied me that with RM340 + accomodation + transport. Which is a very good deal. He asked me to get back to him asap, i replied that i need to discuss with committee member first.

Hai Cyn...

sorry iyaa RM400 its not the price i give to u for right choose,its only a budget.

I can offer you only RM340+Accommodation+Bus...This is nett price.Last offer!!
if you accept this offer ,please let me know. ASAP

Take care Cyn..

I asked a few question regarding the trip

The package including 2 Night accommodation with bathroom attached & hot shower
2 Breakfast 2 Lunch Tea Breaks 1 dinner 1 BBQ
Free flow of hot & cold beverage ( Exclude alcoholic and carbonated drinks)
3 snorkeling trips exclude equipment
2 way boat transfer from Merang Jetty - Resort - Merang Jetty

<< this is ur quote right? i have a few questions
1) RM340 per person and 4 person FOC is it? If more people can FOC more?
2) Does ur package include life jacket, travel insurance and marine park ticket?
3) your bus is what bus? 2+1 seater bus?
4) in our trip, can we have a tour leader? thank you
5) do u have junggle trackking?
6) the 3 snorkeling trip can we go to pulau perhentian and pulau lang tengah and redang too?
7) is ther any way we can insert baby tutle watching and shark watching inside?
8) is there a restaurant near the chalet?
9) how many people per room?

please answer my above questions, i know got alot, sorry >_< but this is my fist trip and i want to do it properly. Plus, i have a good quotation, which include the above for RM380... if u can give me this offer then i will 100% take it ^^

plus, can i have a scedule/itenery for the 3 days? thx u...
What dates are you coming here..??please confirm the date..ASAP becoz.i have call bus for the fix date.

i just sent your FAQ at gmail..
then i immediately informed my committeee member and opened a meeting with them, at the same time declining other offer as well.

after talking to my committee, he told me this

3) your bus is what bus? 2+1 seater bus?
Bus is 2+1 Seater  with Sani Ekspress Double Decker with 60 person maximum.

<< lets say at the event of last minute, i could not get 60 people, i get 50 people, it is still RM340 per person right?

Yes..its still RM340 per person but if fuel price will going up 1st August ,maybe the travel cost will also up around RM20.00.or more.its depends to the goverment when to  annouce. You have  to confirm how many of you is coming here and the fix date..If you dont ,its make a problem.

I called him up immediately

he said that unless i am able to confirm how many are going, the price may vary, i agree. So i then confirm the amount of people tat is going (within 5 minutes), he they answered me somethign like this "i dunno la, the fuel price going up so, i dunno what to do la, can u tell me what to so?"

first i was very fed up, ur the travel agent and u do not know how to fix a problem u made. U offer me a price then he wanted to change it. He said that "maybe on the day u go u might have to add rm20 more for each"

i asked "even if i confirm now i have to add rm20 each? U have a problem with bus company u can always sign agreement on the quotation. U go and get a black and white then sign agreeing to the price since we book early"

then he said the same thing "i dunno la cyn, i dunno what to do now, how ar u say? cuz they say thery are going to increase the price"

actually i was very very unhappy, at that point either he dun understand me or he was not listening, i repeated what i said in MALAY (since he is a malay)

and he said the same thing "i dunno la cyn, i very confuse now"

i asked him to confirm with the bus company. I told him i will ONLY agree on the price you offer me. You should have confirmed and checked the price before offering people

this was his reply

hai....

cyn....The bus management told me just one way trip from KL to Merang Jetty they will charge for RM2000.Before this they told me at RM1200 only on that reason i take your offer with RM340.00.

I so sorry becoz its my fault..i regret its.So i cannot continue anymore.

he chased me, ask me to confirm, then change price, wanting to force me to use the package he is giving out, waste my time and money, then have the guts to ask me to ask him questions in the future if i have any

honestly....i hate him

i dunno my post if overrated or over reacted, but i wud like to inform others who deal with him to be careful...

my trip of 120 people until now because of him have to redo. Waste so much time and money!!!!!!!!

i concluded that
1) he is very irresponsible and unclear what he wanted to do, all he want is to nab the customer first, talk later
2) one moment he call, then reply LYN then gmail, halfway answering LYN reply gmail then lyn....

This post has been edited by kanzakicyn: Jul 20 2008, 11:09 PM
Samurai
post Jul 22 2008, 03:14 PM

70 posts

QUOTE(kanzakicyn @ Jul 20 2008, 11:00 PM)
COMPLAIN against S*m*rai, Tr*vel and T*ur, dep*narikbeach@gmail.com from LOWYAT.NET/forum
I was looking for travel agency with the cheepest price and best offer to redang, after screening thru numerous offer online, i found other alternative that suits my need more. This S*m pmed me asking if his quote suits me and i replied that it is too expensive. Then he replied me that with RM340 + accomodation + transport. Which is a very good deal. He asked me to get back to him asap, i replied that i need to discuss with committee member first.
then i immediately informed my committeee member and opened a meeting with them, at the same time declining other offer as well.

he said that unless i am able to confirm how many are going, the price may vary, i agree. So i then confirm the amount of people tat is going (within 5 minutes), he they answered me somethign like this "i dunno la, the fuel price going up so, i dunno what to do la, can u tell me what to so?"

first i was very fed up, ur the travel agent and u do not know how to fix a problem u made. U offer me a price then he wanted to change it. He said that "maybe on the day u go u might have to add rm20 more for each"

i asked "even if i confirm now i have to add rm20 each? U have a problem with bus company u can always sign agreement on the quotation. U go and get a black and white then sign agreeing to the price since we book early"

then he said the same thing "i dunno la cyn, i dunno what to do now, how ar u say? cuz they say thery are going to increase the price"

actually i was very very unhappy, at that point either he dun understand me or he was not listening, i repeated what i said in MALAY (since he is a malay)

i asked him to confirm with the bus company. I told him i will ONLY agree on the price you offer me. You should have confirmed and checked the price before offering people

this was his reply
he chased me, ask me to confirm, then change price, wanting to force me to use the package he is giving out, waste my time and money, then have the guts to ask me to ask him questions in the future if i have any

honestly....i hate him
i dunno my post if overrated or over reacted, but i wud like to inform others who deal with him to be careful...

my trip of 120 people until now because of him have to redo. Waste so much time and money!!!!!!!!

i concluded that
1) he is very irresponsible and unclear what he wanted to do, all he want is to nab the customer first, talk later
2) one moment he call, then reply LYN then gmail, halfway answering LYN reply gmail then lyn....
Thank you very much for complaint.I very regret its and try to fix my service for future. smile.gif

Added on July 29, 2008, 8:18 am
QUOTE(kanzakicyn @ Jul 20 2008, 11:00 PM)

this was his reply

honestly....i hate him

i concluded that
120 Persons...??? its not true...you asking only 95 persons only 80 for student 13 for Chair Comitte and 2 lecturer and you redo to 60 person only....

Yess you waste so much time and money because you dont know when you coming and how many of you.?This is a basic management as student .Its make me difficulties to book the dates when you coming.

If i irresponsible .i will not reply this.To Gentleman laa

Why should i nab the customer..? I make a business is Long term not shot term.I try my best service for customer.Maybe some error doing the jobs,Human is not perfect .

I gain lots experince dealing with you.To teach me how to be good in servis to the customer and try to minimum error and risky.

RATES PER COACH/VAN PER WAY ONLY (RM)
KUALA LUMPUR (s - seats)

38-40s

27s SuperVIP

10-12s Van

1-3s Limo

From Kuala Lumpur City to :

KLIA

Subang Airport

Hotel Transfer (within KL)

Kuala Lumpur Central Station

From Kuala Lumpur City to :

Seremban

Port Dickson

Melaka

Mersing

Johor Bahru

Singapore

-

-
Ipoh

Cameron Highland

Lumut

Penang

Kuala Perlis

Genting Skyway

Bukit Tinggi

Jerantut (Kuala Tembeling)

Kuala Tahan

Kuantan / Cherating

Kuala Terengganu

Kota Bharu

Note: Pick up from KLIA additional surcharge RM 50.00 per way.

Daily Rental

3 days (rental per day)

2 days (rental per day)

Sightseeing

Half day tour/usage (within KL) (4hours)

Fullday tour/usage (within KL) (8 hours)

Full day Putrajaya Tour (8 hours)

http://www.pinganchorage.com.my/coach_van_kuala_lumpur.htm

Added on July 30, 2008, 9:04 am
Government says yes to bus fare hike

PUTRAJAYA: The Government has agreed to increase stage and express bus fares but has not decided on the quantum.

Entrepreneur and Cooperative Development Minister Datuk Noh Omar said the new fares would be announced before Hari Raya in October.

http://thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=...2174&sec=nation

This post has been edited by Samurai: Jul 30 2008, 09:04 AM
mysattv
post Aug 19 2008, 03:37 PM

20 posts

whats a dispute. Usually what we practised is we need black and white, either email or fax for the proper quote to avoid miscommunication in which may cost you thousand of money.
TSjuichuan
post Aug 20 2008, 10:05 PM

LA-Little Angel
1,635 posts

yeah i second that.. everything based on black and white..
wufei
post Oct 10 2008, 06:20 PM

3,039 posts

Where can I complain about KL LIMO?

Stupid counter so hard to get them

Being calling 9223 8080 the whole afternoon and no one pick up the phone

Another streamyx customer service

Boycott them!!!!!!
supadupa
post Oct 23 2008, 03:05 PM

beer beer !!!
839 posts

can the tour agency do that? told the trip is fixed then later postponed cos they say alot ppl sign up then no $ to pay... is this our prob?

lousy agent cos leave all applied now sangkut big time

go holiday is hepi hepi 1...now face this kind of thing really vmad.gif

any1 face this kind of prob b4?

This post has been edited by supadupa: Oct 23 2008, 03:37 PM
barca
post Nov 17 2008, 11:54 AM

535 posts

I wanna make a complain on the Hwajing Travel & Tour SDN BHD

I purchase 2 travel ticket from them that going to Bali,Bangkok and Shanghai for RM599 each(excluding air ticket)

When i get a call to the company and give them a date that when im going for the trip,the ladies told me that i need to add another RM110 for each person if going to Shanghai for the tour agent tips.Is that really have to pay?Somemore go to Bali and Bangkok is free and easy trip but need to pay another RM65 for each person and trip?Free and easy also need pay for it??Pls give some opinion,thanks.
Putraskyline
post Nov 17 2008, 08:23 PM

Non-Regular
1,269 posts

QUOTE(barca @ Nov 17 2008, 11:54 AM)
I wanna make a complain on the Hwajing Travel & Tour SDN BHD

I purchase 2 travel ticket from them that going to Bali,Bangkok and Shanghai for RM599 each(excluding air ticket)

When i get a call to the company and give them a date that when im going for the trip,the ladies told me that i need to add another RM110 for each person if going to Shanghai for the tour agent tips.Is that really have to pay?Somemore go to Bali and Bangkok is free and easy trip but need to pay another RM65 for each person and trip?Free and easy also need pay for it??Pls give some opinion,thanks.
This is Dtakenny promotion tour right? From earlier, I smell something fishy.
barca
post Nov 18 2008, 10:14 AM

535 posts

QUOTE(Putraskyline @ Nov 17 2008, 08:23 PM)
This is Dtakenny promotion tour right? From earlier, I smell something fishy.
hahaha...that is true....
Putraskyline
post Nov 18 2008, 10:53 AM

Non-Regular
1,269 posts

QUOTE(barca @ Nov 18 2008, 10:14 AM)
hahaha...that is true....
Solution is report to the staff about this company and the user. Maybe you can save another LYN from this incident.
jhteh
post Jan 12 2009, 05:52 PM

45 posts

hi all,

Anyone got ideas how to check reliability of a travel agency...

or anyone heard about this travel agency Priority Guest(M) Sdn Bhd.

recently i join their membership and get a Priority priviledge card at Giant Kelana Jaya
they said i can get 50% discount of all the hotel in malaysia.
and also can get promotion prices of air ticket.

it let me feel wired......
i just worry i get into travel scam because last time there are a lot of scam and very popular in malaysia....

TSjuichuan
post Jan 12 2009, 06:02 PM

LA-Little Angel
1,635 posts

these are timeshare/vacation club. not considered travel agency... unless u travel a lot, then it is worth it

19 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0174sec    0.47    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 03:30 PM