64 Pages « < 43 44 45 46 47 > » Bottom

The best cinema hall in Malaysia!

Katharsis
post May 27 2024, 10:29 PM

QUOTE(subaiku @ May 25 2024, 10:34 PM)
Eh how do you book the BIG cinema? Checked gsc’s site and it only says 2D? Is that BIG by default?
Furiosa has a limited run in Big halls in GSC. The Big halls in Klang Valley are mostly airing The Experts (Malay moviein MyTown) and Twilight of The Warriors (Cantonese movie in Tropicana Gardens), Lalaport seems to be airing a combination of those 2 in its Big hall. The only mall airing Furiosa has 1 time slot only and it's at Starling (the best Big hall in KV. Largest screen with revamped, powerful speakers).

If you want a very large screen and/or strong audio for the movie but can't justify the visit to Starling at that 1 time slot, consider IMAX Laser with 12 channel audio or Dolby Atmos halls. DA halls with large screens that aren't BIG are Maxx halls in IOI City Mall (though not recommended as the projector projects a very weak and low res image. Audio is awesome though) or ONYX in Tropicana Gardens (Best image quality of all screens as the screen is essentially OLED. The DA audio requires a re-visit from me to assess but it's still DA).

Maybe this Thursday onwards may have more Big slots for Furiosa at GSC. One of the best films of the year which is unfortunately not doing well in the global box office :/.

*Edit There's also a Big hall in Atria Shopping Gallery but operated by MBO. Looks like they have plenty of slots available in that hall and the ticket prices look pretty good. Judging from some footage and images I can find online, the screen looks like it's slightly bigger than Tropicana Gardens, but smaller than Starling.

Business tidbit: Big was originally introduced in Malaysia by MBO, but because of the pandemic, MBO sold majority of their assets to GSC, hence GSC has that tech too (Starling and Tropicana Gardens' cinema chains were originally MBO's, but now rebranded to GSC cause of the buyout). MBO was able to rebound but on a smaller scale now.

This post has been edited by Katharsis: May 27 2024, 10:45 PM
skylinelover
post May 29 2024, 10:52 AM

Future Crypto Player😄👊Driver Abamsado😎😎
11,245 posts

Haha. 2024 is the worst summer ever in history. There wont be a $ 1 billion hit in 2024 surely. Hoho.
nottherealme
post May 30 2024, 02:52 PM

61 posts

Hi, wanna ask anyone tried velvet cinema? What do you think of it?
skylinelover
post May 31 2024, 09:40 AM

11,245 posts

QUOTE(nottherealme @ May 30 2024, 02:52 PM)
Literally theatre with fine dining

If you think you are T20 with very deep pockets no harm going there haha
megakeygen_zero
post Jun 2 2024, 08:56 AM

470 posts

watched Furiosa in IMAX @ Sunway Velocity

the CGI is even more glaring compared to Fury Road, and the pacing for the earlier parts is weird. But I can forgive that.

skylinelover
post Jun 2 2024, 08:58 PM

11,245 posts

QUOTE(megakeygen_zero @ Jun 2 2024, 08:56 AM)
watched Furiosa in IMAX @ Sunway Velocity

the CGI is even more glaring compared to Fury Road, and the pacing for the earlier parts is weird. But I can forgive that.
GM purposely go low because its prequel after all laugh.gif Real GM is when Fury Road sequel is on laugh.gif

This post has been edited by skylinelover: Jun 2 2024, 08:59 PM
megakeygen_zero
post Jun 2 2024, 09:07 PM

470 posts

QUOTE(skylinelover @ Jun 2 2024, 08:58 PM)
GM purposely go low because its prequel after all laugh.gif Real GM is when Fury Road sequel is on laugh.gif
I do hope the Fury Road sequel will be made. GM is old old now, and Furiosa's box office is underwhelming...
skylinelover
post Jun 3 2024, 12:12 PM

11,245 posts

QUOTE(megakeygen_zero @ Jun 2 2024, 09:07 PM)
I do hope the Fury Road sequel will be made. GM is old old now, and Furiosa's box office is underwhelming...
Haha I guess its gonna be Dead and Wolf 2 boost that box office laugh.gif

What will be out in June also is small releases laugh.gif
khainiz94
post Jun 4 2024, 08:40 PM

2,856 posts

QUOTE(nottherealme @ May 30 2024, 02:52 PM)
A place with fine dining experience.
But the seat is trash.
So uncomfortable.
It is literally a sofa but smaller.

Better spend that money on Aurum Theatre or GSC Premiere seat rather than this Velvet seat.
skylinelover
post Jun 6 2024, 10:42 AM

11,245 posts

QUOTE(khainiz94 @ Jun 4 2024, 08:40 PM)
A place with fine dining experience.
But the seat is trash.
So uncomfortable.
It is literally a sofa but smaller.

Better spend that money on Aurum Theatre or GSC Premiere seat rather than this Velvet seat.
Biar betul buruk sangat? laugh.gif

Sien. Thought today got Bad Boys 4 ride and die. doh.gif

Mana tau its next week. rclxub.gif

Possibly the last ever 90s action franchise that is still relevant today.

I am not hoping it will beat 2020 numbers but i hope they can at least earn reasonable numbers worldwide. rclxms.gif

Adil & Bilal is Muslim and one of the brightest Muslim directors ever to break in commercially. rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by skylinelover: Jun 6 2024, 10:44 AM
khainiz94
post Jun 6 2024, 08:46 PM

2,856 posts

QUOTE(skylinelover @ Jun 6 2024, 10:42 AM)
Biar betul buruk sangat? laugh.gif

Sien. Thought today got Bad Boys 4 ride and die. doh.gif

Mana tau its next week. rclxub.gif

Possibly the last ever 90s action franchise that is still relevant today.

I am not hoping it will beat 2020 numbers, but i hope they can at least earn reasonable numbers worldwide. rclxms.gif

Adil & Bilal is Muslim and one of the brightest Muslim directors ever to break in commercially. rclxms.gif
Nah, literally a sofa at home, tapi so sempit.
I wonder what they are thinking when they are creating this movie hall.

That one sofa fits two people.

That movie gonna fight Inside Out 2, I wonder who gonna win this time?
Plus, with all the marketing with Inside Out 2, macam boleh crush Bad Boys je.

This post has been edited by khainiz94: Jun 6 2024, 08:46 PM

skylinelover
post Jun 7 2024, 08:40 AM

11,245 posts

QUOTE(khainiz94 @ Jun 6 2024, 08:46 PM)

Haha we shall see

Hopefully it can match the collections of 2019 summer laugh.gif icon_idea.gif

We also need Pixar resurrection now since they are off the theatres for months

Same with Marvel reset with dead & wolf later next month laugh.gif rclxms.gif
Katharsis
post Jun 10 2024, 08:07 PM

QUOTE(khainiz94 @ Jun 6 2024, 08:46 PM)

Well... https://www.hollywoodreporter.com/movies/mo...ory-1235918123/

Opening weekend $105 million with a $100m budget. Seems it is doing very well. I would say Inside Out 2 got tougher challenge since Pixar magic very weak now, not many are interested. Maybe Inside Out 2 could change that but we'll have to see.

In terms of cinema hall choices for these 2 films in Malaysia, Bad Boys 4 in wide-scope only and 6-track for IMAX. It's Dolby Atmos mix, so recommended halls are Big DA imo.

Inside Out 2 has 1.9:1 scenes but don't think it's IMAX exclusive, so should benefit other hall types. It's 12-track and Dolby mixed as well. So either halls should be a good time. - false
Edit: 13/06/24

I just watched Inside Out 2 in IMAX and it doesn't have 1.9:1 scenes. Fully 2.39:1. IMDB info of its aspect ratio is wrong. Audio-wise, It does utilize the 12 speakers but not by much. You'll probably won't notice it even if you're in a normal hall.

Overall, unless you want a large screen with great image quality, go for Big DA instead lol. Save yourself and your kids a few bucks. Onyx would be a blast for this film since its animation is very fun, creative and colorful. The colours and contrast will pop more there.

Sidenote: Pixar really showed out and returned to form with this film. I don't think it's as good as the first one (haven't re-watch that in a long while) but, this film has some moments where it's very cringe and embarrassing to watch. Ya, it's portraying a relatable yet embarrassing experience of growing up, so it's supposed to invoke that feeling of cringe, but maybe Pixar could have maneuver the writing better to make these scenes more tolerable and less cliche (maybe this speaks more about my own insecurities...hmmm see? A positive can be seen here with the metaness of the film's themes xd).

Overall, fantastic film. If you're a big Pixar fan and one who enjoys great slice of life themes, well then Pixar is that and back with this film in great form.

This post has been edited by Katharsis: Jun 13 2024, 06:04 PM
khainiz94
post Jun 14 2024, 10:13 AM

2,856 posts

QUOTE(Katharsis @ Jun 10 2024, 08:07 PM)
Well... https://www.hollywoodreporter.com/movies/mo...ory-1235918123/

Opening weekend $105 million with a $100m budget. Seems it is doing very well. I would say Inside Out 2 got tougher challenge since Pixar magic very weak now, not many are interested. Maybe Inside Out 2 could change that but we'll have to see.

In terms of cinema hall choices for these 2 films in Malaysia, Bad Boys 4 in wide-scope only and 6-track for IMAX. It's Dolby Atmos mix, so recommended halls are Big DA imo.

Inside Out 2 has 1.9:1 scenes but don't think it's IMAX exclusive, so should benefit other hall types. It's 12-track and Dolby mixed as well. So either halls should be a good time. - false
Edit: 13/06/24

I just watched Inside Out 2 in IMAX and it doesn't have 1.9:1 scenes. Fully 2.39:1. IMDB info of its aspect ratio is wrong. Audio-wise, It does utilize the 12 speakers but not by much. You'll probably won't notice it even if you're in a normal hall.

Overall, unless you want a large screen with great image quality, go for Big DA instead lol. Save yourself and your kids a few bucks. Onyx would be a blast for this film since its animation is very fun, creative and colorful. The colours and contrast will pop more there.

Sidenote: Pixar really showed out and returned to form with this film. I don't think it's as good as the first one (haven't re-watch that in a long while) but, this film has some moments where it's very cringe and embarrassing to watch. Ya, it's portraying a relatable yet embarrassing experience of growing up, so it's supposed to invoke that feeling of cringe, but maybe Pixar could have maneuver the writing better to make these scenes more tolerable and less cliche (maybe this speaks more about my own insecurities...hmmm see? A positive can be seen here with the metaness of the film's themes xd).

Overall, fantastic film. If you're a big Pixar fan and one who enjoys great slice of life themes, well then Pixar is that and back with this film in great form.
I have watched Bad Boys yesterday at GSC Premiere Plus hall and yep, they really optimised for Dolby speakers.
Even at that small hall, but the sound is impressive for a Dolby Audio hall.

The action sound is just so satisfying.

Next, I watch Inside Out 2 at GSC BIG Lalaport BBCC, and damn the sound is so lacklustre.
Dunno why.
But the storyline does not have a big impact like the first movie, the ending is kinda abrupt but overall I love how they take all those emotions and make me feel like I also having the issues somehow.
Finally, Pixar is coming back to it's form after a bit disappointing three movies they release previously.
Especially Turning Red, that was weird.
😅😅😅
skylinelover
post Jun 14 2024, 04:00 PM

11,245 posts

Pixar is slowly resurrecting

I dont expect a frozen quality where the 2nd is better than 1st

Inside out 2 albeit not like the first still an entertainment tear jerk cry.gif cry.gif

BB 4 (not 4 life) laugh.gif laugh.gif more syok if you buy 1 big pop corn in😋😋😋😋
khainiz94
post Jun 17 2024, 10:30 PM

2,856 posts

Well, I can say Pixar is back!
But in a sequel format. 🤣🤣🤣

I really hope they will create a high impact new IP after the success of Inside Out 2.

skylinelover
post Jun 18 2024, 08:44 AM

11,245 posts

QUOTE(khainiz94 @ Jun 17 2024, 10:30 PM)
Well, I can say Pixar is back!
But in a sequel format. 🤣🤣🤣

I really hope they will create a high impact new IP after the success of Inside Out 2.
Slowly but surely

Hope Marvel also clense full reset next month laugh.gif rclxm9.gif

As much as i like LJJ from the squid game but the acolyte still sucks balls sadly rclxub.gif shakehead.gif

Doubt there will be season 2 for sure hahahaha
khainiz94
post Jun 18 2024, 01:40 PM

2,856 posts

QUOTE(skylinelover @ Jun 18 2024, 08:44 AM)
Slowly but surely

Hope Marvel also clense full reset next month laugh.gif rclxm9.gif

As much as i like LJJ from the squid game but the acolyte still sucks balls sadly rclxub.gif shakehead.gif

Doubt there will be season 2 for sure hahahaha
Maybe after Iger back to become Disney CEO, he cleaned all the woke stuff from every movie lineup.
Good job, Iger.
I knew I can put a trust on you.
🤣🤣🤣

And yeah I hope the full Marvel reset this time will be good like Pixar comeback.
skylinelover
post Jun 21 2024, 10:06 AM

11,245 posts

Any idea Quiet Place Day 1 got IMAX or not laugh.gif icon_idea.gif
megakeygen_zero
post Jun 21 2024, 07:03 PM

470 posts

TGV Tebrau reopened but still xenon IMAX? Anyone can confirm

64 Pages « < 43 44 45 46 47 > » Top