25 Pages « < 15 16 17 18 19 > » Bottom

Primitive Fish V2, Fish that survived Milleniums

antzz
post Aug 7 2013, 10:12 AM

115 posts

QUOTE(genielee_83 @ Aug 6 2013, 09:38 PM)
My little Oscar
Keeping it alone?
antzz
post Aug 16 2013, 09:45 PM

115 posts

QUOTE(genielee_83 @ Aug 16 2013, 02:43 PM)
Poor soul. My husband just said this morning:" The more you learnt bout a certain topic, the more determined you get to buy one."
Last time is aquascaping, then birchirs, now actually searching for fierce arowana ( maybe pearl).
Pearlies price getting cheap now. U can go for big size rightaway. Expect wild attitude fish, it may not be calm as other MG aroawanas breed.

Just finished moving my 5' aquarium today. Feeling very tired, trying multiple choices of filtration somemore.

I dont like that sump filter made so much noise, cuz now tank is situated in living room. So i changed to cannister, to realize that the hose set couldnt fit the tank's size (i used it for another tank before). Finally i resorted to top filter, with only 11 watt powerhead.
Now my aquarium very very quiet, but the water circulation is also weak, quite. Later will make further adjustments. Extra time needed.

Will upload pics later, as now still waiting for stronger internet connection. Streamyx installation due on sunday.
antzz
post Aug 16 2013, 10:48 PM

115 posts

QUOTE(awansakti @ Aug 16 2013, 10:21 PM)
Awesome. Straightaway put in fish or let tank cycle for weeks?
I just wait for 6-7 hours, then put fish rightaway. Dont have the heart to let them suffer any longer in plastic container.

All of them, Aragorn, Franky & ornate doing well. Even a goldy which acted as test unit survives till now. Still havent start feeding anyway. Wait till tomorrow.

Moving a 5 footer is a really painful experience. Now i had it twice, just as painful as 1st experience.

Still have turtle tank to bring in. I plan to place that outside in the backyard. Hope everything goes well.. sweat.gif

This post has been edited by antzz: Aug 16 2013, 10:49 PM
antzz
post Aug 16 2013, 11:36 PM

115 posts

QUOTE(awansakti @ Aug 16 2013, 11:01 PM)
happy to hear that.also, u make it sound as if its realllly bad to move 5footer..

..and I'm planning to get a 6footer later ߘ̊
Nahh.. we dont move places every month or year. Just when we have to move, its very tiring.

But u can always hire skilled manpower, many lfs in klang valley have that service. And they usually experienced enuf so u can just rely on them. Here in my place things are quite different.

Me too i always think that a 6 footer is a better choice, with metal stand for better mobility. But nothing beats wood cabinet in term of value & looks. If i plan to place my tank outdoor, metal stand is quite ok, i think. But have to be under shade to prevent algae. A lot easier to work on ur tank outdoor kan.. x perlu nak risau psl karpet n all.
antzz
post Aug 17 2013, 03:21 PM

115 posts

QUOTE(genielee_83 @ Aug 17 2013, 12:38 PM)
is there such thing as beautiful pearl?
I want pearl worth viewing. Cant say long term commitment since i like new stuff.  brows.gif
Beauty is in the eye of beholder. For me yes, pearlies also beautiful.
antzz
post Aug 19 2013, 03:15 PM

115 posts

Now for sharing.

This post has been edited by antzz: Aug 20 2013, 08:27 AM
antzz
post Aug 20 2013, 08:25 AM

115 posts

QUOTE(genielee_83 @ Aug 19 2013, 06:03 PM)
endlicheri? They are fast growers。
Mine WAS big.
How big was urs? Did he end up being sold off? The problem with endlies is that theyre too passive, ppl easily get bored with.

QUOTE(awansakti @ Aug 19 2013, 08:53 PM)
Gemokkk haha. Nice big endli with strong markings. Bichirs are one of the species you'd love to keep n grow it out to the max throughout years...
That day the colour and markings had faded a lot, maybe because from the transfer stress. Now gradually getting back to normal.
antzz
post Aug 22 2013, 08:48 PM

115 posts

So quiet nowadays..

Just finished setting up Fly's tank in the backyard. Still not done the finishing touch thou, but he's doing great by far, thats more important for now.

Uploaded some pics here : https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...620&p=62670634&
antzz
post Aug 23 2013, 12:08 AM

115 posts

QUOTE(awansakti @ Aug 22 2013, 09:54 PM)
He's looking healthy and well fed. Wonder how he reacts to direct sunlight. Do they actually bask in it?

Once i sell my bichirs, i think I'm gonna take my pearl and restart cichlids keeping. Leaving behind silver aro in my dad's place cause they like it.
Thanks. I think he likes the sunlight, as its not very hot in the evening. The tank is under shelter, only after 5 pm the sunlight touches the tank area, but still, indirectly. So it seems just great for them.

Cichlids can be great fun too. Reserved for future projects, i still have empty tanks brows.gif
antzz
post Sep 10 2013, 10:28 PM

115 posts

QUOTE(BenSow @ Sep 7 2013, 01:18 PM)
Sup guys! great to see this thread still alive and striving! biggrin.gif A lot has happened since I opened this thread, I haven't lost interest in keeping fish yet, just don't have the time or money to get more fishes :/

Here today cause I need recommendation, my oscar loves nibbling on my powerhead wires, I lost like 3 so far to him, RM40 each for 1200L/h ._____. So I'm thinking of getting an external filter, mind recommending one that does at least 1000L/h?
Hey Ben, great to have u posting again. I lost few of powerhead pumps as well, to my turtle. U may go for cannister filter bro.

QUOTE(genielee_83 @ Sep 9 2013, 09:43 AM)
CTY (penang) is selling Siamese Tigers for rm228 only.
They're really big. Go grab them!
Hi genie, pls update us with ur tanks, last time i heard u wanna get an arowana rite?
antzz
post Sep 13 2013, 11:00 PM

115 posts

So quiet now.. sweat.gif Me too i havent done anything to improve my tank actually, but i'm posting current pics anyway :

antzz
post Sep 17 2013, 06:32 PM

115 posts

QUOTE(beer8bottles @ Sep 17 2013, 03:20 PM)
It's been a while since I posted anything here.
Let's add some pictures to keep things interesting.
The tank one year ago.
Thanks for sharing. The pics ignited some spark inside me, but sadly i dont hv much leisure time for now, sadly sadly sadly
antzz
post Sep 17 2013, 07:06 PM

115 posts

QUOTE(aimank_88 @ Sep 17 2013, 07:04 PM)
Hows the driftwood ? Lol.

You've only set it up last week?
U still have another in stock? Barang baik kongsi2 la bro.. tongue.gif
antzz
post Sep 17 2013, 08:27 PM

115 posts

QUOTE(aimank_88 @ Sep 17 2013, 07:18 PM)
Haha nope xde dah. Last time buang/giveaway semua brg2 yang bazir membeli. tongue.gif

Now just settling down with a 4 ft and 2 ft.  biggrin.gif
Alamak rugi rugi.. next time dont forget me lah.. kenangi daku dalam doamu LOL tongue.gif
antzz
post Sep 18 2013, 10:02 AM

115 posts

QUOTE(aimank_88 @ Sep 17 2013, 09:15 PM)
Hahha. I want to give away Tilapia. U want? Lol
No lah, got no more room for new fish. But decorations can fit well even in garden, and can use them anytime when running new project/ tanks.

Beer8bottles, ur aquarium 8' in size, rite? U place it outdoor, any UV staffs in operation? How do u preserve the wood cabinet from the weather? Sorry i'm asking too much, been thinking of moving my aquarium outdoor as well, but have to consider things.
antzz
post Sep 19 2013, 10:08 PM

115 posts

QUOTE(beer8bottles @ Sep 18 2013, 11:51 PM)
Cant wait till u show them all. I'll be waiting, anything shared would be much appreciated.

QUOTE(awansakti @ Sep 19 2013, 09:25 PM)
Wah so long never visit. New updates already. I think now becoming busy like antzz, kesian my fish. S>bichirs lelong cheap2 haha
Hey long time no see u lah. What happens to ur cichlids? Anything to share? I'm getting itchy to fill up another tank for cichlid, but hv to hold myself, considering my limited time now. But u know i cant hold it forever, finally the wall of defense will crumble LOL
antzz
post Sep 20 2013, 05:41 PM

115 posts

QUOTE(genielee_83 @ Sep 20 2013, 04:15 PM)
lelong lelong my birchirs!!
I dont trust u with money and time, starting another project rite? brows.gif
antzz
post Sep 20 2013, 08:45 PM

115 posts

QUOTE(genielee_83 @ Sep 20 2013, 05:57 PM)
lelong first. then can start another project.
what should i keep?
Maybe oscars this time? Theyre easy to comm with other fishes, and also quite a sports fish to play with.

antzz
post Sep 20 2013, 08:55 PM

115 posts

QUOTE(aimank_88 @ Sep 20 2013, 08:47 PM)
I assume thats bcoz u want to let go of ur oscar??  tongue.gif
Hehe.. no lah.. not treacherous as u lar tongue.gif
antzz
post Sep 20 2013, 09:21 PM

115 posts

QUOTE(aimank_88 @ Sep 20 2013, 09:03 PM)
Hehe. Me, treachorous? Im always a safety first guy. tongue.gif

Eh btw, does ur oscar have hole in the head? How to prevent ah?
I dont have oscars now, but i used to hv them during childhood. Or the question was indeed.. a trap? Not really a good try then LOL

25 Pages « < 15 16 17 18 19 > » Top

0.0656sec    0.68    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 11:20 AM