iPhone 5 or Galaxy Note 2

Netto Hikari
post Nov 9 2012, 08:32 AM

Solution Architect?
2,410 posts

QUOTE(KuLi @ Nov 8 2012, 07:23 AM)
So far, note 2 I got is doing fine. Really, ppl shld not compare it wt ip5 unless they are dumb.
One is a tabhone while the other is a smartphone.

Big screen is good can se many thgs but not really easy to handle.
Must really use 2 hands.
im using an android tablet, wont that be much more enough to compare?

QUOTE(ramz @ Nov 8 2012, 07:28 AM)
Android had its crappy years. 2009 when moto was launch was quite a crappy year for android. As for Sony, no comments but there are really out of the tablet and smartphone race, even back in 2011 . In 2012 the only android device u should rely on is samsung and anything with nexus on it. Some people tried android in the early years and got a bad experience and never looked at android again. I suggest u should.

This message btw doesn't undermine apple in any way. I don't know why I should write the disclaimer but judging how fierce the people here can be I think I should
i did try android again as in STS but it fail me miserably, might check again after i sent in for warranty as i think the upgrade from honeycomb to ICS screw up my STS.

QUOTE(benny888 @ Nov 8 2012, 07:35 AM)
I guaranteed you will change your mind if you try to use the note2
Those you mentioned are just poor android phones
Android had improved tremendously especially in last one year
sorry bro, but im anti-samsung. crappy service and quality check on their devices. i even have to send email to samsung to threaten make them do something about my samsung galaxy w or else its gonna be either in newspaper or in consumer rights tribunal. n i had 3 samsung devices DOA on the spot in the shop (its samsung elite partner, not those crappy shop that sell AP), speaking of luck mad.gif mad.gif

This post has been edited by Netto Hikari: Nov 9 2012, 08:35 AM
firdausbhari
post Nov 9 2012, 11:11 AM

2,281 posts

My note2 so far doesnt failed me. But logically for fast multitask purpose I would recommend iPhone 5. Solid built quality.
c010
post Nov 9 2012, 11:25 AM

281 posts

QUOTE(firdausbhari @ Nov 9 2012, 11:11 AM)
My note2 so far doesnt failed me. But logically for fast multitask purpose I would recommend iPhone 5. Solid built quality.
i think most of us here do not understand the definition of multitask. reason why iOS is fast and smooth because it is not a pure multi tasking os, it is "save state". meaning it will take a snapshot of the app you were running and save the state, then resume when you run it again whereas android is pure multitasking because it keep the app in memory and when it reaches the memory threshold, it will release/kill the first app that you loaded.

take another scenario, try running a cctv app on iphone, then go out and come back again, see whether the cctv app is still connected to your home/office cctv or not. if not mistaken, you have to re-establish the connection. this will not happen to android, when you want to make a call or do something else, move out of the cctv app screen and come back, the connection is still there. correct me if i am wrong.
jehqiphone
post Nov 9 2012, 11:43 AM

Trusted Seller ✔
1,184 posts

QUOTE(c010 @ Nov 9 2012, 11:25 AM)
i think most of us here do not understand the definition of multitask. reason why iOS is fast and smooth because it is nnow not a pure multi tasking os, it is "save state". meaning it will take a snapshot of the app you were running and save the state, then resume when you run it again whereas android is pure multitasking because it keep the app in memory and when it reaches the memory threshold, it will release/kill the first app that you loaded.

take another scenario, try running a cctv app on iphone, then go out and come back again, see whether the cctv app is still connected to your home/office cctv or not. if not mistaken, you have to re-establish the connection. this will not happen to android, when you want to make a call or do something else, move out of the cctv app screen and come back, the connection is still there. correct me if i am wrong.
Both os also using memory when u keep ur apps running in background. .js ios running more smoothly. .but for note 2 is running more smoothly since note 2 now its upgrading to 2gb ram ..js my opinion
adrian23
post Nov 9 2012, 11:59 AM

694 posts

QUOTE(c010 @ Nov 9 2012, 11:25 AM)
i think most of us here do not understand the definition of multitask. reason why iOS is fast and smooth because it is not a pure multi tasking os, it is "save state". meaning it will take a snapshot of the app you were running and save the state, then resume when you run it again whereas android is pure multitasking because it keep the app in memory and when it reaches the memory threshold, it will release/kill the first app that you loaded.

agree to ur definition....

i love apple but i love the features/size of note 2...

how good if note 2 are from apple....
velarous
post Nov 9 2012, 12:04 PM

64 posts

QUOTE(jehqiphone @ Nov 9 2012, 11:43 AM)
Both os also using memory when u keep ur apps running in background. .js ios running more smoothly. .but for note 2 is running more smoothly since note 2 now its upgrading to 2gb ram ..js my opinion
IOS doesnt really keep apps running in the background, it just pauses it and resumes from last viewed point. Take whatsapp for example on the iphone, in the app your messages will keep popping up as per normal but if you close(minimize) the app, you only get push notifications regarding new messages and only when you open up the app again - the messages will download in.
c010
post Nov 9 2012, 12:09 PM

281 posts

QUOTE(adrian23 @ Nov 9 2012, 11:59 AM)
agree to ur definition....

i love apple but i love the features/size of note 2...

how good if note 2 are from apple....
then you have to convince apple to release a new iphone with 5.5" screen, also to revamp their iOS instead of the same old boring iOS. old wait, you have to make sure that your pocket is deep enough to fit the phone, it will be longer instead of wider.
adrian23
post Nov 9 2012, 12:09 PM

694 posts

QUOTE(velarous @ Nov 9 2012, 12:04 PM)
IOS doesnt really keep apps running in the background, it just pauses it and resumes from last viewed point. Take whatsapp for example on the iphone, in the app your messages will keep popping up as per normal but if you close(minimize) the app, you only get push notifications regarding new messages and only when you open up the app again - the messages will download in.
again repeated question?

how many of u here are switches ur iphone to note 2.....

i am still pretty much in dilemma....iphone 5, note 2, iphone 5 and note 2,
(currently 4s user)...

i wish to admit in advance i am not good in decision making, already understand how both phones work, features and etc....

just tht finding the very solid reason to convince myself to change my mind and leave apple.....

another question is will it be very weird holding an iPad with note 2?

anyway no offense to anyone if i did mention something improper here...
ExHolyAngel
post Nov 9 2012, 01:51 PM

416 posts

QUOTE(adrian23 @ Nov 9 2012, 12:09 PM)
again repeated question?

(currently 4s user)...

i wish to admit in advance i am not good in decision making, already understand how both phones work, features and etc....

just tht finding the very solid reason to convince myself to change my mind and leave apple.....

you're in the same position of mine.. i'm holding an ipad, but planned to buy note 2 tonight..

too tired of waiting for iphone 5 rclxub.gif
gouken
post Nov 9 2012, 02:02 PM

630 posts

QUOTE(adrian23 @ Nov 9 2012, 12:09 PM)
again repeated question?

(currently 4s user)...

like i said, go and test it out thoroughly at samsung shop. you can feel one once you've tried. if after tried, still unsure then stick with iphone.
ramz
post Nov 9 2012, 02:05 PM

21,375 posts

QUOTE(velarous @ Nov 9 2012, 12:04 PM)
ios is limited multitasking. meaning only some processes allows to run in the background:
1. Apps that play audio while in the Background state.
2. Apps that track your location in the Background.
3.Apps that listen for incoming VOIP calls.
4.Newsstand apps that are downloading new content.
5. Apps that receive continuous updates from an external accessory in the Background.

if u look at the list above, its nearly everything. so in a practical sense is not that bad. android on the other hand provides no restrictions to multitasking. there is also good and bad. meaning apps can really multitask, but task that are misbehaving will affect performance.
gouken
post Nov 9 2012, 02:30 PM

630 posts

QUOTE(ramz @ Nov 9 2012, 02:05 PM)
ios is limited multitasking. meaning only some processes allows to run in the background:
1. Apps that play audio while in the Background state.
2. Apps that track your location in the Background.
3.Apps that listen for incoming VOIP calls.
4.Newsstand apps that are downloading new content.
5. Apps that receive continuous updates from an external accessory in the Background.

if u look at the list above, its nearly everything. so in a practical sense is not that bad. android on the other hand provides no restrictions to multitasking. there is also good and bad. meaning apps can really multitask, but task that are misbehaving will affect performance.
the real multitasking is when i on the sofa with my 1 year old son, he's watching youtube children song while i browse lowyat forum with the note 2 split screen feature. google up note 2 multi-window
art6969
post Nov 9 2012, 04:21 PM

1,520 posts

note 2 now can get 1700 at mudah... yey next year will be below 1k
ramz
post Nov 9 2012, 04:30 PM

21,375 posts

QUOTE(art6969 @ Nov 9 2012, 04:21 PM)
Yeah! that's the benefit of samsung. cheap phones the longer u wait. sell? just give it to your wife. no need to sell. wife phone? give to kids. kids phone? give to the poor.
clayclws
post Nov 9 2012, 04:38 PM

2,659 posts

The people that I worked with (not just colleagues - clients, consultants, contractors, etc.) had jumped ship from Apple iPhone 3Gs/4/4s/5 to Samsung Galaxy S3/Note 2. Some even want to change their iPad to Nexus Tab 10...particularly those that bought iPad 3.

I would say, Note 2 and S3 are really great devices. Seen them, used them and thus far, filled with envy over the large screen and the customisability of the Android platform (compared to iOS).

The only reason I'm not jumping to Samsung is because they are the sponsors of Chelsea FC, and I'm a Man Utd fan. Anyway, if ever Samsung stopped sponsoring Chelsea, I would buy a Samsung S4/Note 3 at the drop of the hat.

As for iPhone 5, you got to handle it with great care or use it with a casing. I've held it my hands and several of my friends had used it (they all bought from Singapore. 50% of them changed to S3 after a while. I don't use casing for all my iPhones. Thus, I don't think it'll suit me. I'll hold on unto my current iPhone until iPhone 5s/6...or maybe Nexus 4 comes along.

Another thing to note, I like the shape of my previous 3G instead of my current 4. That phone's shape is just way nicer to hold. S3 and Note 2 have the same great design... Damn, envy growing...
velarous
post Nov 9 2012, 05:00 PM

64 posts

QUOTE(clayclws @ Nov 9 2012, 04:38 PM)
The people that I worked with (not just colleagues - clients, consultants, contractors, etc.) had jumped ship from Apple iPhone 3Gs/4/4s/5 to Samsung Galaxy S3/Note 2. Some even want to change their iPad to Nexus Tab 10...particularly those that bought iPad 3.

I would say, Note 2 and S3 are really great devices. Seen them, used them and thus far, filled with envy over the large screen and the customisability of the Android platform (compared to iOS).

The only reason I'm not jumping to Samsung is because they are the sponsors of Chelsea FC, and I'm a Man Utd fan. Anyway, if ever Samsung stopped sponsoring Chelsea, I would buy a Samsung S4/Note 3 at the drop of the hat.

As for iPhone 5, you got to handle it with great care or use it with a casing. I've held it my hands and several of my friends had used it (they all bought from Singapore. 50% of them changed to S3 after a while. I don't use casing for all my iPhones. Thus, I don't think it'll suit me. I'll hold on unto my current iPhone until iPhone 5s/6...or maybe Nexus 4 comes along.

Another thing to note, I like the shape of my previous 3G instead of my current 4. That phone's shape is just way nicer to hold. S3 and Note 2 have the same great design... Damn, envy growing...
how do your friends buy it from sg? ive been there twice since the launch and it's either wait 3-4 weeks or try lining up when their apple resellers have stock but the queue starts from 7-8am. The 3-4 weeks is from apple.sg and i didnt bother going to a sg telco.
SUSKuLi
post Nov 9 2012, 05:29 PM

You won't like me when I'm angry
1,293 posts

QUOTE(clayclws @ Nov 9 2012, 04:38 PM)

If compare shape, iphone is better and more ergonomic.
Note2 quite bulky.

S3 design is farked up ugly.

c010
post Nov 9 2012, 05:44 PM

281 posts

QUOTE(KuLi @ Nov 9 2012, 05:29 PM)
If compare shape,  iphone is better and more ergonomic.
Note2 quite bulky.

i think this is a very subjective matter when talking about design. personally i prefer 3gs design than 4 or 5 (not so ergonomic because the whole thing is square). compare to S3, i think it is not that bad, in fact it is nice to hold because of its weight, very well balanced. note 2 is totally a different beast to compare.
adrian23
post Nov 9 2012, 08:22 PM

694 posts

QUOTE(art6969 @ Nov 9 2012, 04:21 PM)
i dun think so ...

even ap set cos 1750++....i doubt the authenticity of this..

just my 2 cents

Added on November 9, 2012, 8:23 pmso guys should i jump from 4s to note 2????

anyone can help.....giving me a super valid reason to change.........

This post has been edited by adrian23: Nov 9 2012, 08:23 PM
clayclws
post Nov 9 2012, 08:44 PM

2,659 posts

QUOTE(velarous @ Nov 9 2012, 05:00 PM)
how do your friends buy it from sg? ive been there twice since the launch and it's either wait 3-4 weeks or try lining up when their apple resellers have stock but the queue starts from 7-8am. The 3-4 weeks is from apple.sg and i didnt bother going to a sg telco.
My girlfriend's brother do have a phone business there... Marked up, but still, they have lots of stock. In fact, they went to China for a couple days and sold off their load...and came back to reload, lather, rinse, repeat...

QUOTE(KuLi @ Nov 9 2012, 05:29 PM)
If compare shape,  iphone is better and more ergonomic.
Note2 quite bulky.

Note 2 is indeed bulky and most that carried them are ladies with bags. Some guys do carry, though. The thing about Samsung's design is that the phones feel natural in your hand. That curved back fits in your palm just nice. Just like the iPhone OG, 3G and 3Gs.

46 Pages « < 22 23 24 25 26 > » Top

0.0543sec    0.75    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 09:17 AM