4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Migrate to oversea, Asking those who migrated (opinion)

TSMazdasaga
post Oct 10 2012, 01:51 AM, updated 14y ago

Im 22 now and 5 more months to complete my degree in TARC.

Im bored with my social life here, indeed, the government aswell... I feel like put down everything here and leave for another country and have a restart of my life. Making new friends, new environment, and find my ownself and so on.

For those who migrate, i know is not easy to let go your home country, but still u made it right?? I wanna ask about how's life migrating to other country, how ur heart feels towards leaving ur family which will only meet them once a while. How how and how.

Please give me some opinion and advice, i would really cherish every single of you. =)

ocphangaz
post Oct 10 2012, 02:15 AM

Midlife Crysis.
768 posts

only 22 talking like you've been through life?
TSMazdasaga
post Oct 10 2012, 02:17 AM

just expressing my feelings... So planning to..
bitebug
post Oct 10 2012, 02:18 AM

291 posts

QUOTE(ocphangaz @ Oct 10 2012, 02:15 AM)
only 22 talking like you've been through life?
ocphangaz
post Oct 10 2012, 02:21 AM

Midlife Crysis.
768 posts

you can't even adapt to a place that you lived for 22 years... you think you can do better at someplace that people treat you as immigrant?
EarendurFefalas
post Oct 10 2012, 02:23 AM

155 posts

Most people move into another country because of social injustice (read it on some graph fact) and second followed by working offshore.

If you hate Malaysia so much maybe can start the 2nd choice. Try to work in a different country (but I dont think this will be easy too >.<)
TSMazdasaga
post Oct 10 2012, 02:28 AM

QUOTE(ocphangaz @ Oct 10 2012, 02:21 AM)
you can't even adapt to a place that you lived for 22 years... you think you can do better at someplace that people treat you as immigrant?
Just i feel that this this place is not belongs to me..if not what can i do now to improve my life?

Added on October 10, 2012, 2:33 am
QUOTE(EarendurFefalas @ Oct 10 2012, 02:23 AM)
Most people move into another country because of social injustice (read it on some graph fact) and second followed by working offshore.

If you hate Malaysia so much maybe can start the 2nd choice. Try to work in a different country (but I dont think this will be easy too >.<)
Is not easy, yes, i agree with it. It is tougher than moving to another state in Malaysia. I love Malaysia, but i cant make it into peoples around me. Good friends 2 or 3? In other case like, most of them against me? I cant express myself, ppl wont give me a ear. Is my problem? Mostly all on my own, my family doesnt give me any support but just wanting me to follow what it should be... This is why i feel lke get out of here and find my own life. And i hope i can make it fast.

What do you think? what can i do next?

This post has been edited by Mazdasaga: Oct 10 2012, 02:33 AM
wanritsu
post Oct 10 2012, 02:41 AM

267 posts

what degree will you have TS?
irmo
post Oct 10 2012, 08:27 AM

17 posts

QUOTE(661188 @ Oct 10 2012, 03:38 AM)
thumbup.gif
+1
munkeyflo
post Oct 10 2012, 09:12 AM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,796 posts

Have you travel to other countries before? If not, try travelling around the world - backpacker style. Or go for those work and travel programs, before deciding to migrate to another country.

To migrate to another country, you require some financial background, either that or you have to graduate from that country to be able to find a proper job easier. And even if you migrate, most of the time, the Asians will mix around with the Asians only, in fact, Malaysian will mix around with Malaysians only, maybe a few friends from other races but the main group of friends are still Malaysians.

And always remember the grass isn't always greener on the other side.
kids_4ever
post Oct 10 2012, 09:28 AM

35 posts

Your walk path isnt make to be smooth. You are the 1 who responsible to make it smooth. Every successful person come from a hard life too.. Its just like a mountain climbing, you will never know how good it feel to be on the top if you keep giving up in the half way. Everyone pass thru the feeling & moments you been thru now.
deodorant
post Oct 10 2012, 10:53 AM

Surfing LYN instead of Working.
5,691 posts

QUOTE(Mazdasaga @ Oct 10 2012, 01:51 AM)
Im bored with my social life here

That's sort of a sh*t reason to want to migrate. Malaysia is where all your family friends, old friends, school friends, relatives, college mates, etc are. If you have a crap social life here, what makes you think it'll be any better in a new country where you don't know anybody?
jady
post Oct 10 2012, 11:52 AM

-----camology-----
1,024 posts

if you can't get along with people here, you can't get along with people from different culture.
SUSashcrimson
post Oct 10 2012, 03:57 PM

146 posts

problems with fresh graduates nowadays (heard from litefm or bfm yesterday)
1. expecting high salary
2. not up-to-date with latest news
3. no soft-skills

if you have one of the above, don't even think about being successful in another place
segamatboy
post Oct 10 2012, 04:33 PM

637 posts

Not easy to let go your home country??? What rubbish. It 's all in your mind
Me?? I wasn't born with a silverspoon in my mouth. My grades were just 'average'. Finished F5 and can't get into F6. Relatives in Canada sponsored me over. When that day came, just packed my bags and headed to the airport and that was it. The unspoken rule was I aint coming back until I got my degree. In Canada, I did my G12. Again, average grades. Applied to uni and had to wait till early Aug to I get my acceptance letter Cream of the crops get their choice while people like me were fillers. Took me 5 years to complete my degree. Why?? cvos i bombed my Calculus on my first attempt. Calculus was a prerequiste course for some of the courses. So it was 6 years beore I go home. When I got home I cannot tahan the heat and humidity. House has no air con.Only fans. Still remembers taking 6-7 baths a day just to cool down
Was very happy when that day came when I headed to the airport. Back to Canada
Currently working with company whose clients are oil/gas companies, pulp and paper companies, mining companies and petrochemical companies. Coming back to Malaysia to work?? Forget it. I am just a BSc holder with average grade. I am sure Talent Corp consider me as a non talent. Despite the gov't taking some 25% of my paycheque, I am still better off financially. Car is cheap, gas is cheap. food is cheap, eating out is expensive but junk food is cheap ,electronic stuff are cheap etc. Eg Nissan Rogue AWD 2013 model is around $27k while gas is around $1.15/L, 10 pcs KFC plus medium fries is less than $21. Working and pay taxes,health care is taken care off. No need to buy expensive private insurance etc etc
My advise. if you thinking of migration, don't be sentimental. Cross the bridge and burn it

QUOTE(Mazdasaga @ Oct 10 2012, 01:51 AM)
For those who migrate, i know is not easy to let go your home country, but still u made it right?? I wanna ask about how's life migrating to other country, how ur heart feels towards leaving ur family which will only meet them once a while. How how and how.

feynman
post Oct 10 2012, 08:26 PM

4,781 posts

Agree with segamatboy.

Nak buat, then buat aje lah.

Only yourself will know the real reason for emigrating. There's nothing wrong if you want to earn more money or just want a life somewhere where no one cares about you.

It's not compulsory that you mix with the locals though doing so would make your life easier. If you're an introvert and prefer to stick to your old friends, then emigration will be a great challenge for you. If you're one who enjoys meeting people, building relationships, can get along with everybody then emigration will be an exciting opportunity for you.

Emigration after all means leaving your comfort zone, leaving familiarity and transplanting yourself abruptly into a foreign environment. The weather would be harsh, food will be different, language and popular culture will be different, your lifestyle will have to change. No mamak, no hawker store, no 24 hr shops, no pasar malam. If you can't make friends easily, you'll quickly get depressed.

mowlous
post Oct 10 2012, 10:41 PM

542 posts

If you have the opportunity take it, you still can decide once you have some experience oversea.

Doesn't matter what other's opinion are, its your life and how you write your history is suppose to be no one but you alone who decide.

Be a leader not a lemming in life.
ysoon
post Oct 11 2012, 12:54 PM

46 posts

QUOTE(segamatboy @ Oct 10 2012, 04:33 PM)
Not easy to let go your home country??? What rubbish. It 's all in your mind
Me?? I wasn't born with a silverspoon in my mouth. My grades were just 'average'. Finished F5 and can't get into F6. Relatives in Canada sponsored me over. When that day came, just packed my bags  and  headed to the airport and that was it. The unspoken rule was I aint coming back until I got my degree. In Canada, I did my G12. Again, average grades. Applied to uni and had to wait till early Aug to I get my acceptance letter Cream of the crops get their choice while people like me were fillers. Took me 5 years to complete my degree. Why?? cvos i bombed my Calculus on my first attempt. Calculus was a prerequiste course for some of the courses. So it was 6 years beore I go home. When I got home I cannot tahan the heat and humidity. House has no air con.Only fans. Still remembers taking 6-7 baths a day just to cool down
Was very happy when that day came when I headed to the airport. Back to Canada
Currently working with company whose clients are oil/gas companies, pulp and paper companies, mining companies and petrochemical companies.  Coming back to Malaysia to work?? Forget it. I am just a BSc holder with average grade. I am sure Talent Corp consider me as a non talent. Despite the gov't taking some 25% of my paycheque, I am still better off financially. Car is cheap, gas is cheap. food is cheap, eating out is expensive but junk food is cheap ,electronic stuff are cheap etc. Eg Nissan Rogue AWD 2013 model is around $27k while gas is around $1.15/L, 10 pcs KFC plus medium fries is less than $21. Working and pay taxes,health care is taken care off. No need to buy expensive private insurance etc etc
My advise. if you thinking of migration, don't be sentimental. Cross the bridge and burn it
Which part of Canada you stay? You are Canadian Citizen now or PR?

Canada is a very boring place, am I right?

Living in a white man world, never miss Asia?

No matter what, don't ever forget who we are, our identity. No matter what, we are always an Asian.

lordchaos91
post Oct 11 2012, 02:42 PM

149 posts

Malaysia best country woohoo... I would like to work oversea and travel but still Malaysia is comfort zone ... Meeting new friends is quite hard especially for introvert like myself.. I'm 20, a diploma holder and currently working in Singapore ... I plan to go further like UK or even Middle East if I have the chance ... Make life and no just plainly living it...
DeathSpiritz
post Oct 12 2012, 06:04 AM

127 posts

it's awesome lol

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0219sec    0.39    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 12:02 PM