8 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 >Bottom

Samsung Galaxy Note II LYN's Official Thread V2, RM2299 ETA 19/10. 1 more week!

benny888
post Oct 12 2012, 01:31 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(Cynox @ Oct 12 2012, 01:24 PM)
1.  web site should be ok since it is not dependent on the phone language but rather the browser language.  But sms most likely cannot.
2.  yup.  Even if not at this moment, shall get it soon - within 1 month i suppose.
3.  it will get OTA from malaysia if it is flashed with malaysia official rom.  that's why i mention the OTA follow the original of the ROM, not the phone.  icon_idea.gif
The current AP European rom has 2 Chinese language option. So reading Chinese SMS not a problem at all
benny888
post Oct 12 2012, 01:39 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(Cynox @ Oct 12 2012, 01:34 PM)
thanks Benny for the added info, I din know that.  biggrin.gif
So far only European rom in note2 has this. In note ,sgs2,sgs3 it doesnt
benny888
post Oct 12 2012, 01:43 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(Ivancck @ Oct 12 2012, 01:39 PM)
Thanks both you, master. What make Malaysia rom better than the European rom? Meaning, why one wanna flash to Malaysia official rom if their ap set is from uk, for instance.? Any particular reason or advantages if one wanna Malaysia rom rather than uk rom?
Based on my experience using msian vs foreign countries rom in all Samsung phones there is no significant differences except only in language choices
First time msian note2 is infact using Europe based roms

Added on October 12, 2012, 1:46 pm
QUOTE(crazyissac @ Oct 12 2012, 01:41 PM)
Thinking of to flash a new rom since my Snote idea sketch no working  cry.gif
any suggestion which rom is better ?  Wanamlite ? Urban HD ?  rclxub.gif
Try clear data in settings/application/idea sketch
Reset phone try again
Wannam is very close to stock

This post has been edited by benny888: Oct 12 2012, 01:46 PM
benny888
post Oct 12 2012, 01:52 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(Ivancck @ Oct 12 2012, 01:49 PM)
Hi uncle Benny, based on your experience, is the ota faster for uk or european rom or Malaysia rom?
I only ota update once India rom
I prefer download latest rom n use Odin to flash as main benefit I keep a copy of rom for future use if necessary
benny888
post Oct 12 2012, 01:59 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(thpace @ Oct 12 2012, 01:56 PM)
nothng in particular, even with uk rom u stil can use your phone. Unles u want bm support then only u flash malaysia rom.
European rom has Bahasa Indonesia
benny888
post Oct 13 2012, 07:10 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

Easiest use chenglu one step only you have root n cwm
Than use triangleaway to remove flash counter
The cwm is working well n have tested backup n restore
Flashing updated official rom using odin in PC will not raise counter
If you just root using chainfire method you can use mobile odin to install chenglu cwm. That is long way no purpose as you still need to remove flash counter
So far some xda users reported flash counter increased even using mobile odin to flash official stock rom really strange but use triangleaway to remove it

This post has been edited by benny888: Oct 13 2012, 07:13 AM
benny888
post Oct 13 2012, 09:21 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(nicregi @ Oct 13 2012, 03:18 AM)
Hi all, I have a question. Suddenly struck my mind. If I flash the latest firmware for Malaysia using Odin, the phone will not wipe the data right?

I just asking cos I really can't remember! Sorry sad.gif
No wiping of phone

Added on October 13, 2012, 9:23 am
QUOTE(chongkiatz @ Oct 13 2012, 08:47 AM)
So if first batch without multiwindow, is that a big matter?
Up to you whether you need it
But is a very convenient feature
Show it to amaze your iPhone buddies
All apps working perfectly smooth in separate windows simultaneously

Added on October 13, 2012, 9:25 am
QUOTE(thpace @ Oct 13 2012, 02:34 AM)
yup.. due to note 2 new autosum bootloader sad.gif

everytime, go advance recovery, counter increase. Chainfire comment tat just have to set triangle away every time boot or set only when want go warranty. Anyway, i not sure CF "stock" recovery is different from real stock or slightly more advance smile.gif

chenglu cwm + root wont break partition again, he fixed it. This could be the reason why last time uncle benny mobileodin canot flash, stuck during flashing

mayb must ask him, more experience flasher laugh.gif  or find a guinea pig to test  sweat.gif
Chenglu just need to flash one time
Why need to worry that you need to flash it again

This post has been edited by benny888: Oct 13 2012, 09:25 AM
benny888
post Oct 13 2012, 09:28 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(china_dude 02 @ Oct 13 2012, 09:25 AM)
uncle benny
u already test note 2
any pro and cons?
No cons found so far. Yes I am serious in saying it
Name me one of your concern n I will look at it n see whether any negatives about it
Phone is super slick, smooth, responsive and best of all insanely excellent battery life

Added on October 13, 2012, 9:30 am
QUOTE(CHARISMA12 @ Oct 13 2012, 09:27 AM)
Hi guys.. i'm planning to get myself a note 2. i've been waiting for it since its announcement during late aug..

juz wanna ask whether izzit worth it to include in the package offered by digi since the basic we need to pay is either 48, 68 or 88 for only the internet fees.. everything else including calls, sms, and mms is excluded which means we need to pay extra money for that.. ( do correct me if i'm wrong)

thanks!!
Worth if your data needs is at least worth rm48/month
Or else you are just paying every month rm48 for nothing if your data needs is minimal
There was a long discussion since yesterday morning about this
Do read back yesterday postings

This post has been edited by benny888: Oct 13 2012, 09:30 AM
benny888
post Oct 13 2012, 01:07 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(Crusader @ Oct 13 2012, 10:31 AM)
Can let us know how you flashed it and with which firmware?
Just flash any country firmware that end with xxalji
Refer post 4 for link n instructions
benny888
post Oct 13 2012, 01:21 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

Triangleaway will not remove flash counter on wannamlite rom
It only remove on stock rom
That is why I said use triangleaway immediately after you have root n install cwm on stock rom. Before flash any custom rom do a nandroid backup of your stock rom first
If necessary restore back stock rom n remove flash counter than
QUOTE(thpace @ Oct 13 2012, 11:44 AM)
As long u boot to custom recovery, your flash counter will increase. The only way is to have stock recovery

True, just use chenglu root +cwm easiest.  and then just add mobile odin, and set triangle away to reset upon boot.
Uncle, does triangle away work on wanamlite rom since it almost stock rom?

Added on October 13, 2012, 1:23 pm
QUOTE(thpace @ Oct 13 2012, 01:13 PM)
uncle, want ask. Have u flash using update zip without extracting on mobile odin?

current method is to extract the update zip to get the tar.(md5) file for mobile odin, How about doing directly using zip since cf introduce it on v3.25?
Never tried as I did not even bother to install cf root
Chenglu root is fine n working well

This post has been edited by benny888: Oct 13 2012, 01:23 PM
benny888
post Oct 13 2012, 04:39 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(rahuldave @ Oct 13 2012, 04:26 PM)
Any tutorial on this bro?
Just use odin in pc to flash
Refer post 4
How come yours is laih when by default Europe sets is already laih before upgrade
Which country is yours ? as far as I know all AP are Europe sets now

This post has been edited by benny888: Oct 13 2012, 04:42 PM
benny888
post Oct 13 2012, 04:46 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(crazyissac @ Oct 13 2012, 04:44 PM)
just get my 64gb card frm lowyat, thinking to try directory bind since app2sd not support with note II ~.~
anyone tried directory bind ? im so noob -.-
You need reformat it to fat32 as default is exfat which will not work with directory bind
benny888
post Oct 13 2012, 04:49 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(soulcity @ Oct 13 2012, 04:46 PM)
I m confused rclxub.gif

When I buy note2, I still need to go though the above process you guys are discussing? I don't understand the technical jargon on "root" "wannamlite"' "triangleway".............

Care to explain? Please  icon_question.gif

No need to know provided you do not wish phone be rooted or have cwm installed
Root is to have admin access to phone
Triangleaway an app to remove flashing counters in case you want claim warranty
Wannam is custom rom
Dunno anything just Google it .you will know within minutes
benny888
post Oct 13 2012, 04:51 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(crazyissac @ Oct 13 2012, 04:48 PM)
oh really ? Thanks uncle i will try later thumbup.gif  notworthy.gif 
Uncle tried it ady on note 2 ?  Directory version "o" ?
Never bother as I still have 8 gb space left
I don't install any heavy data games

benny888
post Oct 13 2012, 05:10 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(invisiblelim @ Oct 13 2012, 04:58 PM)
Oh.. Beside apps, any other benefit? Just ow I read thru Benny blog, he rooted the s3 can gain slightly performance increase?
Root will not improve performance. It allow you to install custom kernel or rom that will improve performance n some even saving more battery life
Root allow you to have apps that need access to system files such as titanium a full backup n restore app, adfree to eliminate pesky ads, kernel modify tools to boost performance, install custom rom, cwm to have backup n restore rom etc etc etc
Google benefits of rooting in android plenty sites detail explanation
You do not need root to install those crack or pirated apps . These stuff I do not encourage as is stealing intellectual property. Some such apps are Trojan carriers disrupting your phone system files
Rooting will not delete any data from phone
Rooting is 100% safe process.only a dumbass can spspoil phone by rooting
That is my quick 5 Sen guide
benny888
post Oct 13 2012, 05:36 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(shahiryusoff @ Oct 13 2012, 05:16 PM)
Uncle, if I root my phone, I won't get OTA updates anymore right?  icon_question.gif

And if I root with CWM it will increase the binary counter?  icon_question.gif

Edit: Typo.
Normally root will not affect ota updates. But not sure for this note2
Yes present tools to root n cwm will increase flash counter
Just use triangleaway to clear it while it is still in stock rom status

Added on October 13, 2012, 5:36 pm
QUOTE(whereis the love @ Oct 13 2012, 05:34 PM)
Is the note 2 launch in msia LTE set??
No . Is only gsm

This post has been edited by benny888: Oct 13 2012, 05:36 PM
benny888
post Oct 13 2012, 05:46 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(arslow @ Oct 13 2012, 05:39 PM)
Hopefully some LYN seller brings it to Malaysia!! drool.gif
really need something like this!!
You can get similar alternatives in garage sales ( one note user) I remember around rm30+
Cannot recall his name
benny888
post Oct 13 2012, 06:04 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(shahiryusoff @ Oct 13 2012, 05:46 PM)
Same here.  thumbup.gif
One of the video about rooting on XDA said that after root, we won't be able to get OTA updates anymore unless install back stock recovery.

http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1917564

Is it possible to just root without flashing CWM together?  icon_question.gif
Ota of course must be on stock recovery n on stock rom. Nothing new lah!!! You can just root alone using either chenglu or just use chainfire cf root
benny888
post Oct 13 2012, 06:08 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(caterpiez @ Oct 13 2012, 06:06 PM)
Not this one
Try ask in note thread as many users bought from him already
benny888
post Oct 13 2012, 06:50 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

New user highly recommended to download free app galaxy note 2 user digest from playstore
Is well illustrated n video guide on this note2

8 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 >Top

0.0560sec    0.73    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 10:09 AM