129 Pages « < 64 65 66 67 68 > » Bottom

Buying a new laptop? NEED RECOMMENDATIONS? V17, Kindly FOLLOW the FORMAT TQ~!

TS[PF] T.J.
post Nov 29 2012, 06:09 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(thivaakar @ Nov 29 2012, 04:33 PM)
eh sry. Budget 3k biggrin.gif
edited;

Budget : 3k
Usage: assignments related to word-documents, net surfing, and fb games i guess lol.
Weight: not heavy for a girl biggrin.gif

please advise.
Apart from the ones mentioned by nexus2238, you can consider the Apple MacBookAir 11 as well.
Girls dig Macs laugh.gif laugh.gif
how2mine4bread
post Nov 29 2012, 09:18 PM

hey. first time ever getting a laptop been using a lousy desktop all my life. a total newbie when it comes to tech stuff like this. need help! biggrin.gif

1. No preference actually
2. 2-2.3k at the most? abit tight on $$$
3. casual gaming and everyday use. dota 2, HoN and probably football manager
4. 14 or 15 inch

thanks in advance!
TS[PF] T.J.
post Nov 29 2012, 09:28 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(how2mine4bread @ Nov 29 2012, 09:18 PM)
hey. first time ever getting a laptop been using a lousy desktop all my life. a total newbie when it comes to tech stuff like this. need help! biggrin.gif

1. No preference actually
2. 2-2.3k  at the most? abit tight on $$$
3. casual gaming and everyday use. dota 2, HoN and probably football manager
4. 14 or 15 inch

thanks in advance!
Hi and welcome notworthy.gif
After getting a laptop you will notice that having a desktop is always better, particularly so for gaming hehe XD
Can consider these:
14"
Asus A45VS-VX026H, i5-3210M + Nvidia GT645M@RM2199[2.4kg], 2GB, 500GB, W8
Dell Inspiron 14R (Special Edition), i5-3210M + Nvidia GT640M(28nm Kepler)@RM2049[2.38kg], 4GB, 500GB(7200rpm), W7HP/W8
Lenovo Z480, i5-3210M + Nvidia GT640M@RM2299, 4GB, 1TB(5400rpm) W7HB, colors: grey/red/blue
how2mine4bread
post Nov 29 2012, 09:32 PM

yeah nothing beats using a desktop. but headed overseas for studies so gonna need a laptop. i was at digital mall the other day lenovo g480 was recommended for 2.1k. which would you prefer z480 or g480?
TS[PF] T.J.
post Nov 29 2012, 09:33 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(how2mine4bread @ Nov 29 2012, 09:32 PM)
yeah nothing beats using a desktop. but headed overseas for studies so gonna need a laptop. i was at digital mall the other day lenovo g480 was recommended for 2.1k. which would you prefer z480 or g480?
The Z480 has a better GPU for gaming as compared to the G480, but it is slightly more expensive lo laugh.gif

how2mine4bread
post Nov 29 2012, 09:42 PM

well it's within my budget biggrin.gif any other suggestions? 15"?
TS[PF] T.J.
post Nov 29 2012, 09:49 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(how2mine4bread @ Nov 29 2012, 09:42 PM)
well it's within my budget biggrin.gif any other suggestions? 15"?
Only this is equivalent to the 14 inchers recommended earlier I guess:
15.6"
Lenovo Ideapad Z580, i5-3210M + Nvidia GT640M@RM2299, 4GB, 750GB(5400rpm), W7HB, white

But do take note that 15" notebooks are not really easy to carry around
helload
post Nov 30 2012, 12:55 AM

66 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Nov 28 2012, 02:39 PM)
Well, ultrabooks are designed with portability and long battery life in mind. So they do not excel that much when it comes to intensive tasks like gaming and also rendering. They are stable, just that they are not as powerful as normal, heavier notebooks laugh.gif
The performance difference is generally very big between ultrabooks and normal notebooks  laugh.gif
Hi, thanks for your advice from a view page back... I just wented to lowyat plaza today and browse through some notebooks, and I would like to get help from here first before I choose to buy the notebooks..

1 that really attract me is a laptop offer from a "brightstar distributor" in lowyat (not sure of the fact) they offer me a laptop called lenovo Z485, this laptop quite strike me because it has 2 AMD graphic cards (?) AMD Radeon HD 7450M, 500GB, 10GB RAM, AMD A8-4500M (1.90 GHz, 4 MB L2 Cache, up to 2.80 GHz) << they say this is AMD quad core (i am unsure since i am not well versed in computers), it is 14" laptop with windows 8.... and to top it off, they have a bundle package inclusive of a bagpack, wireless microsoft mouse, and a screen protector, also 1 year international warranty....

now i've been trying to find some reviews on the net about this, i couldnt find any, all i got was it was sold in Thailand and it has been discontinued(?)... the price is just below RM2,5k (give me dealer price they say biggrin.gif )...

so, any sifus out there can help me verified whether this 1 is worth to get? since the specs sounds quite good for that price tag... smile.gif

Also, another laptop is the Lenovo Y580, with these specs:
-Inter Core i7-3630QM
-Win 7, 64 bit
-8GB RAM
-500GB SATA HDD
-NVIDIA GeForce GTX660M
at a price tag of RM2,950

sorry for the long post, but can help me? thanks in advance!
astria
post Nov 30 2012, 01:08 AM

an apple a day keeps the doctor away
22,158 posts

QUOTE(helload @ Nov 30 2012, 12:55 AM)
Hi, thanks for your advice from a view page back... I just wented to lowyat plaza today and browse through some notebooks, and I would like to get help from here first before I choose to buy the notebooks..

1 that really attract me is a laptop offer from a "brightstar distributor" in lowyat (not sure of the fact) they offer me a laptop called lenovo Z485, this laptop quite strike me because it has 2 AMD graphic cards (?) AMD Radeon HD 7450M, 500GB, 10GB RAM, AMD A8-4500M (1.90 GHz, 4 MB L2 Cache, up to 2.80 GHz) << they say this is AMD quad core (i am unsure since i am not well versed in computers), it is 14" laptop with windows 8.... and to top it off, they have a bundle package inclusive of a bagpack, wireless microsoft mouse, and a screen protector, also 1 year international warranty....

now i've been trying to find some reviews on the net about this, i couldnt find any, all i got was it was sold in Thailand and it has been discontinued(?)... the price is just below RM2,5k (give me dealer price they say biggrin.gif )...

so, any sifus out there can help me verified whether this 1 is worth to get? since the specs sounds quite good for that price tag... smile.gif
looks pretty expensive to me... considering it's not even an A10, seems like the distributor is cashing in quite a lot... the graphic configuration is weird as well, since the integrated graphic is actually better than the dedicated one... besides the possible reason of Lenovo having an excess stock of HD7450M, i can't really explain the weirdness...

to be honest i think the laptop is better off without the dedicated graphic...

as much as i like AMD, i would still suggest that u stay away from this... it juz dun add up right...
devour
post Nov 30 2012, 01:21 AM

2,227 posts

QUOTE(helload @ Nov 30 2012, 12:55 AM)

Also, another laptop is the Lenovo Y580, with these specs:
-Inter Core i7-3630QM
-Win 7, 64 bit
-8GB RAM
-500GB SATA HDD
-NVIDIA GeForce GTX660M
at a price tag of RM2,950
sorry for the long post, but can help me? thanks in advance!
lenovo z485 is RM 1599 retail price only
helload
post Nov 30 2012, 01:31 AM

66 posts

QUOTE(astria @ Nov 30 2012, 01:08 AM)
looks pretty expensive to me... considering it's not even an A10, seems like the distributor is cashing in quite a lot... the graphic configuration is weird as well, since the integrated graphic is actually better than the dedicated one... besides the possible reason of Lenovo having an excess stock of HD7450M, i can't really explain the weirdness...

to be honest i think the laptop is better off without the dedicated graphic...

as much as i like AMD, i would still suggest that u stay away from this... it juz dun add up right...
QUOTE(devour @ Nov 30 2012, 01:21 AM)
lenovo z485 is  RM 1599 retail price only
woah! thank you for your feedbacks! lucky didnt straight away buy it!

@devour, mind to share me the link to get it at that price with the same specs?

@astria, then, isn't it better to have the integrated and dedicated graphics working together? because the logic in PC that I know is usually dual graphic card makes better graphic quality and render speed instead of 1?
mdsyahir2510
post Nov 30 2012, 08:48 AM

i want to buy new laptop since i got my old one, but that one use for work smile.gif
this one i want use for games and i am a heavy gamer smile.gif

1.brand - prefer asus but if got something better, pls do tell smile.gif
2.budget - less than 5k
3.usage - more than 10 hours
4.laptop screen - not sure, hehe, the wider the better right? smile.gif (sry, im pretty noob in this)

so thats it smile.gif

your help is kindly appreciate sifu.

astria
post Nov 30 2012, 10:24 AM

22,158 posts

QUOTE(helload @ Nov 30 2012, 01:31 AM)
woah! thank you for your feedbacks! lucky didnt straight away buy it!

@devour, mind to share me the link to get it at that price with the same specs?

@astria, then, isn't it better to have the integrated and dedicated graphics working together? because the logic in PC that I know is usually dual graphic card makes better graphic quality and render speed instead of 1?
ok, if it's rm1599 then it's another story... ignore what I had said... tongue.gif

in theory yes, 2 graphic cards working together should give better performance, but that is largely game dependent... if the game is not programmed to do so, then it will only use 1 GPU, so it's a gamble...

u also need to know that A8-4500M comes with Radeon HD7640G integrated inside... juz by comparing the model number of the 2 GPU and u'll already ve a rough idea which is better...

u can take a look at this review (http://www.anandtech.com/show/5831/amd-trinity-review-a10-4600m-a-new-hope/6) and see how the integrated graphic stacks against the others, but take note it was the A10-4600M reviewed, which is slightly better, and it was an early media review platform that still has some driver issues.
lee_what2004
post Nov 30 2012, 10:29 AM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

QUOTE(mdsyahir2510 @ Nov 30 2012, 08:48 AM)
i want to buy new laptop since i got my old one, but that one use for work smile.gif
this one i want use for games and i am a heavy gamer smile.gif

1.brand - prefer asus but if got something better, pls do tell smile.gif
2.budget - less than 5k
3.usage - more than 10 hours
4.laptop screen - not sure, hehe, the wider the better right? smile.gif (sry, im pretty noob in this)
so thats it smile.gif

your help is kindly appreciate sifu.
MSI GX60, AMD A10-4600M + AMD HD7970M@RM4999, Illegear selling it.
helload
post Nov 30 2012, 10:34 AM

66 posts

QUOTE(astria @ Nov 30 2012, 10:24 AM)
ok, if it's rm1599 then it's another story... ignore what I had said... tongue.gif

in theory yes, 2 graphic cards working together should give better performance, but that is largely game dependent... if the game is not programmed to do so, then it will only use 1 GPU, so it's a gamble...

u also need to know that A8-4500M comes with Radeon HD7640G integrated inside... juz by comparing the model number of the 2 GPU and u'll already ve a rough idea which is better...

u can take a look at this review (http://www.anandtech.com/show/5831/amd-trinity-review-a10-4600m-a-new-hope/6) and see how the integrated graphic stacks against the others, but take note it was the A10-4600M reviewed, which is slightly better, and it was an early media review platform that still has some driver issues.
Hi, thx for the link, I'm not quite sure how to read the benchmark thingy but im guessing the higher the bar the better performance of the game in the laptop? If this is the case it looks like Acer's timeline U is pawning almost everything biggrin.gif
lee_what2004
post Nov 30 2012, 10:35 AM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

^and Lenovo Y480 is better than the Acer Timeline U brows.gif
nexus2238
post Nov 30 2012, 10:39 AM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(helload @ Nov 30 2012, 10:34 AM)
Hi, thx for the link, I'm not quite sure how to read the benchmark thingy but im guessing the higher the bar the better performance of the game in the laptop? If this is the case it looks like Acer's timeline U is pawning almost everything biggrin.gif
Yup. And the Acer machine was only spec with an sandy bridge i7 & Nvidia GT640M tongue.gif
helload
post Nov 30 2012, 10:42 AM

66 posts

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Nov 30 2012, 10:35 AM)
^and Lenovo Y480 is better than the Acer Timeline U brows.gif
Oh man! so many options! haha...

for Y480 I wented to lowyat and got this spec and price :
-3rd gen core i7
-Win 7 Home premium 64bit
-8GB RAM
-750GB
-Nvidia GT640, 2GB DDR5 (compare to the original GT650M 2GB, they say the 1 they give is better?)

at a price of RM2,650

good enough deal? or no?
lee_what2004
post Nov 30 2012, 10:44 AM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

No.
Don't get GT640, its weaker.
Get the GT650M model.
and check the CPU is Core i7-3630QM, not i7-3610QM.

or you could wait for Lenovo Y400, if you like black/red theme colour tongue.gif

This post has been edited by lee_what2004: Nov 30 2012, 10:45 AM
astria
post Nov 30 2012, 10:49 AM

22,158 posts

QUOTE(helload @ Nov 30 2012, 10:34 AM)
yeah that's how u read it...

anyway it's all abt how much money u can commit... AMD-based laptops excel up to the lower mid-end market becuz of the excellent integrated graphic, but past that systems with dedicated graphic is sure leaps ahead of it...

129 Pages « < 64 65 66 67 68 > » Top

0.0357sec    0.66    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 06:02 PM