Buying a new laptop? NEED RECOMMENDATIONS? V17, Kindly FOLLOW the FORMAT TQ~!

helload
post Nov 27 2012, 12:56 PM

66 posts

Hi, can reccomend me kindly as to which laptop (ultrabook/netbook, not sure the diff?) to get?

- any brand can be reccomended as I am unsure which 1 is good.
- budget is around RM1.5k-2.5k
- usage is mostly adobe illustrator, and able to play some graphical games would be nice
-preferred screen size is not less than 13"

thanks in advance!
helload
post Nov 27 2012, 10:47 PM

66 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Nov 27 2012, 02:44 PM)
Not recommending ultrabooks as there do not perform as well as normal notebooks at intensive illustrator work and also games.
14"
Asus A45VS-VX026H, i5-3210M + Nvidia GT645M@RM2199[2.4kg], 2GB, 500GB, W8
Dell Inspiron 14R (Special Edition), i5-3210M + Nvidia GT640M(28nm Kepler)@RM2049[2.38kg], 4GB, 500GB(7200rpm), W7HP/W8
Lenovo Z480, i5-3210M + Nvidia GT640M@RM2299, 4GB, 1TB(5400rpm) W7HB, colors: grey/red/blue

Use remaining budget for warranty extension icon_rolleyes.gif

If you can stretch your budget further, then try to go for the more powerful Y480 nod.gif
14"
LEnovo Y480(5934-1372), i7-3610QM + Nvidia GT650(GDDR5)@RM2699[JBL], 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), backlit keyboard, W7HB, 2 years international warranty
Hi, thanks for your recommendation, have you had any experience using Asus laptops? as I heard some say not recommended to get?

Also, I think the Dell Inspiron 14R is priced at RM2670, instead of RM2049 mentioned? or could you kindly lead me to the link of the 1 that can sell at RM2049 please? if you don't mind..

thanks in advance!

This post has been edited by helload: Nov 27 2012, 11:35 PM
helload
post Nov 28 2012, 12:44 AM

66 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Nov 27 2012, 11:58 PM)
Yeah, I have recommended and purchased an Asus N43SL for my sister, a Asus TF Prime (TF201) for my parents, and an Asus Infinity Pad for my friend. Asus products are generally reliable, with fair pricing and good, innovative designs. In short, Asus knows what the consumers are looking for nod.gif
Still, because of the poor after sales service, you could only buy and pray that nothing happens to your Asus device.

here's the link to the RM2049 Dell Inspiron 14R SE: http://www.dell.com/my/p/inspiron-14r-se-7420/fs
hey, thx for the reply, glad to hear that Asus is quite nice, as I loved to use their motherboards previously...noted about the after sales service..

thx for the link and inputs also, a step closer to choosing a new laptop biggrin.gif

still torn about the ultrabooks tho, since the slim body and light weight makes me drool, easy to carry around..

also, if you don't mind, can enlighten me on why ultrabooks aren't stable? as the specs is quite close to the normal notebooks you reccomended?

again, thanks in advance!

This post has been edited by helload: Nov 28 2012, 12:51 AM
helload
post Nov 30 2012, 12:55 AM

66 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Nov 28 2012, 02:39 PM)
Well, ultrabooks are designed with portability and long battery life in mind. So they do not excel that much when it comes to intensive tasks like gaming and also rendering. They are stable, just that they are not as powerful as normal, heavier notebooks laugh.gif
The performance difference is generally very big between ultrabooks and normal notebooks  laugh.gif
Hi, thanks for your advice from a view page back... I just wented to lowyat plaza today and browse through some notebooks, and I would like to get help from here first before I choose to buy the notebooks..

1 that really attract me is a laptop offer from a "brightstar distributor" in lowyat (not sure of the fact) they offer me a laptop called lenovo Z485, this laptop quite strike me because it has 2 AMD graphic cards (?) AMD Radeon HD 7450M, 500GB, 10GB RAM, AMD A8-4500M (1.90 GHz, 4 MB L2 Cache, up to 2.80 GHz) << they say this is AMD quad core (i am unsure since i am not well versed in computers), it is 14" laptop with windows 8.... and to top it off, they have a bundle package inclusive of a bagpack, wireless microsoft mouse, and a screen protector, also 1 year international warranty....

now i've been trying to find some reviews on the net about this, i couldnt find any, all i got was it was sold in Thailand and it has been discontinued(?)... the price is just below RM2,5k (give me dealer price they say biggrin.gif )...

so, any sifus out there can help me verified whether this 1 is worth to get? since the specs sounds quite good for that price tag... smile.gif

Also, another laptop is the Lenovo Y580, with these specs:
-Inter Core i7-3630QM
-Win 7, 64 bit
-8GB RAM
-500GB SATA HDD
-NVIDIA GeForce GTX660M
at a price tag of RM2,950

sorry for the long post, but can help me? thanks in advance!
helload
post Nov 30 2012, 01:31 AM

66 posts

QUOTE(astria @ Nov 30 2012, 01:08 AM)
looks pretty expensive to me... considering it's not even an A10, seems like the distributor is cashing in quite a lot... the graphic configuration is weird as well, since the integrated graphic is actually better than the dedicated one... besides the possible reason of Lenovo having an excess stock of HD7450M, i can't really explain the weirdness...

to be honest i think the laptop is better off without the dedicated graphic...

as much as i like AMD, i would still suggest that u stay away from this... it juz dun add up right...
QUOTE(devour @ Nov 30 2012, 01:21 AM)
lenovo z485 is  RM 1599 retail price only
woah! thank you for your feedbacks! lucky didnt straight away buy it!

@devour, mind to share me the link to get it at that price with the same specs?

@astria, then, isn't it better to have the integrated and dedicated graphics working together? because the logic in PC that I know is usually dual graphic card makes better graphic quality and render speed instead of 1?
helload
post Nov 30 2012, 10:34 AM

66 posts

QUOTE(astria @ Nov 30 2012, 10:24 AM)
ok, if it's rm1599 then it's another story... ignore what I had said... tongue.gif

in theory yes, 2 graphic cards working together should give better performance, but that is largely game dependent... if the game is not programmed to do so, then it will only use 1 GPU, so it's a gamble...

u also need to know that A8-4500M comes with Radeon HD7640G integrated inside... juz by comparing the model number of the 2 GPU and u'll already ve a rough idea which is better...

u can take a look at this review (http://www.anandtech.com/show/5831/amd-trinity-review-a10-4600m-a-new-hope/6) and see how the integrated graphic stacks against the others, but take note it was the A10-4600M reviewed, which is slightly better, and it was an early media review platform that still has some driver issues.
Hi, thx for the link, I'm not quite sure how to read the benchmark thingy but im guessing the higher the bar the better performance of the game in the laptop? If this is the case it looks like Acer's timeline U is pawning almost everything biggrin.gif
helload
post Nov 30 2012, 10:42 AM

66 posts

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Nov 30 2012, 10:35 AM)
^and Lenovo Y480 is better than the Acer Timeline U brows.gif
Oh man! so many options! haha...

for Y480 I wented to lowyat and got this spec and price :
-3rd gen core i7
-Win 7 Home premium 64bit
-8GB RAM
-750GB
-Nvidia GT640, 2GB DDR5 (compare to the original GT650M 2GB, they say the 1 they give is better?)

at a price of RM2,650

good enough deal? or no?
helload
post Nov 30 2012, 12:39 PM

66 posts

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Nov 30 2012, 10:44 AM)
No.
Don't get GT640, its weaker.
Get the GT650M model.
and check the CPU is Core i7-3630QM, not i7-3610QM.

or you could wait for Lenovo Y400, if you like black/red theme colour tongue.gif
QUOTE(astria @ Nov 30 2012, 10:49 AM)
yeah that's how u read it...

anyway it's all abt how much money u can commit... AMD-based laptops excel up to the lower mid-end market becuz of the excellent integrated graphic, but past that systems with dedicated graphic is sure leaps ahead of it...
thanks for your input guys! appreciate it, hope to get a new laptop soon! biggrin.gif

0.0175sec    0.59    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 05:05 AM