129 Pages « < 51 52 53 54 55 > » Bottom

Buying a new laptop? NEED RECOMMENDATIONS? V17, Kindly FOLLOW the FORMAT TQ~!

TS[PF] T.J.
post Nov 20 2012, 10:31 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(mdnurman @ Nov 20 2012, 10:23 AM)
Hi again (and again)
just got news from finance dept at my workplace.
need to find a very good laptop for office work and presentation plus portability.
budget <8k

i am looking at Dell XPS 14 with i7 and FHD screen. is there any other laptop for suggestion? prefer to have discrete graphic card as will have photoshop software as well.

tq
XPS 14 doesn't come with FHD screen, only HD+ laugh.gif
If you want a premium line ultrabook with a dGPU, the XPS 14 is as good as it gets nod.gif

lee_what2004
post Nov 20 2012, 10:37 AM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

The Sony Vaio S premium ?

QUOTE(tiewgine8039 @ Nov 20 2012, 10:24 AM)
I see. can you guide me how to? Thanks so much
Type 'Backup' on start menu,
should have something like 'Backup and Restore',
then choose to create Create System Image and follow its instructions.
You can save it to HDD and burn a System Repair Disc to boot incase Windows corrupt, then restore the image saved in the HDD.

This post has been edited by lee_what2004: Nov 20 2012, 10:39 AM
tiewgine8039
post Nov 20 2012, 10:43 AM

203 posts

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Nov 20 2012, 10:37 AM)
Type 'Backup' on start menu,
should have something like 'Backup and Restore',
then choose to create Create System Image and follow its instructions.
You can save it to HDD and burn a System Repair Disc to boot incase Windows corrupt, then restore the image saved in the HDD.
Thanks so much. Will try that out.
TS[PF] T.J.
post Nov 20 2012, 10:47 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Nov 20 2012, 10:37 AM)

Very premium hehe, but its not an ultrabook laugh.gif
and weirdly it doesn't come with SSD hmm.gif
lee_what2004
post Nov 20 2012, 10:52 AM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

Still lighter than XPS 14...
Slot in 512GB SSD into it.

Not enough battery, get the battery slice icon_idea.gif
TS[PF] T.J.
post Nov 20 2012, 10:54 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Nov 20 2012, 10:52 AM)
Still lighter than XPS 14...
Slot in 512GB SSD into it.

Not enough battery, get the battery slice  icon_idea.gif
I stand corrected notworthy.gif notworthy.gif
Jabberwocky
post Nov 20 2012, 11:05 AM

122 posts

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Nov 20 2012, 10:05 AM)
Can consider the Lenovo Y500...
Why Lenovo Y500 but not Lenovo Y580?

Ideapad Y500, i7-3630QM + Nvidia GT650M@RM3799, 4GB, 500GB, W8; GN36 exGPU, 170W AC adapter
Ideapad Y580, i7-3630QM + Nvidia GTX660M + 1920x1080 @RM2999[JBL], 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), W7HB/W8, backlit keyboard, 2 yrs warranty

GT650M > GTX660M ?? and the price so much differences..
why ah?
TS[PF] T.J.
post Nov 20 2012, 11:10 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(Jabberwocky @ Nov 20 2012, 11:05 AM)
Why Lenovo Y500 but not Lenovo Y580?
GT650M > GTX660M ?? and the price so much differences..
why ah?
The Y500 has an ultrabay that allows you to insert an external GPU (comes along with the laptop), which will overall push the notebook GPU performance over the GTX660M brows.gif

Jabberwocky
post Nov 20 2012, 11:26 AM

122 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Nov 20 2012, 11:10 AM)
The Y500 has an ultrabay that allows you to insert an external GPU (comes along with the laptop), which will overall push the notebook GPU performance over the GTX660M brows.gif
650M can do SLI eh?? I remember I saw from somewhere it says 650M is not capable of SLI. blink.gif
TS[PF] T.J.
post Nov 20 2012, 11:45 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(Jabberwocky @ Nov 20 2012, 11:26 AM)
650M can do SLI eh?? I remember I saw from somewhere it says 650M is not capable of SLI.  blink.gif
Read here for more details: http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2491914 icon_rolleyes.gif
mdnurman
post Nov 20 2012, 11:48 AM

738 posts

Just ordered XPS 14 with i7 + 8GB D3 + 512GB SSD + GT630M +W8 including cable/mouse/1TB ext hdd costing around 7k. Hope it is well worth it.

Trying to look for MBP if there any.
TS[PF] T.J.
post Nov 20 2012, 11:50 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(mdnurman @ Nov 20 2012, 11:48 AM)
Just ordered XPS 14 with i7 + 8GB D3 + 512GB SSD + GT630M +W8 including cable/mouse/1TB ext hdd costing around 7k. Hope it is well worth it.

Trying to look for MBP if there any.
Lei, ordered already still asked for recommendations sweat.gif
That is a very expensive ultrabook, I hope you did extend warranty to 3 years ; otherwise you're going to have problems should anything fail hmm.gif
mdnurman
post Nov 20 2012, 12:18 PM

738 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Nov 20 2012, 11:50 AM)
Lei, ordered already still asked for recommendations  sweat.gif
That is a very expensive ultrabook, I hope you did extend warranty to 3 years ; otherwise you're going to have  problems should anything fail  hmm.gif
It is still LO mode which can be rejected if too expensive or something else. Just looking for backup spec if rejected.
I ordered for 2 year warranty including accidental. The ultrabook itself cost rm6k (i7, 8GB D3, 512GB SSD, GT630, HD+ Display) plus Win8 Pro, MS Office, 1TB External HDD, Wireless Mouse, Lock, 2-yr Warranty, DVD Drive (the add-on is the extra cost). Similar spec MBP will cost rm8k without the accessories. Sifus previous suggestions have been reviewed and plan to buy using own money, but today just found out can use my grant to buy the laptop, therefore need to finish the money in 6mths time. smile.gif
TS[PF] T.J.
post Nov 20 2012, 12:40 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(mdnurman @ Nov 20 2012, 12:18 PM)
It is still LO mode which can be rejected if too expensive or something else. Just looking for backup spec if rejected.
I ordered for 2 year warranty including accidental. The ultrabook itself cost rm6k (i7, 8GB D3, 512GB SSD, GT630, HD+ Display) plus Win8 Pro, MS Office, 1TB External HDD, Wireless Mouse, Lock, 2-yr Warranty, DVD Drive (the add-on is the extra cost). Similar spec MBP will cost rm8k without the accessories. Sifus previous suggestions have been reviewed and plan to buy using own money, but today just found out can use my grant to buy the laptop, therefore need to finish the money in 6mths time. smile.gif
You should opt for 3 years warranty instead. Ultrabook maintenance fee is very expensive since almost everything is soldered and stuck laugh.gif
You can save ALOT by not getting those non-essential accessories. You can get much cheaper at stores laugh.gif
And you can also save by using coupon or bargaining with Dell sales agents.

Buying directly without any bargaining is a waste of money laugh.gif
lee_what2004
post Nov 20 2012, 12:56 PM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

^they need to be in one receipt perhaps? tongue.gif
ImNotWise
post Nov 20 2012, 01:12 PM

I am interested in buying a laptop, i will be needing it for my engineering course and some light gaming (including dota2). Currently i have no budget. Is there any recommendation?
mdnurman
post Nov 20 2012, 01:52 PM

738 posts

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Nov 20 2012, 12:56 PM)
^they need to be in one receipt perhaps? tongue.gif
yup... all must be in one receipt.. if not i have to buy the accessories using my own money
goner
post Nov 20 2012, 01:56 PM

461 posts

looking for a laptop for Architecture ( mainly in rendering ) and gaming

expected specs
i7 3630 2.2ghz
8gb ram
GTX 650 or above
normal optical drive
15" screen
battery life at least 2 hour or more

budget 4K below

suggestion will be very much appreciated
TS[PF] T.J.
post Nov 20 2012, 02:23 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(mdnurman @ Nov 20 2012, 01:52 PM)
yup... all must be in one receipt.. if not i have to buy the accessories using my own money
That said, you should still bargain, some of my friends managed to get up to RM500 off a RM3k laptop, imagine how much you can save if you bargain brows.gif
Unless you dont want bargain since its company money la haha laugh.gif
TS[PF] T.J.
post Nov 20 2012, 02:24 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(goner @ Nov 20 2012, 01:56 PM)
looking for a laptop for Architecture ( mainly in rendering ) and gaming

expected specs
i7 3630 2.2ghz
8gb ram
GTX 650 or above
normal optical drive
15" screen
battery life at least 2 hour or more

budget 4K below

suggestion will be very much appreciated
15.6"
Asus G55VW-S1216H, i7-3610QM +Nvidia GTX660M (2GB) + (1920x1080)@3999[3.78kg], 4GB, 1TB(5400rpm), W8

Lenovo
Ideapad Y580, i7-3630QM + Nvidia GTX660M + 1920x1080 @RM2999[JBL], 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), W7HB/W8, backlit keyboard, 2 yrs warranty
Ideapad Y580, i7-3610QM + Nvidia GTX660M (2GB) + (1920x1080) + Bluray@RM3599[JBL], 8GB, 1TB HDD(7200rpm), W7HP, backlit keyboard, 2 years international warranty
Ideapad Y580, i7-3630QM + Nvidia GTX660M (2GB) + (1920x1080) + Bluray@RM3999[JBL], 8GB, 32GB mSATA + 1TB HDD, W7HP, backlit keyboard, 2 years warranty

MSI GE60, i7-3610QM + Nvidia GTX660M + (1920x1080; anti-glare) + Bluray@RM4199, 8GB, 1TB(7200rpm), W7HP, 2 years warranty, gaming mouse & backpack, Free SteelSeries QCK Mass mousepad

129 Pages « < 51 52 53 54 55 > » Top

0.0166sec    0.61    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 04:18 AM