Buying a new laptop? NEED RECOMMENDATIONS? V17, Kindly FOLLOW the FORMAT TQ~!

tiewgine8039
post Nov 12 2012, 05:15 PM

203 posts

Hi, I want to ask about this NB,
A45VS-VX026H, i5-3210M + Nvidia GT640M@RM2199[2.4kg], 2GB, 1TB, W8
[Ultrabook]K46CM-WX090H, i5-3317U + Nvidia GT635M@RM2199[2kg], 2GB, 500GB, W8, OD
In term of gaming, how is the ability?

This post has been edited by tiewgine8039: Nov 12 2012, 05:21 PM
tiewgine8039
post Nov 12 2012, 06:12 PM

203 posts

QUOTE(fJok3R @ Nov 12 2012, 05:30 PM)
gt640m will perform a bit better compared to a45vs, plus ultrabook isn't really mean for gaming
i see, if compare to
N56VZ-S3151H, i5-3210M + Nvidia GT650M@RM2799[2.7kg][B&O], 4GB, 750GB, W8; color: black

is the gaming experience significantly different?
tiewgine8039
post Nov 14 2012, 09:47 AM

203 posts

Hi sifu.
Me again. I had done some survey, at the end decided to save a bit on budget and get cheaper laptop. Extra budget get a SSD and extend warranty. These are my considerations at this moment.

1. Pavilion G4-2111TX, i7-3612QM + AMD HD7670M@RM2499[2.19kg], 4GB, 1TB(5400rpm), W7HP
2. [Ultrabook]K46CM-WX090H, i5-3317U + Nvidia GT635M@RM2199[2kg], 2GB, 500GB, W8, OD
3. A45VS-VX026H, i5-3210M + Nvidia GT640M@RM2199[2.4kg], 2GB, 1TB, W8

Among these three, which one is better in gaming experience? I know the warranty for ASUS is 2 years, how about HP? How much If I want to extend warranty?

One more thing, yesterday I went to some shop, there got a new model, ASUS a43 also, i5 but come with GT645. price at 2099, is it better than above 3?

Many thanks.
tiewgine8039
post Nov 14 2012, 10:21 AM

203 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Nov 14 2012, 10:11 AM)
In between the 3 models mentioned, the A45vs would perform better in terms of gaming performance nod.gif
Although Asus laptops come with 2 years warranty, our local warranty support is subpar FYI sad.gif
You might wanna consider Dell Inspiron 14R SE instead as Dell offers the best on-site warranty support in Malaysia;
14"
Dell Inspiron 14R (Special Edition), i5-3210M + Nvidia GT640M(28nm Kepler)@RM2049[2.38kg], 4GB, 500GB(7200rpm), W7HP/W8
As for the A43, I'm a bit skeptical about the model since the model code is abit old hmm.gif
Sorry, misstype again. the NEW model is A45vs as well, forget the extension code behind, but come with GT645. I saw it in a shop that day. Will it be even better?
What is mean by subpar?
Actually I am more interest in HP model which has i7..
The dell GT640 is better than A45vs with gt640? hmm.gif gonna check on that.
tiewgine8039
post Nov 14 2012, 10:30 AM

203 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Nov 14 2012, 10:24 AM)
I see, if its an A45 then its possible, need to check out more on this nod.gif
subpar- below average = not good laugh.gif

You do not need an i7 for gaming, save your money. An i7 will mean higher battery consumption and higher heat (shorter lifespan) nod.gif
Actually main purpose is not gaming. My work is on a bit heavy simulation. Or maybe a i5 is enough? Most on Matlab and some lightroom photo editing. But having gaming capability is always good for me. rclxms.gif

The Asus gt640 vs Dell gt640 which you recommend, which one is better in gaming? Any different?
The ultrabook below, can do gaming?

[Ultrabook]K46CM-WX090H, i5-3317U + Nvidia GT635M@RM2199[2kg], 2GB, 500GB, W8, OD

Thanks so much for the guide thumbup.gif

tiewgine8039
post Nov 14 2012, 11:30 AM

203 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Nov 14 2012, 11:22 AM)
Now you are contradicting yourself by considering ultrabooks laugh.gif

If heavy simulation is of a priority to you, then having an i7 would be good nod.gif
Lightroom photo editing will benefit more by having a faster HDD/SSD nod.gif

As for the Asus and the Dell, both should have the same GPU, so its up to whether you want design (Asus) or warranty support (Dell) laugh.gif but the Dell has a faster stock HDD though, that one alone is a good plus point~
haha.. sweat.gif
Thanks for your opinion rclxms.gif
Will make out survey on that. Thanks.
tiewgine8039
post Nov 20 2012, 09:54 AM

203 posts

Hi, i just bought asus a45vs, with i5 3210, GT645m and 500gb hdd. one thing is that in the pc, it does not come with recovery cd. and i was told to follow the instruction in manual. The AI recovery does not exist in the pc and there is no sort of recovery partition in my hdd. so how i am going to burn recovery cd? thanks
tiewgine8039
post Nov 20 2012, 10:01 AM

203 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Nov 20 2012, 09:58 AM)
There should be a preinstalled program that allows you to burn those recovery discs right? hmm.gif
Usually its an annoying pop up that keeps remind you to burn those recovery disc images
nope. that is the problem. It does not have pop up thing. Is that possible there is hidden partition? cause i add up my hdd space, is 444gb. lost about 50 gb there. possible recovery data all inside those lost spaces?
tiewgine8039
post Nov 20 2012, 10:12 AM

203 posts

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Nov 20 2012, 10:05 AM)
Try search AI Recovery.
500GB would only left 465GB usable, so ~20GB for recovery partition sounds about right,
It does not come with AI recovery. So I install one my self?
tiewgine8039
post Nov 20 2012, 10:24 AM

203 posts

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Nov 20 2012, 10:18 AM)
Don't seems to have link to download it.
You can backup using the built-in from Windows as well...
I see. can you guide me how to? Thanks so much
tiewgine8039
post Nov 20 2012, 10:43 AM

203 posts

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Nov 20 2012, 10:37 AM)
The Sony Vaio S premium ?
Type 'Backup' on start menu,
should have something like 'Backup and Restore',
then choose to create Create System Image and follow its instructions.
You can save it to HDD and burn a System Repair Disc to boot incase Windows corrupt, then restore the image saved in the HDD.
Thanks so much. Will try that out.
tiewgine8039
post Nov 23 2012, 04:12 PM

203 posts

QUOTE(Frostlord @ Nov 23 2012, 04:03 PM)
thanks for the replies

actually my main concern with W8 is more with compatibility issue than user experience. some of the game im playing reported problem with W8. there is workaround but some still face the problem

regarding the fujitsu laptop, im confuse with the GPU specs. Fujitsu websites say its GT620 with 2GB dedicated memory. but from all the website i check, GT620 dedicated memory is only 1GB. and some websites (ie : notebookcheck) shows that the GPU is GT640 which is indeed 2GB dedicated memory rclxub.gif

oh btw, the main reason im interested in AH532 is because of the GT640 (hopefully) GPU. according to notebookcheck its one of the higher end 2nd class GPU tongue.gif
Agree, my gta4 cannot be play on W8. Looking for the way to fix that
tiewgine8039
post Nov 23 2012, 04:18 PM

203 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Nov 23 2012, 03:39 PM)
Can consider these:
14"
Asus A45VS-VX026H, i5-3210M + Nvidia GT640M@RM2199[2.4kg], 2GB, 1TB, W8

Dell Inspiron 14R (Special Edition), i5-3210M + Nvidia GT640M(28nm Kepler)@RM2049[2.38kg], 4GB, 500GB(7200rpm), W7HP/W8

Lenovo G480, i5-3210M + Nvidia GT635M@RM1899, 4GB, 1TB (5400rpm), W8, 2 yrs warranty

The Lenovo is weaker in terms of GPU performance, but still capable of handling the games you've mentioned  laugh.gif
Hi T.J., i bought the a45vs as above, but i had asked a few shops, it does not come with 1TB. I feel strange on this. Even though the latest catalog print the same detail as above. the pc i got has the GT645M instead. strange rclxub.gif
mine come with 500gb

This post has been edited by tiewgine8039: Nov 23 2012, 04:19 PM

0.0592sec    0.75    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 08:35 PM