Streamyx Streamyx 4Mbps Club V5

nymerine
post May 7 2014, 02:45 PM

920 posts

QUOTE(Rahmat @ May 6 2014, 06:22 PM)
Called TM few times already regarding my internet speed. Just now the technician came and said something about the telephone line has too much noise. They check the cable outside the house but the problem still exist.
Here is the result of the speed test. I'm a 4Mbps user in Ipoh. What should I do?

Keep calling them and show them you want your line fixed in this instant by asking updates everyday @ 100

QUOTE(therevulsion @ May 6 2014, 09:31 PM)
Hi guys ,just wanna ask something. What is ur download speed , upload speed and ping for streamyx 4mbps connection? Not a streamyx subscriber, this is for survey only. thanks
I got promised speed, and which location do you want us to ping?

QUOTE(kentchow75 @ May 6 2014, 09:39 PM)
Couldn't get to the ip that doesn't throttle.. It is kind of stupid to pay more for online service other than isp.
VPN seems not cheap as well
It is kind of stupid but yeah, you can also hide your stuff from ISP sniffing your lines by using VPN.
Check out low cost VPN such as FinchVPN and VPN.sh . They're like RM15/year laugh.gif

QUOTE(AssassinXGamer @ May 7 2014, 02:25 AM)
try checking BolehVPN  https://bolehvpn.net/
price seems reasonable
and plus file-sharing are banned in Malaysia so no torrenting for streamyx
nymerine
post May 7 2014, 04:06 PM

920 posts

QUOTE(Rahmat @ May 7 2014, 03:09 PM)
Called the technician. He said the cable outside the house got problem. Need around 1 week to change coz no spareparts. Walawei.. rclxub.gif
Hi, don't worry, can get discount for your next bill, make sure to call 100 billing department and mention them about this, keep all report number made during the whole ordeal.
nymerine
post May 8 2014, 10:19 AM

920 posts

QUOTE(SpikeTwo @ May 7 2014, 08:06 PM)
utorrent seems very slow nowadays. anyone experienced that? using 4MB too here.
Hi, Streamyx starts to throttle any torrent traffic since 2008, there's no free way to unthrottle it, see above.
If it "it was fast before", it might due to system glitch you're able to somehow unthrottle the speed for a time period.

QUOTE(jakzaizzat @ May 7 2014, 08:17 PM)
I subscribe 4MBPS streamyx but my speedtest download speed only get around 1 - 2MBPS. Anything that I can do to increase my speed?
Yes, call 100, that's below promised speed, and far below 80% stated in their TOS.
nymerine
post May 8 2014, 12:50 PM

920 posts

QUOTE(SpikeTwo @ May 8 2014, 12:18 PM)
system glitch for 6 years? lol...so how do ppl do with torrents now? only way is to VPN?
Yeah, it throttles better now. I have my own seedbox for torrenting.
nymerine
post May 9 2014, 07:26 AM

920 posts

QUOTE(deaconsx @ May 9 2014, 12:43 AM)
Streamyx 4Mbps package / Johor Bahru / D-Link DSL-2730E
I have tried to re-connect Streamyx in order to get a different set of IP, but still kena this DoS attack. No torrent, no DDNS, just normal web surfing. Who else is affected by this attack? The effect is my 4Mbps Streamyx becomes very slow. Turned off wireless also not helping  cry.gif  cry.gif
Hi, scan your PC with Malwarebytes or turn off any torrent applications, infected computers and P2P easily can trigger this kind of DOS Alert. First few password login try, is that you?

QUOTE(stren89 @ May 9 2014, 03:51 AM)
How much we paying for Streamyx Combo 4mbps?
RM140
nymerine
post May 10 2014, 07:51 PM

920 posts

QUOTE(seanwc101 @ May 10 2014, 12:05 AM)
Just install new 4mbps at another house. The line quality any good?

Great.

QUOTE(king_kenny @ May 10 2014, 03:29 PM)
when TM are going to upgrade their copper broadband?

in my place i pay around RM65 per month to get unlimited 20Mbps copper broaband (actual speed around 17Mbps), i can choose faster  fibre BB, but i dont need the xtra speed, even then it is comparatively cheaper n faster then anything TM n maxis could offer, even with the higher wage (xchage rates) they hv to pay their employee here.
No further upgrades for ADSL, Fibre replacing them all soon enough.

QUOTE(tomastan4134 @ May 10 2014, 06:57 PM)
hey guys..

i saw somewhere that the 4mbps package, the speed can be hack to get more than the actual given package speed.

anyone know how to do this.

kindly pm?
No hack, if you did not get more than 3.6Mbps in speedtest, can request technician to check and increase your speed to 5Mbps instead of 4Mbps

QUOTE(stren89 @ May 10 2014, 07:32 PM)
RM11.2billion spent on HSBB and they can't even cover most major cities.

Over 10 years prices have not decrease but increased.

When Streamyx first launched, it was like RM66 lowest package 384kbps and RM88 for 512kbps
That was over 10 years ago, year 2001. If add rental, RM25, not even exceed RM100.

Other countries launch pricing start expensive and prices drop. The situation in Malaysia is opposite instead.

Also our SEA neighbour countries keep upgrding their packages speed every year without additional charges.

Take Thailand for example 2 years ago 6mbps for RM60, then in 2012 upgraded to 10mbps this year again upgrade to 13mbps every year increasing at no extra charges.

Singapore started with 50M as lowest package 2 years ago, then last year 200mbps few months back 1gbps.
Hi, RM66 packages = 2 years contract + RM25 rental + billed homeline to homeline calls
Latest packages, RM110 = 1 year contract, everything else waived, home to home calls are free.
Anyway, I don't see any future with ADSL. Fibre is the future.
As for Singapore, they're the internet hub in SEA, bandwidths are cheap there, everything else I have no idea.
nymerine
post May 10 2014, 08:16 PM

920 posts

QUOTE(stren89 @ May 10 2014, 07:59 PM)
1 year contract only la.

I subcribed back then in 2003 with 1 year contract that time. Line rental not included. Modem that time like buy your own RM350 Aztech 350z something like that. If not rent per month RM77.

You don't see a future with ADSL but RM11.2 billion already spent on where? World fastest and largest deployment in scope as claimed?

Thailand, Cambodia and Vietnam larger size than Malaysia. Also Ookla put China speed more than 3X Malaysia.

China is how big?
I have no idea about 1 year contract, probably very old package that I've never heard of.
I have no idea where the RM11.2 billion went to as well, I assume they spent it on training, installations, constructions and infrastructure, those are not cheap either, if not, you might already know the answer. Well, we've got 60-70% broadband penetration rates in 2012, which is pretty nice.
Thailand, Cambodia and Vietnam only deployed HSBB in some area, mostly ADSL still being widely used.
As for speed, Singapore have MAN(metropolitan area network) implemented which why you're seeing crazy package offered there, China might have it too. MAN is like bigger LAN.
nymerine
post May 10 2014, 08:47 PM

920 posts

QUOTE(stren89 @ May 10 2014, 08:44 PM)
Ask your company sponsor you a trip to 10 other major cities outside Bangkok and Saigon.

See for yourself how their FTTH setups are like.

Serious suggestion.
Too bad I'm still a student biggrin.gif , how does their FTTH setups looks like?
nymerine
post May 10 2014, 10:32 PM

920 posts

stren89
Impressive, they willing to pull a fiber direct to house out of nowhere? TM won't even bother to pull one even it's just few hundred meters.

8 Pages « < 6 7 8Top

0.0442sec    0.69    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 09:49 PM