5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

Land Rover "Defender" Club.

stratoponga
post Oct 7 2012, 07:45 PM

Yeah, this thread is what I've been looking for.

The Puma engines are pretty durable, apparently. I think LR outsourced engines when they were under the Ford group, and probably didnt make sense to make one right now while under Tata. Just my thoughts.
TSwakeboarder
post Oct 7 2012, 08:27 PM

QUOTE(man_hakim87 @ Oct 7 2012, 08:37 PM)
Wahh.. This tered getting active. Nice ride bro boarder. Sorry for what happened to ur engine. Nice timing to breakdown huh. Wah 200K for a new defender? Expensive.. Btw why ford engine? Landrover out source the engine?
No worries about it. What happened already happen. I will let this incident be a lesson to oneself. As least , now I got a complete rebulit engine, I ve a better piece of mind. Knowing it internal parts are new . Planning another trip up to Thailand. Hehehe.

Yup,200k is pretty steep for a truck. But hey, you are buying a legend . Use regularly by numerous countries all over the world and has been tested and proven in real time wars .

As for the engine, all the information is found here bro.

From Spring 2007 a series of changes were made to the Defender, most of which were implemented to meet emissions and safety legislation. The biggest change was to the drivetrain. The Td5 engine was replaced by an engine from Ford's DuraTorq line (AKA the puma engine), built in their factory in Dagenham, making the Td5 the last Land Rover engine to be built in-house at Solihull. The engine chosen was from the ZSD family, being a version of the 2.4-litre four-cylinder unit also used in the highly successful Ford Transit. The engine's lubrication and sealing system has been adapted for use in wet, dusty conditions and to maintain lubrication at extreme angles in off-road use. The power level remains the same at 122 hp (91 kW), but with a lower power peak speed for towing and better acceleration. Torque output rose from 221 lb·ft (300 N·m) to 265 lb·ft (359 N·m) due to the fitting of a variable-geometry turbocharger. This produces a wider spread of torque than the Td5, from 1500 rpm to 2000 rpm. The engine is mated to a new 6-speed gearbox. 1st gear is lower than the previous gearbox for better low-speed control, whilst the higher 6th gear is intended to reduce noise and fuel consumption at high speeds.

Added on October 7, 2012, 8:29 pmMore about the ford engine use in the "Defender"

The only external changes were detail changes. The bonnet was reshaped with a bulge to allow the new engine to fit in the engine bay whilst meeting pedestrian safety rules. The new dashboard and ventilation system necessitated the removal of the distinctive air vent flaps underneath the windscreen which had been a feature of previous Land Rover utility models since the 1950s. Whilst the flaps have been deleted, the bulkhead pressing remains the same, so the outlines of where the flaps would be are still present.

At the other extreme, basic models are available for commercial users, such as emergency services. The models are sold in over 140 countries. A range of special conversions are available that include hydraulic platforms, fire engines, mobile workshops, ambulances, and breakdown recovery trucks. The 130 remains available with the 6-seater HCPU bodystyle as standard.

2012 Updates

In August 2011 Land Rover announced an update of the Defender for the 2012 model year.[6] By this time Land Rover had publically acknowledged that it was working on a project to produce an all-new replacement for the Defender. This would lead to the unveiling of the first DC100 concept vehicle in September that year. Therefore it was widely understood that the 2012MY upgrades would be the last made to the traditional Defender design before it was replaced. Whilst emissions and safety regulations had threatened the Defender since the early 2000s these had either been avoided through 'grandfather rights' or Land Rover had found ways to modify the vehicle to economically meet the new requirements. However safety regulations due for introduction in 2015 requiring minimum pedestrian safety standards and the fitment of airbags to commercial vehicles cannot be met without a wholesale redesign of the Defender.

The main change for the 2012 models was the installation of a different engine from the Ford Duratorq engine range. The 2.4-litre engine introduced in 2007 was not capable of meeting the upcoming Euro V Emissions Standards and so was replaced with the ZSD-422 engine, essentially a 2.2-litre variant of the same engine. Although smaller than the existing unit the power and torque outputs remained unchanged and the same 6-speed gearbox was used as well. engine included a Diesel particulate filter for the first time on a Defender. The only other change was the reintroduction of the Soft Top bodystyle to the general market. This had been a popular option for the Land Rover Series but by the introduction of the Defender had been relegated to special order and military buyers only. Land Rover stated that the option was being brought back due to 'customer feedback'.

This post has been edited by wakeboarder: Oct 7 2012, 08:29 PM
man_hakim87
post Oct 7 2012, 08:36 PM

276 posts

Aww.. So no more Td series engine. From the paper wise it stated that the ford engine is more powerful then the landrover engine. But from practicality anyone? I heard the landrover engine is rougher in terms more robust and rugged then other brand. What u guys think?
TSwakeboarder
post Oct 7 2012, 08:47 PM

QUOTE(man_hakim87 @ Oct 7 2012, 09:36 PM)
Aww.. So no more Td series engine. From the paper wise it stated that the ford engine is more powerful then the landrover engine. But from practicality anyone? I heard the landrover engine is rougher in terms more robust and rugged then other brand. What u guys think?
My take is yes for The new ford engine now has better technology and engineering in it hence it has better HP and torque . But seriously, I still prefer the old LR TDI5 engine. As this engine lived through some civil wars and from what I heard, it's a engine easy to repair be it in dusty,wet or moist environment . The LR TDI5 engine can even be underwater and yet still function .

For the new Ford engine, I am not too sure if it can beat that but do correct me if I am wrong.

Cheers
man_hakim87
post Oct 7 2012, 08:50 PM

276 posts

http://www.mudah.my/Land+Rover+Defender+M+...ab-17224188.htm

Some how i prefer the wagon ver better.

Added on October 7, 2012, 8:52 pm
QUOTE(wakeboarder @ Oct 7 2012, 08:47 PM)
My take is yes for The new ford engine now has better technology and engineering in it hence it has better HP and torque . But seriously, I still prefer the old LR TDI5 engine. As this engine lived through some civil wars and from what I heard, it's a engine easy to repair be it in dusty,wet or moist environment . The LR TDI5 engine can even be underwater and yet still function .

For the new Ford engine, I am not too sure if it can beat that but do correct me if I am wrong.

Cheers
Sometimes new is always better. But sometimes new tech is so precision that its kinda fragile. Masuk air terus rosak.

This post has been edited by man_hakim87: Oct 7 2012, 08:52 PM
lancer193
post Oct 7 2012, 09:33 PM

207 posts

Just got my 1989 Defender 90 this March! Got my engine fully overhauled after that, really cost me a bomb cry.gif
Just painted it matte black last week, more pictures coming soon!
TSwakeboarder
post Oct 7 2012, 11:27 PM

QUOTE(lancer193 @ Oct 7 2012, 10:33 PM)
Just got my 1989 Defender 90 this March! Got my engine fully overhauled after that, really cost me a bomb  cry.gif
Just painted it matte black last week, more pictures coming soon!
Mine is Matt black too bro. Welcome to the club.

Added on October 7, 2012, 11:33 pmFor your reading/viewing pleasure.

Quite a good write-up.

Adventure in Malaysia. For a good cause .

http://forum.ih8mud.com/70-series-tech/471...ysia-again.html

This post has been edited by wakeboarder: Oct 7 2012, 11:33 PM
xecton
post Oct 23 2012, 04:01 PM

The Reverend
734 posts

generally, what is the maintainence expense like?
siksa
post Oct 23 2012, 04:40 PM

T_T
1,016 posts

QUOTE(man_hakim87 @ Oct 3 2012, 07:52 PM)
Yeay a defender thread! Even though i don't have one but in the future maybe. Its a very nice 4x4 for a restoration project. Been looking for 4 door defender. Kinda hard to come by.
new one is on sale,why want old / 2nd hand?
chteo
post Oct 24 2012, 01:04 AM

44 posts

QUOTE(siksa @ Oct 23 2012, 04:40 PM)
new one is on sale,why want old / 2nd hand?
because some people like me can't afford a new one even on though it's on sale? hahaha...

some like to get hands on with the car itself, milking the satisfaction from repairing it yourself

some prefers a specific engine...

some don't want to give their hard earned money to the government...

well everyone has their own reason, for me, it's mainly the above, and more...

what's your reason for buying new?
rellik_yzarc
post Oct 24 2012, 10:21 AM

75 posts

bros,
i am in the market for a pickup and is considering hilux/navara/triton but the defender is also on my list.
i am not sure but when i went to land rover website the only ones available are the 110s.
i want the 90s because its shorter and sportier.
so if i want the 90s, i need to go 2nd hand but i have little experience and not sure if i am up to restore a used one.
anyhow, with this thread i can see some experts popping up and i'm hoping for some advice.

whats, the estimated total cost for a 90 defender restored to road worthiness?

thanks!
man_hakim87
post Oct 24 2012, 10:47 AM

276 posts

QUOTE(chteo @ Oct 24 2012, 01:04 AM)
because some people like me can't afford a new one even on though it's on sale? hahaha...

some like to get hands on with the car itself, milking the satisfaction from repairing it yourself

This. +1 To me im a kind of guy who prefer DIY restoration. Its almost like playing lego. Haha. But my skill isn't that high to restore a car let alone a defender. I just restore le scooter pun dah almost a year.
siksa
post Oct 24 2012, 12:35 PM

T_T
1,016 posts

QUOTE(chteo @ Oct 24 2012, 01:04 AM)

are you a mechanic? if you are then its not a problem for you.
chteo
post Oct 26 2012, 03:26 AM

44 posts

QUOTE(siksa @ Oct 24 2012, 12:35 PM)
are you a mechanic? if you are then its not a problem for you.
am not a mechanic, those that i can do, i try to do myself, those that i can't i've no choice to get help
and it's not only car stuff, household stuff (including electrical and minor renovations too)... end result is ugly, but satisfied...hahaha
joe.set
post Dec 14 2012, 01:30 PM

Hi Expert here! Good day to you all.

Would like to see you advice on Freelender TD4 2.0 SHIFTRONIC TURBO VER -04 & defender 2.0 -04.

Hope you can help me understand both model before i purchase either one.

Thanks!
coolman78
post Dec 20 2012, 11:57 AM

Hi guys, im having defender 300tdi. Currently im looking for complete engine, please let me know if you have any contact. Thanks in advance.
mscw88
post Jan 9 2013, 03:18 PM

Absolutely Fabulous
974 posts

Is it expensive to own a Defender ?? Plan to buy a used AT Defender......
swing123
post Jan 17 2013, 08:17 PM

178 posts

Saw the 2007 defender brochure on Land RoverMalaysia website but the price list only has the 110. Meaning they are not selling the 90 swb. I loath the retro look of the current version of defender and would love to have one if they are selling the CKD version of the 90, sigh. The bulge in the bonnet brings that extra aura lol
TSwakeboarder
post Feb 3 2013, 09:37 PM

QUOTE(coolman78 @ Dec 20 2012, 12:57 PM)
Hi guys, im having defender 300tdi. Currently im looking for complete engine, please let me know if you have any contact. Thanks in advance.
You can pm me for my contacts. I do know some good working engines.

Cheers
TSwakeboarder
post Feb 3 2013, 09:40 PM

QUOTE(swing123 @ Jan 17 2013, 09:17 PM)
Saw the 2007 defender brochure on Land RoverMalaysia website but the price list only has the 110. Meaning they are not selling the 90 swb. I loath the retro look of the current version of defender and would love to have one if they are selling the CKD version of the 90, sigh. The bulge in the bonnet brings that extra aura lol
I do know now the agents do carry the 90 version. Heard the prices has dropped too.

You can now buy yourself the single can flat bed, double cab flatbed and the 110 Stationwagon. Heck , they even have the local army specs too for private usage.

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0278sec    1.65    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 12:15 AM