Life Sciences The PHARMACY Thread v2

TSzstan
post Jul 8 2014, 11:19 AM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(dienotherday @ Jun 28 2014, 01:19 PM)
Thanks alot for your clarification, i will go on Monday, finger crossed  cry.gif
so how was it?
TSzstan
post Jul 18 2014, 10:38 AM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(dienotherday @ Jul 15 2014, 05:46 PM)
Sorry for the late reply, so my story continues here.

I went to the pharmacy board and asked. The officer told me that,

1) the BM requirement is entry requirement for degree programme, it should have serve as a filter to filter off those who are not qualified at the first place.

But my uni let me through, but under one condition, I need to take up another BM course in order to graduate. In which my case, they didnt let me know any detail about this until i was about to graduate, delaying my graduation.

2) The registration process only require personnel with DEGREE from accredited institution and IC for identity confirmation.

Besides that, i also called up the SPA department and confirmed the minimum BM requirement for U41 Pegawai Farmasi position. It is confirmed that the minimum is LULUS only as stated in the website.

In conclusion, i think my case is basically solved unless my university want to screw me with some absurd reason again. If not, i will register as soon as my BM result come out.  sad.gif
That's good to know. Thanks for the info and all the best!
TSzstan
post Aug 17 2014, 02:28 PM

15,856 posts

Well you can have a look at Monash which allows you to transfer over to Parkville in your 3rd year.
TSzstan
post Aug 20 2014, 09:47 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(bellobanana95 @ Aug 17 2014, 05:45 PM)
Hi peeps.
Does anyone know the study path after completing BPharm? I plan to further my studies upon completing BPharm in overseas. I read in internet in which some says it could be  MBA or MPhil etc. Need some advices from you all smile.gif
That depends what kind of studies you plan to further in... it's probably best that you decide after you can manage to graduate the Bpharm program successfully. no rush
TSzstan
post Aug 28 2014, 10:54 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(conchpearls @ Aug 22 2014, 05:59 PM)
I'm considering it biggrin.gif How do you find the Monash course yourself? Did you transfer to Parkville too or did you opt for doing it fully here?
Yeah, I'll take Monash, IMU and Notts into consideration, but since I haven't even taken the exam yet sweat.gif, I'll confirm my choice later on when I get the results and I can finalise the shortlisting after I get some offers tongue.gif . It seems that my suspicions about Taylors Pharm were correct sad.gif , my condolences and all the best for your 2+2. Thank you for sharing your experiences and that metaphor haha  laugh.gif

Hmm I'm assuming your friends in Notts haven't gone to UK yet, but I wonder if the programme primes you enough that you'll be well-adjusted in the UK in the later years(they'll give you the same quality of teaching, hold you to the same expectations as UK Notts students or train you so that you learn like UK Notts students.....taking into consideration Malaysian cultural/social/economic contexts of course) although from what you've said of your Notts friends I guess they're not as stringent with that part of quality control sweat.gif . The online lectures sound pretty sweet though.
The Monash course is quite tough by standards. Nope I did not transfer to Parkville.. didn't see the point nor do i have the money haha. We could access Parkville lecture recordings here anyway.

TSzstan
post Sep 3 2014, 08:33 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(wyx18 @ Sep 1 2014, 07:04 PM)
Hi all,

I was wondering why is the master of pharmacy (eg. graduate entry) offered in Australia such as in University of Sydney and Curtin University currently not recognised by the Pharmacy Board of Malaysia? It allows one to register as a pharmacist in Australia but not here  hmm.gif  Any chances that it'll be recognised in a few years?
It's probably still in its infancy stages.. maybe after a couple of years when their first batch of graduates appear..

QUOTE(bryanlim17 @ Sep 2 2014, 01:54 AM)
can i know when to register for aimst bpharm??thnx in advance : )
call them directly?
TSzstan
post Sep 9 2014, 05:55 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(igmroey @ Sep 9 2014, 05:09 AM)
Im a registered pharmacist from Northern Ireland with pharmaceutical society of northern ireland ( PSNI ). How / where do i check that i can register with malaysian pharmaceutical society (MPS) ?
If you are looking to practice in Malaysia then you would have to look for the Pharmacy Board not the MPS.

their website:

http://www.pharmacy.gov.my/v2/en
TSzstan
post Sep 11 2014, 10:40 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(sagethesausage @ Sep 11 2014, 07:22 PM)
@zstan, can I ask you a few things about the pharmacy course?

Is there lots of lab work involved when studying pharmacy? I'm currently in Form 6 and I find that I did not enjoy doing the experiments we had to do for Chemistry and Biology. I kind of find repeating the same thing over and over boring and tedious. Also what kind of content do you guys have to learn? Do you guys have to memorise various drugs' name that are ridiculously long? Is the syllabus very hard? As in, does one need to do revision and study everyday for four years OR can one still slack off, relax and have a study-life balance?

Sorry for the long-ass question, I currently have no direction in life and don't know what kind of job I want to do in the future for the rest of my life. Currently considering pharmacy as a viable option among other choices.
Well I would speaking from my experience in Monash but this should be the same with other unis.

So to answer your question, yes there will be a lot of lab work especially in the 1st 2 years. And they can be really boring at times. Then in 3rd and 4th year there is more of the microbiology and extemporaneous compounding where you make capsules, creams and stuff.

As for content wise you can refer here: http://www.pharm.monash.edu.my/future-stud...se-outline.html

And yes you have to memorise over hundreds of drugs with ridiculous names. And yes, the syllabus is not easy, for Monash la. Well that depends on what you are aiming for. If your goal is to get first class honours then probably otherwise you can still find a balance at the expense of grades or having a gf/bf. but at the end of the day you are dealing with people's lives so if you are not interested at all in that aspect then pharmacy probably isn't your thing.
TSzstan
post Sep 12 2014, 11:46 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(sagethesausage @ Sep 12 2014, 12:41 AM)
Thanks for your response. I know I should choose my career based on my own interests but it's kinda hard to build a career out of my interest, which is travelling (Too short to be a flight attendant, dammit).

I'm really unsure of whether I want to pursue pharmacy as a life-long career. I might lack the enthusiasm for it but I actually don't mind saving people's lifes/taking care of their health as I would like to do my part of contributing to the society.

I probably will have no problem with the memorisation parts either since I've been a Straight A's student all my life so I know that one can learn anything as long as he is willing to put in the time and effort into it. It's just that I'm tired of studying after working so hard for all these years.

I don't really know what I want do in the future. I am probably a lazy piece of shit for just wanting an easy life and earning enough money to support my dreams of travelling around the world. Looking back, I should have just accepted the IPG offer, go through a relaxing five years training, and become a teacher, though it would probably end of my dreams of travelling, since teachers earn quite low wages in Malaysia (Except for the years when a teacher already close to retirement, but at that age, does one have the energy to travel anymore?).

Sorry for the rant, it's been bothering me so long that I felt a overwhelming urge to get it off my chest. I'll probably just stop worrying about my ambitions (or the lack of it) and put it aside for the meantime, and focus more on finishing my pre-U first.
take your time to think and don't rush into a degree smile.gif i've waited one year before starting my degree so that i won't have regrets. and yeah, finish your pre-U first la. worry about degree later biggrin.gif
TSzstan
post Sep 14 2014, 11:20 AM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(Love.Yuan @ Sep 13 2014, 08:08 PM)
I will complete my a level in this coming November .
UCSI 's fee seem more affordable to me .
Any comment to this university ? About the environment , facilities and lecturers because I could find any review about this school d pharmacy .

Thank you in advance ^^
what you pay is what you get lor. don't expect anything more.
TSzstan
post Oct 3 2014, 11:47 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(relentless_wind @ Sep 20 2014, 02:16 AM)

I was wondering if there are any of you out there who did their pre-registration in the UK, registered as a UK pharmacist and then returned to Malaysia?

Can you tell me what your experience was like? I know that we still need to undergo the compulsory service to register in Malaysia. How did you go about applying for that? Did you have to wait for a long time? Do we also have to take the forensics exam?

Also in regards to the compulsory service: do you just randomly get thrown wherever they want? Or do they take into account your preferences?

As a UK student planning to register here first, I would really appreciate someone explaining this to me as the Malaysian pharmacy websites are all terribly lacking.
well i know someone who did that. no you don't have to undergo the compulsory service if you do not plan to work in the government. yes you have to take the forensics exam to get your A license. Jobs are pretty much available everywhere if you are considering working in community.
TSzstan
post Nov 13 2014, 02:06 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(walkingdog @ Nov 11 2014, 05:40 PM)
I'm planning to pursue pharm in monash malaysia but then why the pharm course of monash is not listed in the pharmacy board of malaysia and whats the consequence of it ? THank you smile.gif
It's already got full accreditation. Consequences would be unable to secure a job.
TSzstan
post Nov 23 2014, 07:29 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(walkingdog @ Nov 23 2014, 03:33 PM)
Why monash is not listed in the board and the last edited time was june in year 2014.
not too sure about that.. maybe the Australian counterpart is already on the list so they didn't bothered.
TSzstan
post Dec 12 2014, 12:29 AM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(frease @ Dec 11 2014, 06:28 PM)
Greetings smile.gif

I'm a UiTM student in my second year of BPharm, will graduate in 2017.

Just want to ask, my lecturers said that the pharmacy jobs now are quite tough, is it true?

And I'm very interested in working in pharma companies, any tips for me?
was pharmacy an easy job before? hmm.gif

graduate first?
TSzstan
post Dec 13 2014, 10:53 AM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(frease @ Dec 13 2014, 09:47 AM)
I mean hard to get job
still relatively easy compared to the likes of Australia, UK, Singapore, Taiwan etc. where the hardest part for pharmacy graduates is to wait a few months to get a posting..
TSzstan
post Feb 10 2015, 12:12 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(Decky @ Jan 14 2015, 02:07 PM)
Anyone with experience in hospital pharmacy? My modules have been mainly about community pharmacy (UK based) so I don't exactly know what happens in the hospital as a pharmacist, especially in Malaysia.

I'm hearing that fresh grads (after qualification with the pharmacy board in Malaysia) who work in community pharmacies over here are getting like 7-8k a month but it's like 2k-3k in a hospital pharmacy. Plus, many working community pharmacists warned my classmates that if they like science and stuff, they should avoid community pharmacy in Malaysia because you hardly get to use the skills you've learned in uni over here. Comunity doesn't look appealing to me apart from the pay (if it's true) at this moment.

Wondering what it's like to be a hospital pharmacist and how the salary is like, anyone care to shed some light? Also, is a post grad degree in clinical pharmacy recommended if I plan to go down the hospital pharmacy path?
You will get to hospital based lectures soon in your 3rd or 4th year don't worry.. not sure where you got those figures though.. paywise hospital and community are about the same depending on your experience.. but as of now without dispensing separation there isn't much clinical stuff to do in community. post grad is optional in malaysia..

QUOTE(Decky @ Jan 15 2015, 05:43 PM)
wow thanks that was informative!
Wah, RM250 a year is quite a minimal increment :/
so how much increment are you expecting? RM1000 per year?

QUOTE(blackangelxx @ Jan 30 2015, 04:33 PM)
Hi hi.
I'm interest on the BPharm which if I really go for the course i would prefer to work in phamaceutical industry.
May I know is getting a job for pharmacist becomes did difficult as there is too many graduates.
Is it possible to work in UK if pursue the BPHARM in monash malaysia and transfer to monash aus in the third year? Or it's better to study the BPHARM in IMU and credit transfer to uk 's uni ?
Sorry for so many questions
it may be more difficult for you if you don't work harder on improving your english.

TSzstan
post Feb 10 2015, 05:55 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(Decky @ Feb 10 2015, 03:03 PM)
Hm, I got the figures from a few people who personally knows a working community pharmacist and a few others who  have interned at popular chain pharmacies over here. Multiple sources from different places. AFAIK, I always thought it was 3k starting, but those sources might be outdated since they were based off websites like doctorjob
Therefore, if the pay increment is only 250 a year for a clinical pharmacist, then it'll take like 10 years to reach the pay of a fresh grad community pharmacist (if the figures that I got is true).
I'll be interning soon, so maybe I'll be able to double check with another community pharmacist.
in government hospitals it's 4k starting... then every year there will be increments.. after a few years you will get automatic promotion and the increment will be more...

however if you choose to do your pre-reg in the private settings (community pharmacy/private hospital) its less than 3k but once you get your licence it will probably double up.. in malaysia there's no incentive becoming a clinical pharmacist, at least in terms of monetary wise...

your figures are incredibly outdated.. earning 7-8k per month as fresh grad in a community pharmacy was like 8-10 years back with an acute shortage of pharmacists..
TSzstan
post Feb 10 2015, 08:44 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(Decky @ Feb 10 2015, 08:16 PM)
Mm I see. I have a decision to make because I will (90%) have a choice to work in Aussie after I graduate, but I really don't mind taking a pay cut to come home because I love it here. However, I need to look at how big the cut is before I make up my mind.
Thanks for the info though.
Idk, my friend worked at her aunt's newly opened pharmacy and she was telling me how her aunt was finding it hard to find a pharmacist because fresh grads were asking for 6-7k ish since they said Watsons/Caring probably paid that much. They could be lying though.
lol fresh grad as a pharmacist in Aussie really sucks now apart from the money. extremely competitive for internship places. It will definitely be 3 times the cut. dollar to dollar we are earning to same. my friend just came back from Sydney recently after finishing the internship. having said that, malaysia isn't any better with too many pharmacy graduates and no dispensing separation.

fresh grad? u sure? yeah around 6-7k. but that's after u get your poison A licence. it's already a huge pay cut nowadays considering you can get 8-9k long long time ago.
TSzstan
post Feb 14 2015, 02:52 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(iclemyer @ Feb 14 2015, 01:52 PM)
zstan Hi! I just wanna ask, have you graduated from Monash Pharmacy course yet? From the forums I know that you've studied there but I'm not sure if you've finished the course. If you have, may I ask is it possible to use that degree to apply as a Pharmacist in Singapore? Its a separate degree from if we study at the campus in Australia right? sweat.gif And may I ask if you're working anywhere now? Thank you!
yeah i'm done. waiting for a job now. with the malaysian degree it's not possible as a fresh grad but if you already have a few years of experience it is possible.. but maybe not in the clinical settings.. yes the australian qualification is different.
TSzstan
post Feb 14 2015, 03:23 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(iclemyer @ Feb 14 2015, 03:15 PM)
Ohhhh I see. biggrin.gif Did you do a credit transfer to the campus in Parkville? If that's the case, will we still be receiving the same cert as with 4 years in Malaysia?  blink.gif  sweat.gif
nah no money lol. and during my time there was no credit transfer. ermm it will be a different cert offered by the respective uni. monash parkville & monash malaysia.

academically wise then it would be the same.. let's say if u wanna further ur studies overseas.. but since pharmacist is a highly regulated profession then where u graduate from makes a difference.

16 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Top

0.0397sec    0.75    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 08:21 AM