the consummate chartist
6,222 posts

I can take some off y'all...post to KL?
dwRK
post Sep 8 2015, 10:36 AM

the consummate chartist
6,222 posts

QUOTE(act one @ Sep 7 2015, 11:16 PM)
They said the best economic is Tesco coffee. What do you think?
If you're just after caffeine...you may be right smile.gif
dwRK
post Sep 8 2015, 03:33 PM

the consummate chartist
6,222 posts

QUOTE(act one @ Sep 8 2015, 10:56 AM)
Yap, just normal consumer saying NO to 3in1 coffee.
Sorry...Got to maintain 3 in 1, as emergency plan. wink.gif
dwRK
post Sep 11 2015, 07:51 PM

the consummate chartist
6,222 posts

What's your milk ranking? Mine...

1. Farmhouse, Pura
2. Magnolia
3. Goodday

I mostly buy Magnolia, once a while Farmhouse or Pura
dwRK
post Sep 17 2015, 06:36 AM

the consummate chartist
6,222 posts

QUOTE(HayThereMB @ Sep 17 2015, 03:28 AM)
Omg never realised LY had a coffee thread. Hi all!

For espresso/milk-based:
I have a 2grp Reneka Viva with a Modded Mazzer Robur for HOME use, which is a little overkill imo but amazing in the cup.

For Filter:
Rocky doser grinder. Rhinoware & Porlex (similar builds) Chemex, V60-01&02, AeroPress (Able Steel & IMS), 3-cup Hario Siphon, 185 Kalita Wave steel, Takahiro and Hario pour-over kettle, Acaia & Hario Scale and a whole lotta experience.

I've tinkered around with a variety of coffee equipment, more so with grinders and have tasted plenty of roasters.

Ask me anything! <#3
Yeah very overkill. ..but why not biggrin.gif

Where were you, & are now based?
dwRK
post Sep 17 2015, 06:11 PM

the consummate chartist
6,222 posts

QUOTE(HayThereMB @ Sep 17 2015, 12:39 PM)
Studied in UK, back in home country BN =D
Cool. BN as in Brunei? How's the coffee scene there?
dwRK
post Sep 21 2015, 06:41 PM

the consummate chartist
6,222 posts

Flat white -- A deflated cappuccino. wink.gif
dwRK
post Sep 22 2015, 08:40 AM

the consummate chartist
6,222 posts

QUOTE(LittleGhost @ Sep 21 2015, 09:18 PM)
Flat White = diluted diarrhoea.
We're talking food and drinks; I really don't understand why you take us there.
dwRK
post Sep 22 2015, 11:07 AM

the consummate chartist
6,222 posts

QUOTE(wshazi @ Sep 21 2015, 03:52 PM)
for so long, I'm still unable to differentiate between latte and flat white. Anyone?
My lattes at home are 2 oz espresso to 6 oz milk, a 1:3 ratio, 8 oz drink in a 10 oz cup.

A flat white is 1:2 ratio. Hence taste "stronger" than my latte but smaller 6 oz drink.

Can't really tell by looking at them separately.

Some shops will sell 1:4 to 1:6 ratio latte, IMHO too much milk. They will also use dark dark roasts to "bring back" the "coffee flavor". Avoid them if you can.

I mentioned "deflated cappuccino" as a hint and joke. People generally think of cappuccino as 1:1:1 ratio of espresso, milk and foam. A wet cappuccino has more milk less foam and is closer to 1:2, hence taste wise is closer to a flat white.

Any other views welcomed.

dwRK
post Sep 22 2015, 12:21 PM

the consummate chartist
6,222 posts

QUOTE(rumet @ Sep 22 2015, 11:29 AM)
I think there is also picollo latte that is also with lower milk volume.
Was googling for the answer on the same question last week and got this.
http://www.coffeehunter.org/flat-white-vs-latte/

will try and order both drinks at same time and check out the difference next time smile.gif
That's a different animal smile.gif not based on espresso biggrin.gif
dwRK
post Sep 23 2015, 07:07 PM

the consummate chartist
6,222 posts

QUOTE(xxxtrym_akabane @ Sep 23 2015, 09:15 AM)
Silvano seems to be more expensive. All i need is a machine which provides a good and consistent shot. smile.gif
Quite sure the Silvano is more beginner friendly to give consistent shots, less fussy, but frothing is not so good.

The Oscar needs two mods to be good...restrictor and opv. Otherwise its just so-so only...especially with espresso.

Can you get the Silvano locally? Or import on your own? Not much point discussing otherwise. What other machine you have short listed?

This post has been edited by dwRK: Sep 23 2015, 08:21 PM
dwRK
post Sep 24 2015, 10:11 AM

the consummate chartist
6,222 posts

QUOTE(HayThereMB @ Sep 23 2015, 09:52 PM)
Surprised there aren't many Gaggia Classic owners here. It's an excellent machine for one who wishes to understand the process of espresso brewing. Getting a used classic and DIY OPV, Steam wand and potentially PID goes a long way for a beginner! With that said though, Oscar is a great machine for the price but like all HX machines, it takes time for one to learn temp surfing in order to pull great shots.

Personally, I'd save up and get a lower end rocket / expobar leva
What do you mean by DIY opv for the classic?
dwRK
post Sep 24 2015, 11:06 AM

the consummate chartist
6,222 posts

QUOTE(Cloud2322 @ Sep 24 2015, 12:14 AM)
Anyone have any good budget manual hand grinder to introduce? Planning to get one soon and do let me know where to get them it's the best.

Also one question, anyone here owns a XP5620 krups machine? I found out that I can't control the milk frothing session where I can't make flat white but only cappucino. Cause everytime when I froth there's no way I can avoid bubbles..
Any tips for me please sifu?
I don't know about the krups. Can you try without the wand tip?. I taught a friend to froth this method on her poemia. She can get microfoam easy now.
dwRK
post Sep 24 2015, 02:02 PM

the consummate chartist
6,222 posts

QUOTE(HayThereMB @ Sep 24 2015, 01:07 PM)
Iirc, pre Phillips gaggia classic has a screwhead that allows you to adjust the opv from 15 to 9bar in order to get a better extraction, as the initial 15bar setting was put in place for pressurised baskets.

http://youtu.be/xXoz6Aoykpg
Yes, the classic comes with opv, the "DIY" is adjusting pressure only, unlike the Oscar that needs surgery to retrofit one.

The pump can do 15 bar. The opv is set to 11-12 bar, not for the pressurised basket, but for ese pods use. The pressurized basket will work on 9 bars.

It doesn't really need pid...the steam switch can work wonders if used professionally to shape the temperature profile biggrin.gif

You can also installed a dimmer for preinfusion and to control the flow profile. wink.gif

This is my backup machine...

dwRK
post Sep 24 2015, 04:06 PM

the consummate chartist
6,222 posts

QUOTE(Cloud2322 @ Sep 24 2015, 03:11 PM)
haha, that works! Thanks for the tips smile.gif I found out because there's 2 hole on the wand tip that causes the spoiled bubbles..
3 and 4.. a really great one will cost at least 2.3k for a machine and grinder at least 1.1k..
But somewhat I can grind my beans at my friend's cafe.
The problem with the krups machine is that it has a auto tampered system which doesn't require me to tamper myself.. However, about the pressurise portafiler it's non-removable due to the auto tampered system can only function with that portafiler..

Please refer to the video below and comment, maybe I should consider changing a new machine for myself.

If the video doesn't work please copy paste this link, really need a big help! Thanks!

https://youtu.be/fCV5gNIJ0Wo?t=1m
Great to hear! Now you can practice latte art biggrin.gif

I guess you've not been exposed to high end machines yet. Your prices are a factor of 8-10 off wink.gif for a "really great one".

If you think you'll be in this long term, the faster you upgrade the better. Also this is an expensive lifestyle, so be warned. smile.gif

Assuming the temperature is OK and you're drinking mainly latte, you can still maximize your Krupp by getting a grinder and temping yourself. Coffee gets stale 15 min after grinding.

Grinder is more important than machine.

This post has been edited by dwRK: Sep 24 2015, 04:29 PM
dwRK
post Sep 24 2015, 08:29 PM

the consummate chartist
6,222 posts

QUOTE(Cloud2322 @ Sep 24 2015, 08:07 PM)
I'm actually using Nuova simonelli Appia II in a cafe.
You're right.. grinder is more important and coffee gets stale after 15 mins of grinding.. will consider in investing in the future smile.gif but maybe getting a ok to use hand grinder is fine at the moment..
Coffee machines is really overpriced in Malaysia.. the same thing I could get about rm200-300 cheaper in Thailand.
Haha.. .Now you mentioned almost bought a nice used appia.. .for home smile.gif

Lucky my sanity came back.. . biggrin.gif

If I were you, I'd get a lido 2 or similar class type of hand grinder.. .when upgrade to electric keep it for coffee. The cheap ceramic burrs are not that good for coffee. Search kickstarter also.

This post has been edited by dwRK: Sep 24 2015, 08:34 PM
dwRK
post Sep 24 2015, 09:37 PM

the consummate chartist
6,222 posts

QUOTE(patryn33 @ Sep 24 2015, 08:56 PM)
I heard rule of 15 secs on a youtube video from a US Barista winner
There are 3 "rules" of 15s.. .

15 days, 15 mins, 15 secs

You may be correct. I don't pay too much attention to these already.. .
dwRK
post Sep 25 2015, 09:47 AM

the consummate chartist
6,222 posts

QUOTE(patryn33 @ Sep 25 2015, 01:10 AM)
I thought this is home user, if brew for him one shot after another not as long as competition

https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...&#entry75512786
Im happy with my stock oscar performance. As long as it can prodece those addictive perfect shot aroma that on par with cafe coffee, i wont do upgrade. Im not aim for perfection. I may just stick onto current setup until they stop working, then switch to those poisoning machine.

Do u think using timer to switch on this machine will spoil the machine one day? I know it needs vacuum breaker for optimal fuction with timer.
Timer won't spoil the machine.. My machines all used to run on timers without problems. As you know for Oscar without vacuum valve it just gets hot/warm but not to temp, at least it helps half way getting it warmed up.

The restrictor and opv mod changes the Oscar from a low end entry machine to a mid end machine in performance. Just not sexy in looks. For me the restrictor is also important and I'll do that too with the opv.

Respect your decision not to mod, it may not be all that important for milk drinks. We just feel you're not maximizing your set up that's all. You said wanna maintain until it stops working then upgrade. Well my machines are coming to 10 years already and still going strong. You have a long while to wait biggrin.gif

BTW, the local cafes are not all that great. Be careful not to compare with mediocres.

This post has been edited by dwRK: Sep 25 2015, 10:08 AM
dwRK
post Sep 25 2015, 10:16 AM

the consummate chartist
6,222 posts

The rules of 15s..

1. Green beans roast within 15 months.
2. Roasted beans use within 15 days.
3. Grounded beans brew within 15 min.

A new one sneaked in I know not where/when.

4. Served within 15 secs.

dwRK
post Sep 25 2015, 10:45 AM

the consummate chartist
6,222 posts

QUOTE(LittleGhost @ Sep 25 2015, 10:11 AM)
Apparently the knowledge that a lightly modded Oscar will get them a Musica for cheap isn't appealing enough laugh.gif

The Oscar and the Musica uses the exact same parts and the exact same diagrams!!!

Funny how they have to purposely "cripple" the Musica just to sell an Oscar.
The Oscar came first. Designed to also use ese pods hence they drop the opv. Also they let it run hot to extract stale bitter coffee from the pods. It was "marketed" for office use.

The Musica, they upgraded some parts, beautify it and sell for twice the price.

Some folk worry about warranty, etc. Some never mail order anything from overseas, or never DIY, so it's understandable.

7 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0443sec    0.44    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 04:10 AM