Coffee lover please come in

Keng
post Apr 14 2015, 02:21 PM

142 posts

QUOTE(Cyclone1 @ Apr 14 2015, 11:40 AM)
I am newbie in espresso making and am planning to consider a espresso machine for my everyday coffee. I usually take one cup of coffee everyday before work. Usually Latte.
I can see that many are recommending Delonghi EC155 for beginner but I also seem to realized many were discussing about the wand. What exactly is the issue with its wand?

Is EC155 a good unit for starter to make good coffee? Does it require a coffee grinder?
How much does a decent coffee grinder typically cost? Could anyone recommend me few model for me as starting point for research?

Will EC155+decent coffee grinder a better deal than a all in one machine like Beville BES870?
EC155 naked steam wand (after taking off the pannarello) is even shorter than Poemia's if I read correctly. 1 of the popular upgrade for this EC155 is change to longer and ball joint to make steaming easier. EC155 is 1 of the most, if not, the most popular low budget espresso machine IMO.

As for grinder, this deserve a new discussion altogether. Like many would say, this is where you can't afford to go wrong. If you don't want to commit few Ks, I'd say buy a cheap hand grinder like Hario Slim (about rm120 maybe) and give it a a try first. Then decide if you want to buy more expensive grinder laugh.gif

This post has been edited by Keng: Apr 14 2015, 02:22 PM
Keng
post Apr 14 2015, 02:31 PM

142 posts

QUOTE(Cyclone1 @ Apr 14 2015, 02:15 PM)
Haha, in term of my personal expectation and that is really hard to come into a conclusion because as a newbie I don't quite know how does a really "good" latte should taste like.
Maybe I would say start with Latte from cafes like coffee smith or other similar chain as a reference. Let's just say making Latte taste similar to these cafe will be my baseline and the ability to exceed that is my ultimate expectation. Of course, I am not saying I will expect the coffee machine to churn out good coffee right off the bat, but rather I would be able to start making good coffee with these machines that is able to meet my end goal as my technique improved with training.

So the problem with the EC155 is the underpowered wand and shorter steam thus causing milk steaming process lengthy and difficult? That's irritating for sure since I usually start my day with a cup of coffee before work. Who would want late for work biggrin.gif Do you have recommendation for a espresso machine around the similar price point that does not suffer from this problem?

I searched Baratza Virtuoso and got the result "Baratza Virtuoso Burr Espresso Grinder V2" at SeattleCoffeeGear.com, not sure if this is the model you mean. I look at the price and it is within my acceptable range and have good reviews too. I would throw money at this model if this is what you recommend a good grinder for a beginner.

I kinda hit by dilemma here, with a espresso machine that cost RM900 and a grinder that cost another ~RM800, would it be better to wait for sale and purchase a all-in-1 machine like the Breville BES870? Or espresso + grinder combo is much more worth the money ?

Top up question, is the grinder found on the Breville BES870 on par with the performance of the Baratza Virtuoso?
If you hate the inconvenience, then I think EC155 is not what you're looking for. It does take a lot of practice to get it right, and much much more to get near to your term of perfection.

For steam power, I don't find Poemia to be lacking in this, and I think EC155 shouldn't suffer the similar behavior since both share the same internal design. I make only 1 or 2 latte only lar daily. Its all about finding the termostat range though this is the tricky part as you need to experiment on this.
Keng
post Apr 21 2015, 04:04 PM

142 posts

QUOTE(dark.knight @ Apr 21 2015, 11:15 AM)
Hi guys I am into handpouring type, currently using V60. I am going to Taiwan for a holiday soon, I know their coffee culture is much more advanced than here.

Can you suggest something that I should bring back for my own use? I will probably get an aeropress there, maybe some Hario stuff too. Thanks.
Yeah, most of the small cafe roast their own beans. You'll be able to see a lot of cafe display their roaster in front of their shop or somewhere that is visible within the cafe. However, I found that the coffee accessories sold there are not that cheap compared to Thailand.

This post has been edited by Keng: Apr 21 2015, 04:04 PM
Keng
post Apr 23 2015, 01:29 PM

142 posts

Guys, this should be a friendly discussion room for coffee lovers. Please don't go scare away noobies like us lar LOL

Anyhow, budget is a pretty subjective topic.

My current setup consist of a Saeco Poemia which I bought during Philips roadshow for about Rm600 and Welhome/WPM's ZD-12 at Rm400 from Taobao. With these, I make a latte/espresso daily and more than 1 during weekend. Definitely can't compare with cafe but being able to make it at my own convenience and comfort of home, I can't ask for more with that price biggrin.gif.

Well, I'd love to buy a better grinder and espresso machine, which I will couple of years down the road. But until then, this low budget setup will serve me just well.
Keng
post Apr 23 2015, 02:52 PM

142 posts

QUOTE(Tikietic @ Apr 23 2015, 02:18 PM)
what setting do you use for your zd-12? ... i have the same grinder as you do.. for my current espresso machine.. the finest i can go is 7.. (5-6 will jammed up the extraction)..
If right out of the box, I can't choke it at the lowest setting vmad.gif . After I add thicker shims, now I grind between 10-12 smile.gif

Actually you're not the first one asking me about the setting. I got a few PM regarding about this grinder and they all got different shim size rclxub.gif
Keng
post Apr 24 2015, 01:44 PM

142 posts

QUOTE(Tikietic @ Apr 24 2015, 12:55 PM)
wait.. you mean on your poemia?!.. i gathered the poemia is also not modded rite?
never thought the poemia can be so geng xia..  sweat.gif
No, the grinder. I had to add shim (spacer) beneath the lower burr to decrease the gap to the upper burr. icon_rolleyes.gif

I did mod my Poemia but stopped halfway coz I hasn't got the time to commit to it yet and also bcoz I found a procedure to consistently (well, close) brew the shots that I want. Currently, the PID is still attached to the Poemia but only to read the thermoblock/coil temperature sweat.gif
Keng
post Apr 24 2015, 03:24 PM

142 posts

QUOTE(Tikietic @ Apr 24 2015, 01:50 PM)
aiyahh misunderstanding liao..

1. have you tried grind setting #1 on your wpm zd-12(unmodded) with your unmodded poemia(including the manufacture given portafilter) before? .. does it choked up the poemia?

PID is on temperature.. has nothing to do with the pressure of your extraction.. ngam mou?
Don't think I've tried that coz I de-pressurized it before I got the grinder and didn't put back the thing since tongue.gif

Yeah, nothing to do with pressure. That is next on my wishlist. I did some research on this, if I do mod it, I'll use a mechanical pressure valve instead of PID.
Keng
post Apr 27 2015, 10:00 AM

142 posts

QUOTE(Tikietic @ Apr 26 2015, 07:23 PM)
no wonder la.. if you've left everything at "default factory".. your unmodded zd-12 will definitely choked that pressurized poemia..
i have a unpressurized basket, wonder it'd choked it at finest setting..?
how long have you been using your zd-12?.. how's the burr blades wear n tear?
Maybe you can give it a try. I got a pm from a forumer in here before, he/she couldn't choke it at the finest setting either.

Approx 6 months. No noticeable wear overall but do notice hairline scratch near the bottom part of the upper burr.
Keng
post Apr 27 2015, 10:03 AM

142 posts

QUOTE(patryn33 @ Apr 26 2015, 08:19 PM)
I believe someone here wrote on Starbucks and other beans without dated roast date. They are all vacuum packed.

A lot of info on such beans if u using for espresso. Some ppl have connection in Italy to get 3 day old beans
http://coffeegeek.com/forums/espresso/questions/616647
I bought beans from Auresso before. They can send beans from Aussie and reach our doorstep within 5 days from roast date. One of the beans they can bring in is Grand Central.
Keng
post Apr 27 2015, 03:22 PM

142 posts

QUOTE(patryn33 @ Apr 27 2015, 10:15 AM)
Buy from Aussie or Europe all arrive within 5 days. But not cheap. Try to support local roaster if budget don't allow one to buy overseas
I did do that before I considered sourcing from overseas sweat.gif . In fact I have tried a few like Antipodean, Artisan/3 little bird roasters, Plan B Roasters, Espresso Lab and Coffee Ritual (though this is more like Singaporean roaster). I like Artisan the most among the lot but then again, they're actually more expensive than Aussie's rclxub.gif .
If I have friend going to Bangkok, then I'd get them to buy Pacamara's which is half the price of most beans here whistling.gif

This post has been edited by Keng: Apr 27 2015, 03:23 PM
Keng
post Apr 28 2015, 09:52 AM

142 posts

QUOTE(Tikietic @ Apr 28 2015, 12:21 AM)
tried using the unpressurized basket today and at grind setting #3, it's simply choked the machine, only single drips appearing..  sweat.gif  guessed we may have a different zd-12?!  sweat.gif
can't fully conclude the grinder yet, as we're waiting for our other espresso machine enroute.. then we'll see if it grinds fine enough to choke it..

are you sure that pacamara sells cheaper than here? ... translate to about rm40+ for 250g oo .. you sure you got the right price bo?  sweat.gif
Yeah, not surprising there laugh.gif but oh well, the price is within my budget a simple shim modification fix it, so I'm not really complaining icon_rolleyes.gif

Yes, I'm sure cool2.gif . I bought a number of times from there myself and through friends. Its 200 tbh/250 grams for house blend. They have a distributor here, Triple Mellow in Sri Petaling but they're selling at Rm40 for the same thing and the last time I check, most of the beans on shelf (or store) are more than a month old. Since the price is not right, I didn't proceed to ask about their usual shipment day of the week. The other distributor is in Singapore, after conversion about Rm38.
Keng
post Apr 28 2015, 09:55 AM

142 posts

QUOTE(patryn33 @ Apr 28 2015, 07:17 AM)
Chang Mai is the coffee capital in Thailand!
Pacamara Asian blends are 150TBH and panama for 500Tbh for 250gm I read. I gather buying Asian blends cheaper back in 2012, prices still same?

Looks like you can buy online, url recommended by their Facebook page
http://www.espressofriend.com/เมล็ดกาแฟ

Nice page with links where to shop Thailand roasters  online
http://bestcoffeein.asia/advice/best-singl...k/#.VT7GvVL3anM
http://redcliffcoffee.com/buy-thai-coffee-online/
That's even cheaper! hmm.gif .

Thanks for links, I'll check them out thumbup.gif

On the same note, is there any other good recommendation for local roasters?
Keng
post Apr 29 2015, 10:00 PM

142 posts

QUOTE(patryn33 @ Apr 29 2015, 09:25 PM)
You in Thailand how? How much do they cost? 250gm pack
Triple mellow is in sri Petaling. If they didn't change the price, that'll be rm40%20=rm36
Keng
post Apr 29 2015, 11:25 PM

142 posts

QUOTE(mel5582 @ Apr 29 2015, 10:45 PM)
Bro, RM40 - 20% .. You sure it's RM36? tongue.gif
Oppps, too much caffeine lolol
Keng
post May 6 2015, 09:52 AM

142 posts

QUOTE(rigidius @ May 5 2015, 08:07 PM)
That's the steam wand for the ec155 right? May I know where did you get it from?
Got it off ebay at about rm70 plus shipping. Not cheap though but it does help.
Keng
post May 7 2015, 02:04 PM

142 posts

QUOTE(Wonka @ May 7 2015, 01:51 PM)
How much is that approx?
I've visited the website before. Not sure how to purchase from there. I can't read chinese LOL!
After adding in shipment cost, expect no less than rm400 for the lowest spec in welhome grinder range. You'll have to find other brand and I've really no recommendation for that sweat.gif

I know this will sound harsh, but good and cheap don't exist together in coffee grinder unfortunately sad.gif
Keng
post May 8 2015, 10:54 AM

142 posts

QUOTE(guitarleo @ May 7 2015, 02:53 PM)
I got philips SAECO manual espresso machine. I just can't get the prefect milk froth. Still exploring. Is it Dutch Lady full cream milk can't do the job??
You can do the following steps to buy more frothing time:
1. Chill milk together with pitcher to near freezing temp, I repeat, near freezing not freeze it. I usually do this when I wake up. By the time I'm done with shower, the temp will be just nice.
2. Use more milk volume. I don't do this anymore BUT it really helps.

You need to get the whirlpool going ASAP. Its a bit tricky with Saeco but its doable.

If you spend too long frothing, you'll find that the steam power decreases until there's not enough power to spin the milk but enough to heat up the milk. This is your worst enemy in milk frothing. I won't go into the reason or technical term why but this is what you can do:
1. Turn knob to steam position.
2. Put a cup under the steam wand to contain any water drip.
3. DON'T wait until the steam light comes out and proceed to open the steam valve.
4. If only water is coming out, close the valve and wait 5 seconds.
5. Open the steam valve and if there's constant steam coming out, you may proceed with the frothing. Else, repeat.

I've tried using Dutch Lady full cream milk before, no issues.
Keng
post May 9 2015, 09:10 PM

142 posts

QUOTE(johnnywynne @ Apr 10 2015, 10:06 AM)
Ya exactly! Bummer. :-(
Was at denki and flipping thru the local breville brochure. And guess what, they have oracle listed!
Keng
post May 25 2015, 02:19 PM

142 posts

QUOTE(nujikabane @ May 25 2015, 01:42 PM)
[attachmentid=4460480]

^ I got myself one of this.
However, I am not sure how to use it, LOL !

Any thoughts ?

It comes together with the ground coffee, which is ground coarse.
Of the opinion that it should be correct grind, no?
When I bought this last time, the beans came grinded already. Its almost as fine as espresso if I still remember correctly sweat.gif

To control the flow, just use the first level strainer to compress until you get drip instead of stream. I know this is not really much of a help laugh.gif
Keng
post Jun 10 2015, 10:39 PM

142 posts

QUOTE(luvox @ Jun 10 2015, 09:33 PM)
Where can i get cheap fresh roasted 100% arabica in klang valley? Less than RM 40 per 250g
QUOTE(wshazi @ Jun 10 2015, 10:17 PM)
Antipodean
Rm40 can get a lot. Antipodean (rm26) like wshazi mentioned, it's among the cheapest fresh roasted beans out there.

Others are like plan b (rm70/500gm) or espressolab (rm40)

5 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 >Top

0.0440sec    0.62    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 03:29 PM