Coffee lover please come in

kenji1903
post Nov 27 2014, 11:08 PM

3,785 posts

QUOTE(juniorsia @ Nov 27 2014, 08:52 PM)
Where to get Bodum products ?
Metrojaya and Robinson has a few French Press and cups

Starbucks Mid Valley has some Chambord
kenji1903
post Nov 27 2014, 11:44 PM

3,785 posts

QUOTE(juniorsia @ Nov 27 2014, 11:24 PM)
What abt milk frother? Any idea?
never seen anything else locally except for french press, pots and cups/glasses sweat.gif

This post has been edited by kenji1903: Nov 27 2014, 11:44 PM
kenji1903
post Dec 10 2014, 05:27 PM

3,785 posts

what's the usual beans for espresso machines?

i personally find single origin beans taste sourish... tried columbian and sumatran...

kenji1903
post Dec 10 2014, 06:21 PM

3,785 posts

QUOTE(mel5582 @ Dec 10 2014, 06:09 PM)
Aiyo.. Don't use single origins with espresso.. They're more suited for filter, pour over, syphon because they have distinct notes and clarity, with acidity.. Very wasted if you put those beans through the high pressure extraction. Try using blends instead.. Arabica with robusta
I feel its a waste buying single origins cos i don't like the acidity doh.gif

i'm using a french press and its sour no matter how i tweak the grind size, water temperature, brewing time, etc...
the best combo i find so far is a courser grinds and shorter brewing time (2-2.5mins)
kenji1903
post Dec 10 2014, 11:08 PM

3,785 posts

QUOTE(mel5582 @ Dec 10 2014, 07:52 PM)
Brewing is around 40 seconds tops if you're using 93 degrees Celsius hot water. That's for immersion time.
40 sec for french press? blink.gif

no harm trying... i still have some super expensive sumatran beans sweat.gif
kenji1903
post Dec 11 2014, 12:57 AM

3,785 posts

QUOTE(mel5582 @ Dec 11 2014, 12:29 AM)
Sorry I mean the immersion as in the blooming time before you fill up the jug. After that you let it sit for 2 minutes then plunge. You don't get any body with the Sumatran beans? Just acidity?
yeah, that's what i did but i followed the standard 1 min blooming time sweat.gif

will try 40 secs then 2 mins tomorrow morning

IMHO Sumatran taste less sour than Columbian
Sumatran is fruttier... with a sour after taste... but it gets more sour after time sweat.gif
Columbian is like... citrusy sour, yuck doh.gif

i just got the Suprimo Blend from Highlander, so far so good since it's chocolaty instead, with negligible sourness thumbup.gif

hoping to try a can of Illy later on, if i manage to find some fresher ones from the Illy shop at Pavilion
kenji1903
post Dec 11 2014, 12:58 AM

3,785 posts

QUOTE(wadthehellz @ Dec 11 2014, 12:27 AM)
Bought single origin Ethiopia beans just now to tahan while waiting my beans to arrived and use it to pull espresso, the taste was like wtf?  vmad.gif
can describe the taste? blink.gif

AFAIK, Ethiopia beans has quite a body, i bought a bag of Dallmayr Ethopian Crown last year, pretty good just that it was a bit sourish when it got home...
my mistake for bringing it back in grounded form doh.gif

This post has been edited by kenji1903: Dec 11 2014, 01:03 AM
kenji1903
post Dec 11 2014, 07:47 PM

3,785 posts

QUOTE(wadthehellz @ Dec 11 2014, 02:38 PM)
I'm not sure about the taste cause first time I grind for french press I think i grind too coarse and it come out with weak coffee taste and color looks like teh haha. And I second try it with espresso machine it taste sourish and this time I think is underextracted. LOLL so later I going to try again haha. Can anyone tell me what is the bean and water ratio for french press? I just making 1 cup to taste  blink.gif
oh... you are using both thumbup.gif

i'm using 20-25gm coffee to around 400ml water... then adjust the extraction duration accordingly...
what i found out personally is for blends, 3.5-4mins and single origins, never more than 2.5mins

kenji1903
post Dec 12 2014, 08:07 PM

3,785 posts

QUOTE(Kclee2002 @ Dec 12 2014, 01:50 PM)
Ben's Roaster has single origin & blend espresso that you can try. Maybe you can taste the difference between them there.
where to buy?
kenji1903
post Nov 4 2015, 05:04 PM

3,785 posts

QUOTE(stfsoelyn @ Nov 3 2015, 10:39 PM)
kfchan in Subang Jaya isn't very far from PJ. Besides, he can give you a few tips as well. Not that I'm promoting him in any way, but when I got the Aeropress from him, he must have been feeling generous, cos he threw in a bag of beans. Not saying if that's his usual deal though...
i didn't get any beans, just a demo and a cup of coffee

i got a bag of beans when i bought the hand grinder though
kenji1903
post Nov 4 2015, 05:09 PM

3,785 posts

QUOTE(CallMeGucci @ Nov 2 2015, 10:05 PM)
Hey guys,  I've been looking to get an aeropress machine and found one on rakuten that is surprisingly cheap.
http://www.rakuten.com.my/shop/cococorner/...Espresso-Maker/

Its only a 100 bucks compared to 180 in stores. Is this legit?
i saw this too but didn't order because someone was questioning on its authenticity but received no replies laugh.gif

0.0457sec    0.33    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 04:11 AM