Coffee lover please come in

geney
post Jan 7 2015, 02:18 PM

498 posts

QUOTE(wadthehellz @ Jan 6 2015, 01:07 PM)
haha i get it. but i always get watery puck when using pressurized basket. still usable meh?  shakehead.gif
Sometimes I get that too. But most of the time it's dry.

Oh ya. I tried using Aeropress on the same ground (aging) and Aeropress brews better coffee sia. At least I like it that way. On Poemia it's like dull and lifeless while on Aeropress, it's quite chocolaty. Dunno how to describe but smooth and more GAO. Aeropress use almost double the ground though.
geney
post Jan 13 2015, 01:48 PM

498 posts

QUOTE(mel5582 @ Jan 12 2015, 07:13 PM)
Looks like we really really need a calculator on this sweat.gif Didn't know this.

My way of doing pretty simple. Cannot say perfect but most of the time pretty satisfied.
2 scoops of ground (the scoop came with Aeropress)
90 DC, 3 quarter IKEA 365+ mug of hot water
90 secs

Works for most coffee, with exception of those light roasted. Need more brewing time for those.

This post has been edited by geney: Jan 13 2015, 01:48 PM
geney
post Jan 20 2015, 07:14 PM

498 posts

Just came back from a barista workshop "sponsored" by Bon Cafe. Damn... Maybe I've been figuring out how to do things properly, tweak here tweak there, making a nice (or rather very acceptable) cup of coffee seems a lot more easier with commercial grinder and coffee machine. They let us played with their Rancilio commercial coffee machine and grinder. Damn shiok sia rclxms.gif

Frothing milk became piece of cake with those machine liao... which was a bit on the tedious side from my experience with Poemia. Latte art also can easily achieved.

Anyway, we can't put those at home. Need dunno what C-Form type of power supply or what. Some semi pro ones should be possible though. But no budget for now.
geney
post Jan 21 2015, 10:45 AM

498 posts

QUOTE(Keng @ Jan 21 2015, 09:51 AM)
Tell us more!
Won their contest so got this free workshop at their HQ. The workshop there got a few grinders and coffee machines, mostly commercial grade. All Rancilio brand. 2 series 7 and 1 series 9. Both double boiler, double group head, double steam wand with a hot water dispencer (dunno how to call that). 3-4 grinders all from Rancilio too (different series; Not familiar this those) Got 1 silvia for display only. Special edition specially for Bon I guess as it's "coated" with leather instead of normal metal. Looks damn nice. Besides that they also display some in-house grinder (only 1 in fact) and coffee machines. All home use type. Their coffee machine is call Ascaso Dream. The grinder also Ascaso branded. Both are not cheap. Retro look.

Those machine (Rancilio) I heard from the trainer already per-programmed. So you just choose single or double shots. Just pop in the PF and hit the button. It'll stop when reaches 30ml shot. Fast or slow depends on your tamping and amound of ground. The trainer also mention good shot should be around 20-30 seconds (the range so wide?) and on paper 22 secs is the best. For brewing basically we just fill up the PF, level it, tamp and let the coffee machine do the job. The PF basket has a indicator (line) so when you tamp to that line, then it should be more ideal. Something like that.

For frothing, the trainer said it's always good to fill up half of the container you use to froth. In the training, we use thermometer to measure when the milk is ready. We should stop at 60 DC. Commercial grade machine frothing steam like damn power man. And you can create micro form very easily. I didn't expect it's that easy seriously. The trainer teaches us how to froth milk for cappucino and normal latte.

Overall quite fun and learn a lot from him.

This post has been edited by geney: Jan 21 2015, 10:48 AM
geney
post Feb 12 2015, 06:55 PM

498 posts

QUOTE(Xander-G @ Feb 11 2015, 10:39 AM)
I love coffee but i cant take it since it will bloats my tummy and making my stool hard. Is there any chance i can take without any hassle on my tummy? Im okay with caffeine though so im not sure why my tummy just not accepting coffee.
Same like me last time. Now OK liao. Drink little by little. Slowly increase. It'll be OK after a while.

geney
post Mar 1 2015, 11:25 AM

498 posts

Just wanted to add about choice of milk with those more economic machines.

Tried many brands and F**mHouse proved to be the best to froth and taste more natural. Gr**field comes 2nd.
geney
post Apr 21 2015, 07:26 PM

498 posts

I personally quite like BonCafe Espresso. Bean. My grinder not good though. Still it gets pretty decent shot.
geney
post May 16 2015, 11:10 AM

498 posts

QUOTE(Tikietic @ May 15 2015, 06:51 PM)
yes, arrived safely from taobao despite taking unusually long this time..  sweat.gif

the machine from close-up, with the new tamper.. very affordable and sturdy too.

twin thermoblock.. heat up time from cold boot.. less than 3-min  sweat.gif

there're tweaks to the extraction temperature, steam power and steam humidity by pushing some buttons.. have yet to test it.
cups were from taobao too.. quite a steal, have to say..   sweat.gif

the whole setup.. since it's next to the sink, wonder can do a direct plumb-in in the future?  sweat.gif

the grinder, zd-12.. really kicks after some add-ins to the bottom burr (couldn't grind fine enough earlier, but now.. it's 5 notches from the coarsest level.. still experimenting, so no conclusion yet).. minimum static/clumps.

we have this plastic funnel/contraption that you place above the portafilter to minimize the coffee grind going all places, it's really a good investment for a small counter-top setup from those messy session..
GXGX for your purchase. Do review a bit leh... BTW, white color does look nice. Just might get dirty more easily. Total damage how much huh? Which model is that? All from TB?

Paiseh paiseh... Like got too many questions liao. sweat.gif

This post has been edited by geney: May 16 2015, 11:11 AM
geney
post May 19 2015, 09:23 PM

498 posts

QUOTE(Tikietic @ May 19 2015, 06:32 PM)

yes, everything is from tb.. you have purchased from tb, haven't you?
Thanks for sharing. Familiar with TB purchase. The price sounds really tempting leh...

0.0462sec    0.42    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 08:57 AM