5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 >Bottom

The Best English Midfielder, Of this Generation?

tehoice
post Sep 25 2012, 02:28 PM

5,529 posts

QUOTE(CityBluePrint @ Sep 25 2012, 01:00 PM)
That was after the 2002 WC. Then SGE found out that Lampard and SGE were better offerings for the central midfield roles.

Why I included Scholes when clearly he did not fit any of the 5 criteria?
Because if I didn't there would be an uproar here in this FL by MU fans.

Nobody is questioning YOUR  preferences or choice.

But If you were to quote that YOUR VOTE is  based on what Zidane or Xavi et al (from the likes of tabloids, Sunday Mirror for one,  journalist interviews)  then don't you think its time for you to provide it  with a bit of context?
if Scholes clearly did not fit any of your 5 criteria, then you deemed him as not qualified to be on this poll, why do you even bother to put him up on this list?
Uproar by MU fans is another context here, by starting this poll, you already know that it's going to cause some stir amongst the fans, be it Chealsea Fans, Liverpool fans, MU fans and others, because of indifferent opinion, so your argument that to include Scholes or not, is flawed from the beginning.

like you said, everybody are entitled to their opinion, in one of your previous posts, you try to dispel people's illusion? he actually post up some supporting text which was quoted by/from journalists/interviews which includes the likes of Zizu, Xavi and Co. and many many more, (of which are famous footballers and managers). If somebody casts their vote, and further posting supporting quotes is not right because he himself did not provide it with a bit of context is wrong? then I don't know who is the disillusioned.
goonerboy
post Sep 25 2012, 02:51 PM

75 posts

scholes - i'll vote for him as a manager. techinically gifted,lack personal tropies though
gerrard - i'll vote for him as a teammate. u would him as ur captain, someone u want at the dressing room, in a team..
lampard - i'll vote for him as a football fan. brillaint goal scorer as a midfielder. consistent and reliable
jackiewong
post Sep 25 2012, 02:52 PM

368 posts

fail treat is fail!.. enuf said..
tehoice
post Sep 25 2012, 02:53 PM

5,529 posts

QUOTE(CityBluePrint @ Sep 25 2012, 01:38 PM)
All of us understand the definition of 'kiasu' vs 'grit and determination.'
Hear me out ;

A quintessential English player, just like a Canadian Ice Hockey Player, has genuine qualities of 'grit and detrmination'. Gerrard & Lampard reflect that.
I admire Gerrard especially for his true English spirit and the manner in which he bootstrapped Liverpool to an amazing CL title.

Likewise Lampard, an unassuming or unpretentious footballer off the field too, was the engine that drove Chelsea to many titles including the CL title this past season.
OTOH I was dismayed at the 'kiasu' behaviour of Scholes especially his performance against Zenit (down 2-0) and in the Wembley derby (down 1-0) with the whole football world watching.

Where is the English spirit of grit & determination to overcome the odds then. Instead of doing a Gerrard he decided to ' quit on his teammates' & walk alone from his team.
That's why I don't rate him as the best ENGLISH player at all.
well, there is no doubt that Gerrard and Lampard have genuine qualities, in which they helped their team to amazing CL title and epl titles and CL title respectively.

You are saying as if Scholes did not even contribute a little to the team, well, everybody has their bad day in the office, so is Gerrard and Lampard.
In 2008, Paul Scholes' Champions League Semi-Final winner against Barcelona, a goal out of nothing and not just that, an absolutely beautiful goal right out of the top drawer at Nou Camp was the main reason why United were in the CL Final that season, if it's not because of his strike, United possibly couldn't be winning the CL that year.
If he is as the liability as you deemed, then I'm disillusioned.

If you say that I'm bias by quoting his semi final winner against Barcelona, then do you think you are also bias as well? why?
You only quote the best of Gerrad and Lampard, but on the other hand, you specially quoted Scholes "worst" performances. shakehead.gif
Why do you want to compare somebody "best" with the others "worst"? I can't brain it.
I remember Scholes scoring an equalizer and led united to win the game (if I'm not wrong, it should be against Villa or something) few seasons back.

Let's not going back too far, recent memory of ours still serve us very well, when United play Southampton at St. Mary, when United were trailing, who changed the game? it was Paul Scholes! Paul Scholes came on and brought composure, a consistency of passing and made the difference to the game when United were trailing by 2-1 away at St. Mary. Doesn't Scholes shown "grit and determination' to help the team to win the game? no? maybe you say no because he did not score in that game, that game was won by RVP's hattrick alone.
The 'kiasu' behaviour of Scholes dismayed you? oh ok great, because you only quote the "worse" or "worst" performance of his.

VoiVod
post Sep 25 2012, 03:04 PM

rrroooaaarrr
1,328 posts

QUOTE(tehoice @ Sep 25 2012, 02:28 PM)
like you said, everybody are entitled to their opinion, in one of your previous posts, you try to dispel people's illusion? he actually post up some supporting text which was quoted by/from journalists/interviews which includes the likes of Zizu, Xavi and Co. and many many more, (of which are famous footballers and managers). If somebody casts their vote, and further posting supporting quotes is not right because he himself did not provide it with a bit of context is wrong? then I don't know who is the disillusioned.
Don't worry - Xavi, Zidane, Edgar Davids, Pep, Blanc, Fabregas, Veron, Strachan are all delusional for saying Scholes is the best english midfielder.

ponomariov
post Sep 25 2012, 03:21 PM

432 posts

Well I am suprised beckham have not got more votes... Look at the stats.

In terms of assist, scholes is way behind.

Gerrard, Lampard , Beckham has more.

In terms of pass completion, interception and etc, David beckham does it more.

Awards....Winner medals...

I would say very little between them.

But why not scholes...

In the time beckham, gerrard lampard scholes.

you put beckham on right. scholes had to go left.

Beckham was captain, even with scholes in the team.

Broke in england squad 23 same as scholes and gerrard. So Lampard is the slowest to break in.

If you go head to head, beckham beats them all.

This post has been edited by ponomariov: Sep 25 2012, 04:02 PM
digitalz
post Sep 25 2012, 04:10 PM

The only thing we have to fear is fear itself.
2,030 posts

QUOTE(tehoice @ Sep 25 2012, 02:28 PM)
if Scholes clearly did not fit any of your 5 criteria, then you deemed him as not qualified to be on this poll, why do you even bother to put him up on this list?
Uproar by MU fans is another context here, by starting this poll, you already know that it's going to cause some stir amongst the fans, be it Chealsea Fans, Liverpool fans, MU fans and others, because of indifferent opinion, so your argument that to include Scholes or not, is flawed from the beginning.

Nicely said.

To TS, even if you leave out United players who you seem to really hate, since you are choosing the generation, why not choose only those that are still currently involved in the international competitions? Gerrard, Lampard, Parker?

The lack of personal awards doesn't mean that they are not good enough. Players like Matthew Le Tissier, Paul Ince, Paul Gascoigne etc etc don't have as much individual awards as Gerrard/Lampard/Beckham, so they should not be inside the list as well?

Players like Xavi previously mentioned that he looked up at Le Tissier as a kid. How about Liverpool legend John Barnes as well? The list goes on and on.

Also, regarding your THIS generation, past 10 years? 20? Be more specific.
joe405
post Sep 25 2012, 04:29 PM

239 posts

scholes

syazwan
post Sep 25 2012, 04:30 PM

448 posts

QUOTE(ponomariov @ Sep 25 2012, 03:21 PM)
Well I am suprised beckham have not got more votes... Look at the stats.

In terms of assist, scholes is way behind.

Gerrard, Lampard , Beckham has more.

In terms of pass completion, interception and etc, David beckham does it more.

Awards....Winner medals...

I would say very little between them.

But why not scholes...

In the time beckham, gerrard lampard scholes.

you put beckham on right. scholes had to go left.

Beckham was captain, even with scholes in the team.

Broke in england squad  23 same as scholes and gerrard. So Lampard is the slowest to break in.

If you go head to head, beckham beats them all.
im pretty sure Scholes > Beckham in terms of pass completion rate

& to compare one Right Winger vs one CM is like comparing myvi & vios laugh.gif

btw already knew this is going to be a stupid syok sendiri thread by ts

This post has been edited by syazwan: Sep 25 2012, 04:31 PM
Zen-X
post Sep 25 2012, 04:31 PM

1,238 posts

QUOTE(uNeVErwaLkaloNe @ Sep 25 2012, 12:18 PM)
Liverpool fans will vote for Gerrard, MU fans will vote for Scholes, Chelsea fans will vote for Lampard. I think all 3 of them is equally legend for their own club but never shine internationally.
THIS IS THE WINNER!
esca_flo
post Sep 25 2012, 06:54 PM

just learned how to do custom title today.....
770 posts

Liverpool fans will vote for Gerrard, MU fans will vote for Scholes, Chelsea fans will vote for Lampard. I think all 3 of them is equally legend for their own club but never shine internationally.
I vote beckham.
Sifha238
post Sep 25 2012, 06:55 PM

454 posts

QUOTE(esca_flo @ Sep 25 2012, 07:54 PM)
I vote beckham.
same here cool2.gif
ponomariov
post Sep 25 2012, 10:01 PM

432 posts

QUOTE(syazwan @ Sep 25 2012, 04:30 PM)

& to compare one Right Winger vs one CM is like comparing myvi & vios  laugh.gif

Scholes has better completion rate because short possesion keeping past. Key , critrical passing beckham has way more hence more assist.

Added on September 25, 2012, 10:01 pm
QUOTE(syazwan @ Sep 25 2012, 04:30 PM)

& to compare one Right Winger vs one CM is like comparing myvi & vios  laugh.gif

Scholes has better completion rate because short possesion keeping past. Key , critrical passing beckham has way more hence more assist.

This post has been edited by ponomariov: Sep 25 2012, 10:01 PM
sickx
post Sep 25 2012, 10:13 PM

:)
1,232 posts

and Arsenal fans will say Wilshere is the best.

LOLOLOLOL
maxizanc
post Sep 25 2012, 10:18 PM

5,909 posts

Oh trust me. I put null vote. I've been here for nearly 7 years, i know where this kinda thread would end up.
99killer
post Sep 25 2012, 10:23 PM

56 posts

Paul Scholes
now close this thread
all other midfielders r not comparable to him
he is the best midfielder forever until the world end
syazwan
post Sep 25 2012, 10:24 PM

448 posts

QUOTE(ponomariov @ Sep 25 2012, 10:01 PM)

Added on September 25, 2012, 10:01 pm
which is why u're wrong in the first place. doh.gif

u dont compare vidic vs evra

terry vs ashley cole

skrtel vs enrique

or

pepe vs marcelo

biggrin.gif biggrin.gif

& from what i read u mention just now was something like "..In terms of pass completion, interception and etc, David beckham does it more."

pass is a pass..short ..long..critical..still a pass.

SUS9ff
post Sep 26 2012, 02:01 AM

60 posts

y no heskey
skod
post Sep 26 2012, 02:18 AM

1,038 posts

Definitely Gerrard smile.gif
Close second between FL & PS

Added on September 26, 2012, 2:20 am
Nope. Football fans will always vote for captain marvel Stevie G

This post has been edited by skod: Sep 26 2012, 02:20 AM
Duke Red
post Sep 26 2012, 08:09 AM

6,112 posts

It has to be Steven Gerrard if you ask me. Forget about what he's won, if it were down to only that, players like Matt Le Tissier, Paul Gascoigne would never receive any recognition.

Fact is that while he was in his prime, Gerrard single handedly won games for us, so much so that our opponents including one Alex Ferguson claimed that if you stop Steven Gerrard, you stop Liverpool. The opening header against Milan to spark our comeback, the goals against West Ham in the FA Cup final, the one against Olympiacos, Everton, there are just too many to mention. Martin Tyler at one point labeled him a "one-man-task force" and Pele, possibly the greatest ever footballer even exclaimed that Gerrard would make it into any Brazilian side, including the World Cup winning ones he was part off. It isn't therefore a surprise that Jose Mourinho has long tried to court him at first Chelsea, and then Real Madrid.

Stevie has many attributes, he can shoot, he can pass, he can cross, he has good pace and he can defend. He is extremely versatile and has played in every midfield position and as a backup striker in his professional career. He even slotted in at right back against AC Milan in Istanbul to take out the marauding Serginho, which is likely what led to Shebby declaring that his best position was at rightback.

Schools is a good professional. Like our Carra, he does his job, shuns the limelight and goes home to his family. He has a rocket of a right foot as well. The reason I've got for Gerrard ahead of him however is that I feel Stevie is the more compete players, given Scholes shortcomings defensively. Also, I think that while they were both in their prime, Liverpool functioned less effectively without Gerrard than Man Utd did without Scholes.

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 >Top

0.0503sec    0.97    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 09:36 PM