Basic Intake and Exhaust Modification Guide, for normal aspirated cars v1.0

Quazacolt
post Sep 3 2014, 09:12 AM

Riding couple
5,367 posts

QUOTE(E_017_C @ Sep 2 2014, 10:38 PM)
Hi all sifus, i am thinking of changing my exhaust system for my older generation myvi EZI auto version. I travel 50-50 half in highway, half in city. I hope that sifus can recommend me the suitable exhaust system for the car. I am hoping for a more pleasant and quiet ride (not loud loud exhaust sound). I would also like to ask about the difference between long extractor and short extractor, the type of metal and the brands.  Thanks in advance.
stick to stock.
SupermanLick
post Sep 3 2014, 10:17 AM

👊PUNCH SOHAI🗣️
1,459 posts

QUOTE(E_017_C @ Sep 2 2014, 10:38 PM)
Hi all sifus, i am thinking of changing my exhaust system for my older generation myvi EZI auto version. I travel 50-50 half in highway, half in city. I hope that sifus can recommend me the suitable exhaust system for the car. I am hoping for a more pleasant and quiet ride (not loud loud exhaust sound). I would also like to ask about the difference between long extractor and short extractor, the type of metal and the brands.  Thanks in advance.
change a drop in air filter
remove cat/ bullet
change extractor 4-2-1
keep yr muffler on stock
icon_rolleyes.gif
unitron
post Sep 5 2014, 03:27 PM

W1(R)3d
2,730 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Sep 3 2014, 09:12 AM)
stick to stock.
This one... thumbup.gif
LDP
post Sep 7 2014, 06:05 PM

626 posts

Sifus,

Need yr advice here. I hv a ten year old Proton car. (fuel injection)

I hv never made any modification to the exhaust pipe. Recently I have changed the mounting bracket for the exhaust pipe as it has wear off.

After ten years, do I need to service my exhaust system ? Is there anything that I need to change as my exhaust pipe is not noisy ?
bizkin
post Sep 8 2014, 11:59 AM

QUOTE(LDP @ Sep 7 2014, 06:05 PM)
Sifus,

I hv never made any modification to the exhaust pipe. Recently I have changed the mounting bracket for the exhaust pipe as it has wear off.

After ten years, do I need to service my exhaust system ? Is there anything that I need to change as my exhaust pipe is not noisy ?

Do check your exhaust system for any leakage every 2-3 years
Kent Goh
post Sep 8 2014, 03:33 PM

79 posts

QUOTE(LDP @ Sep 7 2014, 06:05 PM)
Sifus,

If your exhaust with catalytic converter is actually need to be replace after 10 years but we don't really care, so check whether your exhaust system got any leak, else it not necessary to replace beside you have done quite some modification to your engine and need bigger diameter exhaust pipe.

alvinji87
post Sep 19 2014, 02:44 PM

60 posts

hello all..want to ask..

perodua alza ezi, changed k&n drop in, denso iridium spark plug and a VS installed...for exhaust stil stock..

any recommedation to upgrade performance on pick up and FC ? changed to 4-2-1 extrator?
samjet
post Nov 1 2014, 01:00 AM

190 posts

dear all sifus minta tunjuk ajar
what is the name for the part i mark with red box?
pic1
pic2
how much to change to a new one because it cracked already as you can see in picture
pic3

i visited to 3 shop already and 3 shop told me different story rclxub.gif
1st: they called it as manifold and charged RM280 for it <<this one like conning me because he told me the pipe also got leakage but i know it isn't.
2nd: they called it as cat converter and reckon at least RM500 blink.gif
3rd: they only pointed it and asked for RM230

the link is not a virus i can assure you because i cannot put image here using my fb link
icon_question.gif icon_question.gif icon_question.gif
Quazacolt
post Nov 3 2014, 04:13 AM

Riding couple
5,367 posts

QUOTE(samjet @ Nov 1 2014, 01:00 AM)

no need change. keep stock
unitron
post Nov 3 2014, 10:40 AM

W1(R)3d
2,730 posts

QUOTE(samjet @ Nov 1 2014, 01:00 AM)
dear all sifus minta tunjuk ajar
what is the name for the part i mark with red box?

how much to change to a new one because it cracked already as you can see in picture

i visited to 3 shop already and 3 shop told me different story rclxub.gif
1st: they called it as manifold and charged RM280 for it <<this one like conning me because he told me the pipe also got leakage but i know it isn't.
2nd: they called it as cat converter and reckon at least RM500 blink.gif
3rd: they only pointed it and asked for RM230

the link is not a virus i can assure you because i cannot put image here using my fb link
icon_question.gif  icon_question.gif  icon_question.gif
Exhaust manifold... looks like a crack in the exhaust manifold at the O2 sensor there (pic3).

You can try ask if the shop can 1) weld back... 2) find halfcut parts/other old manifold from same model... 3) replace new one (dunno if still got stock).... 4) replace with custom made manifold (the most expensive option)

I would recommend option 2.... if you can find the part, maybe get it for a few ringgit... normally when the owner of the same model change to aftermarket custom made exhaust manifold.. the exhaust shop just throw away as scrap metal. Half cut maybe more expensive a bit than getting scrap metal part. But they work the same.
SUSnm7
post Nov 3 2014, 10:58 AM

192 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Nov 3 2014, 04:13 AM)
cracked lar boss... keep what stock?
samjet
post Nov 3 2014, 10:59 AM

190 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Nov 3 2014, 04:13 AM)
this problem exists long time ago. But recently the foreman which is trust worthy asks me to repair it because the condition is getting worse.. if not makan fuel

QUOTE(unitron @ Nov 3 2014, 10:40 AM)
Exhaust manifold... looks like a crack in the exhaust manifold at the O2 sensor there (pic3).

You can try ask if the shop can 1) weld back... 2) find halfcut parts/other old manifold from same model... 3) replace new one (dunno if still got stock).... 4) replace with custom made manifold (the most expensive option)

I would recommend option 2.... if you can find the part, maybe get it for a few ringgit... normally when the owner of the same model change to aftermarket custom made exhaust manifold.. the exhaust shop just throw away as scrap metal. Half cut maybe more expensive a bit than getting scrap metal part. But they work the same.
hi thank you so much.. but my car is old model city 1998 so i think i only manage to get a half cut one icon_rolleyes.gif

guys thank you so much you all are great notworthy.gif
SUSnm7
post Nov 3 2014, 11:00 AM

192 posts

that looks like an old city... dun even know if can still find any discarded stock manifold or not nowadays..
Quazacolt
post Nov 3 2014, 12:12 PM

Riding couple
5,367 posts

You can try ask if the shop can 1) weld back... 2) find halfcut parts/other old manifold from same model...

i second this thumbup.gif

QUOTE(samjet @ Nov 3 2014, 10:59 AM)
this problem exists long time ago. But recently the foreman which is trust worthy asks me to repair it because the condition is getting worse.. if not makan fuel
personally, as the crack is not significant enough to have leaks, i would leave it alone as it is and *PERHAPS* at the same time find for half cut/replacement (as per bro unitron recommended)

if the crack is serious enough to leak, your exhaust manifold area would be darkened with basically exhaust leaks and it would be very obvious which your pictures did not show.

if you're that worried, consider option 1, weld it for the time being smile.gif
RoofTopPrince
post Nov 4 2014, 05:12 PM

As long as you have the memories, you can be with that person fo
598 posts

hi guys wanna ask it is legal to put on 3 inch piping for my car?
unitron
post Nov 4 2014, 05:25 PM

W1(R)3d
2,730 posts

QUOTE(RoofTopPrince @ Nov 4 2014, 05:12 PM)
hi guys wanna ask it is legal to put on 3 inch piping for my car?
the regulations is on noise, not on size... put as big a pipe as you want. brows.gif
n3w
post Nov 4 2014, 09:49 PM

350 posts

Current car 1.3 manual saga, highway driving and emphasise on rpm 4k and above since travel aroun 120 km/h ++, 4-2-1 extractor better? Exhaust still stock. smile.gif
RoofTopPrince
post Nov 4 2014, 10:05 PM

As long as you have the memories, you can be with that person fo
598 posts

QUOTE(unitron @ Nov 4 2014, 05:25 PM)
the regulations is on noise, not on size... put as big a pipe as you want.  brows.gif
ok nice... if i put apexi n1 ok hoh? biggrin.gif
samjet
post Nov 10 2014, 05:19 PM

190 posts

@Quazacolt @unitron please give some opinion

i visited to an exhaust shop in batu caves and their consultation

-manifold crack... serious as it is near to engine.. cause power loss+eat oil
-old honda city one the manifold attaches to cat con
-they advice me to remove manifold+cat con and replace with 4-2-1(my car AT gearbox)
-the 4-2-1 is galvanized steel.. nothing special
-siap pasang Rm380, negotiable with the boss

my car all stock, if i chg to 4-2-1 is there any more i need to remove/upgrade as well?
good to remove cat con?
Quazacolt
post Nov 10 2014, 05:27 PM

Riding couple
5,367 posts

QUOTE(samjet @ Nov 10 2014, 05:19 PM)
@Quazacolt @unitron please give some opinion

i visited to an exhaust shop in batu caves and their consultation

-manifold crack... serious as it is near to engine.. cause power loss+eat oil
-old honda city one the manifold attaches to cat con
-they advice me to remove manifold+cat con and replace with 4-2-1(my car AT gearbox)
-the 4-2-1 is galvanized steel.. nothing special
-siap pasang Rm380, negotiable with the boss

my car all stock, if i chg to 4-2-1 is there any more i need to remove/upgrade as well?
good to remove cat con?
this one?
https://plus.google.com/1116102802449656012...out?gl=my&hl=en
i've heard many good things from them, however they don't accept credit card so it's a pain to deal with them as they aren't cheap also.

-manifold crack shouldn't eat engine oil (unless you mean petrol)
again, refer our previous replies, chances are exhaust shops just want to scam the shit out of you for business

- yes they just want your business

- no good to remove cat con.

please check your o2 sensors etc properly and/or bring to proper workshop check/diagnose.

119 Pages « < 110 111 112 113 114 > » Top

0.0320sec    0.30    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 05:24 AM