12 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Bottom

Working in Singapore V12, Yusheng - 23rd Feb (Saturday)

yhoong12
post Dec 7 2012, 10:47 AM

Balls Addicted~~
846 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Dec 7 2012, 10:33 AM)
i put my email address and the site said it would send me an activation email but the email never came icon_idea.gif
Website delay perhaps. tongue.gif
Just wonder how accurate can that website be...haha
yhoong12
post Dec 7 2012, 02:39 PM

Balls Addicted~~
846 posts

Just read from news, maybe this will let those who asking which telco is better in SG know which is the best.

A joint audit by IDA and the three telcos in September showed that M1 achieved coverage of 94.6 per cent; SingTel, 97.4 per cent; and StarHub, 97.2 per cent.

This post has been edited by yhoong12: Dec 7 2012, 05:30 PM
yhoong12
post Dec 10 2012, 09:25 AM

Balls Addicted~~
846 posts

QUOTE(Find The Way @ Dec 8 2012, 06:13 PM)
Does IDA announce their audit result on network speed? For most of the occurrences of internet connection lost I'd encountered, signal strength is usually good.
NO. Goverment only need the network coverage all over the isle, but does not need it to be full speed all the time.Connection lost is normal la.haha blush.gif
yhoong12
post Dec 11 2012, 05:58 PM

Balls Addicted~~
846 posts

QUOTE(crazy25kid @ Dec 11 2012, 05:17 PM)
not sure how truthful is this...but according to my agency, P2 and P1 does not need to go thru medical.
since EP has 3 categories...i suppose Q1 needs a medical.
Wow, only P1 and P2 noneed medical check up? hmm.gif
yhoong12
post Dec 12 2012, 08:53 AM

Balls Addicted~~
846 posts

QUOTE(Redondo04 @ Dec 12 2012, 12:47 AM)
ic....:-(
cant wait to sign up a new phone.
Pass is a must for sign new contract, plus maybe after you start to work,can check if company got corporate plan with singtel onot? can get 20% of your priceplan. nod.gif
yhoong12
post Dec 13 2012, 01:37 PM

Balls Addicted~~
846 posts

QUOTE(z21j @ Dec 13 2012, 01:11 PM)
Yes I heard though. But on what basis? The applicant herself? What's wrong with the applicant that cause MOM reject 2nd EP, given that she will apply using the same qualifications which had been approved previously.

Penalized but her action? Come on. I though it is on the merit basis? In fact, I myself also experienced the same previously. But that time, 2nd company can just submit the application without the need of requesting 1st company to withdraw the EP.

MOM has just clarified to her that the approval is assessed independent from previous application. If they seriously want to penalize applicant, then they should have made this clearer. Or else it is not convincing.

p/s EP with first company not issued yet. But I guess she has to take her own risk. Just went to the office and clarify the issue on her behalf, it seems positive and nothing to prevent / penalize her to do so. Maybe Joshua you can share with us your point?
I think what he trying to tell is that rejection of the pass application does not have any reason, they will not tell you even the HR the reason of rejection. sometime even if the person is qualified enough for the application also will not get the pass application approved.
yhoong12
post Dec 13 2012, 03:09 PM

Balls Addicted~~
846 posts

QUOTE(z21j @ Dec 13 2012, 02:55 PM)
Yes, that is the policy NOW. If she has collected the EP (issuance of EP), then second company can submit the EP application. 

Thanks for your clarification. But MoM should be "smart" enough to know why the applicant switch the company what... obviously the second offer is better and came in much later. For me, it is still better than you ask the first company to pay for your EP and resign after like few months. It is weird though to justify the "sincerity" of this person in this sense.

p/s Just a side note that she wants to change the company only, not the job position of what she applying for.

Added on December 13, 2012, 2:58 pmSo is there a cooling period if she got rejected by the second company, or she will be banned forever?
Why cant justify the sincerity by how often you switch job? since we are FT, if you keep changing job, that mean you does not appreciate the chances given to you to work in Singapore.

But do not worry, she can appeal again provided the company HR willing to do for her.
yhoong12
post Dec 14 2012, 08:40 AM

Balls Addicted~~
846 posts

QUOTE(Astroranagun @ Dec 14 2012, 02:26 AM)
Hi guys,  I need some advice here.

I'm currently looking for laboratory related job position, however in malaysia there were no luck. But I saw a bunch of job offer in singapore, and I applied thru jobstreet.com yet none were accepted.

I graduated last year with biomedical science major in overseas and did biochem and immunology related research. Currently, only singapore have similar job position that required similar skills that posted in overseas, yet I don't know why there are no feedback at all for my application.

Is there anyone here work in laboratory job can advice me how can I successfully lay a lab job in singapore?

Only one suggestion for you, apply more, apply also for those job not in your scope,if you only intend to lay a job in SG
yhoong12
post Dec 14 2012, 11:20 AM

Balls Addicted~~
846 posts

QUOTE(shinnyx @ Dec 14 2012, 10:52 AM)
Hi guys, if I want to make calls back to Msia, what's the best choice? Skype credit or typical mobile line?

And btw, have anyone been issued a WP/SP/EP with only one year validity? What's probably the reason?
Skype i dont know, but if mobile, you add certain code in front of the number can make cheaper call.
you are using one year validity pass?
yhoong12
post Dec 14 2012, 02:19 PM

Balls Addicted~~
846 posts

QUOTE(jungyu @ Dec 14 2012, 01:43 PM)
i dont know the salary range for diploma graduate in singapore. but long ago a malaysia pr who holding singapore diploma said this to me "sgd$2000 i feel very low for a fresh grad, who would do the job for 2k??!!"
so i assume u should get much more than that as a fresh grad from sg...
He is a PR with singapore diploma, of cause he can get better salary.
yhoong12
post Dec 17 2012, 09:39 AM

Balls Addicted~~
846 posts

QUOTE(hokin @ Dec 17 2012, 08:28 AM)
I am a StarHub customer and they have a SGD5/mth add on that allows you to call 18 countries for free, including M'sia. I uses that. All I need to do is to remember to dail the prefix 018 before the country code, etc.

Singtel has similar thing, I think the prefix is 019.

I do use skype, viber too on my iphone.
Not call for free, is more like convert all your overseas call to local call, hence deduct your free local call minutes, when it finish deducted, the charges start.

This post has been edited by yhoong12: Dec 17 2012, 10:01 AM
yhoong12
post Dec 17 2012, 10:55 AM

Balls Addicted~~
846 posts

QUOTE(kokcc @ Dec 17 2012, 10:25 AM)
Is there any part time job in SG??
Pass holder is not allowed to work part time, if you insist to work part time, then you have to bare the consequences of getting banned by SG government. shakehead.gif
yhoong12
post Dec 17 2012, 11:49 AM

Balls Addicted~~
846 posts

QUOTE(konichiwawa @ Dec 17 2012, 11:14 AM)
Again, the "free" term is very misleading. It's not free as in 0 cents per call. It's free in the sense that it's deducted from your local call minutes with no additional international call charges.
Haha, everyone will kena once, once you kena already, forever you will remember. blush.gif
yhoong12
post Dec 17 2012, 03:28 PM

Balls Addicted~~
846 posts

QUOTE(kokcc @ Dec 17 2012, 03:12 PM)
what if i get a working permit from my boss? Is that possible?
I'm going SG next week after christmas and staying in my aunt's house.
Hoping to get a temporary job
You mean you are not currently working in singapore? if you are unemployed currently, you can try, i not sure employer want a malaysian part timer, normally part timer only for student study in singapore and singaporean/PR.
not sure about it

This post has been edited by yhoong12: Dec 17 2012, 03:29 PM
yhoong12
post Dec 18 2012, 09:06 AM

Balls Addicted~~
846 posts

QUOTE(lightwerker @ Dec 18 2012, 02:16 AM)
sigh.... i miss working in SG sad.gif the money.... cry.gif
What is the thing keeping you away from SG? and what is the thing make you stay down at M'sia??
yhoong12
post Dec 18 2012, 10:03 AM

Balls Addicted~~
846 posts

QUOTE(lightwerker @ Dec 18 2012, 09:49 AM)
aihhh sad.gif

Food : Malaysia obviously better so I won't comment much liao
Car : I'm sick of taking the public transportation sad.gif (b4 going to SG I used to work in Cyberjaya, 100% traffic clear.. no jam at all, vrooom highway saja)
Family : they're here
Friends : they're here too
My hse : my big house is so comfortable here sad.gif whereelse in SG I cram myself in a small room sad.gif

my previous company outsource everything to India & China liao and I resigned coz I don't agree with the relocation package and new job role. Currently still job hunting sad.gif

the only thing SG attracts me is the money only sad.gif
Definitely you are a man who value life more than money, is a good thing,perhaps staying back at malaysia is a better choice for you.

Job hunting? malaysia or singapore? hmm.gif
yhoong12
post Dec 18 2012, 02:51 PM

Balls Addicted~~
846 posts

QUOTE(tkhoo @ Dec 18 2012, 02:50 PM)
Guys, as you know that I was rejected work permit by MOM on this bla bla company. And let say I got another job offer with different company, will I still able to get approve my work permit for this 2nd company?

Or confirmed will get same result "Reject"?
Never try never know, what if you know confirmed kena reject?what will you do? hmm.gif
yhoong12
post Dec 19 2012, 09:06 AM

Balls Addicted~~
846 posts

QUOTE(ch_teo @ Dec 18 2012, 09:40 PM)
can't deny that mostly in the first to second year of start working. indeed many interesting stories and their cultures can be known when talk with them.
sometimes, also better draw a gap with some of them as they may become not respect to others with bad attitude. but of course, there are some with good attitude ones too.
Not yet meet bad attitude one, mostly i found is you treat them nicely, and you will get back the same.
yhoong12
post Dec 19 2012, 02:51 PM

Balls Addicted~~
846 posts

QUOTE(stevenlee1989 @ Dec 19 2012, 02:42 PM)
Hi, I'm looking for a position in Singapore, would you mind recommend some? I hereby attached my CV for your kind perusal.
LOL. thought is tailtwist by looking at the profile picture.. tongue.gif
yhoong12
post Dec 19 2012, 03:57 PM

Balls Addicted~~
846 posts

QUOTE(jitshiong @ Dec 19 2012, 03:46 PM)
To be honest, your resume/CV is very poorly written.
The dates doesn't tally. Your graduation is in Oct 2013?
I think u should improve your resume writing.
I wouldn't bother to look at your resume at it's current state.

Cheers!
Perhaps he is the so called "going to graduate soon !"

12 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Top

0.0506sec    1.35    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 02:20 PM