Singapore REITS, S-REITS

AVFAN
post Dec 14 2016, 09:51 AM

24,456 posts

QUOTE(elea88 @ Dec 14 2016, 08:45 AM)
today 14 Dec.. shopping reits or costed in?
the meeting is 2 days... decision will be announced early fri morning local time.

do watch bond yield, $ index movements closely.

imo, a 25bps hike is imminent, by n large priced in by now.

what message that comes with it is impt - when may be the following hike(s).
AVFAN
post Dec 15 2016, 03:21 AM

24,456 posts

lower reit prices in the morning...

FED HIKES, FORESEES 3 MORE HIKES IN 2017

AVFAN
post Dec 15 2016, 10:06 AM

24,456 posts

QUOTE(elea88 @ Dec 15 2016, 09:06 AM)
suntec been dropping for the past few days..
yep.

all those previously with 5% yields are now dropping to give 6% or higher.

us 2 yr treasury yield at 7 yr high; 10 yr at 2.584%.

$ index touched 102.4.

i think i will wait for things to stabilize a bit before buying/selling anything.

AVFAN
post Dec 15 2016, 10:40 AM

24,456 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Dec 15 2016, 10:20 AM)
Bro,... I think it's better for you to do the following now :-

1) buy good counters, REITs now in the SGX, AND

2) hold-on to yr USD.

The knee-jerk reactions from the Feds won't last forever.
sg reits, will wait n see... i am quite happy with what i now have.

$ for sure.

other currencies, other equities - i do not know enough, hard to monitor so many; i like to keep my lists short.

why do u say fed is knee-jerk?

25bps after 1 year is very very well planned and careful! biggrin.gif
AVFAN
post Dec 15 2016, 12:51 PM

24,456 posts

like to check with those looking at SGD-RM rates.

yr broker, yr bank, what r u seeing right now?

cimb, i see 3.1325/3.0635... a 2.20% spread.

i notice it has been widening of late.

what is going on??
AVFAN
post Dec 15 2016, 02:18 PM

24,456 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Dec 15 2016, 02:09 PM)
YES, bro,... I have noticed this since a few weeks ago,... The spread is very wide now, which makes it non-viable to change BACK TO THE RM if one needs to use RM. The spread will cause him to lose many pips, hence, wiping out whatever he made from the exchange rate against what he used to convert over from the RM earlier.

What do you think the reasons could be for this widening, besides the bank wanting to make more ?
What i see is on the MY side.

Is it just as bad on the SG side?
AVFAN
post Dec 15 2016, 04:24 PM

24,456 posts

QUOTE(elea88 @ Dec 15 2016, 10:45 AM)
i will slowly buy in.. esp those div for Jan. Money sitting in DBS dun earn interest.
buy very slowly.

US bond yield still climbing, now at 2.613%.
AVFAN
post Dec 16 2016, 10:24 AM

24,456 posts

USD/SGD today 1.443.

some are expecting it go to 1.50 by next year.

Singapore Dollar Likely to Slide to Levels Seen After 2008 Crisis, Says Policy Sage
https://www.bloomberg.com/news/articles/201...low-amid-easing

AVFAN
post Dec 16 2016, 11:31 AM

24,456 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Dec 15 2016, 02:09 PM)
QUOTE(AVFAN @ Dec 15 2016, 02:18 PM)
What i see is on the MY side.

Is it just as bad on the SG side?
hans, any comment on above?

today, i see SGD/RM spread 2.11%, USD/RM spread 0.625%.

the SGD/RM spread is ridiculous.

now exploring if it makes sense to do sgd/usd, then usd/rm.

i am inclined to agree with this bloomberg view that MAS will ease the SGD in the coming months.
https://www.bloomberg.com/news/articles/201...low-amid-easing
AVFAN
post Dec 16 2016, 01:54 PM

24,456 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Dec 16 2016, 01:13 PM)
Bro,... I think Sgp's spread is not that atrocious :-

At one of the best money-changers : http://www.mustafa.com.sg/frmForex.aspx

Banks,... I don't know,... need to approach them, I guessed,....
thanks, good to know.

that sg money changer spread is only 1%, normal.

the money changer i checked here 2 days ago had about 1.5% spread.

it definitely bad here, banks are the worst.

the banks are making a killing with the spread.
AVFAN
post Dec 19 2016, 10:56 AM

24,456 posts

$ index down to 102.6x, profit taking.

us bond yields eased... <2.6%.

sgreits looks stable.

trump and fed effects waning for now...?

AVFAN
post Dec 21 2016, 10:48 AM

24,456 posts

Singapore dollar hits weakest in more than seven years
http://www.cnbc.com/2016/12/20/singapore-d...even-years.html
AVFAN
post Dec 22 2016, 10:36 AM

24,456 posts

QUOTE(elea88 @ Dec 22 2016, 10:22 AM)
today 1.18. last i bought was 1.15.

so, i will key in below 1.15 and wait.
year end, thin trades.

sg approaching recession.

heavily linked neighbor in worse shape.

fed, bond yield expectations still in play.

2017 will be tough for sg reits n stocks.
AVFAN
post Dec 22 2016, 07:26 PM

24,456 posts

QUOTE(elea88 @ Dec 22 2016, 06:54 PM)
Just sold off one of my properties.. initially thinking of putting in SG for REITS. Now all telling me Recession blah blah.. so, i am also lost...

ASX.. looks complicated.
consider us equities.

consider the largest caps like goog or etf's like spy.

i find it easier than asx as the info is more readily available.

i personally think the us markets and $ have a bit more to run up.

trump hasn't been sworn in yet!
AVFAN
post Dec 23 2016, 06:27 PM

24,456 posts

sgreit prices been falling and falling...

a quick look at what i currently have...

a basket of 5 reits bought since 2014 is now, as an aggregate, at 0% cap gain.

(those earlier ones bought/sold with gains, div, fx gain, excluded.)

so, it's just dividends and fx gains at this time.

good time to buy more or sell some?

still thinking, monitoring.

if sg goes into recession and trumponomics continue to push bond yields higher, next year or 2 may be disastrous for sg reits.

any views?

More Asian Defaults Loom in 2017 Amid Korea Shipyard Debt
https://www.bloomberg.com/news/articles/201...a-shipyard-debt
Strategists Play Rupee Via Singapore Dollar as Economies Diverge
https://www.bloomberg.com/news/articles/201...onomies-diverge

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Dec 23 2016, 06:48 PM
AVFAN
post Dec 26 2016, 09:33 AM

24,456 posts

QUOTE(elea88 @ Dec 26 2016, 05:39 AM)
I will stay invested... continue collect for long term.

Space out the purchases.

Recession.. does not last FOREVER!... Take the short term pain.. hopefully we get the LONG TERM GAIN.

Any differences if the reit portfolio is out of Sg?
i surely hope the downturn won't linger for too long.

at this time, i think beside US markets, all are under pressure.
AVFAN
post Jan 3 2017, 09:58 AM

24,456 posts

ok, no recession!

sg reits incl retail should improve. rclxms.gif

Gross domestic product rose an annualized 9.1 percent in the three months to December from the previous quarter, when it declined a revised 1.9 percent, the trade ministry said in a statement on Tuesday
The median estimate of nine economists in a Bloomberg survey was for a 4 percent expansion
GDP rose 1.8 percent in the fourth quarter from a year earlier, compared with the 0.3 percent median estimate in a Bloomberg survey
The economy expanded 1.8 percent in 2016, the slowest pace since 2009
https://www.bloomberg.com/news/articles/201...mists-estimated

AVFAN
post Jan 3 2017, 01:52 PM

24,456 posts

QUOTE(elea88 @ Jan 3 2017, 12:10 PM)
as expected, capmall is one of them.

if recession fears ease with latest gdp data, it may be a very good choice now.

but i already have enough.

AVFAN
post Jan 3 2017, 08:42 PM

24,456 posts

QUOTE(prince_mk @ Jan 3 2017, 07:13 PM)
Happy New Year Bro Avfan.

good news to everyone at the beginning of the year.
QUOTE(elea88 @ Jan 3 2017, 11:10 AM)
HAPPY NEW YEAR to you AVFAN...

yeap.. continue shopping at SGX .
happy new year.

may 2017 be a good year for sg reits! rclxms.gif
AVFAN
post Jan 5 2017, 01:24 PM

24,456 posts

us fed minutes last night weren't that hawkish.

bond yields fell, 2.41% now.

$ weakened as a result too.

so, sg reits gets a reprieve - higher prices.

but... be aware things can change quickly with trump's inauguration on jan 20.

50 Pages « < 36 37 38 39 40 > » Top

0.4288sec    0.69    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 09:11 PM