Ramjade
post Jul 27 2017, 11:10 AM

24,336 posts

QUOTE(Vector88 @ Jul 27 2017, 10:27 AM)
Trim already $$ put where ?  dry.gif

anyway, SGD -> MYR exchange looks like inching towards another high ... today breached 3.15 liao  rclxm9.gif
if need some MYR, not a bad time to trim and change to MYR since both REIT and SGD are on hyper mode now
QUOTE(elea88 @ Jul 27 2017, 11:04 AM)
[vector88]
yeah i agree. put in CIMB SG la.. 1%. better than nothing!!!
Parking places:
- Cimb Fastsaver 1%
- Citibank maxigain (if you got the moo a nd able to open account) 2%+
- United Class A bond fund 2-3%
- Parkway 4%

Ramjade
post Jul 27 2017, 11:26 AM

24,336 posts

QUOTE(elea88 @ Jul 27 2017, 11:11 AM)
ramjade..

how u get PARKWAY 4%?
Reit data.
Ramjade
post Jul 27 2017, 11:47 AM

24,336 posts

QUOTE(prince_mk @ Jul 27 2017, 11:41 AM)
What do u buy lately ?
Nothing. Only liquidate my CMT yesterday. Queuing First Reit at 1.32 since ex date, tak dapat.

QUOTE(elea88 @ Jul 27 2017, 11:43 AM)
Sustainable? i hv AUD FD sitting in bank.. time to take out?
Yes. Provided "unofficial peg" against the USD is not removed or sudden slowdown in china economy.

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Jul 27 2017, 11:46 AM)
what's up with aimsamp?

lost 6 cents...
Something about DPU drop by 10%

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Jul 27 2017, 11:48 AM
Ramjade
post Jul 27 2017, 12:04 PM

24,336 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Jul 27 2017, 11:55 AM)
You kaya auntie.

I got some. But for kids' education. I need some more. Lots more. So I don't need AUD to be on rocket fuel!  mad.gif
You should do like my friend's father did.

Convert all AUD500k one shot when he started uni there (badawi's time)

Alternatively, you can do what Showtime does. Buy contacts as a hedge against further decrease. He's in the exporting business so can drop him a PM on how to do hedging.

At least yout situation is not as bad as bbgoat. He converted USD at 4.5 because of rumours that that RM will hit RM5 for USD1 *consoling*
Ramjade
post Jul 27 2017, 12:30 PM

24,336 posts

QUOTE(elea88 @ Jul 27 2017, 12:17 PM)
not kaya.. getting poorer by the day. It seems impossible now to send 2 kids for overseas education.

AUD FD - its saving for kids education too... but sitting in FD earning only 2%.
That's really miserable. Better to take out the money and invest in SGX or ASX. At least you have better chance.
Ramjade
post Jul 27 2017, 01:37 PM

24,336 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Jul 27 2017, 01:35 PM)
I have 2 children in Aus now....  blink.gif

None coming back to Msia
When the older one start working, can help the younger one. Lessen the burden.
Ramjade
post Jul 27 2017, 04:45 PM

24,336 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Jul 27 2017, 04:37 PM)
Any further details to back this up, bro ?? Would really appreciate if somebody knows something negative abt this ctr now,...

I'm kinda like quite focussed on this ctr now.
See this.

Isn't this dilution?
Ramjade
post Jul 27 2017, 05:13 PM

24,336 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Jul 27 2017, 04:52 PM)
Ya-lar,... my dear bro,... I explained on this in my reply to Elea two posts back, right ?? This is worst case, ma..... Read my explanations,... tell me what you think pls,....
Ok. Take your word for it. I don't believe Frasers is as bad as Keppel.

I also pening. Don't know what's the document about. All I know is they want to approve purchase of the properties.

QUOTE(kart @ Jul 27 2017, 04:58 PM)
So, a good trick to buy the share is to queue at a price 10 Singapore cents lower than asking price, isn't it?
Not necessarily. I still remember that fine day. Croesus. Price was 0.94. Queue at 0.90 and got it. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Jul 27 2017, 05:14 PM
Ramjade
post Jul 27 2017, 08:07 PM

24,336 posts

MCT powering on. DPU increases by 9.9% rclxm9.gif rclxms.gif
Ramjade
post Jul 28 2017, 12:11 PM

24,336 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Jul 28 2017, 11:43 AM)
Did not manage to do yesterday,.... Yesterday was a hard day for me,... only had time to read and answer a bit because outside the whole day,... had to work yesterday,...

Same with today too.  sad.gif
Sifu still working? Should be like unker createwealth8888 amd go fishing everyday biggrin.gif tongue.gif
Ramjade
post Jul 31 2017, 05:49 PM

24,336 posts

QUOTE(kart @ Jul 31 2017, 05:40 PM)
Thanks for your information. smile.gif So, this is what the basic guide in share trading usually states.
When the bidding volume (seilling volume) is higher than the ask volume (buying volume), do you queue to buy the share at a price SGD 0.005 lower than the bid price?

When the ask volume is higher than the bid volume, do you queue to buy the share exactly at bid price?

When you bought AIMS at SGD 1.43, is it the bid price or ask price?
One thing I learn, sometimes, just forget about the 0.005. Either go for market value/queue at 0.01.

Use google finance to determine if it's high for you to enter. If you really want aims, wait for 4/8. I am also waiting for 4/8 to grab some units.
Hopefully this time I am right. Selldown due to bad results + selldown because of ex date = hopefully price can be pushed further down.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Jul 31 2017, 06:15 PM
Ramjade
post Aug 1 2017, 02:07 AM

24,336 posts

QUOTE(kart @ Jul 31 2017, 11:06 PM)
Ok, your suggestion is to queue at asking price, or (asking price - 0.01). Noted.

AIMS ex date is 4 Aug 2017. So, if we manage to buy AIMS on 4 Aug 2017, are we still entitled to get the dividend that will be paid on 21 Sep 2017?
Ok, it may sound silly to you all experts in S-Reit investment, but this will be the first time I am investing in S-Reit.

As long as the yield is more than 7 %, buying AIMS will be a good start for me. I just do not want to wait too long, until the price increases too much.
Sometimes you need to buy at market price. I learned my lesson. Learned it from mapletree china and ums.

You won't get dividend as your names need to appear in their books before ex date. That's why people sell their holdings on ex date as they already know they got the dividends. Usually price will fall after ex date. When market is irrational (like now), it won't fall (as shown by CMT but it still drop a few days later)

For me personally, I won't add any s-reits at current price. I just look and see. My personal view for industrial reit is they must be in 8-9% yield for me to buy. Well that's just me.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Aug 1 2017, 02:17 AM
Ramjade
post Aug 2 2017, 08:07 PM

24,336 posts

QUOTE(Properlog @ Aug 2 2017, 07:40 PM)
Newbie here and survey for sometime,feel most of the Singapore REIT price is at the high side now, almost all the reit had been appreciate more than 10% in the past 52 week. Since the REIT interest is at 5-8%, worth to enter the market now or wait for lower price to enter?Appreciate if anyone can answer me😄.

*The less price appreciation in past 52 week will be Cache and Cambridge Industrial, safer to buy this two?
I said many times already, now is not good time to buy. If you know the reit can give 8% but now only giving 7%, do you want to buy? I won't. Cause why should I put down my money when I know it's overpriced?

Actually, if you look at this week, reit did suffer a selldown but not much. Only ~1% sell down.

QUOTE(bearbear @ Aug 2 2017, 07:50 PM)
if you buy for long term, what is the difference?

high today can be low point in 3 years, it can also be highest point in 3 years time. who can tell?
Got. Got lots of difference. Eg. Buy DBS at SGD6-7 vs now at SGD21.xx. Dividend between both of them big difference you know. Dividend right now is about 2% vs 8%+ at SGD6-7. Even buying DBS at SGD14+ also big difference between buying now.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Aug 2 2017, 08:10 PM
Ramjade
post Aug 2 2017, 08:12 PM

24,336 posts

QUOTE(Properlog @ Aug 2 2017, 08:09 PM)
But seem like the REIT price is up and now and there are limitation on the price appreciation, REIT value seem won't shoot up very high,that is y my concern if buy at high price.😄
Everything will drop. Nothing is invincible. That time when it drop:
1) do you have enough money to buy?
2) do you have guts to buy?

Ramjade
post Aug 2 2017, 08:27 PM

24,336 posts

QUOTE(Properlog @ Aug 2 2017, 08:13 PM)
Thanks Bro, then I should wait for low price to enter? But hope to put my money somewhere to earn some interest, any guide?😄
Look at other counters/market.

Another way is use unit trust and let the fund manager to make money for you.

QUOTE(Hansel @ Aug 2 2017, 08:22 PM)
Bro,... during the GFC back in 2008/9. when DBS dropped to,... I think $5 to $7, thereabout, it won;t give the same dpu as it is giving today,... The dpu back then was a lot lower,... hence, they yield was maintained too.

The only SG bank that I knew that tried its best to hold its dpu payout was OCBC,... but then subsequently, the price shot up, and the yield dropped back again,...
Correction. If price is SGD6, dividend for 2009 was SGD0.56, dividend yield is ~9%
https://www.dividends.sg/view/D05

Their dividend never increase much since 2008. From 0.56 > 0.6

QUOTE(Hansel @ Aug 2 2017, 08:27 PM)
Bro,... my bro there has his opinions,... let me chip in a bit for you,... you can opt to wait, but the longer you wait, the more dividends you'd be losing,... and how would you know the price would drop back, and how low will it drop back ?? We don't know, right ? It's a matter of time value of money,...

Are you converting RM out to buy, or you're using the SGD as yr natural currency ?
I agreed about losing dividends but for me I rather lose say 5% dividend now and get 8% dividend later on. Later if price drop, and if dividend drop, at least my 8% dividend maybe become 5%. Still decent (don't know if you understand what I am saying)

People all over the same unless they are robot without emotion. You mentioned Parkway won't drop right, see it have drop.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Aug 2 2017, 08:33 PM
Ramjade
post Aug 2 2017, 08:45 PM

24,336 posts

QUOTE(Properlog @ Aug 2 2017, 08:35 PM)
Dint study on the UTs, Bro. Any SG UTs good to buy as normally how much is the UTs dividend given?3-5%?
Never focus on unit trust dividend as it's basically right pocket masuk left pocket. They give you x% dividend, the NAV drop by x% also. Compare to stocks. Give 3 cent dividend but the price may only drop say 1 cent.

Hang out on FSM malaysia thread to know the basic. I learn my basic from there. You can also need to learn about asset allocation.
Turtle investor is a good place.
http://www.turtleinvestor.net/asset-allocation/

QUOTE(Hansel @ Aug 2 2017, 08:38 PM)
Bro,... I clicked on yr link there,... look at the payout, total for 2008 was 80 Cts, in 2009, it dropped to 14 Cts x 4. Sorry, no calculator now,... Then in 2010, it halved further to 14 Cts x 2 ONLY,...

Starting from 2011, it started to increase,... when times were better, not much NPLs anymore, dpu increased back,... come on, bro,...

Look closely : 2011 to 2013 - same dpus, 56 Cts per year,... then again, starting from 2014, increased again,...and maintained at 60 Cts till today,...

Let me chk the price back then,...
Assuming price is SGD6-7. you can see dividend in the range of 8-9%

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Aug 2 2017, 08:46 PM
Ramjade
post Aug 2 2017, 09:01 PM

24,336 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Aug 2 2017, 08:49 PM)
https://finance.yahoo.com/chart/D05.SI#eyJt...uZyI6dHJ1ZX0%3D

The lowest it ever reached was $7.84, bro,... but the rise was sharp,... the fall was sharp, so was the rise,... we can never catch at these prices,... So,... how much would the yield work out to be, realistically ?? Pls don't tell me you bought t $7.84, okay ??
That time still in uni. sweat.gif That time don't know apa itu DBS also. Didn't even know it exist. Ok, let's be realistic. Let's put the price one buy at SGD10 as an example (example only), at (0.14 x 4 = 0.56), dividend yield works up to 5.6%

0.56/10 x 100% - 5.6% So if we use last year dividend,
0.6/(our ori buying price)
0.6/10 X 100% = 6%

Now let's use current price at SGD21 (make calculation easier)
0.6/21 x 100% = 2.857%

That's why I want to wait. Yes I can buy at current price but my yield is only 2.8% vs 6%.

Sorry if it's complicated.
Ramjade
post Aug 2 2017, 09:18 PM

24,336 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Aug 2 2017, 09:11 PM)
Yr points above are good, bro,...

Then that 2.857% is unacceptable,... I would agree here,... but,.. if you are waiting for DBS price to drop so that you can continue to earn 60 Cts dpu, chances are,... if DBS price is going to drop that drastically, something bad must have happened, and this bad thing would have impacted DBS' earnings. Subsequently, DBS would have reduced its dpu payout too in the process. This is how the banking industry works.

By the way,... you said : That time still in uni. sweat.gif  That time don't know apa itu DBS also. Didn't even know it exist.

You've come a long way since then,... very good, bro,... Hey,... you were in uni 8 to 9 years ago ?? What course did you take ??
Well that's what you need to do if want to invest in banks. Banks reflect the country economy. You need to prepare for that. Same like reits. You need to prepare for rights issue. Can one invest in stocks without rights issue? Yes but hard to do.

You still haven't even tell about parkway life reit tongue.gif

8-9 years ago, still in school. Sorry made a mistake  doh.gif  sweat.gif  blush.gif

Properlog, if you are starting out, read these blogs. They are very helpful to let you figure out what kind of strategy to use:
http://singaporeanstocksinvestor.blogspot.com/
http://investmentmoats.com/
http://createwealth8888.blogspot.com/ (this guy is anti reits and only hold 3 counters - DBS, Keppel and Sembcorp but getting 9-10% dividend from them and triple digit returns. How he do it? Wait and wait and wait...)
http://foreverfinancialfreedom.blogspot.com/

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Aug 2 2017, 09:23 PM
Ramjade
post Aug 2 2017, 10:01 PM

24,336 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Aug 2 2017, 09:22 PM)
Bro,... where did I write these exact hard words : Parkway wont drop ?? Pls copy and paste for me,...

Parkway has quality is different from Parkway won't drop. Generally, good counters won't drop after a divvy payout is, again, different from the hard words of Parkway won't drop. By the way, Parkway has climbed back up to close higher than this morning,...

Look at all your 'ifs' and 'later' I bolded above. ...

Then,.. with all yr 'ifs', I'll give you another scenario, what if after you buy, it drops further, and the dpu drops further too ?? Can happen too, right ? So,.. youneed to wait and wait till you get the perfect scenario,...
Eh, check it back, don't have. I saw that it went back up.

I think best if I illustrate with example (hard to explain with words):
Div = 0.10, Price bought = 1.00
Div yield = 0.1.0/1.00 x 100% = 10%

Price went up to 1.25
Div = 0.10, Price we bought = 1.00
Div yield = still 10% (unless want to use new price, I prefer using old price as I know how much yield I am getting)

Price drop to 0.75 + div drop
Div = 0.05, Price we buy = 1.00
Div yield = 5%

Now let's assume we bough at 1.25
Div = 0.05, Price we buy = 1.25
Div yield = 4%

So price is very important to "protect our dividend". Same counter.

Yes it's true. Happen to me. SIngtel. Price keep dropping. Didn't manage to catch it at it's lowest.

QUOTE(Hansel @ Aug 2 2017, 09:37 PM)
Then. if this is the behaviour of investing into banks,... perhaps I'll look somewhere else, which,.. haha,.. I did, bro,... I sold DBS years ago, made some profit, then bought into other better-yield counters,... But for Aussie banks, I hold on to them tightly,... yield's very good at my Buy prices.

I think you better stop telling that young man to read everything before he puts in his money,... by the time he finishes reading everything,... he'll be too tired and too scared to invest,... ask him to buy one or two counters to try,...

PLife REIT - during AGMs, they never ask for mandates to issue more units.... ALL other REITs do ask,... can you see the thing here ?
Yes. No dilution!!! Have to read before buying or else he made same mistake as me. When I started I just wanted to buy all the reits. Now wiser already tongue.gif

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Aug 2 2017, 10:06 PM
Ramjade
post Aug 2 2017, 11:10 PM

24,336 posts

QUOTE(Properlog @ Aug 2 2017, 11:00 PM)
Bro, thanks for your link, i have been read some blog eg fifthperson/investmentmoat for couple of month, but still have no idea on how to do some basic study/analysis on the stock.
Any basis data of the stock itself we can use as a input to study the stock eg.PE,PB,ROE. How to justify the stock itself is a good stock to buy or is te stock over or undervalue? For example, Raffles Medical Group stock is at 1.20 and at 52 weeks low, it look great to me for buy it now but OCBC research said they are target even lower at 0.8 to buy the stock, which mean they expect the stock will be go furtehr down. How we know we should wait (the stock will go lower)or buy now?  notworthy.gif
Any book or blog for beginner to learn the basic stock analysis ? Sorry for many question here. smile.gif
I read fifthperson too. Analyst TP cannot pakai. Seldom hit target. To know when to buy, that require technical analysis. I don't really know techincal analysis. I use google finance to see the graph. If it's low, then I will buy.

Investingnote got good place to get help.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Aug 2 2017, 11:12 PM

70 Pages « < 24 25 26 27 28 > » Top

0.0361sec    0.92    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 09:36 PM